Themes
Review RSS Feed Far Cry
5 Review

Game Review by Rus_Demo on Sep 23rd, 2014

this video card FarCry 1 for install min 15, not bad -_-

Doorways: The Underworld
5 Review

Game Review by ☣Kaernk☣ on Sep 22nd, 2014 - 1 person doesn't
This review may contain spoilers

Positives:

- Scary moments
- Intresting story
- Creative features

Negatives:

- The story line is too obvious
- Repetitive gameplay
- Bad graphics
- Short

I thought the first two chapters were decent. I didn't love them, but it was a pretty nice experience. I saw the pictures and trailers and though that this chapter looked even better and was excited to finally see some real monsters in the game. But in the end, it feels like the developers took a step back.

The gameplay is painfully repedtitive. It looks like you used the same engine they used for Penumbra. Don't get me wrong, Penumbra is a great game, but I expect better graphics in the year of 2014.

Almost every area in every map looks exactly the same. It looks like you made one tunnel and then copied it over and over again.

I liked the amulet feature, but all the other quests are also way too repedtitive. First map - find keys. Second map - find more keys and some valves. Next area in the second map - find more keys and more valves. Third map - find a key.

The monsters are not balanced very well. The first monster is super fast and kills you in one hit. And to top the cake, you have very few hiding spots and you can't crawl behind him or hide in a different hallway because he can sense you and have eyes on the side of his skull (or at least that's how it seems like), while the second monster is too easy to avoid and looks like a mutated hulk. Silly and not slightly scary.

The story wasn't bad, in fact, I like these kind of stories, but it was kinda there already. I play some games twice, and still don't know everything about them because the story is so complex. I read three notes and knew exactly what the story was about and what to expect. You leave almost nothing for the player to explore.

Conclusion:

If you are looking for a scary game, this might be good for you. I don't recommend it though if you want a deep story or good gameplay. It doesn't have any of those.

5/10 - Decent

Steam, Tracks, Trouble & Riddles
5 Review

Mod Review by Antumarin on Sep 22nd, 2014 - 1 person doesn't

I'm guessing it'll be more challenging and better developed later on but until then I'll write about what I played.
It's a nice idea and it has a pretty good ambience but the puzzles are very simple, the events and maps are kinda buggy and in some parts there's some obvious lack of level design.
Firstly, the hardest part in the chapter was figuring out how to make the crane work properly, and it didn't took that long either.
If you stop the handcar before it stops itself Easy Rider won't notice you're there until you make some progress in the current puzzle.
There's one "puzzle" in which you can't tell what you have to do (or that you have to do anything at all) until you're dead and you load a previous save.
The fact that there are long hallways without any kind of detail is really annoying and makes the travel feel kinda empty. For example, the hallway between the tunnel and the Model Railway, which also feels odd and out of place. And needing to put an arrow to point a ladder straight out breaks the atmosphere the mod creates. If you need to do it be creative, hang it on the wall next to you in a shinier, more noticeable color or something, but for crying out loud don't just point it with a stupid arrow. And I lost the count of how many times I managed to get out of the map with very simple climbing... or just jumping over a slightly higher roof.
I'm afraid of saying this, but the voice acting needs improvement. I know Ross Scott and I love his work and that's why this really concerns me. I'm not an expert in this, maybe it had to do with the script but the dialogues just don't feel right.

Had to shorten this up because Moddb has some trouble actually giving me my 2000 characters remaining and even so I really don't want to because I actually believe this could be better, the mistakes are pretty simple to fix... or maybe this is how the mod is supposed to be. Only the developer knows.

Feast of the Damned
5 Review

Mod Review by Humeba on Sep 18th, 2014

Jumpscare fest. Not really my kind of custom story.

Hopeless Night
5 Review

Mod Review by SPY-maps on Sep 18th, 2014

the mod is put well together and the mapping is decent.
Still, the zombie is so dull to have as a enemie these days in HL2 and then to think of that the zombie is the only enemie in this mod does make me think twice. I kept playing although after the 300th zombie, that needed to be killed with a melee weapon i strated to get quit bored. And the whole end, with having to look for keys in apartments, that was really anoying, all the backtracking. And it didn't make sence, why did i need to go go apartment 307, to look for a key of apartment 203, to find there a key for aparment 304, etc etc etc. It really didn't make sence, and was very frustrating. I really wanted it to end by then.
So, the mapping was decent, but the whole game play was boring.
sorry, but i really can't make anything else of it.

Leon

Chronicles of Coldcrest : Fall of Bleak Point
5 Review

Game Review by neroham93 on Sep 18th, 2014

i love the game but i don't love the fact that i could only play it halfway through before discovering that there's files missing from the game now i'm on a quest in real life to find some character file for the white watcher which frankly sucks donkey balls i may be temped to give the game the other half of the bar when i can play the other half of the game nothing against the creator it's a great story and the concept while not completely origonal is rare in the freeware gaming world but missing files and buggy gaming ruin the experience just being fair

Larry's Life - Part 1
5 Review

Mod Review by M3NTALMAN on Sep 14th, 2014

"Lolz, I trolled you"
Come on...
5/10

Grim Part One
5 Review

Game Review by HumbleGamerCJ on Sep 13th, 2014
This review may contain spoilers

Just finished playing this game.

