Review RSS Feed Vertigo mod
6 Review

Mod Review by streak1 on Jan 27th, 2015
This review may contain spoilers

This was an OK mod. The map itself was pretty well made, with a good map design overall. I especially liked the look of the duct areas, as they had their own special look instead of the air ducts we always see. Aside from that, though, the rest of the mod wasn't anything to feel impressed about.

Back in Future (Alpha)
6 Review

Mod Review by TheUnbeholden on Jan 26th, 2015

Another promising mod, ended abruptly. Alot potential, much like Sewer beta, Boreality Part 1, Engineer Adventures demo, the Lost World, Chinatown preview, Half-life: Destiny, X.E.T and even before those we've had promising mods that died off before the developer couldn't finish. This one follows this right to the letter. Its got some pretty good level design, not interesting just visually up there. Using high res textures and a futuristic Black Mesa Source feel. But we can get some decent action, it ends.

C&C Gold Crazy Mod
6 Review

Mod Review by .Shiki on Jan 25th, 2015 - 1 person agrees

A Hodgepodge of ideas , interesting mod but needs a lot of work.

Silent Hill: Alchemilla
6 Review

Mod Review by ThePatient on Jan 25th, 2015 - 2 people don't

Why make a silent hill like game without the monsters? Key fetching gets really boring... Sure the environments and atmosphere were fantastic, but I feel like the game got really old, really fast. One of the best parts of the silent hill games are hearing that radio static when something was close and feeling afraid of being attacked by a horrifying creature. You check your inventory to see if you had enough ammo on your handgun to fight back and if not, end up fighting for your life with nothing but a pipe or running in fear. Atmosphere felt like a silent hill game, but it ended up being a boring key fetching game.

The Citizen
6 Review

Mod Review by TheUnbeholden on Jan 24th, 2015

Oh Dear... if there is anything that made me more excited to play this, it wasn't the premise. I found it has potential, but its the reviews everywhere that made me think this was going to be revolutionary. As someone who's play alot of great hl1 mods I have high hopes for hl2 ones particularly ones with a dev team of more than one or two people. This really isn't what I was expecting.

The reason why HL2 worked well as a story is because it didn't feel the need to provide regular dialogue to the player instead if did what HL1 did and told the story through gameplay through the majority of it. Here we have a constant re-affirmation as to what your doing next. Here it kinda felt grating having to listen to the dialogue which amounts to just that. And when it isn't standard context, like the resistance speech on heroically taking on the Combine to assassinate Breen, it just feels flat. Like nothing we haven't heard of before and we just have to sit through it.

The difficulty is a tad on the easier side much like the original HL2. We fight mostly Combine but I expected this. If I had to make a recommendation, its to skip this and play the sequel instead or play this after you've already played all the good stuff. It'll feel less of a big deal by then.

+Moderately long
+Level design was decent for the most part, locations are what you'd expect. Mostly just City17 alleyways, houses and underground areas.
-Voice acting
-The story, If you can call it a "story". More like just a bunch of stuff happens and Breen gets away as expected.

Below the Ice
6 Review

Mod Review by Lampenpam on Jan 23rd, 2015 - 1 person agrees

It had some nice little puzzles, but the design is extremly basic. At least the displacements could have used a bit more effort.

Mystery House
6 Review

Mod Review by ╬╗ntonio285 on Jan 22nd, 2015

El mod esta bien mapeado el problema es que falla en algunas cosas como:

-Tener que apretar E para abrir puertas
-Dificultad exagerada
-Puzzle dificil de entender

Un buen intento de crear un Half-Quake pero mal logrado.

All Quiet on the Western Front 1914-1918
6 Review

Mod Review by Chiefshalofan on Jan 20th, 2015

Has potential, needs beta or alpha release.

Europe at War
6 Review

Mod Review by madmaxine1 on Jan 19th, 2015

This mod tries to do a lot of things but mostly falls short. From the start I was greeted with crashes to desktop and after some searching(a lot of people are having these issues) I found that I had to reduce the graphical settings from ultra high to low to get it working. Even then it would still crash on larger maps. Another negative are the translated descriptions which seem to be written in "ingrish" or "spanglish".
The mod does feature a whole new campaign as well as new skirmish maps such as the africa landscapes. There are also a lot of new units and doctrines that mostly work as intended (the A.I doesn't know how to use the new units/abilities effectively). Damage is also more realistic, similar to the blitzkrieg mod.
I tried to like this mod but the constant crashing and need to reduce my pc settings killed my enthusiasm. In the end it all depends if you can get the mod running and keep it that way.

