Review RSS Feed Dawn of War - Soulstorm - Planet Conflict
5 Review

Mod Review by Seregruth on Nov 25th, 2014

Your mod is certainly innovative. I especially love the new wargear for SM campaign, since not many mods work on changing any of the campaign assets! And I know it´s just a beta, but not seeing these new features actually implemented ingame is sad (yeah, the Terminator Commander doesn´t benefit from his wargear upgrades when deployed on missions). And I also love the way heavy bolters work in your mod, pure destruction. But then again - you can buy 3 of them just on tier 1 in barracks for 124 req...OP.
That said, I´m giving you 5 points from 10 and I´m waiting for future releases, so that I can improve this rating!
Regards,
Seregruth

Homeworld 2 Complex Simple
5 Review

Mod Review by Corelious on Nov 25th, 2014

First off, I'd like to say that this is a beautifully crafted mod with a lot of great ideas that build upon its foundations (the Complex mod). Unfortunately, I feel like this mod is ultimately broken in the current state. Let me list the pros and Cons so that you understand:

Pros:
1. strong unit designs provide a diverse and unique selection of units and a massive selection of weapons with which to blow up your enemies.

2. great level design, lots of unique and interesting maps with awesome sky boxes (though a few could use higher resolution images).

3. Stations have been upgraded to include a better selection of self defense weaponry.

4. Over-all stunning graphics

Cons:

1. Far to many fighter/bomber class ships that can easily wipe your starting force. The damage tables need some serious work here.

Merc bombers and fighters will absolutely destroy your civilian stations as the hiigs. No amount of upgrades will change this. Same issue with the Kadeshi missile drones (or whatever they're called) and I've read a lot about the Vagyr's OP sperm boat (swimmers or whatever).

2. Some of the sky boxes cut in and out of focus as a result of either screen tearing or because of glitches.

3. Ship health is in need of work as is the armor system.

4. Ship speed - hi, I'm a mother ship that turns as fast as a fighter and moves at light speed. To the creator of this mod, what were you thinking?

Ultimately, unit balancing is non-existent.

"Simplex is a sister mod of Complex. It will bring your gaming experience to a whole new level by showing you for the first time how the gap between the strategic way of thinking in Complex and the tactical one in other mods like Path To Victory can be bridged, unleashing the real potential of both Complex and PTV, and of course, the Homeworld 2 engine itself! "

No it doesn't do any of this. There is horrendous lag unless settings are set to minimum once you hit mid game - though this can be avoided by playing the less scenic maps. Further more, there is no strategic think outside of spam a few OP units and rush the enemy before they rush you and wipe your starting force. Of course this means that there is no tactical thinking either. If you want tactics and strategy, stick to complex which is unfortunately plagued by a never ending need for more shields and missile spam which renders frigates useless.

Thus, this is a brilliant idea. Don't get me wrong, I like this mod and will still play it - in the hopes of getting a game where the AI doesn't spam OP units and wreck me from the start (it likes to ignore your defensive units). But those who play need to really consider the reality of this mod before giving such high praise and those who are considering whether or not to play should be aware of the broken state of the mod.

I will edit this once issues are resolved and I really hope they are - I love what this could be and for what it does successfully.

DC Updated Campaign Mod
5 Review

Mod Review by Rhinozeroz on Nov 24th, 2014

крупицы смысла в этом моде вижу я. зачатки рациональности наблюдаю.

A Purr Tale
5 Review

Game Review by Half-Rats on Nov 24th, 2014

Five for the story.

Phengophobia
5 Review

Mod Review by Humeba on Nov 23rd, 2014

I hate cheap jump scares. Only decent monster encounter was at the end. Walls and floors glitch.

ARMA 2: Combined Operations
5 Review

Game Review by userz on Nov 22nd, 2014

Well the game is not very noob friendly and quite boring, if you aren't a hardcore military sim enthusiast. You spend a lot of time just walking and then get sniped by some veteran players who know some good places on the map to hide and shoot, then you repeat the process again.

Minecraft PSP 1.1.0 beta
5 Review

Mod Review by Cjager on Nov 20th, 2014

I like what has been done so far, this is actually one of the reasons I'm pushing my self on how to use coding so i could actually make a mod for this to expand upon it. I'm only giving it a 5 because most people don't even finish there mods, but it would probably be 8 if he came out with 1.1

Unity
5 Review

Engine Review by FireSpawn on Nov 20th, 2014

Unity3D passes as mediocre for me.

I love the fact that it's heavily optimized for lower end machines and people who want to get their feet wet in the world of game development. But if you're looking for a more realistic game, unless you pay $1500 for the engine or $75 for a subscription, you will be drastically disappointed because the free version of Unity is lack luster. It simply doesn't have the "great features" that Unreal Engine 3/4 or CryEngine 3 provides. It's way to expensive for those who want a great looking game and make it presentable to Kickstarter, IndieGoGo, and Patreon. I can see where 3rd party support would come into play, but if you don't have backers to get you and your team the money you need to make your game believable you are stuck with a poorly planned and designed feature set.

