Review RSS Feed The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt
6 Review

Game Review by TheUnbeholden on May 22nd, 2015 - 1 person doesn't

+Great voice acting
+Great story and rich lore for those interested in the Witcher
+Great graphics, although downgraded from what they showed at E3
+Open World
+Nice boss battles, requiring tactics and research, and you can't battle it until your strong enough or else you get your *** handed to you. Its a huge step up from Skyrim (where the dragons and giants can be taken on at about level 10-13 or so) here its very clear what monsters you can take on early on, and what are way above your level.

-Terrible combat, You just roll around, and spam attack button, role when they attack. Don't need to use crossbow or magic. If you accidentally hit a button you have to watch the animation play out, you can't cancel a move or feign attack. You automatically lock onto a enemy that moves closer than the other. So your not in control when fighting, which can get very frustrating when your character does something you clearly don't want to do. Your constantly struggling with this system of lock on like it was made for someone who doesn't know how to use movement keys or a mouse. ie Its not tailored for the PC port.

-Terrible controls. unbindable keys, camera that goes everywhere, roll button that dodges out of the way without being able to choose the direction you do it in, horse gallop button that automatically moves across roads so you can't steer the horse (all the way to the objective), automated alchemy (where all your alcohol gets taken away when you sleep which replenishes all the potions you used that day, don't even need to craft?!). My goodness! The devs think we are completely brain dead, and this stuff is not optional. You have to bear it or uninstall the game.

-Difficulty levels do not help the issue of ****** controls, they should have left the hand holding at the first difficulty level. So they get a extra thumb down for not using those levels, if they even do anything.

-Terrible AI, friendly AI walk into each other and phase through each other like they aren't made of flesh, but napkins. You can go through every house and loot everything without anyone complaining for a second or calling the law. Its hilarious, and very disappointing. Friendly companions do exactly what you say, for instance you tell them to fight a monster, they will keep fighting it forever. No sleep, no eating, and they never die, but still keep trying to kill the monster. I don't think I've ever encountered something so immersion breaking, but The Witcher 3 somehow does it.

Tomb Raider Chronicles
6 Review

Game Review by Thanoshld on May 20th, 2015

Every Tomb Raider game (until that point) was better than the last, with Tomb Raider IV being the best of them. And then comes TR V. Not that it was a bad game, but it was not as good as it's predecessors and surely not as bad and laggy as the one that followed. Let's say that if you are planning to do a TR marathon, you can skip this one.

Planet Nexion
6 Review

Mod Review by Gore33 on May 19th, 2015

It should be a lot better. The black & white saturation is way too high and it strains eyes. Though I expected planet Nexion has these weird colors? The enemies are ok and I quite like the idea behind it.

CanĀ“t Remember
6 Review

Mod Review by MODLOVER43 on May 18th, 2015

Expected more than just a cheap jumpscare fest from a story rated so high. The scares themselves were decent, but the story was unoriginal and made no sense and lets not forget that the mod takes only about 10 minutes to complete.

Not bad, ive definitely played worse, but WAY overrated

Half-Life 2
6 Review

Game Review by ST6 on May 16th, 2015

I don't get the story for Half-Life 2.

Hard Reset
6 Review

Game Review by DEAD_FiSH on May 12th, 2015

You know I hate when studios think that Old School means cramming as much enemies as possible in one square room and then after finishing they let you go to a next corridor to do the exact same thing again.
This is fine for old games like Smash TV but once you get to FPS games like Doom you start seeing something else. Enemies are placed in a specific and deliberate way. The levels weren't corridors but were instead free to explore for keys, secrets and other things like that. You had many things to do instead of just going to the exit.
Hexen took this to a new level for FPS games by connecting open levels into one giant hub.
For a PC exclusive this game has one of the worst loading times I have ever seen in my life. Painkiller Overdose doesn't load as slow as this and that game was criticized for slow loading.
What also irritates me in this game is that you lack an ability to side-step quickly. Something that makes fast paced old school shooters is missing here and is instead replaced with slow walking and a sprint ability that lasts for short time and works only in one direction which is forward. Hell a game that came afer this: Shadow Warrior 2013 handled this much better, and that one still wasn't old school.
Now you're probably wondering, after such harsh criticism do I think this game is good? Well yes. I do actually. It is a breath of fresh air, for start the story is absolute rubbish but you can't skip any of it because the load times are so terrible. Trust me you won't understand any of it.
The weapon upgrade system is really fun, you have just two weapons but you can upgrade them to do many things. Like rocket launchers, shotguns, etc.
Also this game is a real looker, sure the textures are low res since the game is old but the style is just jaw dropping. It's packed with detail, but the sacrifice comes in linearity. This game is stupidly linear, plus it's really short.
The bosses are as stupid as in Shadow Warrior 2013. I'm not really fond of these kind of boss fights where their weak spots are glowing so hard you could get blind.
So is it a good game? Yeah! You should give it a shot, but it's not old school. It's just a breath of fresh air in sea of blunt AAA titles.