Napoleonic Era
6 Review

Mod Review by phuc365 on Jan 18th, 2015

some problems with version 2.1.7b

Something's Not Right
6 Review

Game Review by kabeltelevizio on Jan 17th, 2015

It was interested, but I disliked the open ending.

The Bottom
6 Review

Game Review by kabeltelevizio on Jan 17th, 2015

Nice concept, but this was way too short, at least make a few for each difficulty.

JURASSICV2
6 Review

Mod Review by Techlord99 on Jan 17th, 2015

There should be a singleplayer mod for this

Steam, Tracks, Trouble & Riddles
6 Review

Mod Review by sejievan on Jan 16th, 2015
This review may contain spoilers

Good mod, I liked the robot (Ross Scott WOW!!) and some of the puzzles, What is not so good -->IN MY OPINION<-- is the lack of sound (and sometimes detailing) on the levels.. it kind of breaks the immersion for me a little bit =\.

The Subconscious Trials
6 Review

Mod Review by DeathXD01 on Jan 15th, 2015

The end of the game(the map) was good. But too many speaking, and it's too long. And that's why is it a little bit boring.

DemonSteele
6 Review

Mod Review by GaySteamBath on Jan 12th, 2015

Looks like Blood Dragon -IGN

Minor Factions Revenge
6 Review

Mod Review by naapuri9 on Jan 9th, 2015

I have played Minor Factions Revenge for a long time. Tested nearly all countries. I will give it a 6. Mod was enjoyable, but random crashes and bugs ruined my experience often. Example, bug that changes your units. Its very annoying especially when you play as small country struggling with income. You build few militias to defend small port from random pirates and what? Mod changes them to provincial cavalry or cannons. Its ruins your game when you find that your capital city is full of cannons. Thank god this bug disappeared after you have played few first years of campaing.

+Love units and new buildings that mod brings in to ETW
+Nearly all factions playable
-Random crashes and bugs

Deus lo Vult!
6 Review

Mod Review by Aenarion_(jasperz0r) on Jan 8th, 2015

Easy to install, fairly stable. Crashes from time to time, but that's to be expected with a mod this size. Not much is added in terms of special units, but the gameplay style is much more fun. Running with multiple scripts can cause your PC to slow down and selecting a faction is a very tedious job.

in all I'd give it a 6. I would have been inclined to give it an 8 if the faction selection process was smoothed out and the game wouldn't crash as much. (about once every 40 turns)

S.T.A.L.K.E.R. - Lost Alpha
6 Review

Mod Review by MitchCat on Jan 7th, 2015 - 1 person agrees

Bof bof and bof !

The Groundskeeper
6 Review

Game Review by Blood-Evangelion on Jan 6th, 2015

+Nice voice actor
+Scares me few times
+Musics <3
+Some levels are good (like the woods)
+Intro and menu
+Good modelling and particles
-Cheap Jumpscares
-Repetitive puzzles
-Almost inside the house are empty
-Bad ending and rushed story
-Due to a lot of these are jumpscares, gameplay was so predictable.

Highest Rated
9.9 (game)
FS2_Open Source
9.9 (mod)
Nali Weapons 3
9.9 (mod)
Back2Fronts Mod
9.9 (mod)
SC Revolution Mod
9.9 (mod)
FOJ Community Mod
9.9 (mod)
WWII Reality
9.9 (mod)
Mapper Guild
9.8 (mod)
The Nameless Mod
9.8 (mod)
Total Mayhem
9.8 (mod)
Ballistic Weapons
9.8 (game)
Homeworld
9.8 (game)
Blood
9.8 (mod)
Tamriel Rebuilt
9.8 (mod)
Matto4
9.8 (game)
Dysis
9.8 (game)
Teslagrad
9.8 (mod)
4th Dimension [FA]
9.8 (mod)
Galactic Armory
9.8 (mod)
JA2 1.13 Mod
9.8 (engine)
Westwood 2D
9.8 (mod)
WARTIME
9.8 (mod)
Duke Plus
9.8 (mod)
Rome at War
9.8 (mod)
UT Community SDK
9.8 (engine)
FS2_Open Engine
9.8 (mod)
Finnwars
9.8 (mod)
Bleach: Lemmings