Review RSS Feed The Fugitive Episode 1
4 Review

Mod Review by cdlink14 on Apr 17th, 2014

The mod was ok, the story kept me playing but for some reason I can't get the chemical pot to fill after adding all 4 of the chemicals to the burner and turning them on. I've tried loading a previous save game as well as restarting the whole game with no luck at all the problem keeps happening.

4/10 for this broken mod.

Painful Shadows
4 Review

Mod Review by Frostedge on Apr 15th, 2014

To be honest, if this is really inspired by the Thief series, it's missing the main point of the entire franchise, player-controlled sneaking.

The voice-acting is subpar, and often drowned out completely by the ambient music. Having subtitles would cure this problem, sadly, it's absent. Practically any text in the game has butchered grammar and bad spelling.

Forcing the player's view to every single group of guards undermines the player's capability to fail or be surprised by anything other than what's meant to be surprising. The entire story is unnecessarily linear with blockboxes harrassing the player at every turn and destroying any freedom the player has over the course of every mission.

All the while when trees are involved, these blockboxes are conspicuously absent. With the path not being very clear, it's easy to glitch into the trees and having to reload a save, or in my case, the entire story. For a second time, the first being when I accidentally crouched when meeting with my first mission-giver. Apparently, the game wrestled control away like it does in any "cut-scene", but there was no voice acting or progress for a minute, and I had to restart.

The guards are indeed, as they should be in any Thief game, blundering idiots who couldn't see in darkness for the life of them. But if that's all you've got going in the Custom Story that is supposed to remind us of Thief, then you'll need to replay the games and re-evaluate your mod.

Enemies don't move. The last time I played a Thief game, guards would chase your squishy thiefy behind through the streets to capture you. Instead, here, they stand still, being 'blundering' in their own non-comical ways.
Why haven't you just used edited Amnesia monsters to have a dynamic enemy, and then have the cutscenes/notes/text contain the humour? This could've been a lot better if the player had active influence, or even give the player multiple approaches to a problem.

This doesn't measure up to Thief in any way.

Doomed-life
4 Review

Mod Review by TheUnbeholden on Apr 12th, 2014

+Combat is somewhat decent.
+Ammo is fairly scarce although you don't do much fighting.
+Some levels are decent like the first one.
+Medium length.

-Very inconsistent
-Level design is decent to under average
-Levels are really short
-Moving from one level to another has little logic, it all just seems rather random, the path you take. Usually by blowing a hole in the ground (yeah original).
-Ending is strange, level transitions are oddly placed.

Haunted Memories
4 Review

Game Review by brolee on Apr 11th, 2014

This has some nice eye candy but not at all scary and not a lot to do in the game.

MINERVA
4 Review

Mod Review by Eldritch_Abomination on Apr 9th, 2014

I think that this mod is overrated, I have heard that was one of the first mods available, and sure by those standards it is amazing, but people have called this the best mod ever, and by today's standards it doesn't hold up. Their isn't really much variation in the gameplay from half life 2, which is a shame because the actual combat was pretty bad in HL2, mostly because the weapons were terrible pea-shooters that had little impact. The fact that there are no new weapons harms the game pretty badly as the game is mostly combat, now my memory is pretty fuzzy but I remember the story being a kind of infiltration mission, but the thing is the character of Minerva, the computer SHODAN clone thing doesn't really get much back story and seems hopelessly confusing. I give it a four out of ten, because of some truly impressive set-pieces, but I don't want set-pieces in my Half Life, I play half life 2 because you have so much freedom compared to most games these days. Half life 2 also had pacing and pauses in the action, in this mod theirs neither, you just dropped by a helicopter and shoot some dudes. Now to some this may seem like a hate speech, but I am only doing this because I want to have a community that can recognize when something is revolutionary, but after time has passed can see past the nostalgia and see that this is nothing more than a map pack, sure it's a pretty good map pack, but I play half life for the story and atmosphere, not the gameplay, and I think most can and will agree.

Resourceful Protagonist
4 Review

Mod Review by Hezus on Mar 29th, 2014
This review may contain spoilers

As a small HL2 mod, this would be a passable piece. The level design is ok, monster placement is ok but it doesn't really excel at any level. It's also quite short. At this point I'd say 6/10.

