Review RSS Feed Lost The Lights
4 Review

Mod Review by Kois on Jul 23rd, 2014

Мод так себе. Поначалу вроде неплох, но примерно с середины начинается какой-то идиотизм, сюжет ни о чём и запорот напрочь. Не советую его проходить.

The Legend Of: Revenge of Altair
4 Review

Game Review by theraterdabater on Jul 21st, 2014

character are shabby and made in character creator, story is not vey original, and its been a year when I see people make this stuff in a month. No download on indie, and scripts are copies of others its not a bad game it would get 6 if guy who mad this wasn't mean or helpful and would get a 5 if wasn't only in Spanish.

Men of War
4 Review

Game Review by Shrektacular on Jul 21st, 2014

They keep making the same game over and over, Faces of War, Soldiers: Heroes of WWII, Men of war, Men of war 2 now.

All the same engine, same sound effects, same voice-overs.

Anyway I find the games a nice idea but I don't really like how you only ever control a small amount and the battlefields never really feel alive to me. The AI has terrible path finding and takes stupid routes, the animations are kind of bad.

Eh

Night at the Office
4 Review

Mod Review by Morelianos_attacks on Jul 20th, 2014

The well made mod's menu raised my expectations. However, when I started to play the mod (if you really want to understand story, it's better start with the training room), reality was completely different. Modelling is crappy, as much for people as for weapons. Some of them are not original, but if they are they look horrible.

Although are original and some of them are worse than another, they don't reach a decent level. Gameplay also isn't exceptional, because in many parts there is a high chance that you can't continue the playing without cheats. In some way, mod force you to follow a specific path, but you realize that when you screwed it up several times before (if you aren't too curious, this may not be a problem).

Voice acting is lousy. Sometimes budget for making mods can be a problem, but this is no excuse for this homemade voices. At times I couldn't understand what they said because of the accent or because was not well modulated. I'm sure you'll agree that terrorists voices don't scare or remind a tense situation. They are just plain bad.

Story wasn't really solid. You engage it just for pure coincidence if you understand everything they say, but even when that occurs, voice acting ruins every potential of making the story thrilling.

However, not everything is horrible. Although is very short, the artificial way of making it long with a 16-floor building to explore as you please gives it the enough length. At times, terrorists spawns surprised more that once, which was really scary. Also, AI is not really terrible, specially in hard difficulty.

In sum, Night at the Office is a barely decent mod if you want to kill time, but I wouldn't pick it as a must-play mod in HL because it lacks many things to be a decent mod.

Control Network
4 Review

Mod Review by loganhickling on Jul 16th, 2014

Wow this map is BRUTAL. Enemies spawn in with no warning, and with very limited ammo and weaponry this is not a fun time. I think I died about 10 times before I gave up. Your two marine "assistants" don't stand a chance either. Is it just me or are the enemies harder too?

Blitzkrieg-Mod
4 Review

Mod Review by Cpt.Steel on Jul 16th, 2014

Good:
New units

Bad:
Absolutely unbalanced
Plain unfair
AI artillery spam

Even though the mod adds a huge variety of new units, it severely lacks any decent balance, so AI always has a huge advantage. Defences are absolutely pointless since enemy always spams Stuka-zu-Fuss halftracks which effectively destroys every emplacement with pretty much one unrealistically direct salvo. Some units (like volksgrenadiers) are ridiculously overpowered and enemy engineers capture faster than any unit in the game (it's just a matter of seconds). This all makes the mod a very frustrating experience. In your next patch you should focus more on the balance rather than adding more stuff.

abandon castle(insane manor) demo [released]
4 Review

Mod Review by SwedishGames on Jul 15th, 2014 - 1 person doesn't

I understand the fact that this was your first custom story, but still the cs was pretty linear and empty. Other than some jumpscares here and there (which is very atmosphere-killing) this cs was nothing out of the ordinary.

The ending was sort of interesting though. I know that is the Video Tool Mudbill made (no credits given for it either) but it was still something new.

But thanks to the swear words, poor story and lack of detail in maps, this only deserves a 4/10 to me. I believe you can certainly improve.

