Review RSS Feed 1860s Old America
5 Review

Mod Review by Flatcaps on Mar 2nd, 2015

It's an OK Mod, but if it was more polished, it'd be perfect.

Bloodlines: Antitribu
5 Review

Mod Review by epeternally on Mar 1st, 2015

An ambitious mod that misses the tone of the original with frustrating frequency, is moderately buggy, and focuses way too intensely on increasing the overall difficulty of the game at the expense of both its flavor and fun. The modeling is good, the new classes are cool even if the absence of histories for them is disappointing, but at the end of the day there's little avoiding that it makes the overall experience of playing Bloodlines worse. Worth trying if you're a die hard who has already been through the game multiple times (like me), but don't use this for your first playthrough, and don't expect it to live up to the hype.

Paranoia 2: Savior
5 Review

Game Review by SysOp. on Mar 1st, 2015 - 10 people agree

People play games, read books, watch movies, for the solely reason: experience emotions. There are a wide range of different ones. A few of these are positive and keep us feeding what the brain wants. However on this game, 90% of the time I experienced frustration, confusion, boredom and anger.

Level design, while decent, doesn't give the player proper visual clues. Most of the time is uninspired and fails to set the mood properly.

The combat aspect was improved, and broken, at the same time. Iron sights do not work properly. The AI (which is default HL one) fails to deliver and most of the time I played, it glitched. There's plenty of ammo to spare, and most of the zombies are not a threat at all. No tension, no nothing.

Story wise, it was a good shot but executed poorly. And the ending left me with confusion. We don't want open endings and ambiguety, we need proper resolution for the characters, so we think our time spent was worth it.

Of course there are new graphical effects which are very welcome (except that drunk camera -- gosh), but aside that, there's not much interesting content.

I really wanted to like this project given all the talented people who worked on it, but delivering a good game is always hard. It's a pity, because most of the issues could have been fixed, with some additional development time.

I hope the devs can read the players' feedback and provide an additional patch, with fixes, for future players.

Hugs!

Ion Domination Mod
5 Review

Mod Review by Tesla_commando on Feb 28th, 2015

This mod is..... Fine. Not bad. I don't say 'I hate it'. It is just..... normal

Paranoia 2: Savior
5 Review

Game Review by JohnSmirnov on Feb 27th, 2015

(Note for english users: I am sorry I wrote it in Russian, some of us, ukrainians etc just do not understand English, so I decided to use Russian instead of English, I hope (online) translators will help you and you will understand if not everything, than at least most of that what I wrote. Thanks).
Кстати, данная рецензия - лишь моё мнение, вы не обязаны соглашаться.

Ну вот и она, долгожданная вторая Паранойя, которая сначала начинала как мод для Халф-Лайфа, но потом переросла в самостоятельную игру. Казалось бы, что может выйти плохо, пусть хоть Баззер и не принимал участие в разработке, зато за неё взялись наши украинские друзья? А вышло почти всё довольно средненько, но начну пожалуй с плюсов:

1) Локации выглядят вполне себе хорошо, к примеру мне даже очень понравилась мелкая зона с бараками и статуей Ленина.

2) Новые враги и интересные фичи (к примеру враги, могут выбить из ваших рук оружие, хотя эта фича скорее минус, чем плюс, если честно).

Ну тут, плюсы с моей точки зрения заканчиваются, перейдём пожалуй к неприятному, к минусам:

1) Разработчики, очень много контента стырили из остальных игр и местами даже фильмов. К примеру: части тела из дум 3; зомбированные советские солдаты используют одну из внешностей (и кстати ту же самую бледную кожу) зомби оттуда же и анимацию зомби-воинов из Возвращения в замок Вольфенштейн (у них даже присядка есть, хотя я не понял, почему было просто не взять анимацию обычных зомби, ибо когда эти скажем зомби-советы ходят в присядку - это выглядит крайне смешно и нелепо); толстый большой зомби - просто рескиненная версия Оларика из того же Вольфа. Ну и так далее, всего не перечислить.

2) Зомби-офицер почему-то в игру не попал, не знаю, может разрабы посчитали его лишним или комичным для игры, но с другой стороны, почему бы и не включить его в игру? Ну хотя бы специально для той секретной зоны, где можно найти снайперку.

3) Это лично мой минус, но ИМХО, учёных зомби-женщин ну чересур многовато, а учёных зомби-мужчин ну слишком мало. Я не какой-то сексист или ультра-феминист, смотря что вы подумали, но это как-то ГЛУПО с моей точки зрения. Такое ощущение, будто вирус (или что это?) может только женщин-учёных массов поражать, а мужчин-учёных - очень частично. Ну это реально глупо.

