Review RSS Feed A Clash of Kings (Game of Thrones)
7 Review

Mod Review by kilertrtr on Oct 19th, 2014

An awesome mod, but if you have an old pc, don't even download this. :(

StaudSoft's Synthetic World
7 Review

Game Review by micromil on Oct 19th, 2014

I have only played a few hours and so far the Game has a lot of potential, but is still very much a work in progress.

This game has a great engine, the terrain works really well. Looks nice and digging out dirt leaves stone in waves and realistic ways.

The Mobs need a lot of better animation.
Sound needs work.
Movement is fine however the caves are a bit quirky often you can get stuck in low ceilings.

Crafting system is quite standard. I hope to see some improvements to set it apart from others and reduce micromanagement.

Overall good, but wait a little longer if you want a game that is more complete. But if you like a crafting building game with a little more realism definitely worth a look.

Try the demo first and make up your own mind.


Divide and Conquer
7 Review

Mod Review by thousandsons15 on Oct 19th, 2014

good work

Five Nights at Freddy's
7 Review

Game Review by dog199200 on Oct 17th, 2014

Could have used a little more work in the scare factor. The game play was good never the less!

Darkfire RPG
7 Review

Game Review by xtobal12 on Oct 17th, 2014

no ahy sonidos,espaƱol porfavor

Half-Life Invasion
7 Review

Mod Review by ZhuleCRO on Oct 15th, 2014

very good mod, but very hard most of the time

Republic at War
7 Review

Mod Review by Senanthes on Oct 13th, 2014

While I'm impressed with the depth and effort in this mod, I really can't give it high marks for playability. As others have pointed out, it's balance is incredibly lopsided in favor of the CIS, and after playing both skirmish and GC, I have to wonder... Where does the AI get the credits for the capship spam it likes to do in the first few minutes? It's not from the mines in skirmish, or it's holdings in GC, so where is it getting these monster fleets from?

Until these issues are addressed, I feel that I'm better off removing the mod and playing EaW: FoC as is. At least it doesn't feel broken that way. However, I will be revisiting this mod once 1.2 comes out, with high hopes. Individually, I think the units, mapsm and scenery are well done. Very well done indeed, with great attention to the canon abilities of ships, soldiers, etc. in most instances.

Some tweaking required, but it's enough as is to have me interested.

Allied Intent Xtended
7 Review

Mod Review by D3sTr0yeR on Oct 12th, 2014

The squad leader request is always denied please fix it. Great mod though good job :)

Supreme War
7 Review

Mod Review by Sid0035 on Oct 12th, 2014

i like it :)

Calradia: Imperial Age
7 Review

Mod Review by Road_Warrior on Oct 10th, 2014

A pretty cool mod that adds a lot of new factions/lands and most importantly transforms the game into a more "Napoleonic" experience. It does what it says on the box and it does it well, there's quite a few "16th/17th" century calradia mods, but this one feels the most genuine.

Mental Omega APYR
7 Review

Mod Review by Ehd420 on Oct 9th, 2014

Great mod sure to be a hit with Command and Conquer fans. Basically it's to Red Alert 2 what the Shockwave and Rise of the Reds mods are to C&c Generals, lots of cool new units, structures, factions, and support powers to toy around with and occupy your time.

There's also icing on the cake which makes the entire mod seem also that more professional: such as the new custom soundtrack (which is quite badass), and the detailed unit and faction biographies on the game's website (which give the game's setting a more serious and in-depth feel, versus the "action comedy" theme of the original RA2). Overall you can tell the developers put a huge amount of effort into this mod.

Though it's not perfect. My main gripe is are the new campaigns - while the story is very interesting, there are way too many "commando" missions (where the player can't construct a base), and too many of the missions end up boiling down to trial and error. For example, the player may start the mission with a single unit and be told to rescue a missing scientist - however there is no indication on the map of where the player should go to look for him, and making a single wrong turn results in being killed by enemy units (which the player had no way of predicting in advance). This combined with not being able to save just make too many of the missions a drag.

Other minor gripes I have are the skirmish AI - while I'm glad that this game has a challenging AI, it's too difficult even on the easiest setting and makes it too hard for newcomers to learn the ins and outs of the game. Some of the newly recorded unit voicework is also pretty bad or stupid (for example, one unit in the game makes a reference to an internet meme from Pokemon video game - seriously?).

But other than the boring campaign missions, there aren't any major complaints here. I play this game mainly for the fun skirmish mode, just keep in mind that the campaign has a lot to be desired in comparison.

