Review RSS Feed Portal 2. Thinking with Time Machine.
7 Review

Mod Review by sejievan on Apr 18th, 2014

Nice mechanics but it has some problems the design is a little boring... (this being more of personal taste), and the lack of audio in the bts, besides all, i guess that worth playing since the time machine is very fun to use.

Gateways
7 Review

Mod Review by JellyBeanDude27 on Apr 18th, 2014

A purely action mod worth playing for the gameplay and weird environments. No puzzles so don't expect any. Very fun to play through but I like the team's next mod better.

Amnesia: A Coward's Debt
7 Review

Mod Review by Boss-DOS on Apr 15th, 2014 - 1 person agrees 2 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Oh well, now that I'm finished I have to say I'm actually kind of disappointed. I expected something longer and far deeper than that. I really enjoyed your other custom story but this one was so short.

It was really nicely made and I liked the story but I just didn't feel as wowed as I did with your other. Also another problem I had was the voice acting for the main character. He had next to no emotion in his voice regardless of what was happening. The only point I felt like he portrayed the proper emotion was when the man killed his wife. Other than that I had a really hard time taking his suicide seriously. It wasn't "Give me a moment, I've just remembered I killed myself with turpentine and am remembering the emotional and physical pain I experienced." it was "oh no i died." and talking to the woman on the phonograph, he just wasn't doing it for me. She did a wonderful job, though. As well as the guy playing Jean's business partner.

That monster legitimately scared me too. I haven't felt fear like that ever playing any custom story or any of the Amnesia games. So I'll for sure give you an A+ for that monster. Holy damn.

But I had a lot of problems with the textures. In the room with the machinery, there was no flooring. As well as when the elevator takes you into the basement, there wasn't any flooring there either. The boiler also seemed rather glitchy, only if you viewed it from the sides would the textures disappear. Though I'm very happy for the machine for pigs assets though, I've been waiting a really long time for someone to finally use them.

All and all it was a 7 for me. I enjoyed it but the length and voice acting really disappointed me.

Grand Theft Auto - Real World
7 Review

Mod Review by checarlitox on Apr 15th, 2014

buen mod pero ┬┐donde esta el link?
it is a good mod but, ┬┐where is the link?

Amnesia - The Fugitive - Episode Two
7 Review

Mod Review by The_Furfather on Apr 14th, 2014

Overall enjoyable. Some of the level design was pretty lackluster/linear, but certainly not the worst I've seen. Some areas were neat, mind you.

The story is okay, but the voice acting could really use some work.

As for the notes, I'd recommend getting someone to peer review the dialogue, as there are countless typos and grammar issues. Maybe work on the delivery of certain clues.

There were several bugs I've experienced over the course of the story that could be addressed:

- Lantern no longer working in certain areas
- Incomplete substance(lead) was somehow left in inventory during creation of vaccine
- Certain locations breaking on load. (One instance was loading the mines area, grabbing the hammer, and attempting to use it on the boards - Couldn't break the boards as intended)
- Managed to run both fail/success scripts when configuring the 4 slides (Got the fail message and the blue highlight)
- Leftover mementos left unhandled

*Please include a walkthrough in the files. Not everyone will use it, but it's a courtesy that is greatly appreciated.

Pros:

- Huge custom story
- Interesting-looking areas

Cons:

- Somewhat obscure locations for key items without notification
- Repetitive/reused puzzles
- Cheap jumpscares
- Abrupt ending (you'll have to wait for the next bit)

Looking forward to seeing the next one. Hopefully parts of this review will reflect some changes in the next CS.

Resourceful Protagonist
7 Review

Mod Review by Skizzo on Apr 14th, 2014

Nice map design, but just average gameplay:
- exploration is seldom rewarded (even when it's dangerous)
- few weapons (I missed grenades)
- despite being named "Resourceful", the gameplay seldom invites you to strategy
- linear most of the time
- ending is just "meh"
- NPC are often dumb
- NO Gravity Gun (it's HL2, for God's sake! Without GG it's like a cake without frosting! :-)

Republic at War
7 Review

Mod Review by thexjacob on Apr 14th, 2014

this is a solid mod except a few issues. mainly that enemy ships can get to planets without a direct path to it, meaning the core worlds are invades, even when I control every planet in it and with a direct line to it.

PUPPET
7 Review

Game Review by DavesGames on Apr 14th, 2014

Fun game, great atmosphere, and good scares, really entertaining for a quick night time horror experience. However, it was slightly buggy here and there and could have been a little longer, more clear on how to progress, and polished up. Would recommend for anyone who enjoys good horror indie horror games that can be beaten in under 45 minutes to an hour!

Resourceful Protagonist
7 Review

Mod Review by GMassacre76 on Apr 14th, 2014

Good game for good people :-)

FPSC
7 Review

Engine Review by Pixel-Eater on Apr 13th, 2014

It's a great engine when it is used properly. But, it does have a few flaws that prevent it from being the best it can be.

Colonialism 1600AD
7 Review

Mod Review by EmperorJohannes on Apr 13th, 2014

Great mod,but some of it was not historically accurate,but hopefully,it will in future updates.Muskets,pikes,the action!I really had fun playing it.

