Review RSS Feed Comatose
5 Review

Mod Review by TheUnbeholden on Jan 26th, 2015

Interesting at first but bad translation, bad ending, lack of any real content besides some some nice street type of urban clothes people walk around outside with an 10-15 minutes of gameplay. This was a exercise to playthrough mainly for finding those damn keys. The sounds ripped from Max Payne 2.

Half-Life: Black Death
5 Review

Mod Review by TheUnbeholden on Jan 26th, 2015

This takes a similiar approach to some of the better difficult mods out there by providing less healthkits, however the mod really screws this up though because there are no batteries & twice/three times the amount of enemies you'd expect. I had to rely on the shotgun double barrel blast & AR grenades and liberal use of the quicksave key to get me through. Suffice to say constant reloads and overusing explosives isn't the best way to have a balanced mod and certainly not a fair difficult mod. Its purposely unfair and doesn't care what most people think. I can atleast respect that but its not entertaining. If enemies went down faster I would perhaps understand this "realism", even so I don't see why not give us some batteries. If your going to be tight on health, be tight on batteries. Not remove them. This is a endurance test and seeing as I've played a good version of that kind of mod in Hard 1 & 2, seeing it done painfully hard like this makes me a tad sad that there isn't many mods that have done this kind of 'low health/battery and good enemy placement thing' well. Its hard to make an ideal mod in this regard.

Black Death doesn't seem to good in terms of level design, its just canyons and some bland military base that we have seen before done way better in countless mods. The canyons are quite bland. The waterfall kills you (uhh). But the idea here of Black Ops has been done better, search and you'll find a few worth playing, skip this one unless you are really desperate for something ultra difficult.

A Clash of Kings (Game of Thrones)
5 Review

Mod Review by starkswillconquer on Jan 24th, 2015

The only reason i give it a 5 and not a 10 is because the owner is a complete *******. It is a good mod but he doesn't respond well to criticism, and that is as annoying as ****. Please excuse my language but I have looked at what other people have said ans what he says and its just not good. It is a great mod though so yeah just thought I'd say that.

Combine Destiny
5 Review

Mod Review by TheUnbeholden on Jan 24th, 2015

Its one of those mods that sound good on paper but what it all really comes down to is whether the level design is any good. Thats where it falters and its the only way it needs to falter in order to be rated average at best.

+Reskin is quite a simple job. Your hud is blue now. What functional difference is there? Manhacks/barriers/camera's are on your side. Which is a nice gimmick.
-This was far from a good mod in terms of levels, I was expecting lots of artificial/samey looking hallways in combine territory. What I got was lots of samey looking cave areas and combine areas.
-Fights with humans where harder than I thought but still not at all anymore interesting than fights with combine. Its sad to see that both are so interchangeable that it really doesn't matter which way your gun is pointing.
-Being combine opens up opportunities for story telling, I was expecting something plain and simple, I got just that. Its as by the numbers as you'd expect with some non-sense thrown in. Like the resistance capturing a combine for some reason and placing him in a broken down house with no one watching guard and leaving a crowbar there inside for him (you). I wasn't expecting anything spectacular but that seems rather lazy, an excuse to teleport you to a different city like location, that ends rather quickly just to go back into some more caves before fizzling towards the end.

By end I just felt like something wasn't handled anywhere near as well as it could have been. This could have been to hl2 what Opposing Force/Blue Shift was to HL. I guess I'll search else where for that kind of mod.

Blood in The West
5 Review

Mod Review by ivara96 on Jan 23rd, 2015

can i get the ring from frodo

Half-Life: Source
5 Review

Game Review by Dune_Jumper on Jan 23rd, 2015

As much as I love all the Half-Life games, I have to say; don't buy this. Its just a lazy port. The only things they've added are ragdoll physics, HD water & bullet decal textures that look unfitting/ugly next to the old mucky textures, and various other things ripped straight from HL2.
I would say you should buy this if you don't already own the original HL, but even then you still shouldn't. Why? Because there are NO mods for this. With the original HL, even after you finish playing it, there are hundreds of amazing, free mods to play. But if you buy HL:S, there are none. Because of that, I can't really reccomend this to you. Just buy the original game. Its almost exactly the same, and has an amazing modding community.