But what drew me to the mod was the title. A mod where you have to be resourceful seemed really cool. In the sewers, suddenly a CP voice sounded. My expectation: CP's will patrol the area and I have to carefully sneak past them or trick them somehow. But: No CPs, I could just walk through the sewer.

Then in the prison. Armed with only a pistol and limited ammo, I encounter 3 heavy armored combine soldiers with shotguns. It's a completely unfair fight, so I imaged: now I have to be resourceful! I pile up the boxes and carefully block their views so I can sneak past and try to find an alternative route. But: no alternative route. I actually have to engage those soldiers to get past them.

Later I'm in a city. Up ahead I can see a combine outpost but it's far out. Where I'm currently at, there's a bunch of zombies which pose no immediate treat. Maybe here I have to finally be resourceful. Maybe the mapper wants me to use these zombies to distract the combine. So I lure the zombies up to the outpost waiting for the firefight. But: there's no-one there. I can just walk straight through the city and the combine outpost. There is some howling from fast zombies, but they also do not show up.

After that I just literally ran past every encounter and finished the map within minutes without firing a bullet.

I realize my review tone is quite harsh but none of my expectations were met giving the single goal of this MOD: being resourceful. Currently the maps are just empty shells of 'what could have been'. However, this can be remedied. If the maps get a visual update they are good enough to be used again. But this time: think outside of the box! Come up with at least 3 ways to beat the encounters in these maps and make sure the player has the opportunity to use those alternatives!

The Great War 1918
4 Review

Mod Review by Gorgonzolette on Mar 25th, 2014

Wenns mal fertig sein sollte....

The Red Wars, Calradia 1923
4 Review

Mod Review by ProudFinn1 on Mar 23rd, 2014 - 1 person agrees

This mod is just plain out unfinished. Even with the new March 23rd release that gave guns a sound effect when fired, which should have been added to the mod in it's first release. You barely find any of the new weapons and armors he put in this mod, especially the guns. Once you start you're only able to use the "War Rifle" because the mod author was either too lazy, or just didn't care enough to implement them into circulation with the marketplace in each city. It takes a whole hell lot of reknown to be able to become a vassal of any ruler. Don't waste your time with this mod until the mod author actually puts time and effort in to this mod.

Pokémon3D
4 Review

Game Review by abq4 on Mar 23rd, 2014

Makes me DIZZY.

Total War: The Battle for Antares IV
4 Review

Mod Review by evenflow6 on Mar 21st, 2014

Well, I checked the mod out, and it's not too good. I mean, the units and the whole concept is OK, but the details aren't too good. All the voices, UI and many more is vanilla. And in such a big mod, there can't be any vanilla! So the mod isn't an artwork. It's not bad, but from what I read here, I expected much more.

The Red Wars, Calradia 1923
4 Review

Mod Review by bonsie123 on Mar 19th, 2014 - 1 person agrees

Very wip but keep an eye on this one.

Yuri Color Mix
4 Review

Mod Review by Be7AMod on Mar 18th, 2014

Uuuu... You was have to add that mod to the adones list replacing mod, because the mod is modding by yourself.

Star Wars Testmod
4 Review

Mod Review by Elitesse on Mar 18th, 2014 - 1 person agrees

Completely broken, very hard, needs lots of work, but who will work on this failed project anyway? It's dead...

Escape from Woomera
4 Review

Mod Review by Elitesse on Mar 17th, 2014

This game is completely broken and unfinished. I had problems when starting the game. There is no walkthrough so you will have no clue on what to do...this mod had potential but the developers didn't finish it. Not worth downloading.

Grim Part One
4 Review

Game Review by TheMettaur on Mar 14th, 2014
This review may contain spoilers

I didn't explore outside the house, so keep that in mind.

Audio: mostly awful. Game starts with a repetitive beat, but not like a heartbeat, that soon becomes incredibly annoying. Much of the ambient noise has obvious and jarring loops. The voices in the jail room were cool though.

