Review RSS Feed Hold the Assault
6 Review

Mod Review by J.C.D. on Feb 28th, 2015

The idea is pretty cool, adding two new awesome generals to the game.
However, no matter how great the idea is, the excecution just is leaving a lot to be desired... Everything seems very shotty here and done with the minimal effort.
However, I will cut some slack for this being your first time modding. Heck you're still doing some things I have no idea how to do.

Amnesia: Depth
6 Review

Mod Review by popiquake4 on Feb 28th, 2015

I really hoped for more. Very short, a lot of misspelling, a lot of glitched rooms (I would fall from the map) and story was not that interesting. 6 because it's a fcm and you put some effort in it.

Cremation
6 Review

Mod Review by Kamza on Feb 27th, 2015

While you did a good job on providing the maps themselves. I found many visual errors that could of been corrected. I found the brush pipes to be impressive and bad at the same time.

The fake ladder present in cremator killed me while being stalked by a cremator. If I moved the mouse cursor around I could hear additional weapons, so trying to swap to them I found I was wasting pistol ammunition.

The combine soldier on that map took way to many hits to realistically assume it was 'hardcore'.

I refused to load the dx9 shader dll with hopes of not repeating the same mistake any vac-banned hl1 modders suffered.

I believe a lot of elements in this mod still needed polishing, the release build candidate itself being a crucial part.

You submitted this mod as a backbone for all your future releases, how can you expect it to be a strong one with all the junk in it?

Paranoia 2: Savior
6 Review

Game Review by shepard62fr on Feb 26th, 2015 - 5 people agree 1 person doesn't

Please note that I have finished the game in "Medium" between 4 and 6 hours, no I didn't speedran the game, I took time to explore.

Pros :

- Updates on the engine, the usage of Xash3D/XashXT and maybe stuff from other mods is well done.

- The details of maps and the integration of some parts from the first PARANOIA.

- Good respect of the PARANOIA's universe, the locations, the atmosphere...

- Zombies behaviour, you think they are weak but if they catch you, they are strong ^_^

Cons :

- The AI was sometimes like WTF, zombies not moving, friend which is being slapped to death and don't care about saving himself are exemples of those WTF situations I had during my playthrough.

- Some FPS drop on some maps, the laboratory one is a good example, I don't know what was causing this issue.

- Many FPS games suffer from this : ironsights for all weapons except pistols and the PKP are useless, hip firing was enough, I also think that the Depth of Field is too exagerated and eyes seems to be too far from the weapon.

- In my opinion, weapons damages were not balanced, the rifles were OP, the pistols were weak. If I remember correctly, the first PARANOIA also had that issue

- Everything is not translated in English, some stuff is still in Russian.

- The last radio communications were too loud and harmed my ears, the first one had the perfect volume.

- Few presence of terrorists, the game consists of 95% of zombies/specimens and 5% of terrorists.

- Few auto saves in my opinion, I died at the first encounter with terrorists and had to make again a 5 min walk time.

- Sprint is useless, sorry for being direct, but a 3 sec sprint for x1.2 speed movement is not a sprint.


To make this short : PARANOIA 2 Savior is a good game, it could have been perfect if developers took the time to polish it. Fans of the first game will like it but I think they will be a bit disappointed. But try it yourself to see if you like it ^_^

Cremation
6 Review

Mod Review by New_Empire on Feb 25th, 2015 - 1 person doesn't

Можно было бы немного поработать с графикой и некоторыми текстурами.

Feudal World
6 Review

Mod Review by Sir_Jake on Feb 24th, 2015

Played it once and then was unable due to download pausing of the scene, when I decided I shall manually download the map and still is pausing with a download -__- IGN may 10/10 "It's Skyrim with guns" but I say nay I want to play!

Post Script
6 Review

Mod Review by thedeadcamper on Feb 24th, 2015

This mod provides an interesting 'concept', but with a bit of an awkward delivery.

The player has done something terrible in the past, and is now due for punishment for having done such a terrible deed.

The nature of this was supposed to be episodic, given the download available is episode 1, but since there's no other release, I'm going to guess it never makes it to episode 2.

I feel as though it's impossible to judge whether this could have been better, but even for an episode 1, it's painfully brief. For what's available to play, there isn't much to gather.

The narrative is told via two forms of text box. The dialogue presented is done in such a harsh manner that it kind of makes me chuckle initially more than feel any remorse. Actually all the dialogue kind of makes me laugh as it seems to have that 'so-bad-its-good' movie quality to it. I don't know if this is intentional. I have to make it clear that I like the dialogue in this, though. It makes me laugh.

This is where the mod mostly shines, however, as the actual level design is a little off in places. Not blocky, just a bit newbie-made and confusing. I feel like the puzzles in this are easy to get stuck in an unwinnable state, as most objects in this are breakable, including the required ones.