Mass Effect Reborn
7 Review

Mod Review by evans46f on Apr 12th, 2014 - 1 person agrees

Absolutely beautiful textures and details. However, there was just so little excitement.

It seemed even simpler than an old Command and Conquer RTS.

No Tech Tree
Limited Ships
No real special abilities to speak of
No support craft

Add stations or bases that could be defended.

Kinetic Barriers would be nice
More weapon variety would be cool too.

Really short life spans on all ships

I would like to see a tech tree added and just an effort made to add some complexity to the game.

THIS IS A FANTASTIC BETA! I hope there is more to come though, because as it stands there is little to be found in the way of entertainment here.

Portal: Prelude
7 Review

Mod Review by pupetman64 on Apr 11th, 2014

Kind of disappointing. The story is not all that great and the puzzles are difficult but in the wrong way. By that I mean that it's easy to figure out what to do but actually doing it can be pretty hard.

Mass Effect Reborn
7 Review

Mod Review by ZergGuy on Apr 10th, 2014 - 9 people agree 2 people don't

Visual aesthetics are the leading force in this mod. The vessels look great, the animations of ships (such as the reapers) when they prepare to fire are wonderfully done. The music is very impressive and actually enjoyable to listen to as the game goes on. The only bit of a bummer in the graphical department is the strange error I seem to be getting with planets, however I am sure that is an easy fix.
Game-play is a bit different, however. The lack of a research tree makes the game feel a bit shallow, and the AI's constant creation of only dreadnought class capital ships makes versing AI rather boring. Geth fighters are extremely powerful. When playing as the reapers the Geth sent in a plethora of fighters, which none of my larger vessels could target (although I noticed this to be a problem of any larger ship versus smaller craft), and I had to produce wave after wave of fighters to even begin damaging the Geth. In fact, by the time I left the game, the skirmish was still going on.
On the subject of larger ships versus fighter craft. The only time I noticed my larger ships firing on fighter craft was when they had previously target larger ships. Only then would their anti-fighter weapons actually fire. When engaging a Cerberus AI, I had around 10 fighters harassing their command center and a dreadnought. They didn't fire back. When engaging a reaper AI, however, their larger ships were able to fire on my fighters without a problem.
Ship building wise, I feel as if build times are a bit too slow, and the lack of any dedicated ship building facilities makes production of a large fleet extremely time consuming, and makes investment into dreadnoughts to bolster production capabilities a necessity.
All in all the game is a good bit of fun, however needs work in order to rival some of the other mods in Homeworld 2 (Halo Homefront for example, being a good bit of fun even for only having one playable race). I can't wait to see what comes next!

Inwards
7 Review

Mod Review by flippedoutkyrii on Apr 10th, 2014

While the writing was superb, the atmosphere was foreboding and the tension was very present during much of my time spent playing this mod, the design was very bland and lacked detail.

Not to mention I couldn't help but think Bubbles from Trailer Park Boy's was trying to kill me the entire time I spent in the hospital levels.

Besides that, there is some genuine talent present here, it just needs to be polished. Keep working on this, you are on the right path :)

Slender PSP
7 Review

Game Review by SeniorMeatbox on Apr 9th, 2014
This review may contain spoilers

Not to toot my own horn or anything, but this was a pretty good attempt for something that was finished in 6 hours.

Trust me guys, the next version will be even better, but instead of a flashlight, you may have a lighter

Prince of Persia
7 Review

Game Review by ShouldBeNew on Apr 9th, 2014

A good game but it's short.

Mass Effect Reborn
7 Review

Mod Review by NOble2899 on Apr 9th, 2014 - 3 people agree 2 people don't

Nice mod but i wont say awsome thats not ok

Destiny Rebellion (Amnesia)
7 Review

Mod Review by DnALANGE on Apr 9th, 2014 - 1 person agrees 4 people don't

It isnt SUPER special.
Looks cool, but again.... Amnesia stuff!
We can now use MFP assets, too bad you didnt use them..
Voiceacting is also very poor!
ANd not a lot of quest what to do.
that is why -3 points.
Overall OK, nothing special.

RefleX
7 Review

Game Review by Matteo311 on Apr 8th, 2014

A fun, fast paced old school style shooter. My full review is here
Youtube.com

Highest Rated
9.9 (game)
FS2_Open Source
9.9 (mod)
4th Dimension [FA]
9.9 (mod)
Back2Fronts Mod
9.9 (mod)
SC Revolution Mod
9.9 (mod)
WWII Reality
9.9 (mod)
OFPWH40K
9.9 (game)
Kernel Panic
9.9 (mod)
In The Shadows
9.8 (mod)
The Nameless Mod
9.8 (mod)
New Vision
9.8 (mod)
Total Mayhem
9.8 (mod)
Ballistic Weapons
9.8 (game)
Homeworld
9.8 (game)
Blood
9.8 (engine)
Spring
9.8 (mod)
Tamriel Rebuilt
9.8 (mod)
Matto4
9.8 (mod)
Nali Weapons 3
9.8 (game)
Dysis
9.8 (mod)
XTended
9.8 (game)
Teslagrad
9.8 (mod)
Galactic Armory
9.8 (mod)
JA2 1.13 Mod
9.8 (mod)
WARTIME
9.8 (engine)
Westwood 2D
9.8 (game)
Jazz Jackrabbit 2