The Conspiracy in Shadow
5 Review

Mod Review by TheUnbeholden on Jan 20th, 2015

-To many things hamper the experience, first off the rope doesn't work in the area that is crucial to get through to the next part.
-Standard enemies can infinitely respawn in the early areas, meaning it forces you to use the explosives to get past those parts.
-Events that kill you for choosing wrongly (turning a valve when your not supposed to, or going the wrong way like in the early part of the second map, or towards the end after you teleport in to the beginning of the game just before things went to hell).
-Some weapons are to weak, like the new .45 handgun, the shotgun, and the AK47 seems hardly any better than the M4A1. You just end up using the sniper as soon as you get it (sharing the ammo with the ak47) it owns everything.
+Fairly long
+Interesting Hud and visual style
+Ending is quite odd, how you could have stopped everything heh
+- Can be pretty difficulty, the parts that require you to run around the place to figure out what to do next. But some may like this, I sort of did.

Divide et Impera
5 Review

Mod Review by Blitz001 on Jan 20th, 2015

I love it when modders use the unit's real name not just a repetitive "noble cav, noble swordsmen, etc." and just adding the faction's name in front. And the battle length times are realistic unlike vanilla that makes an elite unit just mow a cheap unit like a lawnmower on a grass. This brings out the tactics over arcade.

BUG: Garrison units can beat any attacking unit even elite ones! Pls fix as it degrades the whole campaign, maybe because of the towers doing the killing and the long battle. Like Custodes Praetorii cannot beat cheap briton units in land battle as well as Spartan heroes can't beat Hoplites.

Azure Sheep
5 Review

Mod Review by lgs on Jan 19th, 2015

This mod is one long infuriating escort mission where your escort is a fragile female guard with no brains:
She will constantly stuck in geometry (tight corridors mostly)
She don't use cover like military grunts
She only have 2 alternative barks to any given situation (2 idle, 2 follow/stop, 2 combat) and it gets old really quick (you bet you'll hate the follow/stop responses).
If she dies it's game over for you, considering all of the above this will happen a lot.
She will turn hostile if you accidentally hit her in combat (so one stray bullet is auto game over too)
You can heal her but you will only encounter like 4-6 medkits in the entire game, each heals about 15-20hp which is clearly not enough.
You will find most of the time leaving here somewhere safe, clearing the level and then backtracking to get the dummy to the exit node with you.

The level design is not very great either, maps designed in such a way it's not always clear which direction is the main route and which is optional (i remember skipping some helicopter fight entirely thinking it was main route, turned out it was optional). Author absolutely loves boring zig-zag corridors with no decorations and uses them a lot. There is also huge amounts of doors most of which are there for no apparent reason, while only some of them can be opened (no way to tell, you have to try them all).
Maps has some minor glitches here and there.
The overall mood of this mod is clearly not serious and it's showing, but I'm ok with it.
On the positive note i wanted to point some cool scripted events, which i wish were more of.

The Last Days (of The Third Age of Middle Earth)
5 Review

Mod Review by terciperix on Jan 18th, 2015
This review may contain spoilers

Despite the presence of major features such as whole new lore-acurate troop trees (for most of them), lore-accurate locations which are designed with great care which testify of an amazing work on the part of the team ; I must say that the game, at some point, becomes really boring.
The scripts don't work properly and some factions stop all war effort at some point. Thus the player finds himself alone with 50 partysize against whole factions.The rank progression is too painful and should be unique for each side (Good/Evil), the role of the player in the war is always the same. The player has no initiative at all, which makes the link with your faction leader a burden when your faction stop fighting.

I only give a 5/10 because I think this mod is somewhat correct but half of the work remains to be done.

Blood in The West
5 Review

Mod Review by duckfromportal on Jan 17th, 2015

'Sigh' I'm not going this any points as a lord of the rings mod because it doesnt take into account what non-players would actually say other than gandalf, (awesome hurry come on join me, lets go) certain characters dont look up to snuff yet, and the ones who do do feel right because of their interactions with my player. with the different armies, i disliked the look of the oruk and orcs because they look like they have sacky faces.

I feel to a certain degree a mod is supposed to be wish fulfillment, working towards a certain goal you personally have. maybe making saruman and gandalf and radaghast work together. or to kill the fellowship and plunge the land into darkness for the chuckles. this mod just made me feel like i was playing a very hallow interpretation of the lord of the rings.

that being said it could be improved very easily through a person testing the grammar and things and checking to see if it is inline with all the characters. a tester could also test easyness to get into locations, since i had troubles going to mordor and mount doom because their hitboxes as well as that of isengard were only accessable at certain angles.

