Review RSS Feed Paranoia 2: Savior
6 Review

Game Review by Irespawnoften on Apr 27th, 2015
This review may contain spoilers

I don't think P2 is as good as P1, but I'm happy that it exists.

P2 picks up more or less right after the first, and it's not long until you find yourself deep underground bumping shoulders at the things that go bump in the night. This time around however, most of the monsters have been striped out and replaced with a generic zombie model, a few of which are still holding onto their weapons.
The only things close to the mutants of P1 are the new spiders, which make a brief appearance before being forgotten, and a type of zombie that makes a habit of throwing your gun across the room.
The standout of the new enemy roster is the new female zombie, with one certifiably creepy wake up animation, and an unsettling tendency of calmly striding toward you while it stares down at you with it's shining eyes.
Lastly, the clones also make a brief appearance at the end, shooting at you once again for reasons I'm not entirely sure of.

Weapons have been tweaked, now boasting spiffy new models and quality animations at the expense of not being able to hit the broad side of a barn. Iron sights are pretty much useless, and shooting from the hip is only marginally better.
The only gun that seems to shoot roughly where you point it is the RPK, which is great for my love of all things LMG, but boring for actual game play. Worst of these is a tie between the shotgun and the sniper rifle, the former just blows hot air, and the latter I'm pretty sure shot something behind me once.

Speaking of the sniper rifle, what the hell was up with the secret area you can first find it in? There's off the beaten track, and then there's not even in the same country anymore. I must have spent a good half hour trying to figure out where I was supposed to go from there the first time I played. Also on the subject of hidden items and areas, I'm pretty sure the groza exists, but I never found it despite drowning in grenades for it. The other possibility is that I'm just blind.

TL;DR

At the end of the day, I think the best way to describe Paranoia 2 is with an indecisive "alright" and a shrug. Play it if you loved the first one.

Crusader Kings II
6 Review

Game Review by Explov3r on Apr 25th, 2015 - 1 person agrees

Mods may be easy enough to make, game mechanics are pretty basic witch is nice at some points, but now seriously... this time Paradox Studio looks like just that they don't support mods at all... All I can say is crash crash crash... and there will not be any strong excuse in this.

A World of Ice and Fire (Game of Thrones)
6 Review

Mod Review by bannermanofthewest29 on Apr 25th, 2015

A lot of work have been put in this mod I'm sure, great armors, map etc but I have constant CTD despite my good computer(I can play Warband native full ultra x768 with more than 60 fps), siege system is too difficult, I think that the Brytenwalda system kind ruin the mod... It's just my opinion, I hope the CTD will be solved before the final release because I can't even play it well.

Men of War: Assault Squad 2
6 Review

Game Review by MilitaryStalker on Apr 25th, 2015

This game series did not change a lot in the last few years.
The vehicle and character models are mostly the same as in Men of War (2007).There are many maps and missions in this game,but the majority of them are similar and were taken form previous MoW games.
This could be a great game if the developers would work more on graphics,sounds,maps,campaigns etc.
However, I still play because a good mod like the GSM Field of Honor can make it quite enjoyable.My vote is 6.

A World of Ice and Fire (Game of Thrones)
6 Review

Mod Review by StannisFrogBaratheon on Apr 24th, 2015 - 1 person agrees

I really like this mod but the fact that it uses brytenwalda as it's base module is just ******* me off, it could have been such a better mod with floris as it's base module. Would be simpler but still more enjoyable.

Kerbal Space Program
6 Review

Game Review by Dawsonmichaelblum on Apr 18th, 2015

Very awesome

Azure Sheep
6 Review

Mod Review by Silmarill_SK on Apr 18th, 2015

I did not finish the game (because of a bug - a scientist that had to open a door for me seems to be stuck in a door), so I cannot judge it correctly. According to the walkthrough, I have stopped playing just before meeting Kate.

