Review RSS Feed Renegade X
4 Review

Game Review by dodgevipergts on Aug 19th, 2014

It's nothing like normal Renegade. Proper C&C Renegade is vastly superior and way more fun.

The Gate 2
4 Review

Mod Review by starfleet86 on Aug 18th, 2014 - 4 people agree 2 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

I couldn't finish this. I could not.

This mod is littered with content from other great mods, such as Resistance and Liberation and that one spaceship mod that had puzzles and was really interesting and was never totally finished (I don't remember the name, but you get the point). It turned me off knowing that my other favorite Half-Life 2 mods had content that was used without permission (I am assuming this as I saw no credits to the original authors, correct me if I'm wrong).

The health packs do not work. I had to turn god mode on because the health packs stopped working after you go into the sewers to meet the guy. The gameplay is extremely boring. Run. Shoot. Dead. Bleh.

The story was nothing special. You can predict what would happen next easily, and there wasn't any very good character development. It is extremely important in this story due to you wanting to save Anna because reasons.

The levels were good looking... and that's about it. Good looking. I had to use noclip countless times to see what I was doing wrong, usually it's because of a very delayed trigger script or just a broken trigger script.

The music is wonderful because it's by John Williams. It's copyrighted, so I would not recommend recording the mod. The music scores are not well placed though. I feel like the more "whimsical" pieces were used in the places where there should be just an ambiance, or a surprising fast-paced piece.

Do not download this mod. It is an absolute waste of 14 gigabytes.

Olaf's Demise - Amnesia Custom Mod
4 Review

Mod Review by nowac2645 on Aug 17th, 2014

Good things:
-Some alright jumps
-Atmosphere

Bad things:
-No story line
-No challenge
-Lack of creativity
-Texture glitches

There really isn't much to this mod except roaming around your haunted house searching for keys and escaping your mansion, so the mod was a bit boring. There's a bit of lack in creativity, though there is some potential in you.

4/10 Meh...

Ride to Hell: Retribution
4 Review

Game Review by Glasgow_Smile on Aug 17th, 2014

A few extra points for its hilarious gameplay, the way how the driving mechanics were executed and badly written "sad" storyline

REX (Shoot 'Em Up)
4 Review

Game Review by spidermancy612 on Aug 16th, 2014

So while I cannot say that I have played the game, I will say this...I have played many like it.

The issue here that I have with this game is one that I have with a great number of indie games, is it worth what it is priced at? For what I have seen of the video's and images of this game I am inclined to say that the answer is no. There are already a very large number of indie games out there that do a very similar job, and most for free. One such example of another game that is extremely similar is "I made a game with zombies in it". This game gives the player a standard type single fire weapon with a variety of power-ups and select weapons to grab at the same time that melee and some range based enemies attack you. At a glance one might be very inclined to say that the game mentioned and the one reviewed are extremely similar then.

So the question that players and developers alike need to be asking when both making and buying a game, is it worth the price tag? Here I would be inclined to say no in favour of cheaper games that might or might not do it better.

However when I review I like to have a balanced statement to make, so on that point a note for the developers. I know that right now those who made this game right now are probably not to happy with the comments I have made towards their work as they have put a lot of time sweat and tears into this. I make games as well as a designer (main reason I am here right now) so I get your pain and I know how much it sucks to have anyone bash on your game at all but that's part of the job and I only do it to help you succeed in the industry.

So now that I have some blood boiling let's get down to how to make a better game. The first step when you start something like this is to have the idea and see what others have done with a similar one. From there take note and make sure your game is different and better. A lot of this is on the designers end of things...I ran out of words, continue this in the next bit.

StarCry
4 Review

Mod Review by Argoon on Aug 16th, 2014

Extremely hard even on easy, a zat gun on the series killed with two shots here it only kills after 4 or 5, the staff weapon is very inaccurate, much more them it was on the TV series, the human weapons are almost useless and run out of ammo very fast, you will spend a full magazine on a single jaffa and still he will not die, you will be using the jaffa weapons more times than not because of that, this game is a reload fest and that is a sign of a very badly designed and unbalanced gameplay. Stopped playing at the first boss, it is extremely hard, and that is because the tank you drive is very hard to maneuver, is slow and becomes unstable every time you shot the cannon, making it even harder to drive the tank, they also disabled kicksave on the boss fight, so if you spend half an hour trying to kill it and you want to save to not start all from scratch you are out of luck, is die start again die start again until you rage quit like i did.

Sky Mesa
4 Review

Mod Review by flippedoutkyrii on Aug 15th, 2014

While it's not going to win awards for the most eye-catching mod available on HL, I have to admit, I have seen far worse ventures by more experienced modders and worse first attempts by amateurs.

The gameplay was straightforward for the most part but the enemy placement felt random, making most firefights chaotic.

I hope the modder has learned some valuable lessons while creating sky mesa, and as a HL mod, it's far from terrible, but unless you are desperate for a HL mod, you might be disappointed.

