Review RSS Feed Eternal Confrontation
6 Review

Mod Review by Ragnar-mantonero on Mar 28th, 2015

good purpose, excelent texture and tech tree, but are too similar to original game or table pop round mod; the wincondition "massive battle" implement the cap, but not the unit limit, the build grid is too large, and the building time is too long, for the size of the mod, i was think some good

Steam, Tracks, Trouble & Riddles
6 Review

Mod Review by thedeadcamper on Mar 26th, 2015
This review may contain spoilers

This is a review on Chapter One alone (version one at that):

I don't really know what to say about S,T,T,R. I can't say I enjoyed it, though. It's very slow for the most part, the puzzles are very easy, and the pay-off when completing most puzzles kind of falls flat.

Before I go into those negatives, I do want to make some positive call-outs. The robot model in this is great. I really love that it has facial expressions and it has a bit of character to it in it's rolling walk animation and regular smile. The model for the handcar that the player uses it quite nice too and I do enjoy the beginning puzzle where the player has to assemble the train. This is may better by the tiny model version of it in the same room at the start. That's a nice touch.

Beyond that, the puzzles kind of feel lacking in challenge. Even for a chapter one game, the puzzles are extremely simple, to the point where I was wondering if this was a game meant for kids. It feels like the designer decided to throw a ton of introductory puzzles to teach the player some mechanics, but didn't really develop on those concepts.

One example of an introductory puzzle is the bomb puzzle, where the player is introduced to a collapsed wall in the way of the train, conveniently next to a bomb creating machine. A single bomb sits in a room with a detonator switch. Hitting the switch results in instant death from the exploding bomb if the player didn't have the insight to move it out of the way. It's sort of tough love teaching mechanics, which is okay when you're expecting it, but not okay if you forgot to save beforehand. My bigger issue with the bomb puzzle is that bombs don't come into play ever again in the chapter, so this introduction feels pointless.

The main handcar in this also feels pointless too. Aside from some sections where the road leads to a pit of death, the handcar feels like an unnecessary and slower method of travel than walking. I won't be so harsh on this because it felt like it was a joke initially, as it felt like I was building and moving the handcar as a favor for the robot (who is obsessed with trains), but the fact that I outright abandon it later kind of makes me question if the robot actually wanted it in the first place.

It also feels like there's supposed to be something more to the robot character (voiced by Ross Scott of 'Freeman's Mind' fame), but the dialogue written for him falls flat, serving only to either congratulate the player for solving a very simple puzzle or to deliver a joke. Most of the jokes unfortunately fall flat as well, and the delivery of them feels poor especially given other things the voice actor has done in the past. The lack of interactivity outside of these pre-scripted pieces also takes away from it for me (Press the use key on this bot and nothing ever happens.)

The level design feels empty and basic as well, and there's no real reward for trying to explore in this game. The train station at the beginning feels like it's the most detailed part of the game, but it also feels like the emptiest part of the game, as taking any path outside of building and riding the handcar leads to a complete dead end with nothing to even look at.

Because this is only the first chapter and the mod came out within less than a year, I do have a few suggestions to the developer: Get someone to help with writing the dialogue and work on the level and puzzle design more. I would personally enjoy this mod more if it had more challenging puzzles and better delivery on the robot character's dialogue.

WON2 - CD-Retail Multiplayer Continuation
6 Review

Mod Review by kalebkitty on Mar 25th, 2015

-Sometimes goes down,
-has to download other things to just to see servers
-no chatrooms (WHY!)
+Vac bans are for 1 year
-Vac bans are back.
-1 YEAR.
+Get to play with your pals again
-Crack won version can play it (assuming its an actual one, just guessing)
-No OP:F servers detected
-No friendlys (joke)
-FEW, VERY FEW HL:DM SERVERS.
+Support for USA...
What happens if I use paranoia and leave opengl32?
BOAM! VAC BAN! For 1 year.
Overall? 6/10 because it brings it back.
Add the chatrooms and make it show servers in the hl.exe file and I will raise this rating higher. Lower the vac ban time to about (hl)3 months and I will raise my rating by 4.

Sorry. Just had to point it out.
please don't take my BFG away ;-;

A Clash of Kings (Game of Thrones)
6 Review

Mod Review by Boxer_ on Mar 24th, 2015

I think I've pointed out some of the problems with the mod in the link down below, and partly why it's getting so many low marks recently, excluding all the bugs and glitches.