The graphics are functional, if not world beating and occasionally laggy, and the story is interesting. The atmosphere while you play is intense and really got me excited as I walked gingerly through the dimly lit levels.

The sound built to a nice crescendo and there were a couple of subtle but well done jump scares that, although not Outlast levels of scare, did enough to really put me on edge.

**MINOR SPOLIER ALERT**
I get into a downstairs room and I heard a voice, quietly at first, telling me to leave. It got more insistent and grew louder. I was on the edge of my seat, the skeletal form next to me sitting still, watching my fear grow. The whisper had become almost a shout, a madman demanding I leave and then...

It ended. Cut to black.

I know its an episodic game, and I know that it's possibly more of an experiment to see what can be done and achieved rather than a look forward to an entire game, but to build the tension and atmosphere to such a point and then just have no payoff whatsoever? It felt deflating and really anticlimactic.

Now, I'm not asking for the most blood-chilling, soul destroying, make me jump out of my seat and scream like a girl kind of scare in the first episode. I get pacing and I know you have to hold something back for future episodes, but something. A face, a scream, a vision... anything would have been better than what I got.

All that being said, it really does show potential and it is because of the obvious potential and promise that was on show that I was so downbeat about the game when it ended so quickly and with so little payoff. I wanted to be scared, I wanted to be knocked for six by the developer, and it really felt the game was heading that way. But, for a game with such obvious intent and direction, the ending was just too much of an anticlimax for me.

There is so much potential on show, even if the game is a little laggy in places,that I want to give it more than a 5 but short leng

Napoleonic: Total War 3
5 Review

Mod Review by deck44 on Sep 13th, 2014

Singleplayer
I like

Unit Sizes
Really good textures on units
nice sound effects

I dislike
Limited Units even Trade Ships.
Infantry hit accuracy is almost zero.
Poor Battle AI. Animations have heavy lags during Battles.

So still prefer Darthmod because it has more Arcarde elements.

16th Century
5 Review

Mod Review by SrpskaBosna on Sep 10th, 2014

it's a good mod, but optimisation for it is bad.

Graphic Enhancer
5 Review

Mod Review by Mikilus on Sep 5th, 2014

Too dark...

Deadfall Adventures
5 Review

Game Review by chiter2012 on Sep 4th, 2014

The game is really ugly for a fps and some of the weapons are shooting pellets more than bullets , the overall story is nice and resembles the indiana johnes films with the magic items and story taken place in the world war 2 while the nazis were searching for some magic firepower to win the war , you know "aryian pure race" the nazis were talkin about themself ....

Five Nights at Freddy's
5 Review

Game Review by Matryan on Sep 4th, 2014 - 1 person doesn't

Five Nights At Freddy's carries forward a great idea but simply fails to execute it in a way that keeps the player on his or her toes. The game brings forth the element of suspense through its atmosphere and the blind spots of the cameras. Sadly, the atmosphere of the games is the only thing that's truly horrifying as every other element of the game fails due to predictable artificial intelligence and quickly-jaded jump scares.

The Sanity Game
5 Review

Mod Review by Humeba on Sep 3rd, 2014

Confusing.

S.T.A.L.K.E.R. - Lost Alpha
5 Review

Mod Review by OrangeNero on Sep 3rd, 2014 - 2 people agree 2 people don't

kinda cool that it exists
kinda cool how it plays
kinda cool with the new maps and quests
kinda buggy
kinda awful map design (rofl searching for the bar or sidorowitch never took that long ever)
kinda worth it
kinda replayable
kinda like a new entry in the Stalker franchise with all the good and bad things present.

MISERY
5 Review

Mod Review by OrangeNero on Sep 3rd, 2014 - 1 person agrees

Would of have enjoyed and rated this so much better if the gameplay wouldn't feel so miserable.

One big part of the stalker games is sadly that they're all an awful grinding and awful stamina for time wasting.

This mod makes these things even worse and on top of that the enemy npc characters are godlike.

Everything not gameplay related certainly does seem to be amazing and I really love the amount of detailed work that has gone into it. A matter of taste I guess and hey afterall its called Misery.

Cba with the different versions either. 2.0 was cool but now there's 2.1 and 2.2 which instead of fixing and improving just seems to change stuff over for the sake of changing.

Good Luck with The SEED!

Carrier Command: Gaea Mission
5 Review

Game Review by Lord_Cylarne on Sep 1st, 2014 - 2 people agree

I tried the demo. I liked the game, it has too much potential, but whoever coded the thing shoved his/her middle finger up my spadardians. "NNNNNnnnnnnnnnnnooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!" I was saying the whole time to this potentially great game.