Krypton
4 Review

Mod Review by Elitesse on Aug 13th, 2014

Very bad mod. First of all, it's in German. Okay, I understand, the author is German. But the majority of Half-Life players are Americans and who isn't probably can understand English. English is the official language of Half-Life! If you make a mod just in German nobody, except for the (very) small German community will understand it. Basically everybody said lots of stuff in the game and I didn't understand a single letter. Second, it has an horrible framerate and r_speed. This mod wasn't optimized and polished at all, my copy was choppy like crazy. It also has some really horrible custom models, I seriously vomited after seeing the new ugly MP-5 and the old Counter-Strike Shotgun. Okay, the Shotgun wasn't ugly, but you are wearing an HEV Suit and the Shotgun is being wielded by bare hands without an HEV Suit on it, wtf? It's also full of puzzles very hard to understand and impossible battles, uh, just don't play this bucket of crap. It starts off in a good way, on a Skyscraper! I was excited, I believed that I was going to fight in a City! But then it goes down in the toilet. I flushed the water and deleted this disgusting "thing". Play something else, seriously!

abandon castle(insane manor) demo [released]
4 Review

Mod Review by Rueppells-Fox on Aug 12th, 2014
This review may contain spoilers

I played through the whole thing and, while I understand you're new to the level editor, "It's my first custom story" is not a valid excuse for the lack of detail, poor lighting, minuscule amounts of atmosphere, predictable jump scares, and pre-solved puzzles (seriously, you spoon-fed the player nearly everything except the hammer puzzle at the end).

A demo should ideally put your CS on display and go "Look at all the amazing things I've done!" Beta-testing is what should be used to point out the flaws and logic-holes in your CS (clipping textures everywhere, rails poking through walls, missing planes, overly tiled textures, inappropriately used textures, grammar and spelling errors, etc).

Overall, the story had way too many plot holes and issues for me, the mapping was below average (not the worst, but definitely not the best), and the puzzles were over-simplified. You are, however, a decent scripter. That was a nice surprise for me (usually, the furthest I see is key-door-monster scripts in first CS's). This isn't the worst custom story I've ever played, but it has a long way to improve.

That said, don't give up! A lot of people don't even release custom stories (lack of motivation, afraid of the criticism, life got in the way), so you're already ahead of the game ;)

I'll update this with a youtube link to the video review I did of your CS (once it's rendered, compressed, and uploaded). I figured a video would be the best way to convey all the feedback to you without forgetting anything or breaking immersion to make sure things weren't forgotten.

Keep doing what you're doing!

Cheers,
The Carnivorous Jellybean

TowerRace
4 Review

Game Review by Lunaticraze on Aug 12th, 2014 - 1 person agrees

Graphics: -
Gameplay: ★
Story: -
Music&Sounds: ★
Atmosphere: ★
Fun: ★

*************************************************

All together this game was very average. Frustrating to play because some of the parts were extremely difficult to jump across without dying, and sometimes I just thought "oh my god, I will never make it". One time the game managed to make me ragequit at one point, because I failed so many times that I thought it was impossible. It took me a rather long time before getting back to the game and trying it again. Then I fortunately managed. The music and atmosphere are okay for the type of game, though there is no real music only ambient sounds. With some music it would have been even more amazing. Unless I got something wrong, the ending isn't really marked though, which is rather sad. Something like a written note saying "THE END" would have been nice to know. In general it is fun though, even though it is frustrating, and that is what makes the game unique.

A Clash of Kings (Game of Thrones)
4 Review

Mod Review by Witzbold on Aug 9th, 2014

Not a Big Fan of Cozurs attitude to great mods like Red Wars. Mod is maybe good but I don't know because it is too laggy for me to play.

Half-Life: Visitors
4 Review

Mod Review by Elitesse on Aug 8th, 2014

It was promising but horribly executed. It has a great start, with a Blue Shift like intro, but then goes downhill. I didn't even finish the mod, I was stuck and gave up. First of all, they modified the damage meters and functions of both weapons and your own body. Your 9mm Pistol, for example, doesn't fire anymore like it did in Half-Life. In Half-Life you could just press the mouse and it fired without stopping. The secondary attack made it fire in a very fast way. In this stupid mod, you have to press the mouse each time to pop out a shot, very annoying! And there was no secondary attack. Headcrabs can kill you with one bit when you are low on health and Kevlar Vests and Medkits are quite rare. And it constantly threw Alien Slaves in front of you, yeah. Instead of HEV Suits, Batteries and HEV Chargers you can now pick up Kevlar Vests, oh and did I mention that they are very rare? There are lots, lots of damn CRATES, they are hard to break (a dozen Crowbar wacks will smash them apart...) and they don't even have supplies in them. It also has some VERY ugly Scientists models. And frustrating puzzles. The second puzzle with the stupid blocked gate near a badly done Scientist model was so hard I just gave up and removed this mod. Don't download.