I've played around with Unity, I loved the time I spent with it but the fact that's it's free version is so restricting when it comes to serious game development is where I parted ways with it.

I would recommend to everyone who wants to create a realistic looking game, I would opt for alternatives to Unity such as CryEngine or Unreal Engine 4, heck, even Leadwerks Game Engine. Sorry Unity, you could be great if you just lifted the silly restrictions and make it more affordable for people just starting out I would probably go back to you.

Here's why I think it's a pass via comparison:
Let's start with Unity3d's feature set. You only get next generation visuals and options if you pay a ridiculous subscription fee of $75 or a wallet burning $1500, still uses baked lighting which is dated technology (if you're using the free version) perks of Unity though and the reason why I didn't rate it below a 5 is the fact that you are free to distribute your game however you please (commercial or otherwise) without the need to pay the creators of Unity "royalties" I believe. But, most hardcore gamers are looking for prettier games. However, casual gamers won't care one way or another as long as they can play it.

Unreal Engine 4: Oh boy, this one is currently what I'm using. Features Xbox One, PS4, PC, and Mobile distribution as well as Occulus Rift support for an easy price of $19 per month and 5% royalties to Epic Games if you make over $50,000. So what happens if I cancel my subscription? Not a thing, you still get all of next generation features and a huge community and great tutorials with some of them created by Epic Games themselves.

CryEngine 3: I've used it but moved on, since it's restricted to First-Person type of games unless you're star Citizen. You get all of the next generation features for free, but it's glory is halted by a small community and a company who is currently facing financial trouble. You have a free model and a subscription model and there is no real difference between the two, except that the subscription model allows you to sell you game with no royalties due.

I cannot stress enough that everyone should go for something more this generation unless you want a basic looking game.

Realistic Driving and Flying
5 Review

Mod Review by crates1349 on Nov 20th, 2014

No offence but I just dont get for what the author has spend 700! hours! This mod has nothing common with balance. Cars accelerating like they are on steroids. Holy heck they even accelerating when u ride up at 40 degrees road. Not just a sports cars - almost every car does that mockery. And the mass. With new max speed limit I got the accidents when my lightweight car smashes a truck... and u know what? Truck flies up like it has no 7 ton mass and made of paper. And there is no sense to apply a RL specs to a game which has it own physics model. A model that are faaaaaaaaaaaraway from RL physics.

Zone of Alienation mod
5 Review

Mod Review by BlackBalsam on Nov 19th, 2014

Cool features overall.

Fails in terms of performance, crashes to desktop every 3 minutes on random things.

Jagged Alliance 2: Unfinished Business
5 Review

Game Review by JAsmine-ja2 on Nov 18th, 2014

I have very mixed feelings about this one...

PROS:
- gameplay taken directly from JA2, which is naturally a very good thing
- new items, guns & ammo
- new mercs
- mercs from JA2 can be imported to UB. Nice feature!
- some improvements to JA2's engine

CONS:
- many gameplay elements from original JA2 are missing (e.g. the whole(!) strategic part of the game)
- UB is way too short. Veterans of JA2 can easily finish this one in a single session, lasting only some hours.
- german localization is horrible (considering that the localization of JA2 is excellent)

Overall, this game is okay, but really, it does not come even close to Jagged Alliance 2.

Median XL Ultimative
5 Review

Mod Review by 8105 on Nov 17th, 2014 - 1 person doesn't

All chars became too similar. Everybody now pretty much got melee/raged/magic tree. Assassin for example doesn't even have decent claw/claw skill.
Annoying unkillable teleporting monsters spawn everywhere. Pretty boring and punishing overall, 5 for the effort anyway.
I like how description claims it to be greatest D2 mod, lol.

Minor Factions Revenge
5 Review

Mod Review by Jax18 on Nov 17th, 2014

Awesome mod, tons of attention to detail, and just all around impressive. Would be a 10/10 for me if it didn't crash. Some people aren't even able to load it, some people (like me) are getting a little ways into campaigns before their saves decide to crash... either way it doesn't seem like it's very playable for many people. It certainly wasn't for me.

Escape - A Puzzling Story
5 Review

Mod Review by StevenTasiopulos on Nov 16th, 2014

I am giving it a 5 because it's a puzzle story and the puzzles are very difficult.I didn't even finish it.Dissapointed.

