Review RSS Feed Human Error
7 Review

Mod Review by TheUnbeholden on Jan 31st, 2015

This is probably one of the most on the fence mods I've played so far, its got everything you'd expect for a winner. Its got a good setting, good concept, some great scenes, and new enemies, new combat elements, but it ends up feeling lacking by the end. First lets start with the good. Story is pretty decent for what we've gotten, its got charm, good voice acting, except for the song at the end (Phillip barlowe BLUEAGHHH!) characters that you can care about. And when I say good concept, you get to play as the combine but instead of something bland they give us human like personality. Apparently the civil protection employ citizens who are willing to work for the combine without needing to lose their "instincts" and become mindless drones who take orders. We instead got a rag tag bunch of ruffians, you as usual the faceless/voiceless protagonist and a tough minded gal, Phillip as the punching bag, and the egotistical one who blames everyone else for his blunders. Hard not to get into it. We even got some memorable out of story lines "I need to get laid" the tough gal snarks, and my favourite "you don't stop, your like a robot" which gave me a wry smile seeing as its a reference to our expectation as to what we thought the mod was going to be like. We aren't all mindless drones. Unforuntely the level design doesn't ever get great, its alot of corridors sectioned off into little manhack puzzles (using them to knock out the generators that the rebels have taken over, in order to powerdown the forcefields), realistic obviously for a university but not great to play. The first section in the streets was as expected, the 3rd section with defending the base, and last base is basically what people should have been expecting.

This is a multiplayer/coop mod first, singleplayer second. So naturally base defense is what your really in for mostly. It ends rather abruptly giving us scene that didn't really add much to the story. Whats worse is that its been 5 years and it still isn't finished & from what I hear, not going to be.
Its moderately long but it still feels like the potential for something really great was here. Level design and story possibilities, are just left to the imagination I guess.

Triage
7 Review

Mod Review by TheUnbeholden on Jan 29th, 2015

Some decent levels, although some rooms are really dark and no flashlight ie you don't have any suit so you walk around quite slowly, stuck at walking speed (I know! It sucks) and the console commands to increase movement speed don't work without your suit and no flashlight. They should have given us the suit just turned suitvolume to 0, they already not giving us any batteries and are using the ammo hud anyway so it really would not have changed anything and being more convenient. Ah well its more like a nitpick because its the action that counts and its here in spades. Although it was only about 35 minutes long and the plot goes around and no where basically. Just fight through streets.

Guns are more powerful, have ironsights and modified sounds to accompany that power. Health regenerates and has no number on the hud, instead its that old jam being smeared on the screen when your getting close to death. Which i'm totally fine with, I actually kinda wanted HL1 to be like that in mods where you don't get your suit.. if it wasn't for the lack of flashlight/movement speed modification.

Ie I think with more work into the levels and story this could be a very unique series. Shame that it hasn't been continued.

No Escape
7 Review

Mod Review by TheUnbeholden on Jan 29th, 2015

This is the most bizarre mod I've played, in terms of setting, but damn does it give us a pretty decent adventure while doing so. Your character doesn't care who is on who's side. The combine tortured him and the human resistance sided with the combine in the threat of zombie apocalypse, humans turning a blind eye to the harshness of the combine on those unsuited to be citizens. Your character after escaping jail, basically is still wearing his prison clothes, and is (after a brief hilarious pause in your first encounter where a citizen looks at you wide eyed before shooting at you) you outright murder anyone without care whether they can be reasoned with, and not have the effort to get out of those prisoner clothes. Its like our character is accepting his fate as the outsider and doesn't care about anyone anymore, taking revenge. Its a nice concept though as that can lead to alot of conflict, the mod doesn't do much with it though and its basically a slightly above average gun fair for about 20-25 minutes depending on how good you are. It was nice seeing proper looking zombies (no more white shirts) and creepier sounds, as well as a new arsenal of weapons. This is a mod I would love to see a sequel to. Flesh everything out... and hopefully more carnage :)

Silent Hill: Alchemilla
7 Review

Mod Review by DevinShadowV on Jan 28th, 2015

I'm a moderator and co-owner of the Orange Box Fan group on DeviantArt and I did a mini review so I'll link up the review their.

Orange-box-group.deviantart.com

The Citizen Returns
7 Review

Mod Review by TheUnbeholden on Jan 28th, 2015

This was very visually impressive, the gameplay did seem more difficult than most most gameplay mods mainly because of a lack of HEV suit (therefore armor/batteries) but you fight with team mates for a fair bit in the beginning, and then when your on your on its quite tame for how much resistance you come up against. The mod clearly plays it safe difficulty wise, especially towards the end. The first third of the mod IMO is decent difficulty wise, but then it starts to feel a bit to complacent. Even the "horror level" ends up feeling to playing it safe when the superhuman zombie ends up walking around like its taking a casual stroll and not really interested in fighting :D

The story is pretty much what you expected if you've played the first, just a bunch of fluff that doesn't amount to anything. You win and all you have to say for it is the voice acting was unmemorable/uninteresting. If this is a revamped version of Citizen II than that one must have been even shorter/get disappointing faster.

