Review RSS Feed Drakan: Order of the Flame
7 Review

Game Review by hemebond on Dec 21st, 2014

Buggy but good.

Wheezy Everlasting
7 Review

Mod Review by goji-hime95 on Dec 21st, 2014

This mod had some fantastic visuals--excellent in terms of design all around, and the music was perfect. Difficulty-wise, the maps were a mixed bag. Map 1 was the best and the most reasonable in terms of challenges. Map 2 was extremely tedious, though, and it was very frustrating completing this map because of how monotonous the tasks were. Map 3 was rather easy, maybe too easy but at least it was more reasonable than map 2. Map 4 was decent, although, I don't play platformer games much, so I probably didn't enjoy it as much as some people. But it was a different kind of experience in an Amnesia mod.

Overall, this is a good mod with great atmosphere and excellent visuals, but the difficulty ranges from too easy to frustrating. I like the effort put into this and hope to see more from this author, though.

Movie Battles II
7 Review

Mod Review by TheZealot on Dec 21st, 2014

This mod is fantastic, but the community/playerbase is seriously one of the worst I've seen. Friendly fire seriously needs to be disabled in this since a lot of the players I've encountered teamkilled half of their teams for no clear reason.

Rome At War2
7 Review

Mod Review by Melty on Dec 20th, 2014

It is pretty good so far, I love the new stabbing!

A Clash of Kings (Game of Thrones)
7 Review

Mod Review by ToniTaylor on Dec 20th, 2014

needs to fix the crashes

Penumbra: Necrologue
7 Review

Mod Review by TheUnbeholden on Dec 18th, 2014

I managed to finish it, must admit I didn't much like the part in the snow, or the tuurngait tomb (or this chemistry non-sense). So the last third of the game needed something more to it all, more notes to read, less running around, better level design that encourages you to focus on the environment without it feeling bland and has something happen beyond the "hallucinated" wolf pack while you where in the snow or that hallucinated "winged creature" in the tuurngait tomb. It just felt rather flat by the end of near 2 hours since we escaped the main complex.
The mine kind of felt like it was shoehorned in there but is easily the only good part of the last third of the mod.

I got a fair bit of a lag in the last snow part, and within the 2 hangers while looking for the fuel (which made jumping on the moving crate more difficult than it should have been with the lag). There was some stuff hidden a bit to well like that piece of cloth, and the document that tells of the passcode for the door to the auxiliary shaft but that seems small in comparison what I'm finding disappointing. The ending, well I expected something more to it all, like is Red still alive, is Amabel real and was she going to help phillip (and did she escape infection), and what happened with Clarence, where did he go and why? It justs rather anti-climactic to given more questions than answers yet again.

+The first third was great, and worthy of Penumbra sequel, the second third gets slightly more sinister and we revisit areas from overture and black plague but they have been extended, with new tools at our disposal we get into areas we couldn't before and make our way to the surface. I like the aspect of insanity that you start to feel like you've just gone around in a circle back to where you started. It fits the game I think.
+3 new enemies.
+Difficult, with no hand holding, but I think the mod could have used some hints here and there on some occasions (rather than just v1.1 putting red arrows as a quick fix for our complaints).

-Some parts are non-nonsensical, the chemistry part is basically a guessing game, while other parts are just unnecessarily difficult like running away from the really fast moving spiders while trying to manually lower the lift (and getting hit by the spiders while immobile because of the cutscene).
-Some things where hidden a tad to well, like the cloth for turning off the steam and the note about the passcode for the auxiliary shaft door.
-lag during the snow part and the 2 hangers.

Star Wars BattleFront Commander
7 Review

Mod Review by HelmetMan on Dec 18th, 2014

Great mod but I can tell you used some models from republic at war which is kinda wrong man

Half Life : Climbox
7 Review

Mod Review by thedeadcamper on Dec 17th, 2014

This mod is an attempt at an arena-styled game play, focused on the player facing against a single opponent per small arena. I was confused by the title at first, but the mod's folder name is called "duel", which leads me to that conclusion.

This mod is very short, and very easy given the context, but the brushwork is really nice in each set piece. The game on a whole is one level long, which is fine, but even then it's incredibly jarring how short it is, especially given the type of game it's trying to be.

I understand this was made during a game jam, then later finalized. This probably explains the shortness of the mod overall. I do like the addition of power-ups in the level design, but I think it would have been finer with using regular health kits and armor packs instead, mostly because they weren't really utilized in my play-through until I discovered them after the fact.

It's hard to say that this is worth your download time, but it's a small download, and once you've got it set up, it's alright. I would have liked to have seen more difficult fights with the earlier enemies.

tl;dr
Some enemies simply aren't designed to face one-on-one in the half-life universe, and by that I mean that the mod is too easy.