Cry of Fear
5 Review

Game Review by IgorPoulpupov on Nov 14th, 2014 - 1 person agrees

Pros:
- health/ammo systems
- dual weapons
- limited inventory is overall nice but... see cons
- textures, enemies, weapons are new and some new interactions are made possible, always appreciated
- ambience is overall nice, except it's not frightening at all (I've never played a game that is actually frightening anyway so no problem here)

Cons:
- open choices? nope (most linear game ever)
- backtracking is BAD (and on this point, back to the limited inventory, having to leave your weapons in order to be able to pick extremely light -but mandatory- items that could just fit in your pocket and having to backtrack (again) in order to pick your weapon back is BAD. I mean, BAD)
- originality? nope
- characters/story? boring...
- saving "checkpoints" are BAD
- playability? well:
-- a vent opens at 1cm above the ground. you have to jump to get in
-- infighting is awfully awful... being 2cm from your enemy won't always make you hit. being 2m away won't always make your enemy fail.
- dropping some items make them disappear while they should not, either 10s after you dropped them (they just fall inside the ground) or like 20mn after you dropped them, after killing 20 enemies and finishing your backtracking
- the current 9.3 note makes me want to rate the game 1/10 just to make hype addict fanboys cry

The Affect
5 Review

Mod Review by Straxedix on Nov 12th, 2014

I told you in comment.

Call of Duty: Black Ops 2
5 Review

Game Review by themosinmaster on Nov 10th, 2014

Just a shooting game nothing new with the shooting no gameplay enhancers multiplayer brings nothing new to the table. The "new guns" feel the same. There is also almost no recoil on the guns in this game. Over all Call Of Duty Black Ops 2 was a big disappointment.

The Last Days (of The Third Age of Middle Earth)
5 Review

Mod Review by cuccibro on Nov 7th, 2014

sorry but the removal of sieges, the marriage system, warg cleanup (having to kill every god damn mount after a battle) and the overly- restrictive currency system all add up to make an average mod at best. i truly find it a shame the developers decided to change and remove such key featuers that, to me at least, were some of my favorite, that makes it a deal breaker. if you like being able to seige cities yourself, then stay the hell away from this mod.

S.T.A.L.K.E.R. - Lost Alpha
5 Review

Mod Review by BlackBalsam on Nov 7th, 2014 - 2 people agree
This review may contain spoilers

+Fun new maps
+Good firefights
+That feeling of exploration again

-Not enough new guns, needs the mosin nagant model, wooden ak, sks ?,
-Some enemies possess godlike health ( 30-50 headshots worth at close range )
-Maps are almost empty, almost no loot or points of interest to be found, and even less characters and ESPECIALLY characters to interact with
-Buggy to say the least
-80% of quests are simply " Run back 2 maps, get item, run back 2 maps " REALLY annoying, stock up on energy drinks, I have 16 in my pack at the moment
-Cars cant be fueled with fuel barrels, why ?
-Car tank is 5L capacity
-The helicopter rail runner missions are horrible, unbalanced and badly made
-The car used in the first helicopter escape mission is bugged and flips over at the speed of 5kmh

Overall, ANNOYING to play

The Affect
5 Review

Mod Review by Boss-DOS on Nov 6th, 2014 - 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't
This review may contain spoilers

I have to say that this actually wasn't that very good.

The story made absolutely no sense what so ever and doesn't follow the good ending to the original game at all. Some aspects were pretty neat but it's very buggy and the level design was kinda weird... There was so much cluttered against walls and the centers of rooms were totally empty. Not to mention in a few rooms there weren't even actual floor textures, you used the texture pages for the castle towers, not flooring textures. It kind of felt like a lot of thought didn't go into the story or level designs. A few were really nice, but many seemed to lack effort. Also, this takes place in 1848, there was no electricity in the 1840s, let alone shock therapy. Small things like that completely threw the feeling of this story off for me. But I do have to say this does show potential, it just really needs polished up and the story needs reworked a little bit.

It just left me confused as to what you were really aiming for. Nothing about it made me believe this was a continuation of the main story, let alone the good ending. If anything it followed the bad ending except if Daniel didn't die. I know this sounds really nit picky, but when it comes to continuations of the main story I like to see it done to the absolute best of the creator's ability and you show a lot of potential, so I know with some more work and thought this can be done very well. I hope to see this continued or redone one day.

Highest Rated
9.9 (game)
FS2_Open Source
9.9 (mod)
Nali Weapons 3
9.9 (mod)
Back2Fronts Mod
9.9 (mod)
SC Revolution Mod
9.9 (mod)
FOJ Community Mod
9.9 (mod)
WWII Reality
9.9 (mod)
Mapper Guild
9.8 (mod)
The Nameless Mod
9.8 (mod)
Total Mayhem
9.8 (mod)
Ballistic Weapons
9.8 (game)
Homeworld
9.8 (game)
Blood
9.8 (mod)
Tamriel Rebuilt
9.8 (mod)
Matto4
9.8 (game)
Dysis
9.8 (game)
Teslagrad
9.8 (mod)
4th Dimension [FA]
9.8 (mod)
Galactic Armory
9.8 (mod)
JA2 1.13 Mod
9.8 (engine)
Westwood 2D
9.8 (mod)
WARTIME
9.8 (mod)
Duke Plus
9.8 (mod)
Rome at War
9.8 (mod)
UT Community SDK
9.8 (engine)
FS2_Open Engine
9.8 (mod)
Finnwars