This Citizen is definitely closer to what the first should have been, ie difficult fight, where only unity with the other resistance members can lead to victory, but it still ended up feeling way to flat during 2nd and 3rd parts and forgettable outside of the visuals.

Brutal Changes [released]
7 Review

Mod Review by HumiliatoR on Jan 28th, 2015 - 1 person agrees
This review may contain spoilers

That was pretty enjoyable mod, but far from what I expected. Sure level design was good and puzzles are interesting and somehow genius, but there are many flaws and I occured and have to re-play this mod like four times to finally get to the 3rd map. Really annoying, because some really silly mistakes. I liked the scares like those grunts running fast, I jumped twice when that monster runned like hell two times. I loved that event where you have to block that room with box, clever and unique script.

There are couple more enjoyable events, but sometimes it felt kind of rushed gameplay and little bit boring in my taste.

Pos:

- How it begins and ends
- Special events
- Some never-seen stuff which is good and new
- Puzzles
- Atmospheric

Neg:

- Stupid errors and couple annoying bugs
- Have to re-play many times than actually finish it in one sit
- Some areas didn't make sense
- Map design could be better, it's overall average
- Huge size doors was kind of blah moment and dull

There are many flaws and many good things in this mod, so I give it 7/10 because of that, it was enjoyable ride... but ends quickly. Well done!

Quite entertaining thrill ride - 7/10

Brutal Changes [released]
7 Review

Mod Review by KiraImmortal on Jan 27th, 2015

All in all: An enjoyable effort for a custom story, with a bit different storyline and design (in a good way), custom monster, some new musics, not so scary but mostly well made atmoshpere, also with some emptiness here-and-there, a bit non-realism with mixing different ages, and with a very short playtime. I really want you to continue making mods, next time do the proper testing before release, i'd love to play more from you :) 7/10 is my final opinion, thanks for letting me play this :)

Halo: Combat Evolved
7 Review

Game Review by LegionIscariot on Jan 27th, 2015

Halo Combat Evolved is a good game. But its not amazing.

2 gun limit. Bullet-sponge enemies. A lack of variation in the enemies. The variety of weapons are a bit interesting but is held back by the fact that you can only carry 2 at a time.

And sometimes the shooting gets tedious. And tiresome.

Mister Chef and Cortana are good and likable.
Cortana's voice acting is very good.

Halo "Custom Edition" is where the fun is at. A bunch of maps to download. The modding community has really kept this game alive.

CoH : Terror mod
7 Review

Mod Review by gigiilmatto on Jan 27th, 2015

mmmh! very fun. gg

Dragon Age: Origins
7 Review

Game Review by LegionIscariot on Jan 26th, 2015

+ Good story
+Good characters
+Good gameplay

-Slow and tedious combat
-Areas that go on for way too long
-Badly paced
-Unfair scripted events
-Crappy monetary/shop system
-Lame loot and a lack of interesting and varying weapons
-Limited romance option
-Bugs and glitches
-Unreliable camera controls

Those 3 positives are what kept me coming back to this game but eventually the negatives were too much for me to take. The best way I could play this game was by taking breaks every once in a while because the game is exhausting.
Some areas go on for so long that I have to turn some music on to listen to while I do it because it never ends.
Combat is not satisfying unless I use a mage since the mage has so many useful spells. And the lame loot you get from slain enemies don’t make up for it.
The mage is also fun. Can turn invisible to scout out some areas. But because the game is scripted sometimes the invisibility becomes pointless. The game detects you even if the enemies don’t.
The game is not open world. Instead you fast travel from area to area with some random encounters in-between.
I do prefer it to its two sequels though.

(I am playing Torchlight 2. I don’t know the story, it doesn’t have amazing characters. But it is very satisfying to kill enemies and loot them. Cool weapons and items. Its colorful. Fast paced. And has some sweet mods)

Hyzoran's Rules.ini files
7 Review

Mod Review by .Shiki on Jan 25th, 2015 - 1 person agrees

A set of rules.ini files that attempts to balance out the vanilla unit and building statistics , the implementation is done effectively well but not entirely great.

Hold the Assault
7 Review

Mod Review by raptorf22 on Jan 25th, 2015

FOR A FIRST DEMO THIS IS PROMISING

Amnesia: Depth
7 Review

Mod Review by goji-hime95 on Jan 25th, 2015 - 1 person doesn't
This review may contain spoilers

The level designs, music and atmosphere were quite impressive overall. Definitely a chilling gaming experience (I liked the invisible growling monster--very creepy). However, I thought that the story was kind of lacking....I thought it was confusing at times what to do, especially at the very end. I had no idea where I was supposed to go! I just sort of, through luck, picked the right path. Plus, the final stretch was essentially some backtracking, which kind of disappointed me.

I enjoyed this mod for the most part, but I think that there was some things with the story that could have been improved upon....

Brutal Changes [released]
7 Review

Mod Review by SwedishGames on Jan 25th, 2015
This review may contain spoilers

As a request from one of my friends, he wanted me to try this custom story and see what I thought about it. Now, this is what I think.

