Review RSS Feed Jagged Alliance: Flashback
5 Review

Game Review by ***Geroj*** on Oct 22nd, 2014

-Mediocre TBS, lot of cover system is missing like hide behind corner of building and shoot from it (its driving me crazy, whole urban fighting is just pain in AZZ)
-without jagged alliance soul
-no attachments, whole gun porn is missing where you can customize your guns
-various munnition is missing -like hollow point, FMJ etc...
-few skills
-few sectors
-small, unsatisfying micromanagment
-cant fight together with militia
-cant exit map when battle start
-unfinished, in alpha state
-from start I was sure you cant make JA game in short time and I was right its just too complex game to make, devs not skilled, from small studio and run out of money (?)

+Still lot better than JA Back in Action
+-Have potential, have no idea if they ever finish it, but I dont think so
They probably release free dlc with laser pointers and scopes and move on to make some other shiat

As I said its mediocre TBS 5/10 but if you slap "jagged alliance" brand on it then its 2/10
Do not buy ...at least for now

The Evil Within
5 Review

Game Review by TheUnbeholden on Oct 16th, 2014 - 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

This needs some kind of tagline... hmm Outlast but not a survival horror (theres one section where you hide and sneak past then a few instances where you need to hide a locker) the rest is Resident Evil 4 styled shooter, but not really a horror shooter because the controls are to sluggish to do that well, and all mixed up with a below average story set and a bunch of clichè Silent Hill/Hostel-style gore/monsters, and it felt like it was trying too hard to be "hardcore horror" ie combining survival and action-horror but failing to deliver any sentiment of that. Giving us perhaps the most disjointed story I've seen, one of the worst console ports I've played getting locked in at 30FPS, controls do not allow you to do anything easily, its all so god damn clunky you can't pick anything up easily, you can interact with the environment without struggling to highlight it and you can't aim without the entire screen zooming into to this 50 degree angle, terrible Ai, cut scenes every 5-15 minutes breaking immersion, not able to save when you want and graphically its on par with a Xbox 360 game... when the 360 was first released.
The biggest disappointment since Duke Nukem Forever because I thought this was going to be the next big horror title. But really its just a triple A game pretending to be like Outlast superficially whilst trying hard at pretending to be Resident Evil 4.

Horror outside of Indie has really gone downhill, I can't see the triple A industry getting any semblance credibility. No professional standard for releasing on the PC. And obviously the main critics are saying nothing but nice things and obviously pre-orders are trying to pull you in based on the game being made by a 'industry veteran' and all this pre-order bonuses ********.

Talentless hacks trying to sell us into the horror craze. Well guess what.. you need actual talent to make a good horror game.

Alien: Isolation
5 Review

Game Review by Cilitbäng on Oct 16th, 2014

Nice game. But, once you know how to handle the A.I. The magic is gone. It´s just a survival game.

Strogg Universe
5 Review

Mod Review by AmDDRed on Oct 15th, 2014

This mod broke original Q4 installation with it's own .exe, so you can't launch mods, only this one.

BioHazard Alert
5 Review

Mod Review by Glisp on Oct 14th, 2014

The mod is poorly constructed and installation instructions are trash.

Battle for Middle-earth II
5 Review

Game Review by {PAK}Commando on Oct 14th, 2014

hmmm i liked the previous one more.

Red Faction II
5 Review

Game Review by Timvorixos on Oct 12th, 2014 - 1 person agrees

A normal game when bored

Hopeless Night
5 Review

Mod Review by Adeco22 on Oct 11th, 2014
This review may contain spoilers

for those who would read the review section before playing this mod... SPOILER ALERT!!!

[+]nice custom data, no major bugs on skins, zombies, and weapons

[+]has a real "spooky" theme even though there are no "There's nothing you can do... BOO!" moments

[+]has no glitches(not that I'm aware of)

*[+]is ported to Source 2013 (I still dunno what good it has but you know... "new is always better" :P)

[=]audio and grammar are "meh", but I can't blame you because of the warning at the start of the game :D

[=]has an attempt to a good ending, you may either know if he committed suicide or maybe just killed the ******

[=]only has 3 weapons (3 weapons all around an URBAN city), but the realism is there because who can carry like 5 weapons or so without being totally exhausted (except those people with a HEV suit, HECU combat gear, or Black Mesa standard security outfit or so)

[-]has no final boss (oh Good Lord Almighty :/). I know it may be "cliche" but it is one of the things that makes us feel rewarded on finishing a game

[-]the maps are "too clean", some traces of blood over there, some dead zombies, I know it doesn't cope well with other pc's
but that's what zombie game addicts are looking for :D

[-]the story is short but that is to be expected from a mod. but the story itself... A recent zombie apocalypse with NO(and I mean NO!) instance of survivors running about in the streets, no sign of the human race about to be doomed, just you, some zombies, and some other zombies, some survivors (and one of them is a crazy *** mofo >:D) and a hell lot of zombies