There's a song in this that I feel like was intentionally made to hurt your ears. That's not nice. It also seems to build up to something that doesn't happen, so I don't understand its purpose. Use easy to remove headphones when playing, or just don't use headphones.

It's kind of a forgotten relic: it's not terrible, just mediocre for now.

SPQR Total War
6 Review

Mod Review by ImYourGeneral on Feb 23rd, 2015

Great mod, very easy to see that there was a great amount of effort to put into it. Unfortunately what I've always loved about Total War is the campaign map. In this mod its practically Rome vs. the world. Which, call me a bad tactician but fighting a 12 front war is not exactly very forgiving. other than the campaign it is a solid mod (**** you Carthage and your GOD DAMN WAR ELEPHANTS!!!)

Return of Shadow
6 Review

Mod Review by ElfLord531 on Feb 21st, 2015

Good mod but i'll bet it will be amazing when you release the full version

String
6 Review

Mod Review by felipaogamer on Feb 18th, 2015

This custom it comes to reflection, not scares , the mood tense because it is part of the game, the story seemed to me a little confused because hasnt subtitles for the audio , but it has a short and elaborate story . Beautiful graphics , very detailed and well positioned objects , ambiance is fantastic. The game is short, but I faced more like an experience than as a simple gambling.

The Silver Key [Collapsing Cosmos]
6 Review

Mod Review by Z0D14CS0L on Feb 17th, 2015

This mod is unique. It isn't a survival horror mod, its an adventure mod.
The maping is exellent and go well with the story.
The story is as lovercraftian as an amateur could get, not bad, but it would be awesome with more building tension as it goes deeper. The story, although extremely linear, fullfil the intention to bring dreamy worlds to reality.

The only bad thing, its that it may be good to have a little more blood-chilling moments. And that its a little easy and short.

Mount & Blade: Warband - Viking Conquest
6 Review

Game Review by QTokarski on Feb 17th, 2015

Dear Players, Community members and other fans, I was quite excited to get my hands on the new DLC, But I am now very disappointed in it’s quality.

I spend some time in the Source code of the module (decompiled it) and the BRF files and I can only say that I’m CRYING, how can they release it in this state, and expect it NOT to crash and bug is beyond me.

Main reasons for warband engine to crash: errors in BRF files, High memory usage.
Main reasons for low performance: Bad code, oversided textures and sounds, LOD nonusage.

The Brytenwalda team is to blame for these problems, NOT TALEWORLDS!

Following are the things I shall lay out as problematic that need sorting out ASAP. Keep in mind that I only took a quick sweep over the files and that I most likely did not list everything.

1. General Reminder
2. Script/Module System
3. BRF Files (Using OpenBRF to view them)
4. Textures
5. Sounds

1. General Reminder
Mount & Blade engine loads everything into memory at startup! That means that EVERY single texture, sound and mesh will be loaded into memory. OGGs and brfs. will be unpacked and will become MUCH larger than on your disk.
Also keep in mind that Warband is a 32 bit engine and can only load up to 2000mb into memory. As soon as you go over 2000 megabyte, it will crash!

2. Script/Module System
First of all after opening the source code after decompiling, I got quite scared of the massive amounts of it… anyway I started reading through multiplayer code only because this is the thing that is the most messed up at this time as far as I know.

I shall lay out a couple of topics I want to talk about.

2.1 Performance
In multiplayer, with many players, performance is crucial,
First of all, there are many mission templates, running, often, maybe too often, those will suck up CPU performance, the oh so important performance factor for dedicated servers… please check all template timers and make sure they need to be this often.
Next is the containing code itself, I see many times killing loops in loops, for instance a for each agent in for each agent loop. This is a killer, especially when ran often, with just 10 players you will execute code 100 times, with 100 players the code is executed 10000 times, you can imagine the strain on the server cpu.
Your sea shader change and time code is ran all the damn time even when not needed, 40 times per second really?
There are many more cases, think of horn code checks every frame, etc etc, its a mess.. sort it out!

Networked events… I see so many ints flying left right from and to server, are they really needed? so many? events are heavy, they are secure send, resend and so on, this is a easy killer to networked performance, reduce the events, many things you're sending is already available to the client, for instance his damage and other things…

Overall, cut down on useless code, get rid of straining loops with better architecture, reduce networking events that are not needed, its better sending one event with 4 ints than 4 events with one int! I can rant on but this is so obvious to me… Just, go through the code and think. can this be better..

2.2 hackpositiblies
Maybe even worse than performance, Hack possibilities, I don’t want to give too much ideas to people going to exploit things, but lets just say that many of your bonus abilities, checks and other things are client side only, meaning people can change the code and get rid of many safe guards, think about horns, beserkermode and i think i already said too much, please check absolutely everything a client sends to the server double!, this is so easy to hack right now I’m crying.