Youtube.com

The Reckoning : For M&B
6 Review

Mod Review by Fwoofeh on Mar 23rd, 2015 - 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

Eh, alright, textures and horses a bit buggy

The Reckoning : For M&B
6 Review

Mod Review by dragos13 on Mar 22nd, 2015 - 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

Actually it fell short of the mark a little bit... You really need to focus on coding. Anyway, the idea and models are awesome. I believe that you will keep developing the mod and we will be able to play something much more better than this and all the other mods! Keep up the work.

The Reckoning : For M&B
6 Review

Mod Review by Darkening_Demise on Mar 22nd, 2015 - 2 people agree 8 people don't

With a generic unoriginal plot and once again using the oversaturated zombie genre, this mod fails to be even worth the time to look up. It's being held back by the flaws and issues of Warband seeing how it's a mod for it, and suffers due to it. You won't find anything great about this mod unless you're a Warband/zombie fanboy.

Third Age - Total War
6 Review

Mod Review by Username10 on Mar 21st, 2015

It could be a beatiful mod with 10/10, but the campaign is unplayable. The AI is too stupid to survive, so the programmers thoght they can easily boost them with tons of units and nobody will notice it. Its really frustrating if you closely defeated a enemy and in the next round a full army from them come around the corner. I dont like to cheat in games like this, but they leave me no choice.

Counter-Strike Online
6 Review

Game Review by Pokebub on Mar 20th, 2015

People often overlook this just because its a pay-to-win. The zombies in this game are great and it allows for challenging gameplay. The graphics are Condition Zero graphics which are a bit aged. The pay-to-win isn't that bad in this game, most weapons can be bought and kept for about 1 - 30 days. I recommend you play this game for the zombies and PvP.

Eternal Confrontation
6 Review

Mod Review by ZZ_Manu_ZZ on Mar 20th, 2015

To be honest the guy is working completely alone, and he has been helped by lots of other modders. The models may not be very well done, but the concept of the mod is very good. The variety is huge and balance is not probably the best, but with more help, this could be an epic mod

Kane's Wrath Reloaded
6 Review

Mod Review by bleek420 on Mar 19th, 2015

I love this mod! I would have given it a 10, BUT... You made units require power... WHYYYY???? That makes absolutely no sense and frustrates me to no end! Especially trying to play certain single player missions, where you don't have access to power! What on god's green and blue earth made you think this was a good idea??? WHY?!?!?! Please tell me how I can mod your mod, so that I don't have to deal with this! Other than that... It's a fantastic mod! Great job! Once again though, would have given you a 10, had you not implemented such a STUPID (in my opinion) power requirement for units! It's truly maddening to me, dude!
- Bleek420

BROFORCE
6 Review

Game Review by rwatson on Mar 18th, 2015

I've played a bunch of broforce. The couch multiplayer is fantastic. But the humor wears thin. They're trying to do the European-snarky-take-on-the-US thing like GTA does. But they're just not as clever about it.

Paranoia 2: Savior
6 Review

Game Review by T4L80TT on Mar 15th, 2015

Even if dialogs, textures and everything is good, scripts and bugs are not allowing me to play even the first minutes of game! Okay, I know it's beta et caetera, but collisions of our army companions on dead (!) bodies... I ended my game experience on 8 minute, because after ten times trying to play a new game, I got stuck on that same spot... I believe it will be fixed ASAP.

Wreckage
6 Review

Mod Review by Milanium on Mar 15th, 2015

I guess first person shooters age pretty fast. The engine seems pretty outdated and the weapon handling is too arcady for my taste. Mission scripting is well done and the cut scenes even with voice overs are pretty good. I had several crashes and sadly not much fun in-game with this.

Refunktion
6 Review

Game Review by tsusurra on Mar 11th, 2015

Good:
Good textures and minimal size.
Minimalism type-feel easy to gamers when it provides difficult challenge.
Post Processing effects are great.
Very compatible and flowingly.

Bad:
Control Scheme is simplistic yet some parts aren't self exploratory.
Broken Update, resetting controls is non-functional.
Standing up after crouch is non-functional.
Rendering settings could be better (Some objects appear when actor is not looking in 80-100% FOV but not in 0-79%).
Low poly button models.
Bloom threshold not controlled properly.

Half-Life: Induction
6 Review

Mod Review by Orzie on Mar 9th, 2015

Although it is a nice idea in general to show the events happening before the Black Mesa incident, things could have been much more complex and detailed, and still there could be some challenge implemented.

S.T.A.L.K.E.R. - Lost Alpha
6 Review

Mod Review by spes on Mar 8th, 2015 - 1 person agrees

Hi there, wanted to give a short feedback from germany.
First of all, the redesigned areas are great, i didn´t trust my eyes when i left Sidos hole, Cordon and garbage changed A LOT. Very cool maps and levels, i like the underground funnels and how the earlier buildings changed.