Amnesia: Lifeless_The Abandon
4 Review

Mod Review by impala-of-mayfair on Jul 14th, 2014

I really liked some of your mapping, it fit the atmosphere well. The tunnel sequence in the beginning was nice.
However, I just feel like everything else needs lots of work. The story has little to no meaning, the grammar is poor, and the voice acting almost made me cry.
You have a lot of potential with this story, but it just needs a lot of improvement in those areas. Your mapping is truly great. Keep working at it!

Obscurity
4 Review

Mod Review by pabo1 on Jul 13th, 2014

The story made no sense. The puzzles made no sense. The ending made no sense. Buggy, bad graphics, abuse of jumpscares and scripted spawns. I fail to see why people give it a 9/10

Donald: A Horror Story
4 Review

Game Review by zeanomuttmk2 on Jul 13th, 2014

I am aware that FPS creator is a very basic engine and it can be hard to compete with those made on unity but i simply did not like this game. The mechanics were poor there was little atmosphere and went i transitioned to the next area the game crashed on me and believe me it wasnt my computer.

Within Hells Torium
4 Review

Game Review by zeanomuttmk2 on Jul 13th, 2014

This game is very similar to SCP-087B but this one although not as lengthy dint have much fear factor. Granted that the atmosphere got progressively worse and the odd jumpscare occurred i didnt think this was particularly great.

A Fellows Diary
4 Review

Game Review by zeanomuttmk2 on Jul 13th, 2014

I gave this a 4/10 because of its hard difficulty and the fact that there is no direction or objective and i gave up eventually although i have to admit the hooded figure scared the **** out of me on occasion

The neighbours house
4 Review

Mod Review by legendrobotmaster23 on Jul 13th, 2014

eh.....its a good game its got something their...but..the lack of...a ceiling and a sky..that needs to be fixed..i would like..idk more plot more story...mapping is good but some parts felt boring and no monsters nothing going on..its a good try if this if your first mod..but it needs work

IW Engine
4 Review

Engine Review by ShouldBeNew on Jul 11th, 2014 - 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

Call of Duty 2 to Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare 2 had the best of the engine. Now it totally sucks and yet the AI is outdated and there are a bunch of crappy bugs.

4.0 / 10 - Bad

S.T.A.L.K.E.R. - Lost Alpha
4 Review

Mod Review by LukeFerreira on Jul 7th, 2014 - 1 person agrees

I feel that stability is the most important thing in STALKER mods, and this is exactly the worst part of LA.

+A refreshing start from ShoC.
+Beautiful maps, even if most of them are empty.
+Graphics.

-/-Inventory needs a lot more micromanagement, especially with putting ammo in your belt, I personally don't see the point in this much detail but others might enjoy it.

-Extremely cheesy story and dialogues that makes taking this game seriously almost impossible, even the dialogue of random stalkers seem too lighthearted, most cutscenes also feel unecessary as they don't really help with the immersion.
-Bugs everywhere, I hope your wallpaper is pretty because you'll spend more time looking at it than the game itself due to the absurd amount of crashes.
-Rats are so powerful that your game crashes if one hits you.

I sincerely hope that this mod receives a lot of care and patches from both devs and community, a lot of people spent years waiting for this only to be disappointed... A little roadkill on the current cheesy story wouldn't hurt either.

Wake Up
4 Review

Mod Review by BadcatDoesAmnesia on Jul 7th, 2014 - 1 person doesn't

It had too many jumpscares now and then in my opinion, and I don't like seeing that in good custom stories. Some of the maps where quite empty.

For now I give this a 4/10

Gone Home
4 Review

Game Review by ☣Kaernk☣ on Jul 7th, 2014 - 1 person doesn't

Positives:

- Every moveable object is interactable
- Pretty nice design
- Touching story

Negatives:

- Way, way too short compared to what it costs
- Even though the story was touching, it wasn't developed very well
- No challange

--------------------------------

For starters, Gone Home is not really a game. Yes it is a game, but there is absolutely no challange (the puzzles are basic "find the key" and find the map so the hidden path you couldn't open before suddenly can be opened) and the only thing you really need to do is explore and click on certain objects in the right order in order for things to happen.

Is the story emotional? Yeah. Is it well developed however? No, not at all. The main story (about the protagonist) is touching, but it is a cliche teenage love story with no real plot twists. The main character is ****, which is perfectly fine, I am in no way against that, but it doesn't matter at all. It could as well have been a guy and a girl, or two guys. It makes no difference. Most of the names are even gender neutral. It is that extremly cliche.