I sort of recognize myself making this custom story, mainly because of the scares it has. I did this in my other mod (The Fugitive 2) with popping up enemies, fast walking enemies and cheap stuff like that. It was not well received to my mod. It's not from me either to this custom story. I learned afterwards that scares like this is a mistake and very immerse-breaking. If you want the player to feel scared, let the player do the work for you.

The story itself was quite weird. You just spawn in the bedroom and then you're off to the find your way out (for some reason). It wasn't until the ending where you got some clear stuff about what was going on.

Also, who was I? I was appearntly some random stranger that I never found out who I was. I was just there for some reason it seems like.

I encountered a few glitches here and there as well. Holes in the ceiling, broken puzzles (the manniquin statue on the table was stuck leaning the wrong way when you've clicked one of the buttons once and wrong), checkpoints after death not working (or added in) properly. After the machine room too, when I got to back to the foyer, my game crashed. Turned out there were two script errors (which I fixed myself), but make sure your game FULLY works before you release it.

Your puzzles were maybe too requiring and too unlogical. Some things didn't even remotely make sence or some just had some things that were not too obvious to notice. The puzzles weren't really hard, but they had very strict requirements.

I have to admit though, I didn't expect to find the Stalker from Tenebris Lake in this custom story. Good thing you guys got in a custom enemy.

7/10

Stenches of The Night 2 The Outbreak Starts
7 Review

Game Review by hacheipe399 on Jan 25th, 2015

Very good, I've played all the maps and can say that you made a good work. But you can make a single game with all the maps, in multiple levels...

Painful Shadows
7 Review

Mod Review by Paulpolska on Jan 25th, 2015

I play it very long time ago but I always forgot to gives my reviews.

POSITIVES:

- Nice rpg style,
- First TDD mod where I seen dog in TDD. Nice !
- Long game playing,
- Stealth mode,

NEGATIVES:

- Not much scares,
- A lot of running to make mini progress in the game,

Half - Life 2: Calamity
7 Review

Mod Review by TheUnbeholden on Jan 25th, 2015

Level design in this is pretty high up there, I haven't played to many HL2 mods but this one does feel like City 17 from what I remember. Vast majority of fights are combine, with a few being a strider/warship and snipers.

In Lucy's Eyes
7 Review

Mod Review by impala-of-mayfair on Jan 25th, 2015

Beautiful environments, but the story was confusing and the ending left lots to be desired. Very anticlimactic. Love the custom content, need more out of the story.

Silent Hill: Alchemilla
7 Review

Mod Review by cmbasnett on Jan 24th, 2015 - 1 person agrees

This game is probably the best love-letter to the Silent Hill series to date.

It's mechanically light; there is no combat and no monsters to contend with, which might sound off-putting to some, but it's environment and atmosphere that make this game. Many of the environments are just dripping with dread, and there are a few surprising jump-scares that made me yelp!

The puzzles are moderately challenging and flow well, however, some puzzles should definitely be re-worked to be easier to understand. The English translation is spotty which can hinder the experience, especially when the clues to puzzles read like it came out of an online translator.

There is a bug that I encountered at the end of the game involving a key that I could see but not pick up despite being right in front of me. I looked on here and saw that others had a similar issue, so I resigned to noclip through a wall and rectify the bug so I could advance.

The story is interesting, if a bit predictable and utilitarian; there isn't that much optional story content to find. The ending is pretty underwhelming, given all the build-up that happens throughout the game.

Overall, it is an impressive effort that fans of Silent Hill should definitely check out.

Mr. duck and the room0
7 Review

Game Review by DreamToriDream on Jan 22nd, 2015

Very simple game mechanics, you have a certain amount of "stamina" for flying. And a new challenge appears every time you get a pearl, signifying the "level" you're on, meaning 25 pearls/levels in total. The design of the game is simplistically beautiful, and overall an enjoyable game.

Highest Rated
9.9 (game)
FS2_Open Source
9.9 (mod)
Nali Weapons 3
9.9 (mod)
Back2Fronts Mod
9.9 (mod)
SC Revolution Mod
9.9 (mod)
FOJ Community Mod
9.9 (mod)
WWII Reality
9.9 (mod)
Mapper Guild
9.8 (mod)
The Nameless Mod
9.8 (mod)
Total Mayhem
9.8 (mod)
Ballistic Weapons
9.8 (game)
Homeworld
9.8 (game)
Blood
9.8 (mod)
Tamriel Rebuilt
9.8 (mod)
Matto4
9.8 (game)
Dysis
9.8 (game)
Teslagrad
9.8 (mod)
4th Dimension [FA]
9.8 (mod)
Galactic Armory
9.8 (mod)
JA2 1.13 Mod
9.8 (engine)
Westwood 2D
9.8 (mod)
WARTIME
9.8 (mod)
Duke Plus
9.8 (mod)
Rome at War
9.8 (engine)
FS2_Open Engine
9.8 (mod)
UT Community SDK
9.8 (mod)
Finnwars
9.8 (mod)
Bleach: Lemmings