Mod runs VERY STABLE on my old system : Intel Core Duo @ 2,33 GB, Nvidia Geforce 8600 @ 4GB RAM. Win 7 @ 64Bit. Quiet old rig from 2007 i guess.
I had several issues with other mods like Misery, OGSE, Soljanka by Wlad777 (german mod), Back to Homeless, Smarter and so on. These mods crahsed every now and then due to Stack overflow, missing models or even bugs, I wasn´t able to install Zone of Alienation and Priboi story until now.

Your mod didn´t crash a single time - and that should be honoured, very very stable, i realy like that. Thumbs up !

But sad but true : your mod is to easy :/ If you ever played Misery or Soljanka and had some success in it, Lost Alpha will be a walk in the park.
I just finished garbage and got 20.000 Rubel without farming, just sellin the stuff i didn´t want to carry all along with me. Other Stalker and traders pay way to much for your loot. I played Soljanka several times and you never got that Zone Terminator who finished everything in Exo with 1 bullet. You meet a sucker and you die, period.

And i feel the maps seem to be empty, there´s not enough live in it. This space should have been filled with dozens of quests, mutants and stalkers sitting around the fire and hunting bandits.

All in all it´s a nice looking and very stalbe mod for me, but it´s not challenging enough.

Kind regards, a long time stalker fan

Codex
6 Review

Mod Review by Darknessimmortal669 on Mar 8th, 2015

This mod would be a great mod, however there are a couple of issues which prevent me from giving this a 10/10, 9/10, or even an 8/10, it's quite a wait to merely get a game started in this mod, considering the maddeningly slow loading, I feel that the mod is a bit more for looks than being able to actually play it, the races are unbalanced in many cases, the daemons are very weak and confusing to play as, while the Grey Knights are not balanced with the other races. Other than that, the armies within the mod needed much polishing, for example, a couple of odd-ball factions within the Imperial Guard, Lost and the Damned, and other armies within other races that didn't make a whole lot of sense, (Who the hell are the "Horus Heritics") lol, not to mention that many of the color schemes are wrong and do not fit with the color schemes in the codexes, and I've noticed many sounds were ripped off from other races (daemons for example, borrow too many Chaos Space Marine sounds). Other than that the mod would be absolutely great since it has many new races and excellent(albeit laggy)graphics. With more improvements to general playability and gameplay quality, I'd definitely give this a 9/10.

I wouldn't recommend a download yet though, at least until 3.6 is out, It'll usually take up to an hour and a half or perhaps more depending on your internet speed for the huge amounts of files to download, only for you to get a somewhat polished, sort of raw mod, before this mod can truly be considered similar to the tabletop game, it certainly needs far more aesthetic work done to it, and more care given to each race. As a side note, someone such as myself, who is a massive Warhammer 40k nerd and enjoys the lore and actually plays the tabletop game on occasion might want to wait a while longer for this mod to improve if it ever does, like a few others have said, right now this mod is more for someone who just wants fun models, and whom doesn't know much about 40k lore rather than someone who wants to play a serious 40k game as if they were playing tabletop or reenacting an event from the lore.

Might & Magic: Clash of Heroes
6 Review

Game Review by rebelonyx on Mar 5th, 2015

I found the puzzle gameplay to my liking while the story didn't interest me at all.

Anno Domini 1257
6 Review

Mod Review by monoblaster2 on Mar 3rd, 2015

I haven't really got to play it due to it crashing as soon as i get into a battle or load any maps but it looks fun.

Highest Rated
9.9 (game)
FS2_Open Source
9.9 (mod)
Nali Weapons 3
9.9 (mod)
Back2Fronts Mod
9.9 (mod)
SC Revolution Mod
9.9 (mod)
FOJ Community Mod
9.9 (mod)
WWII Reality
9.9 (mod)
Mapper Guild
9.9 (mod)
Viking Invasion II
9.8 (mod)
The Nameless Mod
9.8 (mod)
Total Mayhem
9.8 (mod)
Ballistic Weapons
9.8 (game)
Homeworld
9.8 (game)
Blood
9.8 (mod)
Tamriel Rebuilt
9.8 (mod)
Matto4
9.8 (mod)
Brutal Half-Life
9.8 (game)
Dysis
9.8 (game)
Teslagrad
9.8 (mod)
4th Dimension [FA]
9.8 (mod)
Galactic Armory
9.8 (mod)
JA2 1.13 Mod
9.8 (mod)
WARTIME
9.8 (mod)
Duke Plus
9.8 (mod)
Rome at War
9.8 (mod)
UT Community SDK
9.8 (engine)
FS2_Open Engine
9.8 (mod)
Finnwars