Crusader - Sed Doloris, Sed Sanguis
4 Review

Mod Review by Lord_Cornvallis on Aug 5th, 2014 - 1 person doesn't

Sorry for a low review I would have rated it higher but some of the features explained in the download description were not implemented into the mod.

The Last Kingdom
4 Review

Mod Review by sambob on Aug 3rd, 2014

Crashes without explanation or warning.

SCP: Containment Breach
4 Review

Game Review by NewsmanWaterpaper on Aug 2nd, 2014


X-Half-Life: Deathmatch
4 Review

Mod Review by Xylemon on Jul 31st, 2014 - 2 people agree

I personally feel this mod adds a bunch of unnecessary content, such as internet memes inserted at random with no context (simply there to just "provoke" humor). The maps seem pretty lackluster and overall there's nothing very unique or interesting about this mod besides a few new gamemodes and really ugly/out of place playermodels. Mediocre at best.

CaRpg
4 Review

Game Review by Lunaticraze on Jul 31st, 2014 - 1 person agrees

Graphics: 1/2★
Gameplay: ★
Story: ★
Music&Sounds: ★
Atmosphere: -
Fun: 1/2★

*************************************************

Being compared to games like Gothic and Morrowind, this game got me really excited about being able to play it and try it. But once I got a fewminutes into it, I got really disappointed. It wasn't at all like those famous and amazing games it was compared to in the description. The graphics were okay, after all graphics aren't everything, but firstly the animations were horrible. You couldn't even really see that you were attacking, it was way too slow, every weapon had the same animation for attacks even if they are different weapon types, and the entire combat system is just terrible. You have absolutely no chance to get to level up except with walking around and waiting for your skills to get random boosts. Walking is animated like a frog really, which wouldn't even be too bad if the rest would be okay. Jumping is impossible in the game, and every instance is surrounded by green walls making it look ridiculous and taking away any kind of atmospheric advantage the game would have otherwise been able to gain. The map is limited to one side of the screen and it is majorly difficult to understand how the travelling works. I thought this would be open world, because that is exactly what Gothic and Morrowind are, but this game has absolutely nothing in common with either of the games. If I was generous, I'd compare the travelling system to that of Dragon Age: Origins, but that is really the only thing it can be compared in with other major games.

I know that this is still in alpha, and that I might sound like I am a bit too hard on this, but for a game that looks and works like this, I would not advise you to compare it to superb AAA games in the first sentence you read about it.

Blacksmith
4 Review

Game Review by Lunaticraze on Jul 30th, 2014 - 1 person agrees

Graphics: -
Gameplay: ★
Story: -
Music&Sounds: ★
Atmosphere: ★
Fun: ★

*************************************************

This game totally exceeded my expectations. I liked it a lot and despite the simple concept it wasn't boring or tiring. The graphics were sadly extremely plain and the story non existant. The sounds were decent and all together the game was quite fun to play. Unfortunately the rating can not be higher than this, because there is a lot of unused potential which leaves room for the better. With some edits and more graphical effort the game would be a lot more enjoyable. I also believe that the game ends too soon. There is no way to resume gameplay after those 108 days which turn out to be extremely short - about 20 minutes of gameplay. All together: Good idea but the execution still needs improvement.

Half-Life: Source
4 Review

Game Review by Phantron on Jul 29th, 2014

SteamPipe update broke the game and Valve didn't care.

Lost The Lights
4 Review

Mod Review by Kois on Jul 23rd, 2014

Мод так себе. Поначалу вроде неплох, но примерно с середины начинается какой-то идиотизм, сюжет ни о чём и запорот напрочь. Не советую его проходить.

Highest Rated
9.9 (game)
FS2_Open Source
9.9 (mod)
Nali Weapons 3
9.9 (mod)
Back2Fronts Mod
9.9 (mod)
SC Revolution Mod
9.9 (mod)
FOJ Community Mod
9.9 (mod)
WWII Reality
9.9 (engine)
Unreal Engine 4
9.9 (mod)
Mapper Guild
9.8 (mod)
The Nameless Mod
9.8 (mod)
New Vision
9.8 (mod)
Total Mayhem
9.8 (mod)
Ballistic Weapons
9.8 (game)
Homeworld
9.8 (game)
Blood
9.8 (mod)
Tamriel Rebuilt
9.8 (mod)
Matto4
9.8 (game)
Dysis
9.8 (game)
Teslagrad
9.8 (mod)
4th Dimension [FA]
9.8 (mod)
Galactic Armory
9.8 (mod)
JA2 1.13 Mod
9.8 (engine)
Westwood 2D
9.8 (mod)
WARTIME
9.8 (mod)
Duke Plus
9.8 (mod)
Rome at War
9.8 (mod)
Rendroc's WarZone
9.8 (mod)
UT Community SDK