Review RSS Feed Kerbal Space Program
5 Review

Game Review by XxTopKillerzZ on Dec 18th, 2014

It is a normal game.

Boundary
5 Review

Mod Review by masanoffi on Dec 13th, 2014

this was okay, but the locked doors where where only black behind so that is minus

Ultimate Apocalypse mod
5 Review

Mod Review by ***Geroj*** on Dec 12th, 2014

Really bad decisions and balance
like artillery and aircraft strikes that can destroy whole infantry squads in one hit
Tried for some hours but ... this mod is quantity over quality

Crossfire 2.0
5 Review

Mod Review by promaty on Dec 10th, 2014 - 1 person doesn't
This review may contain spoilers

Since I don't care about the multiplayer, I'm only rating my singleplayer experience (Crossfire 2.0):

GOOD:
- amazing new HD textures and effects, rotating planets, etc...
- lots of new sexy ships and equipment (you can now also upgrade your scanner, tractor beam, energy generator for your guns which is pretty cool)
- very dynamic universe, NPCs always look very busy
- new ways to make cash (police/smuggler and other types of contracts, selling escape pods to prisons, etc...)

BAD:
- childish new character skins, not consistent with the background and atmosphere of the story (Juni's outfit looks like something from a ***** 12-year-old dream), but luckily these can be turned off.
- occasional crashes (Win 8.1 64bit)
- Dogfights are too long and annoying. First of all the difficulty is much higher, AI is making lots of crazy maneuvers, a bit like something you would expect from real players. This may be a good thing as the difficulty can be overcome after some practice, but the most annoying part is that AI has INFINITE shield batteries and nanobots. So if you are in a very long fight you will basically use up all your stuff and the enemy just keeps restoring his hull/shields until you die, it's ridiculous. I would be okay with the AI healing itself if it wasn't infinite.
- Campaign progression is VERY slow and level requirements are ridiculously high. In vanilla campaign you basically complete 3-4 local missions, upgrade your equipment and proceed with the story. In Crossfire from the very beginning you need to make hundreds of thousands of credits in order to continue. You need to either complete 20 local side-missions or engage in trading, both of which get very boring and repetitive. Campaign basically consists of 5% story and 95% just flying around and looking for ways to make credits.

I completely lost interest in proceeding after landing on the Blood Dragon base (I had to make 1.200.000 credits to level up). It is a shame that a mod of such great potential removed the fast-pacing of the original campaign.




Neuronball
5 Review

Game Review by Translucent3 on Dec 8th, 2014 - 3 people agree

For the sake of transparency, I can here via the announcement link on the game.

I was going to leave a more positive review, but something about the story in the announcement doesn't sit well with me and I'm starting to find the whole chain of events that led to the announcement and links to here somewhat hard to believe and a bit too convenient in regards to the timing of the upcoming deadline for reviews.

There are a number of issues with this game, many of which seem to be exploitable by a few players, some of which have been exploited by some of the top players who are still in the game.

One such issue is the ability to gain bonuses in matches against other players with the support of anonymous viewers. In the past, this has been explained away as the top users having lots of non-game followers from chat rooms or facebook/twitter, but in the last few days the developers have limited that number of supporters and shifted the focus to a single player who they are now attributing multiple bad reviews for this game.

I only see 2 low-scoring reviews here, which isn't how the announcement in the game linking to this site portrays the individual who they claim wrote them.

This is starting to feel like a manufactured event intended to generate positive reviews from the fans.

I really like this game, despite a growing number of exploits and issues that haven't really been addressed for months, but I feel like we're being manipulated into giving falsely-positive reviews now that the deadline is coming near.

The Red Wars, Calradia 1923
5 Review

Mod Review by destructive1220 on Dec 7th, 2014

Unable to open file: CommonRes\wb_mp_objects_a.brf

PLEASE HELP!!! I REALLY WANNA PLAY THIS MOD!!

Neuronball
5 Review

Game Review by vdtuck on Dec 5th, 2014 - 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

lol! don't listen to dying cancer patients! this game rocks!

it just needs a "SEPTEMBER UPDATE"! lmao!

Torching the light
5 Review

Mod Review by flippedoutkyrii on Dec 3rd, 2014

Rife with poor mapping choices (Did the doors REALLY need to take several minutes to open once starting the map?) and dotted with poor enemy placement in such a little mod, it still offers a small bit of decent gunplay with a nice little deathtrap for a small unit of grunts.