[-]the characters on the story are like freakin' brainiacs because they know what the hell you've been through those past few minutes(in playtime of course) for example:
~(Le crazy Harry appeared) "oh, another survivor... [blah3x] ... I know you read the letter from the hospital" (he wasn't even in the hospital and the letter was written by an unknown dead guy)
~"My lock is a weak lock [blah3x]... He puts you inside an arena with zombies to fight" (even though she'd just arrived and there were nobody else) and the two cages really made that part "scripted" because there are exactly two cages(one for you and the other for the girl)

[-]like other reviews I've seen, you don't get to face the sniper guy :'( I really wanted to eliminate that guy from the face of the Source Engine xD

[-]the running past zombies part doesn't play well for source players because we tend to stay and fight(all those dead zombies [sob]) :''|


Anyway, it's a good mod :D if I were to summarize it:

Maps------------------------- (*)(*)
Story~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ (*)(*)(*)
Customized Data---------- (*)(*)
Characters~~~~~~~~~~~~ (*)
Realism----------------------- (*)(*)
Simplicity~~~~~~~~~~~~~ (*)(*)(*)(*)
Weapons--------------------- (*)(*)
Effects~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ (*)(*)
Distinctness(from HL2)--- (*)(*)(*)
Game play~~~~~~~~~~~~~ (*)(*)(*)(*)
Horror------------------------ (*)(*)(*)

Conclusion: A good mod (Y) :D nice to play so enjoy playing :D if there is a sequel... I'm gonna allow it ^_^ and just improve the effects and make it more "international" instead from "for our Mother Russia" (dude, I'm not racist -_-) and add some more maps before the ending (please add a "kill that sniper" part because I would really love that :D) and we have ourselves another contender for Steam Greenlight :) hehe

Medieval Kingdoms: Total War
5 Review

Mod Review by Rokulda on Oct 10th, 2014

Can't ******* wait for this to be finished, Medieval 3 here we come!

A Clash of Kings (Game of Thrones)
5 Review

Mod Review by miloguvesel on Oct 10th, 2014

The mod is pretty good but since is very demanding on pc resources it should have (like on floris mod) 1 high-graphic version and 1 low-graphic version of the mod.Also Cozur is a bit arrogant (he is from Denmark after all) and he gave a 1/10 to the other game of throne mod without any comment just because it was a game of throne mod which is rude.

Autumn Aurora 2
5 Review

Mod Review by Jaegder on Oct 9th, 2014 - 1 person agrees

While it's a great idea, there are many many flaws that make it a Misery (AKA unfun mod)for SoC.

1) The Grenade Damage and Range, way too high and ridiculous, IRL I could throw a grenade into a room, and stand to the side of the door, and survive with no injuries, in AA2, I can't be within 50m of it or I die.

2) The lack of visibility, yeah I get it "Muh immersion" but the ******** that stems from being shot from places you can't see, even if you look directly at them, is ridiculous. The enemies can snipe me from 120m away through dense bush and I'd be lucky to even see a tracer.

3) The fact that you can take 1 - 3 shots max before either dying, bleeding heavily or having to disengage while enemies (So far I've noticed this with Bandits and Mercs) Can take upwards of 6 bullets to the chest is clear artificial difficulty.

4) Rad drugs taking health away makes this incredibly difficult in the end stage of the game. Another bad design choice.


I recommend modifying some .ltx's and stuff to make it more enjoyable for yourself.
There are many other small things that I noticed that irk me, mainly how bad the AI is in escort missions and what have you. All in all it's a great idea that seems very rushed. I love the way it looks though.

Premonition : A Full Conversion Mod
5 Review

Mod Review by Sobutai on Oct 6th, 2014
This review may contain spoilers

I’m doing a Let’s Play if you would like a first impression: Bit.ly
Premonition, the Amnesia Custom Story is about ... I'm not really sure.

Story Analysis:

You start off with a nicely written poem in the beginning that gives a good enough of an overview of the story. The actually gameplay starts off in a Manor with incredibly unsettling atmosphere and some good scares that aren’t actually there. Once you get further into the bowels of the manor you’re bombarded with jump scares from what would seem to be the girl from the Grudge or the Ring. With some odd fog monster showing up here and there. Regardless the entire time you are in the manor you are on edge, terrified of what is around the corner or in the locked closets.

Then you leave it and the entire story has a huge disconnect. You go from trying to find your fellow detective to wandering the streets of some city chased by pigmen. With some man wearing a hat guiding you along with riddles and odd notes and puzzles. Once you leave that manor the mod loses its atmosphere and becomes something different and I’m not entirely sure what that is. The town you are in is filled with questions but no answers. Why was there a little boy ghost, why are all of these pigmen just rampaging through the streets? Why do I need to burn dead pigs to open a door?