Not worth a big review, imo, because I am very, very disappointed in the design of it, even though everything else is super fabulous, polished, and awesome.

Don't buy the game...

Number 7
5 Review

Mod Review by PatPeter on Sep 1st, 2014 - 1 person agrees

So first off, the plot wasn't so great. Crazy guy stealing hitchhikers and then talking to the "cops" in the 18th century? No.

Probably the most irksome thing about this mod is that THERE IS NO NIGHTVISION! You eyes NEVER adjust to the darkness. One of the most quintessential parts of Amnesia, completely missing from the game.

This mod also has you rely on that stupid torch in several occasions. A few mods use it as well. Because you know, I like only being able to see two feet in front of my character and otherwise run straight into darkness.

That girl mob sends chills down my spine, but whatever mod she's in a glowing blue girl always looks ridiculous.

Oh, and the music is SO LOUD I CAN'T HEAR MOBS! On the Storage Tunnels and then the prisons, it plays this music that, albeit very good, completely blocks out my ability to hear gatherers and brutes.

So in total:

+1 for the map design (which was very detailed), even though there were many bleeds (the ability to see through the map) and many objects clipping through walls.
+1 for the scripting. There were many well-scripted events in this mod.
+1 for the cut scenes.
+1 for the really good music.
+1 because my greatest fear is going up a ladder only to have a monster standing right there.
+1 for the chase scene.
+1 for the elevator.
+2 for the sixth orb piece puzzle.
+3 for not letting the player keep the lantern for the whole game. The best custom stories/total conversion mods either remove the lantern completely or remove it for large swaths of the game.

-1 for the plot's lexicon. A lot of the words were anachronistic.
-2 for not having night vision.
-1 for making me use that stupid torch.
-1 because the music was way too loud, I couldn't hear the gatherers/brutes
-1 because the elevator took way too long
-1 for forcing the player to focus on stupid things like torches and doors for too long

Bugs:
- On the second floor of the house, it is possible to walk through a window and fall onto the statue outside.
-

1860s Old America
5 Review

Mod Review by Renomaki on Aug 31st, 2014

Before I learned how to get mods, I always wondered what this mod woulda been like.. It looked so cool, fighting epic line battles in the Civil War, a mod of such massive scale that had a lot of work put into it... It kinda made me sad that I never could try it.. At least, until recently.

Turns out, looks can be deceiving. When I finally got the mod, I was deeply excited, because I was about to go on an amazing semi-modern adventure in the US, given the power to change history in whatever way I imagine.. Then I got into a few battles, and I learned that they weren't very much fun.

There are a lot of things I don't mind in this game, for it is, after all, just a mod. But after I had a few battles, I suddenly realized just how awkward the gun battles were.

I played another Mod, Imperial Age to be precise, where line battle tactics were also a common thing back in the day, so these two aren't too different when you think about it. But while IA made guns deadly and forced serious tactical thinking in order to survive and win battles, the guns in Old America are more.. Random.

To explain, when I first played this mod, (which was the only time too), I expected that guns would be deadly, and at the very least, 2-3 hits would probably be enough to kill you and others at the very most. But instead, as I later discovered, that isn't always the case. Sometimes a single shot will kill a person, other times it just kinda bounces off of them, putting a mere dent in them instead of a hole. I once had a single-shot rifle and managed to land several shots on someone at medium range, and EVERY TIME, it only did around 3 damage... three... Damage.. From a rifle that loads single rounds.. Let that sink in.

I don't have much room left, sadly, so I guess I'll close this up by saying that this mod has a lot of potential, it really does, but until they fix the damage system, I don't think it's worth playing. If you want guns with a real punch, try Imperial Age instead.

FarSky
5 Review

Game Review by Metamon on Aug 29th, 2014

Although fun at first, the replay value is only in 'what shaped base can I build this time?' it's boring after you finish 'story mode'.

Highest Rated
9.9 (game)
FS2_Open Source
9.9 (mod)
Nali Weapons 3
9.9 (mod)
Back2Fronts Mod
9.9 (mod)
SC Revolution Mod
9.9 (mod)
FOJ Community Mod
9.9 (mod)
WWII Reality
9.9 (mod)
Mapper Guild
9.8 (mod)
The Nameless Mod
9.8 (mod)
New Vision
9.8 (mod)
Total Mayhem
9.8 (mod)
Ballistic Weapons
9.8 (game)
Homeworld
9.8 (game)
Blood
9.8 (mod)
Tamriel Rebuilt
9.8 (mod)
Matto4
9.8 (game)
Dysis
9.8 (game)
Teslagrad
9.8 (mod)
4th Dimension [FA]
9.8 (mod)
Galactic Armory
9.8 (mod)
JA2 1.13 Mod
9.8 (engine)
Westwood 2D
9.8 (mod)
WARTIME
9.8 (mod)
Duke Plus
9.8 (mod)
Rendroc's WarZone
9.8 (mod)
Rome at War
9.8 (mod)
UT Community SDK