Review RSS Feed Nova Aetas
7 Review

Mod Review by KryxenVatrinore on Sep 1st, 2014

There's a lot of cool ideas here. Special combat abilities, building your own castle in wherever you want to place it, and why wouldn't I want a lord's statue in every settlement I own. You can't enter the castle if you don't have enough prestige which would be cool but that means you cannot get quests or turn in completed quests until the lord has left his keep. It's a fun mod and I look forward to updates but it's not a version 1.0

Resident Evil 4
7 Review

Game Review by Draken147 on Sep 1st, 2014

Resident Evil 4 does not feel like a resident evil game at all and if you ask me, it's where the series started going down the slope.

The father of all the godawful "press X to not die" the QTE feature is overused and maybe makes sense for a PS game but I played the godawful PC port and boy did that suck.

No mouse support, why it had no mouse support? Do we have analogs on keyboards? No. Would that make the game too easy? I don't think so. No options menu, was there a reason to not have one? The default keymapping is just terrifyingly bad and when you have to edit config files to change something, that's where something is wrong.

BUT I've recently played through it with a PS3 controller and managed to finally appreciate the game a little more, it doesn't feel like survival horror anymore but as an action game it's good enough.

To sum it all up the game is decent by itself, not so much when compared to where it came from.

Also, the rating for the PC port is 2/10 because it is functional but it's the worst PC port I have seen in my life, it feels like you're running the game on a PS2 Emulator, there is nothing PC about it.

Lurk the Horror Game
7 Review

Game Review by kabeltelevizio on Sep 1st, 2014

This was a great short horror game with a nice and simple story. Although the jump scares were not so good, the ending was really satisfying. The ambience was nicely established too and the sounds and music added a lot to the situation.

The Midnight Game
7 Review

Game Review by Palarus on Sep 1st, 2014

GOOD
- Having to light the matches manually to light the candle. That is such an AWESOME idea!
- Level design lets the player remember easily where the different rooms are and it's easy to navigate. The house is full of details.
- Having to actually gather the items and follow the instructions to play the midnight game.
- Items appear in random locations.
- You can select how much time you have before it's 00:00.
- The hallucinations look great
- Great audio

NEUTRAL
- The ambience seems a bit out of place before the ritual is done. Maybe some quieter "everyday scary" sounds (Crickets, some drips, the house creaking...) instead of a deep ambience sound would add to the creepiness and overall immersion.

BAD
- Getting the knife can be REALLY hard because the model doesn't show up. I restarted the game countless times and, even though it's always on the kitchen, you have to aimlessly look for a LMB prompt to grab it.
- The game instructions should be accessed pressing TAB, along with the items, instead of having to interact with TWO pieces of paper to know what to do and know some tips.
- The small quantity of matches you have in the box means you don't have much margin if you mess up or if the Midnight Man comes near you too many times

Conclusion:
The Midnight Game should be showcased as how an urban legend horror game should be done: loyal to the original,without having to rely on cheap jumpscares or item collecting and adding fitting mechanics that bring some fresh air to the genre.
Every playthrough can be a little bit short, but it is a scary and enjoyable experience nonetheless!

7/10

S.T.A.L.K.E.R. - Lost Alpha
7 Review

Mod Review by JPTR on Sep 1st, 2014

Still in the middle of the game i recognize that i have to fight with my motivation to play on. Some reasons...

The world is empty and not scary, i would say it's boring most of the time. Specialy the large spaces you have newly created to enhance the game are far away from beeing good and till now i've some doubt about the talent of your level designers.

The "Mines"... so much potential for atmosphere and anomalies in it and all i find is a boring looking, overscaled tristesse without any interesting points.
A mine should be closely, full with anomalies where you have to search a way to pass through... why no creating a dangerous area from the side we joined the mines for the first time with mutants and anomalies and at the other end the guarded and isolated area of the sin stalkers?
Also nobody is moving billions tons of ground to create a big mine like yours, not to forget the static problem because of missing pillars...

For me after 7 years? of working on a mod is absolutly not understandable. 1 Person with a few weeks of time working on this would be enough to make it a great addition to the game.

Same for the forest location... nothing against a huge forest with one road, it can be great and it's realistic... but not in this way.
Why are there fences on the side of the roads which avoid you from crossing right through a dangerous wood? Why is there nearly no vegetation to block our view (making it interesting).... driving thorugh it i can see everything and it's empty... depending on well distributed anomalies and a "make it dangerous"-placed enemie combination.

Till now for me it looks like you tried to make it large as possible without the ideas to fill it with content.

Another thing i don't get... the artifact placement. It's a nice idea to create SoC how it was planned in early stages, but if this was part from early SoC builds, then the developers made the right choise to change it in the past. (no chars remain..will edit/rate again after continue)

Hell Unleashed for 1.10 LOD
7 Review

Mod Review by Lajszi on Sep 1st, 2014

The mod deserves a 9 point of 10, but because im with a fresh account i can't give higher than 7 atm. This is the best mod for the game, the added content and bosses was superiror! However the mod suffers from serious balance issues even in single player mode.

Eastern Sun
7 Review

Mod Review by Lajszi on Sep 1st, 2014

I would give a 8 point for the mod but because im new i can't give it higher points at the moment. However it was a top mod for Diablo 2!

Le Royaume des Ombres
7 Review

Mod Review by Lajszi on Sep 1st, 2014

The currect state of the mod is very promising, however i don't like the look of the new skilltrees.