DC Updated Campaign Mod
7 Review

Mod Review by deathteam15 on Oct 7th, 2014

I like the idea of being able to play as the Inquisition in the campaign, although some the new textures could do with a bit of improvement :)

Republic at War
7 Review

Mod Review by Major-Maxhuni on Oct 5th, 2014

The aI for the cis wont attack me even on hard they just sit there and the republic just attacks not that often

Silent Pripyat
7 Review

Mod Review by Daemorth on Oct 5th, 2014

Just one look at the weapons and the uniforms got me dazzled. The gun smoke sure is realistic but when aiming down the sights it drops the fps down about 30 frames which is kind of odd. Also a whole lot of annoying bugs were found as well.

Spotted bugs:
The campfires look like blowtorches and starlight, it looks ridiculous quite frankly.
Anything other than Static Lighting seems to crash the game.
Whoever uses flashlights in the game leaves a neon green radius around themselves, including the character himself (not pretty).
Some NPC handplacements around firearms look like they wish they hade a mounted grenade launcher.
The reticle while using the binoculars or the VSS Sniper (more?) seem to be panned around 2cms to the right, making the scope almost completely useless. (I did set the correct settings for my in game resolution.)

Ninth of October - Continuation
7 Review

Mod Review by Boss-DOS on Oct 5th, 2014
This review may contain spoilers

I enjoyed this one but not as much as I did the first.

I feel like if you just weren't feeling it, it should've been left alone if you know what I mean? I could tell what maps you did when you were motivated and those you did when you weren't at all. It left pieces feeling really lifeless since there were empty shelves and things like that. It made me a little sad. But I can understand.

Another thing I want to point out is there were so many monsters. It felt like every corner I turned there was a suitor waiting to eat face and constantly running and hiding from them took some of the experience away from me. There were also A LOT of wall and decal glitches all through out the story. Though, other than that I didn't come across any scripting glitches and stuff like that. The maze map was pretty cool, I got lost quite a few times actually, and I really liked the last map.

Overall I enjoyed it, it was fun to play and well put together, so I'll give it a 7.

Zone of Alienation mod
7 Review

Mod Review by brunojames3367 on Oct 5th, 2014

Great gameplay implementations, fantastic when it works. The three points are taken off due to issues of great instability and lots of CTD's. Once the mod is more stable it'll be one of the definitive mods for ShOC. Please keep up the good work!

Lost in Place
7 Review

Mod Review by Lazzer6 on Oct 4th, 2014

Decent and enjoyable stuff

Blade Yautja
7 Review

Mod Review by Argoon on Oct 3rd, 2014

A 7 for the rough edges, that is really expected on a one developer mod but i still can't give it a 10. I must say this mod is really a labor of love, it shows from the start to finish, and has some features that are chock full of potential, they just need more work. The reason i do not give a 10 to this mod is because of this reasons, one is the cloack system, it needs two keys to work, one is just a visual effect, that as some small glitches and the second key is in reality a cheat in disguise imo, by hitting that key i think you are just enabling a notarget cheat to the AI, at least that is what feels like to me, i can be in their face, jump and make noise and they will not react, again that is what it seems has i haven't seen the underlying code, second the difficulty is also very high, i'm not against high difficulty mind you, but when a simple mouse can kill a predator something is not well, third the predator visions are nice but the heat vision takes a big toll on the performance, rendering it almost unusable to me, that is not good for a predator game has it is the main vision mode for the creature.

Refunktion
7 Review

Game Review by kabeltelevizio on Oct 3rd, 2014 - 1 person agrees

There is only one reason for me giving this a 7. It is insanely difficult.
The game is beautiful, it's the right combination of Mirror's Edge and Portal and the gameplay is pretty great too, although I am not sure what the story is. Sadly I never got passed the second scene, because the droids are impossible to outrun. It's very hard to stay undetected for a long time and eventually, if you want to get something, you have to reveal yourself. That always results in droids spotting you and that's not the problem. The problem is, there is no way to disable or distract them and since there is no run-button, running away doesn't do much good either (why is the word "speedrun" even in the description?). I tried this game quite a few times, but it always resulted the same way.
If this difficulty is fixed I'll definitely try this game again, but until then...
Just make the AI less smart or remove a few droids or make running available or add an ability to distract them.
Apart from this, the game is great, I didn't encounter any bugs or errors, but then again, I didn't get very far.