Forgotten Hope 2
7 Review

Mod Review by RemoPL on Dec 17th, 2014

Good work. That look great. Awesome mod. I approve it :D. Only (but big) disadvantage is system of score which is awful and unjust. You can do anything, raging the front, killing enemies, but always more points will have comanders because of spawning on them... :/

Extreme VS full boost mod
7 Review

Mod Review by gundamiesterseed00 on Dec 13th, 2014

It is an Exceptionally Programmed Game (Iconic Mobile Suits and pilots, Maps and music)/ it was challenging to get the files right.

but the glitches such as (my avatar boosting automatically without my commands and the controls not customizing as i want it and button programming not responding as i press them even with the default set, gets annoying after an hour of troubleshooting...

But nothing a Good thorough update can't fix, yes? i would advice this. and other than that Awesome Game!

The Red Wars, Calradia 1923
7 Review

Mod Review by TitusMedes on Dec 13th, 2014

First of all this is a beta so im going a little easy on the mod,the siege is not the best, the open field doesn't make it feel like a battle, its feels like a line battle. The uniform looks and fit the faction

Star Trek: Sacrifice of Angels 2
7 Review

Mod Review by sto-mainmarine on Dec 10th, 2014

I give a 7 because the textures could use some work. They are a bit low-res.

Blackout: A Horror Adventure
7 Review

Game Review by Szamer on Dec 10th, 2014

This is a really great game it has a few off points but some of them are funny.

Gothic III
7 Review

Game Review by Rus_Demo on Dec 8th, 2014

Gothic III beta not bad (((

Source
7 Review

Engine Review by Rus_Demo on Dec 8th, 2014

this source 2004 for gameplay half life 2 2004-3 ?
indeed -_-

Catacombs: Part 1
7 Review

Mod Review by usbpetrock on Dec 7th, 2014

Very interesting map pack, with cool lighting and atmosphere. The encounters seemed a bit lacking, though, especially across the first 4 levels, which only featured zombies to fight with a crowbar. There are too many empty boxes (I wanted to smash them all) and it was a dumb move to make the fire inflict damage. The texturing was also bland, but all-in-all, it was a fun map pack, just with not enough happening.

D-day
7 Review

Mod Review by Dortmundi on Dec 5th, 2014

Great artwork, looks like ambitious art project. Gameplay not too great.

Battlefield 2142
7 Review

Game Review by g-darius on Dec 5th, 2014

Great concept, but:
- Have few maps, even with the expansion.
- The singleplayer "steals" some maps.
- The singleplayer "steals" game modes.
- Few vehicles in quantity and variety (but the drive giant robots are the best).
- The gadgets must be unlocked (im don't know how).
- Few factions (only two).
Too bad, because the sci-fi theme would provide many possibilities, limited only by the lack of imagination.

Chasm: The Rift
7 Review

Game Review by g-darius on Dec 5th, 2014

Nice game, but even now looks old.

Steam, Tracks, Trouble & Riddles
7 Review

Mod Review by ghostings on Dec 4th, 2014

My this is one of those mods that has found itself in an uncomfortable spot.

The effort that went into the mod is clearly visible and I really want to rate this mod higher, but sadly glitches plagued certain sections along with the fact that the dialogue was jarring, especially with someone like Ross Scott being forced to voice them.

Pros:
-Intricate puzzle mechanics present throughout the game
-Custom characters complete with voices
-New setting besides shooty Combine-land

Cons:
-The same puzzle mechanics are plagued with glitches
-Voice talent wasted on inane dialogue
-Mapping is sparce with details

Overall this mod is a rough gem. I really love the concept and the effort put into this mod, but it could have used more polish. Don't let this deter you from making a sequel though, as I would certainly be looking forward to it.

Highest Rated
9.9 (game)
FS2_Open Source
9.9 (mod)
Nali Weapons 3
9.9 (mod)
Back2Fronts Mod
9.9 (mod)
SC Revolution Mod
9.9 (mod)
FOJ Community Mod
9.9 (mod)
WWII Reality
9.9 (mod)
Mapper Guild
9.8 (mod)
The Nameless Mod
9.8 (mod)
Total Mayhem
9.8 (mod)
Ballistic Weapons
9.8 (game)
Homeworld
9.8 (game)
Blood
9.8 (mod)
Tamriel Rebuilt
9.8 (mod)
Matto4
9.8 (game)
Dysis
9.8 (game)
Teslagrad
9.8 (mod)
4th Dimension [FA]
9.8 (mod)
Galactic Armory
9.8 (mod)
JA2 1.13 Mod
9.8 (engine)
Westwood 2D
9.8 (mod)
WARTIME
9.8 (mod)
Duke Plus
9.8 (mod)
Rome at War
9.8 (engine)
FS2_Open Engine
9.8 (mod)
UT Community SDK
9.8 (mod)
Finnwars
9.8 (engine)
Unreal Engine 4