Hopeless Night
7 Review

Mod Review by thedeadcamper on Sep 1st, 2014

I kinda liked this mod, actually. It wasn't really scary (save for a well placed jump scare), but it was straight forward and the voice acting and dialogue kind of put a (hopefully intentional) humorous spin on the whole thing.

The cut scenes were a bit unnecessary for the most part, and took me out of control for things I was probably going to do anyways. I get the feeling that you could get away with not taking away the player's control at most points and it would be just fine.

I think there was potential in the humor more than the attempt at making yet another zombie game. Whether the humor was intended, I don't know. It probably wasn't, but I enjoyed it.

I wish the ending wasn't such a downer though :(

Defiance
7 Review

Game Review by JHORDEE on Aug 31st, 2014

I actually like this game. Especially now, where it's F2P, way worth your time! It's great fun to play the gam and watch the series at the same time, I really like the crossover stuff. The arkfalls (boss fights) are great fun and the open world Coop works perfectly.

Still, the game could be improved in some ways, a proper video settings menu, for example. Also, here and there I've found some minor bugs, but nothing too bad.

All I can say is; Try it out, it's free!

PEIRAPRIGOND
7 Review

Mod Review by MODLOVER43 on Aug 31st, 2014

Cool and not a bad story overall but the puzzles were WAY to hard and not enough help was given.

Republic at War
7 Review

Mod Review by Gorkon on Aug 30th, 2014

I am giving this mod a 7 due to a few of the glaring issues it has, most notably the AI and some other bugs. I do think this mod has some good sound design and voiceovers used from other games really add to it. Some of the ship models like the Venator and Lucrehulk don't look quite right. The Venators coloring is not very accurate to the films at all. The space side of the game is why most people play Empire at War still, and is where the game shines. However this mod needs more polishing and a few more units for each faction. The fighters/bombers look great, so do alot of the ships aside from the before mentioned ones.

The Republic side uses some ships that were never seen in the films, while they aren't bad they could look a bit more republic in colorations etc. I am a sucker for the art side of games. The supposed AI fix released doesn't truly fix the AI issues. Other mods like ORAW or the Legacy era one don't mess with the AI functionality and they play better than this mod.

Why the modders felt the need to meddle with a new AI setup I don't know, but clearly its only resulted in the mod being semi broken.

Estranged
7 Review

Mod Review by Dzev on Aug 30th, 2014

Only because of mapping..

Dear RED
7 Review

Game Review by Paletonic on Aug 28th, 2014

This is a really nice little game.I like the old feel it has with the graphics.Awesome job.

The Great War
7 Review

Mod Review by djt0nez on Aug 28th, 2014

Amazing mod! Keep the the great work.

The Intern's Story
7 Review

Mod Review by thedeadcamper on Aug 27th, 2014

I feel like this mod was good, but it really lacks polish as it is.

I played the 'redux' version (which I think is parts 1 and 2) and the ambiance was great throughout, especially at the beginning. However, I think the thing that works the most against most it is the regular use of text on the screen to convey the player's reactions to things. That and the camera and control being removed from the player almost habitually during part 1 kind of took away from the experience.

Mind you, this is a good mod with a lot of potential with the creepy vibes it puts out at the very beginning. I look forward to seeing part 3 and hope that my concerns are addressed by then.

I hope the modder considers getting proper voice actors, though. Text to speech programs are kind of obvious.

Castle of Horrors
7 Review

Mod Review by Humeba on Aug 26th, 2014

I'm not exactly sure why this custom story was rated so low, it wasn't that bad. I have played better but I have also played worse. I gave it a 7/10 because of all the lower ratings. At least you tried.

Battles of the Third Age
7 Review

Mod Review by Gotyam on Aug 24th, 2014

This is a great mod and i would have played it even more if it hadn't been for the crashes. Also, i dislike how the dwarven faction still has no AI and that (maybe just cause i am dumb and don't know how) the Rohan citadel to Gondor can't be buildt, just like the Haradrim of Mordor. I would also love to see some special ring heroes, as well as a nerf to them (had 1 sauron from Angmar vs all the nazgul, citadel and an army of orcs. All destroyed with just taking half of Sauron's health

Lost in a Forest
7 Review

Game Review by Slendygamer on Aug 23rd, 2014

I saw gameplays, and the game is awesome, but... a problem: i can't buy it, is my country (Argentina) is banned the online shopping. I LIKE WHAT THE GAME BE FREE ****!!!!!!!!!!

EC MOD
7 Review

Mod Review by General_WVPM on Aug 23rd, 2014

promising but not there yet

Highest Rated
9.9 (game)
FS2_Open Source
9.9 (mod)
Nali Weapons 3
9.9 (mod)
Back2Fronts Mod
9.9 (mod)
SC Revolution Mod
9.9 (mod)
FOJ Community Mod
9.9 (mod)
WWII Reality
9.9 (mod)
Mapper Guild
9.8 (mod)
The Nameless Mod
9.8 (mod)
New Vision
9.8 (mod)
Total Mayhem
9.8 (mod)
Ballistic Weapons
9.8 (game)
Homeworld
9.8 (game)
Blood
9.8 (mod)
Tamriel Rebuilt
9.8 (mod)
Matto4
9.8 (game)
Dysis
9.8 (game)
Teslagrad
9.8 (mod)
4th Dimension [FA]
9.8 (mod)
Galactic Armory
9.8 (mod)
JA2 1.13 Mod
9.8 (engine)
Westwood 2D
9.8 (mod)
WARTIME
9.8 (mod)
Duke Plus
9.8 (mod)
Rendroc's WarZone
9.8 (mod)
Rome at War
9.8 (mod)
UT Community SDK