4) Игра слишком короткая, из-за чего порой задаёшь вопросом, ЧТО тут разрабатывалось столько лет (как я уже говорил, очень давно игра начинала как мод)!? Да, я понимаю, что у разработчиков есть личная жизнь, они не обязаны мне прям делать огромную игру, но блин, лично я ожидал большего.

5) АИ у напарников, ну просто ужасный. Они либо застревают в объектах или на месте, или вообще палят по вам.

6) Озвучка, ну просто тошнотворная, к примеру у меня уши чуть блевать кровью не начали от переговора солдат по рации, ближе к концу игры. Мне только голос Алёны показался ну хоть в какой-то сепени нормальным и терпимым.

7) Солдаты иногда отпускают ну очень тупые шуточки и фразы, и это немного раздражает, если честно.

8) Алёне зачем-то сделали пусть и неплохую, но новую модель, а зомбированным женщинам-учёным отдали и рескинули её модельку из первой Паранойи, и это если честно как-то странно.

9) В некоторых местах просто хрен поймёшь куда идти и что делать. К примеру некоторые документы читабельны, некоторые нет или вот ещё к примеру самый бесящий момент, это поиск ключ-карты.

10) Очень клешированная для игр и фильмов на подобную тему концовка, которая ещё и является клиффхангером, намекая на третью часть.

11) Враги-монстры выглядят не так круто и пугающе в отличии от врагов из первой Паранойи. Вот например пауки-мутанты (которые кстати на концепт-арте выглядят лучше). Пауки? Вы шутите чтоли?

12) Кстати об Алёне, в игре очень много сюжетных непоняток. Например как Алёна умудрилась выжить на едине с зомби за всё это время и почему клоны ещё активны?

Итог: Если в кратце, то в отличии от шикарного экшн-хоррора которым была первая Паранойя, вторая - просто средненький боевичок с элементами этого хоррору

Redsun 2020
5 Review

Mod Review by IgorPoulpupov on Feb 22nd, 2015

I don't know what happened with this mod. One half acceptably good levels, that make sense, with things to find inside, people to talk to and other things you can basically expect in a DX mod. And for the other half, huge levels full of nothing except random books, random enemies, random empty computers, etc. Nothing to say about these ones, except they are plenty boring. They should just not be included in the mod, they were obviously not finished.
For the other levels, some are not bad, in the begining. Most of the non-empty levels are full of out of place jokes, apparently more important than the "storyline" itself (should I just say the missions?) since you have to click 3 times on characters, reading their stupid jokes before they finally give you the key you were searching for... About that sense of humor, it's summarized by what you find in half of the books and newspapers: "there is nothing interesting to read". Stupid teenager jokes about women (hookers that is) and boring computer programmers jokes.
Also, many bugs, empty aug canisters, level resets, infinite XP, etc. Several big parts of the game can simply be bypassed by hacking in a computer or having enough cash. I actually wonder if the mod has been fully tested before its release.
And for the loot... Awful. The first type of ammo that you find yourself full of is the most powerful one, the 20mm HE.
9/10 for what comes from Deus Ex, 7/10 for the first maps, 3/10 for everything else - story, spirit, big maps full of nothing.

Crack-Life
5 Review

Mod Review by TheUnbeholden on Feb 18th, 2015

This mod is bad, it tries to use random humor and referential humor (this is sparta!! :/ and obscene **** jokes or screams) in an attempt to force a laugh and it really doesn't work if anything it shows the creators lack of creativity in that they thought that it would be easy. If this is really a presentation of what it would be like to take drugs and to work for a company where everyone is using drugs, it really didn't do anything beyond a couple of weird/dumb changes to models (big shoes and glasses?) or repetitive sounds, and ruin the gameplay of the original game like making the MP5 incredibly over powered.

A Clash of Kings (Game of Thrones)
5 Review

Mod Review by AveryTALLone on Feb 18th, 2015

I'm having issues with running any mods (some runtime error keeps executing all of my mods) I just wanted to comment on how funny these comments are. Looks like some awesome mods I just don't feel like my computer is all that bad i have pretty good parts in it and I can run Starcraft 2 on high settings and total war shogun 2 also. I'm new to modding and I just recently delved into the depths of PC gaming and I love it. I'd appreciate if you anyone could tell me whats going on because I love this game.