Afterwards you wander around a mine with no explanation of what to do, the only clue is “Don’t go in the water.” You actually need to climb up a hard to see and hard to reach rope. Only to get “assaulted” by some weird oversized leech thing that is never explained and never mentioned again. Then you go home to your wife to give her some mysterious flower that apparently is a cure all … for some reason. Except you don’t, because I guess one of your detective partners was actually a bad guy, pretending to be a detective because … reasons?

Then you find out that that your supposed detective partner was the protégé to the man who created the pigmen who was actually the father of the other detective… and you’re the only one who can stop him … because you’re the righteous one trying to save your wife … I guess. In the middle of this you get stuck in a very frustrating memory where you are in the little Grudge girls room. Once you somehow manage to solve it, you get some story that explains nothing.

In the grand finale you find yourself stuck in a frustrating “puzzle” with the teleporting Tesla Pig trying to kill you. With your only explanation being “overload the machine.” Which explains nothing. Once you manage to figure out what that means, you are greeted with a nice explosion, a sewer to crawl through and the Hatman explaining that he isn’t from our world. Which again raises more questions than answers anything.

By the end of this mod, I understood very little of what I just played. I also had a mission from near the beginning of the game that I never finished, and somehow managed to continue on.
Final Thoughts:

If this mod had focused more on the Manor and kept it in there, the atmosphere would have been the strongest point of this game. However that’s lost about 1/3 of the way. Major story points are barely explained and I felt very lost in it all, not in a good way. I did enjoy playing it, except for the part in the city. It bugged on me twice. I needed to reload an old save. Then sneaking around the pigs was very irritating and buggy.

I look forward to what comes next from these guys, there is plenty of potential. I just feel like the mod needed more focus and explaining.

TL:DR:
Good
+ Good Voice acting, from the main characters
+ Decently planned puzzles
+ The Manor had great Atmosphere
+ Innovative aspects
+ So much Potential

Bad
- Horrid voice acting from minor character notes.
- Some puzzles are poorly executed
- Incredibly Buggy
- Loses atmosphere about 1/3 through
- No explanation to so many things

If you would rather watch, I’m currently uploading my let’s play: Bit.ly

Dreamwalker
5 Review

Game Review by ScreamScreen on Oct 3rd, 2014

It's was a pretty boring game, but there is NO clue what to do after the pentagram drawing.

Quality: The graphics are just fine to me, there is a bit of atmosphere there but I'd like to see more of it.
Story: Well I didn't get anywhere before the pentagram drawing and just killed myself by one of the enemies.
Scares: The enemies are not scary at all, if there is meant to be creepiness in it, there is none. Very boring. The enemies are very low quality with no animations or a scare factor at all.
Length: I don't know how long it is, considering I didn't finish it.
Lag: No lag.

Quality: 5 - Story: 5 - Scares: 1 - Length: 5 - Lag: 10 - All in all. I don't know what the heck to say, but it was just plain boring. I know I'm being pretty harsh but that's the truth of what I think of it.

The Cursed Maze
5 Review

Game Review by kabeltelevizio on Sep 29th, 2014

Got bored after finding the first key... I didn't see why I should run around in a terribly modeled and textures maze for some keys.
I understand that this only took 10 hours to make, but still, this needs more work.

Men of War: Assault Squad 2
5 Review

Game Review by Profligate1396 on Sep 26th, 2014 - 1 person agrees

Same deal as before. Some new graphics, a new tank here and there, same game. The best thing about this series are the mods.

NIGHTSHIFT
5 Review

Game Review by kabeltelevizio on Sep 23rd, 2014

With some help, I was able to finish Nightshift.
The game has a one nice and a few very cheap jump-scares, which is not really good, considering this is a horror game. The music and audio effects were okay, except for a few sounds at the beginning. Some textures and graphics on the other hand looked very simple and boring. Same goes for the character.
However it was nice, that the creator put some effort into making a third person horror game, which is a lot harder than making a fps. Even so, many items seemed out of place.
Sadly, the game was very short, and had very little story if any. It just seems a bit unfinished, but the developer said, he will upgrade the graphics, so I'll wait for that.

Doorways: The Underworld
5 Review

Game Review by ☣Kaernk☣ on Sep 22nd, 2014 - 2 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Positives:

- Scary moments
- Intresting story
- Creative features

Negatives:

- The story line is too obvious
- Repetitive gameplay
- Bad graphics
- Short

I thought the first two chapters were decent. I didn't love them, but it was a pretty nice experience. I saw the pictures and trailers and though that this chapter looked even better and was excited to finally see some real monsters in the game. But in the end, it feels like the developers took a step back.

The gameplay is painfully repedtitive. It looks like you used the same engine they used for Penumbra. Don't get me wrong, Penumbra is a great game, but I expect better graphics in the year of 2014.