Graphics: mostly decent, on par or above typical Unity titles. Only problem is you will see SO many repeated assets that it becomes boring. I'm talking about resized boxes and the weird arch rocks in the cave. Also, some graphics don't make sense. For example, the elevator in the cave just looks like a closet, and you have no idea what it is until you step in. Lots of assets don't really mesh together and you can see where things stick out, like rocks jutting unnaturally out of a rock wall. I also had some issues with huge framerate drops when I was at the waterfall, but my computer is old and dying so I can't say for sure that's the game's fault.

Aesthetics: font of the papers was awful, incredibly font-like and completely removes me from the game - especially the skeleton's note that says "there's someone here ri- oh no ahhhhhh". Who would have time to write oh no ahhhh when they're being attacked? Whatever attacked him was gentle enough to let him finish writing before it killed him? The flashlight is almost entirely useless, as most locations are very well lit. It only lights up certain corridors in the cave, which, trust me, you don't want to see anyway (because they're boringly designed, not scary). "Level" design was bland, just corridors. I was very impressed with the opening credits though.

Plot: nearly nonexistent. I am confused if I got to the end, but I don't want to play this again; I ran into a wall at the end of a corridor and got a black screen that only said "main menu" and "quit". Very anti-climactic, disorienting, and completely ruined any tension. I don't know if I "died" in the game or if that was the end. The few notes start to set something up, but never fulfill

The Monster House
4 Review

Mod Review by dooky101 on Mar 14th, 2014

it has some good scares i was a bit cheeped out i think its ok but not bad the bad thing is you don't give them the lantern at the start and at the prison part you gave me enough oil to play for 5 min then its dark as$%^& i think it can be worked on but nice job

Diablo III
4 Review

Game Review by Firmament on Mar 2nd, 2014

It's pretty. And has cool controls. But everything else is a joke. I jus hope the upcoming add-on will make Diablo 3 a decent game, at least.

Secrets of Grindea
4 Review

Game Review by Blaise200333 on Feb 28th, 2014

This game looks amazing, 10/10 5 Stars, Golden globe award XD

Dark Saloon III -The end-
4 Review

Mod Review by ☣Kaernk☣ on Feb 28th, 2014 - 3 people agree 5 people don't

I have already asked you this twice on your previous parts, but I have to ask you again. Why do you waste your time on ******** stories like this?

You show so much creativity and the level design is actually generally good, but the story line is garbage and the scares are terrible. Even the scares are creative, but they are still lame and predictable jumpscares.

I rated part I and II 4/10. Both the level design and some of the quests are really well made (so well done you even inspire me), but you have not improved at all in the slightest otherwise.

PLEASE, if you are going to make a story in the future, STOP making lame jumpscare stories! Not only are they extremly overused, but they suck. If you just took your time to make the scares and story line good as well, I'm sure I would love it and rate it 8-9+.

4/10 - Okay

Prometheus DOOM 3 Movie Mod
4 Review

Mod Review by medve on Feb 26th, 2014

i know theres extreme ammount of work in there, but the characters are not moving, the ship is a mase, and its not exatcly full of action. would have been a good machinima

Highest Rated
9.9 (game)
FS2_Open Source
9.9 (mod)
4th Dimension [FA]
9.9 (mod)
Back2Fronts Mod
9.9 (mod)
SC Revolution Mod
9.9 (mod)
WWII Reality
9.9 (mod)
OFPWH40K
9.9 (game)
Kernel Panic
9.9 (mod)
In The Shadows
9.8 (mod)
The Nameless Mod
9.8 (mod)
New Vision
9.8 (mod)
Total Mayhem
9.8 (mod)
Ballistic Weapons
9.8 (game)
Homeworld
9.8 (game)
Blood
9.8 (engine)
Spring
9.8 (mod)
Tamriel Rebuilt
9.8 (mod)
Matto4
9.8 (mod)
Nali Weapons 3
9.8 (game)
Dysis
9.8 (mod)
XTended
9.8 (game)
Teslagrad
9.8 (mod)
Galactic Armory
9.8 (mod)
JA2 1.13 Mod
9.8 (mod)
WARTIME
9.8 (engine)
Westwood 2D
9.8 (game)
Jazz Jackrabbit 2