I suggest going through your nations and characters and redoing the grammar at least. after that was done i'd look into way of making people stick together more, the fellow ship should not just randomly be in taverns, gimli and legolas should be together as a suggestion, gandalf and legolas, frodo and sam, eowin and pippin merry and say borrimir at least to make it easier to find your fellowship, maybe if its possible, set restrictions on where they can be so i dont find frodo at mount doom :|

Hears some of the good things i saw from this mod though so it doesn't seem like im trashing it all the way. Its faction troop trees were solid, its maps placement was nice, towns looked unique for the most part even if they were sometimes hard to spot, you had the right names for evil forces and most good forces. as well as for your factions all of them did something in the war of the ring. thank you for providing me with a mod but i will not use it until the next big update probably

p.s. please fix sarumans face i recoiled in disgust when i saw him look more like ad uruk than the uruk hai do

Company of Heroes: Back to Basics
5 Review

Mod Review by jira_Rockheart on Jan 17th, 2015

well!! THANKS!!

GET TO THE HOUSE
5 Review

Game Review by kabeltelevizio on Jan 17th, 2015

I'll probably check back once this gets an update, so far it's not interesting. The trees all look the same and they are not even rotated to add variation, apart from the pointless flashlight there is no light at all, just an ambient the makes the whole thing boring. You should definitely add different kinds of lights and new vegetation. Also I could walk through the trees, not to mention some trees were on the road.

So this game needs a lot of work, I don't understand the point of this beta version, this doesn't really show anything.

The Witcher: Hi-Res Character Models
5 Review

Mod Review by Jon_Dog on Jan 17th, 2015

You tried but a sharpening filter doesn't fix the textures at all and only enhances the low res artifacts.

A Clash of Kings (Game of Thrones)
5 Review

Mod Review by rordarin on Jan 16th, 2015

Really good work recreating Game of Thrones world, but it feels like world is so boring. All you have to do is grind enough gold and hire best troops...

Europe at War
5 Review

Mod Review by Blitzkriegrekrut on Jan 14th, 2015

Had this mod not so many bugs and a better damage system/balance he would be the best of all.
Some cards are also made more than bad, please revise or remove them!

Floris Mod Pack
5 Review

Mod Review by Wolfman68 on Jan 14th, 2015

Very poor performance, I have a PC that should easily run this mod but it isn't well optimized so it has memory issues. None of their recommended fixes work and the mod has been entirely abandoned. Some of the features are good but it isn't worth your time, play something that people are updating regularly.

NuVera Online
5 Review

Game Review by Darkening_Demise on Jan 12th, 2015

The game is very small and very early in development, or so it seems. The game lacks content and is heavily relying on community work which you have to pay to do. There's hardly anyone online IN game, the small amount left are in the forums only. So if you want to run around a low quality lackluster Second Life clone with no one around and nothing to do unless you pay real money then enjoy NuVera Online. Overall it's too early to see any hopes of this lasting long, it's amazing it got by this far! I say you should save your money and just join Second Life or its many other clones and enjoy the more free form gameplay that's not lackluster and not locked behind constant payments.

Amnesia: In A Heartbeat
5 Review

Mod Review by home504 on Jan 11th, 2015 - 1 person agrees

ummmmmm mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm mmmmmmmm mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm mmmmmm mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm mmmmmmmmmmmm mmmmmmmmmmmmm mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm mmmmmmmmmmmm mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm mmmmmmmmmmmmmm mmmmmmmmmmm mmmmmmm mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm mmm mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm mmmmmmmmmmmmmm mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm mmmmmmmmm mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm mmmmmmmmmmmmmm mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

The Battle of the Pelennor Fields
5 Review

Mod Review by draco100000 on Jan 10th, 2015

The redetextures from the original factions, arent cool. Rhis mod dont add anything new than other mods. Its a try for a mod.

Highest Rated
9.9 (game)
FS2_Open Source
9.9 (mod)
Nali Weapons 3
9.9 (mod)
Back2Fronts Mod
9.9 (mod)
SC Revolution Mod
9.9 (mod)
FOJ Community Mod
9.9 (mod)
WWII Reality
9.9 (mod)
Mapper Guild
9.8 (mod)
The Nameless Mod
9.8 (mod)
Total Mayhem
9.8 (mod)
Ballistic Weapons
9.8 (game)
Homeworld
9.8 (game)
Blood
9.8 (mod)
Tamriel Rebuilt
9.8 (mod)
Matto4
9.8 (game)
Dysis
9.8 (game)
Teslagrad
9.8 (mod)
4th Dimension [FA]
9.8 (mod)
Galactic Armory
9.8 (mod)
JA2 1.13 Mod
9.8 (engine)
Westwood 2D
9.8 (mod)
WARTIME
9.8 (mod)
Duke Plus
9.8 (mod)
Rome at War
9.8 (engine)
FS2_Open Engine
9.8 (mod)
UT Community SDK
9.8 (mod)
Finnwars
9.8 (mod)
Bleach: Lemmings