3. BRF Files (Using OpenBRF to view them)

3.1 BRF Errors
First of all, I found several errors in the .brf files. Please fix ALL of the following 606 errors and warnings.

Here is a link to a PasteBin due to otherwise exceeding the maximum number of letters.
Paste.ubuntu.com

I think these should be pretty clear. Please contact me if yo

Castle of Devastating Diseases
6 Review

Mod Review by Z0D14CS0L on Feb 17th, 2015

This mod don't offer anything new, but it fullfils it role of entertaining.
The story isn't bad. It got some inconsistencies, but the initial idea is good in some way.
There no cheap jump scares, and that is good.

Its well crafted, not amazing, but deal a good amount of well located scares.

Its a Casual mod, exellent when you don't want to involve with deep stories.

The story feels a little rushed in some points, although, the custom story achieves good moments of fear.

Five Nights at Freddy's 2
6 Review

Game Review by jthom811 on Feb 17th, 2015 - 1 person doesn't
This review may contain spoilers

Feels abit rushed

Feudal World
6 Review

Mod Review by gregi567 on Feb 16th, 2015 - 1 person agrees

Admins must listen to the members and accualy get rid of randomers and retarded kids.Also the server is laggy sometimes

Persistent Frontier
6 Review

Mod Review by RussianBadAss on Feb 15th, 2015

Outlaws with their Kos rules ruin the game.

Dilapidation
6 Review

Mod Review by BloxxingBlocks on Feb 14th, 2015

It's a sad story...
and the music at the end (start of part 6) makes me cry a bit :P

FNAF|The Final Night
6 Review

Game Review by anhiliator-bruh on Feb 14th, 2015

Cool

Far Cry 4
6 Review

Game Review by TheUnbeholden on Feb 12th, 2015 - 1 person doesn't
This review may contain spoilers

What I like is the fact the badguy isn't actually a straight up villain. He had a child with a woman who he loved to a very great extent and then that child (your characters sister) was killed.. also his wife left him for USA because of the golden path! I bet the golden path were the ones who first drew blood (not Pagan) way before the death of Ajahs father and are actually TERRORISTS! Pagan decided that if they were gonna fight like murderers so would he. He had enough from the terrorists and finally snapped.. he then wanted to kill every last one. And when he killed the "stop the bus" guy it was because they shot a bus with his son on it! His last family was almost killed by a guy who failed to follow orders! I bet every last one of the people saying "Pagan Min is a insane serial killer" speakers would have done the same thing! He only became the so called "evil villain" after you became the same man your father was. The 15 minute secret ending is the best ending of all the far cry 4 endings, its one of the few games where I think they should have allowed us to play as the bad guy, enacting genocide on the Golden Path (who aren't noble at all anyway).

I'm just glad you have a choice to spare Pagan Min at the end. Its funny how you the character can create a villain by acting as the hero. Everyone says for you to be like your father, you end up repeating history and make the same mistakes! Resorting to violence first against your step dad before he shows any antagonism to you, just like how the Golden Path resorted to violence before Pagan Min. The guys you fight for probably are terrorists, they are so quick to say "who started it" that it seems like they are trying to hide something. Repeat a lie often enough and it becomes the truth.

Misery : The Armed Zone
6 Review

Mod Review by ZillerSplat on Feb 11th, 2015

The weapons are a breath of fresh air. The only reason this gets a 6/10 for me is because it crashes way to frequently for my taste.

Others may not experience this issue, but I do.

Highest Rated
9.9 (game)
FS2_Open Source
9.9 (mod)
Nali Weapons 3
9.9 (mod)
Back2Fronts Mod
9.9 (mod)
SC Revolution Mod
9.9 (mod)
FOJ Community Mod
9.9 (mod)
WWII Reality
9.9 (mod)
Mapper Guild
9.9 (mod)
Viking Invasion II
9.8 (mod)
The Nameless Mod
9.8 (mod)
Total Mayhem
9.8 (mod)
Ballistic Weapons
9.8 (game)
Homeworld
9.8 (game)
Blood
9.8 (mod)
Tamriel Rebuilt
9.8 (mod)
Matto4
9.8 (game)
Dysis
9.8 (game)
Teslagrad
9.8 (mod)
4th Dimension [FA]
9.8 (mod)
JA2 1.13 Mod
9.8 (mod)
Galactic Armory
9.8 (mod)
WARTIME
9.8 (mod)
Duke Plus
9.8 (mod)
Rome at War
9.8 (engine)
FS2_Open Engine
9.8 (mod)
UT Community SDK
9.8 (mod)
Finnwars