VtM: The Final Nights
6 Review

Mod Review by Sharonthecat on May 12th, 2015

I think the claim that the mod is "so different it can't be called Bloodlines" is dubious at best. There aren't any meaningful changes to the game. I found the blood loss system- not unique to this particular mod, I know- to be pointless and in conflict with canon. I truly don't see the point beyond making the game slightly harder. I think it was a poor choice, as it added nothing to the game but aggravation.

I did enjoy the ability to play as a Salubri, although that was the only clan I had an interest in. I thought the addition of the Laibon bloodlines was a weird choice, but that's more of a matter of personal taste. Some of the additional quests were interesting, but- and I come back to this point again- this is NOT a different game from Bloodlines. I wouldn't belabor this point if the makers hadn't made such a point of it. It IS Bloodlines. The major quests, plot, and endings are identical. This is Bloodlines with a little flavoring, but don't be fooled. If you're looking for a completely new experience, this isn't it.

The mod works well- I didn't have any mechanical problems with it- but I wouldn't really recommend it. I found the Clan Quest one more enjoyable, although not because it was a "radically different experience." I just thought it worked better.

Yes, the majority of my problem with this mod was the blood loss system, but I'm not sure if I can accurately convey what a huge waste of my time it was. I found it so offensive that I felt no need to respect it, so I cheated. But hey, if it sounds good to you, by all means try it out.

Patience
6 Review

Mod Review by Maxleyo on May 11th, 2015 - 2 people agree 2 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Man, this is soooo depressing, but it was very enjoiable :) I Really liked the level design and the custom walls, luckly i am a very patient person.

Calradian Crusaders
6 Review

Mod Review by sambob on May 11th, 2015

Too much diplomatic spam; tournament attendance required; camping warning/nerfed.

Semi Sanandreas Mod
6 Review

Mod Review by U.S.Marine on May 11th, 2015 - 1 person agrees

This mod isn't good. But ain't so bad, just needs some develop and... Great!

Rage of Dark Gods: Total War. (Warhammer FB)
6 Review

Mod Review by Exterminatis on May 10th, 2015

Having to pay simply to download a mod, is an embarrassment to the modding community, i won't wait a total of 60 hours to download one mod, i think I'll pass and go play TATW or TESTW.

The Hunted
6 Review

Game Review by Ozkaroth on May 10th, 2015

A simple game based on the old school Quake engine. Not a bad effort at all. The premise is simple, avoid the zombies inside the house. Look for keys to unlock new areas, and find a tool to fight back.

If you're looking for a very simple game this will not disappoint.

To the dev: The option to turn off "always run" does not seem to produce effect; would be nice to hear the main characters steps as he walks. Overall, well done.

Sins of a Galactic Empire
6 Review

Mod Review by guerio on May 9th, 2015

Hey

The game is well made, many units, buildings and planets etc....

But, like others have pointed out, the games starts to lag very early.

The ships are really really really really really small....as a consequence space combat sucks a bit. Laser beams seem bigger than Capital ships... :s
You can't see a thing and thus enjoy the game.

Apart from that the game is good. But those things should be corrected...

The Elder Scrolls: Total War
6 Review

Mod Review by wezir91 on May 8th, 2015

Good idea, but not very friendly to TES world (some soundtracks, voices).

Shepard's Adventures
6 Review

Mod Review by cryptid85 on May 7th, 2015

It was somewhat enjoyable but suffered from unfair difficulty, unrewarding amounts of items (i.e. fight a bunch of black ops for 1 measly health charger), and pointless moments like Barney vs a random shock trooper. I guess for an unfinished mod it's decent, and OP4 fanatics like myself will likely find something enjoyable here.

Five Nights at Freddy's 3
6 Review

Game Review by U.S.Marine on May 6th, 2015 - 1 person agrees

I love Five Nights at Freddy's series. But this one not so good.

Calradia: Imperial Age
6 Review

Mod Review by silvergriffin217 on May 5th, 2015

I gave this score because I can't get the game to open when I play this specific mod. I skip the video thing, and then it closes out completely. It says "Unable to open file: CommonRes\core_shaders.brf". I downloaded the thing that lets you view brf files, but it STILL won't work! I would love to play this mod, and from what I hear, I would LOVE it, but I just can't get it to work. If anyone knows how to fix this, please tell me. Thanks in advance.

Note: The thing that lets you view brf files is called openBrf.

Half-Life : The Alpha Unit
6 Review

Mod Review by U.S.Marine on May 5th, 2015 - 2 people agree

Story is good, mod is good but voice actoring is really bad. I gave a rating like "6/10". Have a nice day.