Brytenwalda
7 Review

Mod Review by monstergodz on Oct 2nd, 2014

I have given this a 7/10 for now and here is why. For for starters, this game has the most unfair start I have ever seen. Why is it that both this game and the ACOK mod nerf your starting stats when compared to the vanilla game? The all the recruits you can get have a high upkeep cost right from the start and why, because they start at lvl 15 even though they don't act or fight like lvl 15s. They have a high strength but do garbage damage to everyone but player characters. Which leads me into my next point, because of said starting recruit levels the npc's do insane damage from the start, with rocks doing upwards of 40 damage at times. Next is the bandits and outlaws and what not, I spent the first 2 hours of this mod running from packs of 30-60 bandits! Why for the love of god did you allow them to spawn this many from the start, nothing a pc can do about them unless they join a military, which you should not be forced into. Now, those complaints aside, This mod is amazing, it looks absolutely beautiful and the map is great (although a bit more flatland would be nice for mount battles, though I understand why there isn't much flatland). The towns, villages, and keeps are all very well done and more interactions with npcs are well scripted.

I would give this game a higher rating but I will list all the reasons it is not higher rated.
-Player stats are nowhere near on par with anyone else in the game including peasants (leaders have and extra 20-30 points on the player of the same level).
-Recruited farmers have too high of an upkeep for early game.
-Bandits(and outlaws and all those types) are not only too strong from the start, but carry too good of gear most of the time (high end military gear for every one of them, come on), and they spawn in way too high of numbers.
-Bandit types should spawn in numbers from 1-10 for at least 2 in game weeks so that a player can get a chance to get a footing in the world without being roflstomped into the group from the starting city.
-Fix arena combatants so they don't zone in on the pc. Every time I do arena nearly all of the npcs go straight for me and ignore all other npcs until I am dead (this includes their missed swings not damaging other npcs).
-Give an option to see stats from starting choices, the whole random thing is awesome most of the time, but sometimes you'd like to see what stats you're starting with so you can plan a character from lvl 1.
-Prices on many items are way to high, and are basically out of reach unless you cheat to get money, and at that point what is the point of playing, I have seen a basic horse go for 25k and basic swords go for 14k, and those where just normal swords nothing special.
-FIX THE ECONOMY SO WE CAN ACTUALLY MAKE A SUCCESSFUL BUSINESS. This is a problem in every single mod and I don't understand why no mod fixes it. I get that the economies are suppose to suck during times of war, but this is a war game with UBER bandits, there is no way for the pc to influence the world enough to where purchasing land for a business is worth it.
-Finally, fix pathing of npcs during sieges, If there are 3 ladders why are they all funneling up one, and then they stop at the top, or all try and go the same way up top, make them split paths to swarm the defenders rather than just standing on the wall being archer fodder.

I know a lot of this stuff was in vanilla too, but as a great modder I would expect that you had some of the same issues or ideas at some point. This mod is great in so many respects but if you're looking to just have fun fighting small battles, trying to do trading or anything not world conquering-wise its impossible due to all the fixable problems.
At the very least, could you make it an option for some of this stuff, like give us a slider bar on how often bandits spawn, and another as to how many troops they spawn with. It's options like that, that would make this mod a 10/10 for sure, but for now, its too hard for newer people to enjoy.

Highest Rated
9.9 (game)
FS2_Open Source
9.9 (mod)
Nali Weapons 3
9.9 (mod)
Back2Fronts Mod
9.9 (mod)
SC Revolution Mod
9.9 (mod)
FOJ Community Mod
9.9 (mod)
WWII Reality
9.9 (mod)
Mapper Guild
9.8 (mod)
The Nameless Mod
9.8 (mod)
New Vision
9.8 (mod)
Total Mayhem
9.8 (mod)
Ballistic Weapons
9.8 (game)
Homeworld
9.8 (game)
Blood
9.8 (mod)
Tamriel Rebuilt
9.8 (mod)
Matto4
9.8 (game)
Dysis
9.8 (game)
Teslagrad
9.8 (mod)
4th Dimension [FA]
9.8 (mod)
Galactic Armory
9.8 (mod)
JA2 1.13 Mod
9.8 (engine)
Westwood 2D
9.8 (mod)
WARTIME
9.8 (mod)
Duke Plus
9.8 (mod)
Rendroc's WarZone
9.8 (mod)
Rome at War
9.8 (mod)
UT Community SDK
9.8 (engine)
FS2_Open Engine