Salamanders Mod for Soulstorm
5 Review

Mod Review by raidose on Feb 16th, 2015

The models are great, the detail is great, every seems great... But it isn't. This mod isn't quite balanced. It's almost there, but there are a list of things that make this mod just not viable against the vanilla factions of the game. The slow movement speed of every single units does far more harm than I think the author realized. Your builders are too slow getting to the locations you assign structures. Your scouts are too slow getting to capture points. Your tacs are too slow getting to fights they need to be at. They operate like necrons, but with none of the benefits. They lack perfect accuracy on the move, so they take a LOT of ranged damage before they can set up to fire back. They don't regen hp like necrons, so it's easy to grind them down. They obviously don't have a chance to "revive" like necrons do, making it very easy to be bled by their upkeep. Lastly, they don't get the late-game methods of cheating this downside like necrons do (IE teleporting). This is compounded by a lack of reliable turrets, as the Thunder-Fire canons are a poor substitute. There is also a massive lack of long range Anti-Vehicle support, as they lack Tac rocket launchers, las-canon Predators, las-canon Dreadnoughts, and even the las-canons on their Land Raider. Additionally, this mod does more than just adding a new faction, which I wish it stated before hand. The AI gets a massive boost and can be down right murderous. Add this to my listed issues, and against certain factions, there isn't any viable means for victory.

Bottom line: FAR too slow to expand coupled with standard Space Marine costs equals being left in the dust by mid-game. Early game is nearly nonexistent. A few poor choices in design that leads to some units being outright inferior in comparison to their vanilla counterparts. And lastly, anything with good range and disruption completely counters everything you have. Imperial Guard, Tau, and Chaos destroy this faction. Seriously, an AI controlled Tau army took out 3 Insane AI Salamander armies with utter futility.

I want to love this mod. Correction: I DO love this mod. It really does show how much work went into it, but it needs a good few more tweaks before I could say "yes, this is something I could recommend to my friends". I would go into detail on everything I said, but a short review will have to suffice for right now.

Unity
5 Review

Engine Review by Sable_the_Wolf on Feb 14th, 2015

Can't say I love it, can't say I hate it either. 5/10

MINER'S PARANOIA
5 Review

Game Review by MaskedGEEK on Feb 14th, 2015 - 2 people don't

Use of textures is good but has lack of lighting effects which can dampen the horror atmosphere. Creature sounds are generic however this game is in alpha build as I write this so hopefully the game will be updated.

Miner's Paranoia's puzzles are very difficult though. The first puzzle has a huge issue but I will not spoil it for my review, I'll let the developer decide whether to publish that information publicly.

Did give me a couple of jumps. It's not the most frightening game out there but it's certainly no where near the worse.

Review playthrough available to watch on my channel:
www.youtube.com/user/MaskedGeek

CK2: Middle Earth Project (CK2:MEP)
5 Review

Mod Review by majored on Feb 12th, 2015

i so far havent been able to play the game at all. it might just be the mordor characters but everytime i have tried to play the game freezes and crashes after i select my character.

The Red Wars, Calradia 1923
5 Review

Mod Review by Moonreaper666 on Feb 11th, 2015
This review may contain spoilers

The Kingdom of Helvetica HAS THE MOST **** UP TOWN EVER!

WHOMEVER DESIGNED ITS ONE TOWN IS TRULY STUPID!

My forces keep charging into the walls!

Euro Truck Simulator 2 Multiplayer
5 Review

Mod Review by athorneycroft4 on Feb 8th, 2015

What it does right:

Non collision zones in most useful places (ports, most delivery locations, major rest stops ect...)
Lets me play online.


What it does wrong:

Playability, you'll frequently run into places with people that are lagging heavily and the game itself just isn't made with multiplayer in mind. If you don't have a decent rig then you'll be hitting low FPS whenever there's a lot of players around. Some areas can put my rig (4690k @ 4GHz and a GTX 980) down to 20fps (max settings).

Policing the main server. Admins will hang around high traffic areas and they wont sort out problems, such as blockers, if they aren't doing it in places like Europoort or Amsterdam. The punishments are inconsistent, some players get kicked for running a red light while others receive permanent bans. Most of this applies to the main server EU#1.

They don't test the mod AT ALL. I haven't been around long but a very recent example would be patch 0.1.3. This patch was supposed to add several things such as synced weather and traffic lights. Well, 99% of the traffic lights you came across were broken, something that 5 mins of testing would've shown. The weather? It snowed (it should rain if you don't use the included winter mod) 90% of the time. So 0.1.3 R2 comes along, same problems, clearly another untested patch. 0.1.3 R3 comes along and they fixed the traffic lights but the weather is still broken.

The community. The community is okay but the people you meet in game are pretty bad. Despite there only being 2000 or so people on the server when I play, I commonly run into trouble makers that will ram you and other trucks or just block the road. Very few people seem to know how to drive as you'll constantly be cut off

AI, or should I say the lack of AI. It's just you and other players. Again, this comes down to the fact that this game just isn't made for multiplayer.

The concept is good but the game just isn't made for multiplayer. Not to mention the devs were constantly begging for votes on here.