The mod has some fun parts and some nice areas, but there are many vast passages with lloonngg boring senseless zig-zag corridors and locked doors.

Overall it is an average mod.

Absurd
6 Review

Mod Review by JPMsupreme777 on Apr 12th, 2015 - 1 person doesn't

pros
- nice nice

cons
- nice nice

Deus Ex: The Fall
6 Review

Game Review by Guilherme.374 on Apr 12th, 2015

Not that bad, it has it has its moments

Night at the Office
6 Review

Mod Review by xXIZVenomZIXx on Apr 12th, 2015

It's a pretty cool mod, needs improvements but it's still great :)

A Clash of Kings (Game of Thrones)
6 Review

Mod Review by BLW on Apr 11th, 2015

This is a review of A Clash of Kings 2.0 I have three good things and three bad things to say about A Clash of Kings 2.0 ( 'Too Long ; Didn't Read' at the bottom of the review )

A discalimer first. If a mod is **** I'm not going to give it 5, I'm actually going to give it 1. I'm not part of the group of reviewers that think 5 is the lowest grade of a review.

- The quests. Apart from the bugs that may happens around quest givers, the quests are of good quality. Special music are used for atmospheric reasons, the dialog is witty and the results on Westeros ( emerging factions ) are a welcoming addition to the game. They can be quite hard to complete, but also give you unique loot as well. Over all, one of the best quests I've ever seen in Warband. 2.0 adds a couple of new quests.

- The map is huge and looks very good. You have many factions and Westeros is in full turmoil. Many famous characters you remember from the HBO series dots the landscape and Castle Halls like Gregor Clegane, Stannis, Renly, Tyrell, Rob Stark and many more. Every port and a few town have small lore descriptions from the books to enrich the RPG feeling of the playthrough.

- Units and items. The amount of local items and soldiers is a solid refreshment. There is a wide range of weaponry, soldiers and items in A Clash of Kings 2.0. You can hire everything form Unsullied units, to iconic Casterly Rock men. Volatene silver shields to quality carpets from Qohor or gold chalice from Lannisport. Almost every major town and port have unique small mercenary companies that you can hire. Many of the new custom items ( like carpets, wine and so forth ) as well as non-collectible items have been added to castles and quest scenes which amplifies the quality of the mod quite well.

- Lack of quality assurance. Cozur loves to implement new features in the mod, which is parts of the reason why it's good. Unfortunately, he seem to negligee the idea of testing these features to check if they actually work properly. For example every new fortification that I've encounter have so massive bugs that the two armies don't connect with each other, but instead gets stuck all over the siege map.

- Fixed diplomacy. The diplomacy is fixed. What is meant by this is that who goes to war with who is scripted. Most of the Westeros factions are going to wage war on eachother, but all the eastern factions in Essos are completely peaceful. What I mean is that Baavos, Pentos, Myr, Qohor, Norvos and Lorath do nothing all game. There is no reason to go to Essos except a few quests. Except for a few quests, half the map is going to be untouched the whole game.

- Massive frame drops in large battles. I've played all the other versions and 1500 hours of Warband, but non of them made battles lag this much. Some of the quests in the North are thus unplayable and I was forced to reduce the battle size quite considerably to skirmish size. This is quite unfortunate.

TL;DR
Should you download it? Yes.
Good: Quests, the map, units, items are very good.
Bad: Becoming a king and controlling large armies, conquering towns while waging war on the world is not fun because of the many bugs.

This mod reminds me of Rome 2 Total War. Many parts of that game were excellent, but unfortunately the QA was so horrible that it's not worth dealing with in the long run. Seeing bug after bug just ruins the fun.

Gustav
6 Review

Mod Review by Z0D14CS0L on Apr 11th, 2015

This custom story doesn't have anything outstanding, but the ideas are well executed. The Plot, starts very normal and in little time goes slightly deeper, givin agood amount of mistery. But its fall short during the end.
The idea of a precuel to the original game its good but its feel a little rushed toward the end.
The oversized model, can be worked in a more useful way.