Enemy Front
6 Review

Game Review by Thompson.pl on May 4th, 2015

Firstly, Enemy Front is SP only game like almost all of the CI stuff. They did a lot of cheap realises. MP is dead, so dont buy this game if you are not SP-player.

Enemy Fornt is a better version of Mortyr. This series is about commando who takes part in special/partizan operation during WW2. Probably nobody know this game, exept Poles. Motyr has only SP campain, no MP.

And now CI games realised abroad a better version of Mortyr - Enemy Front, calling it "great game wow, next Crisis". They always describe like that. Cheap games witch you can buy in newsagence for 4$ too. But non-Poles didnt know about it, they expected good MP and CoD's style SP. But Enemy Front is like Mortyr - you are one men army killing hordes of Germans. So that game is big disappointment for people who trust CI that they will made game of the year.

The main disadvantage of EF is bug and crash fest. You've got to preapare that 50% of map loading get stuck. Another bad aspect of game is that soldier's equpment is unhistorrical. You can find Stg-44, Sten Mk2 ,Panzerfaust or Germans wearing camo pants in 1940. Wz-35 AT Rifle has 5 round mag but in real life it has 4 bullets. Also German SMG-gunner skin is a diseaster - hakenkreutz on arm suggest Hitler's guard. But on helmet you can see Wehrmacht signs. Any way on the uniform you can see sign of artillery but also tankcrew one...

Some people complain about graphics. It just OK, not the best, not the worst.
Also players complain about stupid AI. AI is copy-paste from one used in Mortyr: Operation Thunderstorm, Terrorist Takedown 2, Code of Honor 2 and games like that. So prepeare that German soldiers act like Afgani partisans in MOH: Tier 1.

But this game has also good sides. Firs one is really beautiful presentation of buildings in Warsaw like Pasta or Saint Cross Church. Next possitive aspect of game is that you can find weapons like Weltrod, DeLise, Browning Wz-28 or Lightning SMG. They are not present in common FPS serieses.

And why to but this game? Campain. It isnt difficult but long enough. I really enjoyed my time playing it. You can take part in historical battles in Poland, year 1944 and fictional ones in France, Norway and V2 complex. This deffinitly good game for people who like Rambo-style playing, like me.

Paranoia 2: Savior
6 Review

Game Review by Loulimi on May 1st, 2015

Definitely made by talented people, but I dare assume it has been dashed off (maybe for the sake of expedience, I don't know).
Graphics are really pleasant. Except the "fever effect" which appears and stops all of a sudden, from a technical point, models, graphical effects are good. However, mapping is often too barren for me. I am not sure it is really barren, but it surely bored me a bit.

Bugs are the main problem of the game. The first I had were the recurring crashes of the game, which I managed to fix, but I also had to play with really weird glasses, disappearing models, and mirrors (even if awesome) are a little buggy.

Then, the gameplay. I really loved the iron sight with the pistols and the shotgun, but otherwise overall gameplay is quite boring. Too easy, not diversified. The helmet concealing the player 50% of his view is something I still can't understand. Why not a glass/reflection effet, but a black sheet across the screen is definitely not the good solution.
I also HA-TED the fact that we can't change weapon when we're reloading one. When I am reloading when a monster appears, I like to switch swiftly to a pistol for example. Weapon switching is in general too low for me. Then, the fact that zombies disarm us is something I find frustrating and unbalanced.

The card is awfully hard to find.

To sum it up, Paranoia 2 is one of those great games rotten by some flaws wich harm deeply the game. However, I think these flaws are not necessarily hard to fix.

Highest Rated
9.9 (game)
FS2_Open Source
9.9 (mod)
Nali Weapons 3
9.9 (mod)
Back2Fronts Mod
9.9 (mod)
SC Revolution Mod
9.9 (mod)
FOJ Community Mod
9.9 (mod)
WWII Reality
9.9 (mod)
Mapper Guild
9.9 (mod)
Viking Invasion II
9.8 (mod)
The Nameless Mod
9.8 (mod)
Total Mayhem
9.8 (mod)
Ballistic Weapons
9.8 (game)
Homeworld
9.8 (game)
Blood
9.8 (mod)
Tamriel Rebuilt
9.8 (mod)
Matto4
9.8 (game)
Dysis
9.8 (game)
Teslagrad
9.8 (mod)
4th Dimension [FA]
9.8 (mod)
Galactic Armory
9.8 (mod)
JA2 1.13 Mod
9.8 (mod)
WARTIME
9.8 (mod)
Duke Plus
9.8 (mod)
Rome at War
9.8 (engine)
FS2_Open Engine
9.8 (mod)
UT Community SDK
9.8 (mod)
Finnwars