Play it on your lunch break :)

Real War 2.0
5 Review

Mod Review by *Pro*Vladkill1 on Dec 3rd, 2014

Custom content is very low
Only haves maps from POE2 and some meshhacked guns
I have some hope that this mod would be nice
Not so cool after all this time i spent here on moddb

Resident Evil 6
5 Review

Game Review by MR.yokerclown on Dec 1st, 2014

Worst way to be "Resident Evil" without an "evil" and just with horrible optimization and it's issues...

Assassin's Creed III
5 Review

Game Review by MR.yokerclown on Dec 1st, 2014

Have it's "good news", but also, by that destroying the "better older news"...

Dawn of Conflict - Planetary Conflict
5 Review

Mod Review by Seregruth on Nov 25th, 2014 - 2 people agree

Your mod is certainly innovative. I especially love the new wargear for SM campaign, since not many mods work on changing any of the campaign assets! And I know it´s just a beta, but not seeing these new features actually implemented ingame is sad (yeah, the Terminator Commander doesn´t benefit from his wargear upgrades when deployed on missions). And I also love the way heavy bolters work in your mod, pure destruction. But then again - you can buy 3 of them just on tier 1 in barracks for 124 req...OP.
That said, I´m giving you 5 points from 10 and I´m waiting for future releases, so that I can improve this rating!
Regards,
Seregruth

Homeworld 2 Complex Simple
5 Review

Mod Review by Corelious on Nov 25th, 2014

First off, I'd like to say that this is a beautifully crafted mod with a lot of great ideas that build upon its foundations (the Complex mod). Unfortunately, I feel like this mod is ultimately broken in the current state. Let me list the pros and Cons so that you understand:

Pros:
1. strong unit designs provide a diverse and unique selection of units and a massive selection of weapons with which to blow up your enemies.

2. great level design, lots of unique and interesting maps with awesome sky boxes (though a few could use higher resolution images).

3. Stations have been upgraded to include a better selection of self defense weaponry.

4. Over-all stunning graphics

Cons:

1. Far to many fighter/bomber class ships that can easily wipe your starting force. The damage tables need some serious work here.

Merc bombers and fighters will absolutely destroy your civilian stations as the hiigs. No amount of upgrades will change this. Same issue with the Kadeshi missile drones (or whatever they're called) and I've read a lot about the Vagyr's OP sperm boat (swimmers or whatever).

2. Some of the sky boxes cut in and out of focus as a result of either screen tearing or because of glitches.

3. Ship health is in need of work as is the armor system.

4. Ship speed - hi, I'm a mother ship that turns as fast as a fighter and moves at light speed. To the creator of this mod, what were you thinking?

Ultimately, unit balancing is non-existent.

"Simplex is a sister mod of Complex. It will bring your gaming experience to a whole new level by showing you for the first time how the gap between the strategic way of thinking in Complex and the tactical one in other mods like Path To Victory can be bridged, unleashing the real potential of both Complex and PTV, and of course, the Homeworld 2 engine itself! "

No it doesn't do any of this. There is horrendous lag unless settings are set to minimum once you hit mid game - though this can be avoided by playing the less scenic maps. Further more, there is no strategic think outside of spam a few OP units and rush the enemy before they rush you and wipe your starting force. Of course this means that there is no tactical thinking either. If you want tactics and strategy, stick to complex which is unfortunately plagued by a never ending need for more shields and missile spam which renders frigates useless.

Thus, this is a brilliant idea. Don't get me wrong, I like this mod and will still play it - in the hopes of getting a game where the AI doesn't spam OP units and wreck me from the start (it likes to ignore your defensive units). But those who play need to really consider the reality of this mod before giving such high praise and those who are considering whether or not to play should be aware of the broken state of the mod.

I will edit this once issues are resolved and I really hope they are - I love what this could be and for what it does successfully.

DC Updated Campaign Mod
5 Review

Mod Review by Rhinozeroz on Nov 24th, 2014

крупицы смысла в этом моде вижу я. зачатки рациональности наблюдаю.

A Purr Tale
5 Review

Game Review by Half-Rats on Nov 24th, 2014

Five for the story.

Phengophobia
5 Review

Mod Review by Humeba on Nov 23rd, 2014

I hate cheap jump scares. Only decent monster encounter was at the end. Walls and floors glitch.

ARMA 2: Combined Operations
5 Review

Game Review by userz on Nov 22nd, 2014

Well the game is not very noob friendly and quite boring, if you aren't a hardcore military sim enthusiast. You spend a lot of time just walking and then get sniped by some veteran players who know some good places on the map to hide and shoot, then you repeat the process again.