1860s Old America
6 Review

Mod Review by flanman137 on Apr 7th, 2015

i like the mod very much for the most part. It has some peculiar quirks that are at times amusing and at times annoying. It makes me miss the flexibility of classic mod of 1866. Editing access would solve nearly all my complaints.

Transmissions - Element 120
6 Review

Mod Review by vanSulli on Apr 3rd, 2015 - 4 people agree

It's really really pretty! That being said, it's really short (nothing wrong with that, but it left me wanting more), it only rarely makes good use of the mechanics it adds, and the sound design is pretty poor. If it hadn't copypasted Quake sounds and actually integrated the rocket-jumping-style mechanic into combat itself, I'd probably give it a 10/10.

Transmissions - Element 120
6 Review

Mod Review by rapnoize on Apr 3rd, 2015 - 3 people don't

It's OK. A little laggy and too pretentious at times, but OK.

Weimar Republic Mod TFH
6 Review

Mod Review by lakajadiwa on Apr 2nd, 2015

Needs improvments, although I do like how it takes hoi 3 into a different time. Keep it up and the mod will be great!

Transmissions - Element 120
6 Review

Mod Review by Colossal on Apr 1st, 2015 - 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't
This review may contain spoilers

I don't feel like typing out a super detailed review so I'll do pros and cons:

THE GOOD:
- It looks alright, pretty great detailing and lighting and atmosphere.
- New, unique ideas and a few not-so-new, not-so-unique ideas that still work.
- The bundle of H-beams that you can cut zombies in half with.
- A lot of interaction with the environment.

THE BAD:
- The lens flares/**** on the screen. That's not a stylistic choice, it's just ugly. The last thing you want to do is create visibility problems in something where the color palette and art style already make everything monotonous (monotony isn't bad in this case, as Half-Life's environments are all about monotony).
- I noticed this with the crowbar and RPG especially, everything is OVERLY SHINY. Too reflective. Turn down the specular, man. It's unrealistic, especially for something so dirty - plus Source doesn't really allow for it to look too good.
- Unoptimized. Most of the time I can keep a steady 60+ fps, but when the game gets spammy that tends to drop. Specifically the zombie pit (you didn't need that many zombies to convey that the player can't kill them all) and the area before the finale with all the exploding scaffolding.
- Crashes a LOT. This is Source, which crashes unexpectedly already. This somehow managed to pack on some crashing for extra credit.
- Cluttered environments and spaces that are a little too tight. I appreciate the detail, I do, but holy **** turn off collision.
- The lighting was nice, but it conflicted with gameplay. Spotlights pointing me away from where I need to go and very little visual contrast except for a few tunnely areas. Obviously don't put giant flashing "GO THIS WAY" lights, but subtle lights along the path the player needs to go never hurts anyone. Valve is great at this.
- Developer included their control settings. Not a big issue, but it's annoying to rebind everything. Also seems like the download was really big for what it was - either compress your textures or remove the stuff you didn't use because it should NOT be that big for the little amount of content.

Transmissions - Element 120
6 Review

Mod Review by psilocibinum on Mar 31st, 2015 - 2 people agree 2 people don't

Гребаное часовое слайдшоу(

Маппинг, конечно, отличный, но из-за тормозов, игровой процесс напоминает акт мазохизма.

Eternal Confrontation
6 Review

Mod Review by Ragnar-mantonero on Mar 28th, 2015

good purpose, excelent texture and tech tree, but are too similar to original game or table pop round mod; the wincondition "massive battle" implement the cap, but not the unit limit, the build grid is too large, and the building time is too long, for the size of the mod, i was think some good

Steam, Tracks, Trouble & Riddles
6 Review

Mod Review by thedeadcamper on Mar 26th, 2015
This review may contain spoilers

This is a review on Chapter One alone (version one at that):

I don't really know what to say about S,T,T,R. I can't say I enjoyed it, though. It's very slow for the most part, the puzzles are very easy, and the pay-off when completing most puzzles kind of falls flat.