Overall:
It's nothing special. Try it if you want but be aware that you'll probably run into someone that wants to ruin everyone's experience in your first session.

Bloodlines: Antitribu
5 Review

Mod Review by qeter on Feb 6th, 2015 - 1 person agrees

i've got to say that aside from the model work, which was very good, the experience has been very lack luster compared to the other major mods.

the primary issue is that some of the clans not playing very well with very short counter times that left even advanced stage abilities feeling a bit gimmicky.

this compounded the problem of the enemies having much higher hp than in base game and made no clipping threw fights more preferable than direct encounters.

this also compounds with the increase in fights one has to go through making the whole experience a exercise in tedium.

all in all the game has the same issue that the vanilla encountered in the end of its campaign, exchanging atmosphere for combat, but unlike the vanilla this appears to go through the whole game.

Doorways: The Underworld
5 Review

Game Review by TheUnbeholden on Feb 1st, 2015

+Atmosphere, I quite like the dream quality
+Linguistic skills, tells a story and without being afraid of good use of language
-The adventure gamey roots are to prominent.

While the first 2 chapters where atleast castle like and you could atleast have some connection with the environment, here you go through basically the most stereotypical places imaginable. Caves, Sewer, labs. The feel of playing this game is really uncomfortable and not in the good way. It feels like your not in control. Theres no run button, your character automatically runs when something chases you, and the levels are so very linear. In Amnesia it did feel very simple and easy to know what to do and where to go but it did manage to make you feel helpless because you where in complete control of your characters movements and the levels felt real enough that you could hide and feel like it was you doing it.

Here the adventure roots are so strong that everything feels 100% predictable, enemy chases you, you know it won't get you. You know the fat lumbering enemy won't catch upto you. You know that there its nothing but corridors so the exit must be this way (convenient map showed this). Many would argue that level design is perhaps everything, I would say its a very important aspect that can't be done 'by the numbers' and slap in a monster chase in any old place. You could remove every monster encounter from this game and it wouldn't make any real difference. The game would still feel hollow in its gameplay mechanics, brain dead puzzles, walking around through corridors, uninspired setting. Which is a shame because in a dream like nightmare world, literally is possible and we get this.

While horror games are moving from a tightly constructed experience to become more dynamic (random encounters a'la Alien Isolation & random encounter and procedural generated environments a'la Routine, Phantasmal & Monstrum), Doorways feels like its going backwards to a time long since past where horrors where just adventure games with site seeing train ride through a spooky haunted place.

Cold War 1975
5 Review

Mod Review by Cinimod on Feb 1st, 2015

Can someone tell me how to install this mod? I don't know how to install with a .rar file

PARANOIA
5 Review

Mod Review by Opinionator on Feb 1st, 2015

Boring slow intro and tutorial level and then the game locked up on me. Restarted and I soldiered on and found that with the gun model and helmet positions on screen looked kind of wrong. Well it felt that my character had a barrel over there head and shoulders riot shield size instead of a mere helmet which was what it was supposed to be. That was kind of really super immersion breaking. That made the FOV awful plus the brighter lighting through the opaque visor made everything look crappier.

Left 4 Theft: San Andreas
5 Review

Mod Review by rhoads101 on Jan 31st, 2015

I like the idea, but it crashes every ten seconds.

Minor Factions Revenge
5 Review

Mod Review by warmachinea7x on Jan 31st, 2015

is the bug of units changing when armies are stationary gonna fixed or not. I've been waiting for months and nothing is being done about it from what i can notice. it is a fantastic overhaul of the game but honestly its beyond ruined with the whole unit bug honestly. i'll give this score for now until said problem is fixed.

Highest Rated
9.9 (game)
FS2_Open Source
9.9 (mod)
Nali Weapons 3
9.9 (mod)
Back2Fronts Mod
9.9 (mod)
SC Revolution Mod
9.9 (mod)
FOJ Community Mod
9.9 (mod)
WWII Reality
9.9 (mod)
Mapper Guild
9.9 (mod)
Viking Invasion II
9.8 (mod)
The Nameless Mod
9.8 (mod)
Total Mayhem
9.8 (mod)
Ballistic Weapons
9.8 (game)
Homeworld
9.8 (game)
Blood
9.8 (mod)
Tamriel Rebuilt
9.8 (mod)
Matto4
9.8 (game)
Dysis
9.8 (game)
Teslagrad
9.8 (mod)
4th Dimension [FA]
9.8 (mod)
Galactic Armory
9.8 (mod)
JA2 1.13 Mod
9.8 (mod)
WARTIME
9.8 (mod)
Duke Plus
9.8 (mod)
Rome at War
9.8 (mod)
UT Community SDK
9.8 (engine)
FS2_Open Engine
9.8 (mod)
Finnwars