Minecraft PSP 1.1.21 beta
5 Review

Mod Review by Cjager on Nov 20th, 2014

I like what has been done so far, this is actually one of the reasons I'm pushing my self on how to use coding so i could actually make a mod for this to expand upon it. I'm only giving it a 5 because most people don't even finish there mods, but it would probably be 8 if he came out with 1.1

Unity
5 Review

Engine Review by FireSpawn on Nov 20th, 2014

Unity3D passes as mediocre for me.

I love the fact that it's heavily optimized for lower end machines and people who want to get their feet wet in the world of game development. But if you're looking for a more realistic game, unless you pay $1500 for the engine or $75 for a subscription, you will be drastically disappointed because the free version of Unity is lack luster. It simply doesn't have the "great features" that Unreal Engine 3/4 or CryEngine 3 provides. It's way to expensive for those who want a great looking game and make it presentable to Kickstarter, IndieGoGo, and Patreon. I can see where 3rd party support would come into play, but if you don't have backers to get you and your team the money you need to make your game believable you are stuck with a poorly planned and designed feature set.

I've played around with Unity, I loved the time I spent with it but the fact that's it's free version is so restricting when it comes to serious game development is where I parted ways with it.

I would recommend to everyone who wants to create a realistic looking game, I would opt for alternatives to Unity such as CryEngine or Unreal Engine 4, heck, even Leadwerks Game Engine. Sorry Unity, you could be great if you just lifted the silly restrictions and make it more affordable for people just starting out I would probably go back to you.

Here's why I think it's a pass via comparison:
Let's start with Unity3d's feature set. You only get next generation visuals and options if you pay a ridiculous subscription fee of $75 or a wallet burning $1500, still uses baked lighting which is dated technology (if you're using the free version) perks of Unity though and the reason why I didn't rate it below a 5 is the fact that you are free to distribute your game however you please (commercial or otherwise) without the need to pay the creators of Unity "royalties" I believe. But, most hardcore gamers are looking for prettier games. However, casual gamers won't care one way or another as long as they can play it.

Unreal Engine 4: Oh boy, this one is currently what I'm using. Features Xbox One, PS4, PC, and Mobile distribution as well as Occulus Rift support for an easy price of $19 per month and 5% royalties to Epic Games if you make over $50,000. So what happens if I cancel my subscription? Not a thing, you still get all of next generation features and a huge community and great tutorials with some of them created by Epic Games themselves.

CryEngine 3: I've used it but moved on, since it's restricted to First-Person type of games unless you're star Citizen. You get all of the next generation features for free, but it's glory is halted by a small community and a company who is currently facing financial trouble. You have a free model and a subscription model and there is no real difference between the two, except that the subscription model allows you to sell you game with no royalties due.

I cannot stress enough that everyone should go for something more this generation unless you want a basic looking game.

Realistic Driving and Flying
5 Review

Mod Review by crates1349 on Nov 20th, 2014

No offence but I just dont get for what the author has spend 700! hours! This mod has nothing common with balance. Cars accelerating like they are on steroids. Holy heck they even accelerating when u ride up at 40 degrees road. Not just a sports cars - almost every car does that mockery. And the mass. With new max speed limit I got the accidents when my lightweight car smashes a truck... and u know what? Truck flies up like it has no 7 ton mass and made of paper. And there is no sense to apply a RL specs to a game which has it own physics model. A model that are faaaaaaaaaaaraway from RL physics.

Highest Rated
9.9 (game)
FS2_Open Source
9.9 (mod)
Nali Weapons 3
9.9 (mod)
Back2Fronts Mod
9.9 (mod)
SC Revolution Mod
9.9 (mod)
FOJ Community Mod
9.9 (mod)
WWII Reality
9.9 (mod)
Mapper Guild
9.8 (mod)
The Nameless Mod
9.8 (mod)
Total Mayhem
9.8 (mod)
Ballistic Weapons
9.8 (game)
Homeworld
9.8 (game)
Blood
9.8 (mod)
Tamriel Rebuilt
9.8 (mod)
Matto4
9.8 (game)
Dysis
9.8 (game)
Teslagrad
9.8 (mod)
4th Dimension [FA]
9.8 (mod)
Galactic Armory
9.8 (mod)
JA2 1.13 Mod
9.8 (engine)
Westwood 2D
9.8 (mod)
WARTIME
9.8 (mod)
Duke Plus
9.8 (mod)
Rome at War
9.8 (engine)
FS2_Open Engine
9.8 (mod)
UT Community SDK
9.8 (mod)
Finnwars
9.8 (engine)
Unreal Engine 4