Before I go into those negatives, I do want to make some positive call-outs. The robot model in this is great. I really love that it has facial expressions and it has a bit of character to it in it's rolling walk animation and regular smile. The model for the handcar that the player uses it quite nice too and I do enjoy the beginning puzzle where the player has to assemble the train. This is may better by the tiny model version of it in the same room at the start. That's a nice touch.

Beyond that, the puzzles kind of feel lacking in challenge. Even for a chapter one game, the puzzles are extremely simple, to the point where I was wondering if this was a game meant for kids. It feels like the designer decided to throw a ton of introductory puzzles to teach the player some mechanics, but didn't really develop on those concepts.

One example of an introductory puzzle is the bomb puzzle, where the player is introduced to a collapsed wall in the way of the train, conveniently next to a bomb creating machine. A single bomb sits in a room with a detonator switch. Hitting the switch results in instant death from the exploding bomb if the player didn't have the insight to move it out of the way. It's sort of tough love teaching mechanics, which is okay when you're expecting it, but not okay if you forgot to save beforehand. My bigger issue with the bomb puzzle is that bombs don't come into play ever again in the chapter, so this introduction feels pointless.

The main handcar in this also feels pointless too. Aside from some sections where the road leads to a pit of death, the handcar feels like an unnecessary and slower method of travel than walking. I won't be so harsh on this because it felt like it was a joke initially, as it felt like I was building and moving the handcar as a favor for the robot (who is obsessed with trains), but the fact that I outright abandon it later kind of makes me question if the robot actually wanted it in the first place.

It also feels like there's supposed to be something more to the robot character (voiced by Ross Scott of 'Freeman's Mind' fame), but the dialogue written for him falls flat, serving only to either congratulate the player for solving a very simple puzzle or to deliver a joke. Most of the jokes unfortunately fall flat as well, and the delivery of them feels poor especially given other things the voice actor has done in the past. The lack of interactivity outside of these pre-scripted pieces also takes away from it for me (Press the use key on this bot and nothing ever happens.)

The level design feels empty and basic as well, and there's no real reward for trying to explore in this game. The train station at the beginning feels like it's the most detailed part of the game, but it also feels like the emptiest part of the game, as taking any path outside of building and riding the handcar leads to a complete dead end with nothing to even look at.

Because this is only the first chapter and the mod came out within less than a year, I do have a few suggestions to the developer: Get someone to help with writing the dialogue and work on the level and puzzle design more. I would personally enjoy this mod more if it had more challenging puzzles and better delivery on the robot character's dialogue.

Highest Rated
9.9 (game)
FS2_Open Source
9.9 (mod)
Nali Weapons 3
9.9 (mod)
Back2Fronts Mod
9.9 (mod)
SC Revolution Mod
9.9 (mod)
FOJ Community Mod
9.9 (mod)
WWII Reality
9.9 (mod)
Mapper Guild
9.9 (mod)
Viking Invasion II
9.8 (mod)
The Nameless Mod
9.8 (mod)
Total Mayhem
9.8 (mod)
Ballistic Weapons
9.8 (game)
Homeworld
9.8 (game)
Blood
9.8 (mod)
Tamriel Rebuilt
9.8 (mod)
Matto4
9.8 (game)
Dysis
9.8 (game)
Teslagrad
9.8 (mod)
4th Dimension [FA]
9.8 (mod)
Galactic Armory
9.8 (mod)
JA2 1.13 Mod
9.8 (mod)
WARTIME
9.8 (mod)
Duke Plus
9.8 (mod)
Rome at War
9.8 (engine)
FS2_Open Engine
9.8 (mod)
UT Community SDK
9.8 (mod)
Finnwars