And when I say it wasn't very well developed, I mean, for instance, that a huge part of the story felt repeditive, and the whole "psyco house" thing was only mentioned once. Other students from Sam's school said she lived in the psyco house, but it was never even once explained why.

The biggest reason why it wasn't as good as I was hoping for is the lenght of the game. I have played for around 1.6 hours and I have finished the game from start to end, and I went into every single room. Someone mentioned that it is possible to remove the puzzles so you freely can move around the house from the beginning. The game would literally be a minute long if you went straight for the end.

------------------------------------------

In conclusion: Is it worth buying it? No. Not for 19 euros. I suggest you watch it on Youtube if you want to know what the story is about. 19 euro is a ridiculous price.

4/10 - Okay

Counter-Strike: Condition Zero Deleted Scenes
4 Review

Game Review by ProfesorNikov on Jul 6th, 2014 - 2 people don't

Oh great, a Counter-Strike with singleplayer mode and history.. What could go wrong? Oh well... sometime I don't know why I speak.

Let's start this review, with my typicalenglish grammar errors and all the ****.

This is a CS with singleplayer. YES. SINGLEPLAYER. But is horribly created. The level design are acceptable, sucks, but acceptable.The voice acting in english is "mhee..." but the dub in spanish is... horrible, I'm a great fan of the spanish voice acting and someday I would like to work on that; the big problem is the accents. STUPID. *******. ACCENTS.

Accents for the americans, accents for the japaneses, accents for your mother riding in a bike without wheels.

Is full of bugs and the enemies are a group of stupids, more easy than the ******* CoD, is short and the game no have much replay value really.

Mhe, what I going to say, I don't like it m8.

And so it began: The Great War of Calradia
4 Review

Mod Review by Boomsticko on Jul 6th, 2014

For christ sake its 2014 ADD FORMATIONS MOD ALWAYS lol

Amnesia: Silent Hallways - Chapter 1
4 Review

Mod Review by nowac2645 on Jul 5th, 2014
This review may contain spoilers

Good things:
-Outside area looks nice
-Custom stuff
-Monster placements are well done

Bad things:
-Lack of story
-Some corridors and rooms are completely empty
-Not much creativity
-A pony? Really? -_-
-Cheap jumpscares
-Simple quests
-Very short

The story was good in the beginning. I thought the outside area looked nice and thought that this was going to be a great custom story. Then I enter the castle and it's jumpscare galore. The same jumpscare is used EACH time. There's not much for a story except that this guy enters a castle searching for a missing person. I have to say, the placements for the monsters were well done, but some of the corridors and rooms were empty. A pony? Really?!

Improvements:
Add more detail and ornaments into the empty coridors like picture frams, carpets, etc, as for rooms, add crates, barrels, etc.
Don't create jumpscares that go off every ten seconds! Add atmosphere, ambient sounds and only add jumpscares once in a while. Don't use the same jumpscare each time, that can make a story a bit boring.
Put a bit more into the story. There wasn't much except for the fact that a guy goes into this castle to find a missing person.
And lastly, that pony was just confusing and weird.

4/10 Bad

Highest Rated
9.9 (game)
FS2_Open Source
9.9 (mod)
Back2Fronts Mod
9.9 (mod)
SC Revolution Mod
9.9 (mod)
FOJ Community Mod
9.9 (mod)
WWII Reality
9.8 (mod)
The Nameless Mod
9.8 (mod)
New Vision
9.8 (mod)
Total Mayhem
9.8 (mod)
Ballistic Weapons
9.8 (game)
Homeworld
9.8 (game)
Blood
9.8 (mod)
Tamriel Rebuilt
9.8 (mod)
Matto4
9.8 (mod)
Nali Weapons 3
9.8 (mod)
XTended
9.8 (game)
Dysis
9.8 (game)
Teslagrad
9.8 (mod)
4th Dimension [FA]
9.8 (mod)
Galactic Armory
9.8 (mod)
JA2 1.13 Mod
9.8 (engine)
Westwood 2D
9.8 (mod)
WARTIME
9.8 (mod)
Duke Plus
9.8 (mod)
Rome at War
9.8 (mod)
Rendroc's WarZone