Almost every area in every map looks exactly the same. It looks like you made one tunnel and then copied it over and over again.

I liked the amulet feature, but all the other quests are also way too repedtitive. First map - find keys. Second map - find more keys and some valves. Next area in the second map - find more keys and more valves. Third map - find a key.

The monsters are not balanced very well. The first monster is super fast and kills you in one hit. And to top the cake, you have very few hiding spots and you can't crawl behind him or hide in a different hallway because he can sense you and have eyes on the side of his skull (or at least that's how it seems like), while the second monster is too easy to avoid and looks like a mutated hulk. Silly and not slightly scary.

The story wasn't bad, in fact, I like these kind of stories, but it was kinda there already. I play some games twice, and still don't know everything about them because the story is so complex. I read three notes and knew exactly what the story was about and what to expect. You leave almost nothing for the player to explore.

Conclusion:

If you are looking for a scary game, this might be good for you. I don't recommend it though if you want a deep story or good gameplay. It doesn't have any of those.

5/10 - Decent

Steam, Tracks, Trouble & Riddles
5 Review

Mod Review by Antumarin on Sep 22nd, 2014 - 2 people don't

I'm guessing it'll be more challenging and better developed later on but until then I'll write about what I played.
It's a nice idea and it has a pretty good ambience but the puzzles are very simple, the events and maps are kinda buggy and in some parts there's some obvious lack of level design.
Firstly, the hardest part in the chapter was figuring out how to make the crane work properly, and it didn't took that long either.
If you stop the handcar before it stops itself Easy Rider won't notice you're there until you make some progress in the current puzzle.
There's one "puzzle" in which you can't tell what you have to do (or that you have to do anything at all) until you're dead and you load a previous save.
The fact that there are long hallways without any kind of detail is really annoying and makes the travel feel kinda empty. For example, the hallway between the tunnel and the Model Railway, which also feels odd and out of place. And needing to put an arrow to point a ladder straight out breaks the atmosphere the mod creates. If you need to do it be creative, hang it on the wall next to you in a shinier, more noticeable color or something, but for crying out loud don't just point it with a stupid arrow. And I lost the count of how many times I managed to get out of the map with very simple climbing... or just jumping over a slightly higher roof.
I'm afraid of saying this, but the voice acting needs improvement. I know Ross Scott and I love his work and that's why this really concerns me. I'm not an expert in this, maybe it had to do with the script but the dialogues just don't feel right.

Had to shorten this up because Moddb has some trouble actually giving me my 2000 characters remaining and even so I really don't want to because I actually believe this could be better, the mistakes are pretty simple to fix... or maybe this is how the mod is supposed to be. Only the developer knows.

Feast of the Damned
5 Review

Mod Review by Humeba on Sep 18th, 2014

Jumpscare fest. Not really my kind of custom story.

Hopeless Night
5 Review

Mod Review by SPY-maps on Sep 18th, 2014

the mod is put well together and the mapping is decent.
Still, the zombie is so dull to have as a enemie these days in HL2 and then to think of that the zombie is the only enemie in this mod does make me think twice. I kept playing although after the 300th zombie, that needed to be killed with a melee weapon i strated to get quit bored. And the whole end, with having to look for keys in apartments, that was really anoying, all the backtracking. And it didn't make sence, why did i need to go go apartment 307, to look for a key of apartment 203, to find there a key for aparment 304, etc etc etc. It really didn't make sence, and was very frustrating. I really wanted it to end by then.
So, the mapping was decent, but the whole game play was boring.
sorry, but i really can't make anything else of it.

Leon

Highest Rated
9.9 (game)
FS2_Open Source
9.9 (mod)
Nali Weapons 3
9.9 (mod)
Back2Fronts Mod
9.9 (mod)
SC Revolution Mod
9.9 (mod)
FOJ Community Mod
9.9 (mod)
WWII Reality
9.9 (mod)
Mapper Guild
9.8 (mod)
The Nameless Mod
9.8 (mod)
Total Mayhem
9.8 (mod)
Ballistic Weapons
9.8 (game)
Homeworld
9.8 (game)
Blood
9.8 (mod)
Tamriel Rebuilt
9.8 (mod)
Matto4
9.8 (game)
Dysis
9.8 (game)
Teslagrad
9.8 (mod)
4th Dimension [FA]
9.8 (mod)
Galactic Armory
9.8 (mod)
JA2 1.13 Mod
9.8 (engine)
Westwood 2D
9.8 (mod)
WARTIME
9.8 (mod)
Duke Plus
9.8 (mod)
Rendroc's WarZone
9.8 (mod)
Rome at War
9.8 (mod)
UT Community SDK
9.8 (engine)
FS2_Open Engine
9.8 (mod)
Finnwars