What if one day, you wake up as a patient in a hospital, without any memory of yourself? What are you going to believe? Or... Who are you going to believe?...

Review RSS Feed C-zom says
9 C-zom

Oct 13th, 2011 19 people agree 2 people don't

Inspired heavily by the shady atmospheres of psychological juggernauts of various pedigree, but perhaps no more so than by Session 9 or Jacob’s Ladder/Silent Hill, is an Amnesia total conversion mod titled White Night of which I had the pleasure of playing for the better part of the last two evenings for a total of about 3.5-4 hours of game play.

White Night has a palpable atmosphere that makes you realize fully the depths of the human mind, and of the shadows hanging over us in our subconscious. Tanshaydar has tapped into the same fountain of knowledge that writers such as Mark Z. Danielewski or contemporary mod creator Rumpel, of Afraid of Monsters and Cry of Fear fame.

Surrounded by asylum bars, rusted iron, gritty vents and vaulted, groined archways of pseudo modern architecture you will trudge through a thoughtful array of puzzles. Some of them, I admit, are actually kind of irritating. (Navigating a room of obstacles, tubs, half walls and uneven terrain to spin *really* tiny knobs on *really* thin piping was kind of annoying.) Nonetheless, all of this has been expertly realized and lovingly built among the hardships of simply one modder, Tanshaydar, whose accomplishments here are polarizing given the short development cycle (Only 10 months).

This is the best mod for Amnesia out there right now, and it is my contender for the best story of the year in Moddb’s upcoming contests. Well done to everyone involved, bumps and all, this is one hell of an experience.

If I had to update my review without changing the score, I will say that the recently circulated notion that White Night is almost uncannily like Korsokovia is correct, and worth noting. Many people find it impeccable in similarity, almost as a remake or re imagining. I am neutral on the subject, but having played both, it is a substantial similarity.

Blood_Wraith says
9 Blood_Wraith

Nov 16th, 2011 7 people agree 1 person doesn't

Good Amnesia Mod! I really liked the Penumbra references too. The voice acting was somewhat mediocre but it is a good mod nonetheless.

DamnNoHtml says
9 DamnNoHtml

Oct 15th, 2011 7 people agree 1 person doesn't

Very well made. I am full of myself, and I will say most of the game is better than anything I've ever made with the editor. Awesome job.

neiko says
9 neiko

Oct 28th, 2011 4 people agree 0 people don't

Was a great mod. I loved that is pulled more on scary and tense moments, versus the original game of hide and seek with monsters. The story was also great, and technically leaves it open for a sequel.

Russ_Money says
9 Russ_Money

Oct 24th, 2011 4 people agree 0 people don't

White Night in short is impressive to say the least. There a lot of custom stories out there but this one is the definition of it. Many custom entities and lots of story.

You're taken out of the dank and dark underground environment that Frictional Games mastered and are thrown into a twisted hospital scene. You can tell that this mod is heavily influenced by the Silent Hill franchise, which is just fine be me. I would even go as far as to say that this would be a Silent Hill first person horror story.

I quite enjoy the mentioning of certain characters from previous horror-genre games.

The puzzles can be vague at times, having that feeling that you've exhausted all logic until you slow down to take it all in - then you'll figure it out.

If you're looking for something that looks amazing with a shade of fear thrown over it, White Night is for you.

GrAV1t says
9 GrAV1t

Oct 19th, 2011 3 people agree 0 people don't

Great mod! The only faults I could find were that it was way too dark without a flashlight/lightbulbs around, and that the lighting system sometimes screwed up the textures.

Summonus says
9 Summonus

Nov 2nd, 2011 4 people agree 1 person doesn't

Extremely great mod. Really enjoyed the story and the atmosphere. Had a lot of scary moments aswell, especially at times you would not expect it. A bit more mementos at puzzle solving would be great though. But still a must play for Amnesia fans and might even say that this was better than the original game. Looking forward for more mods from you. Great job.

bat2com says
9 bat2com

Dec 29th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

Very good game, scary most of the time with excellent music too, cool puzzles (I loved the piano one)
A lot of references to silent hill, sometimes it felt like I was playing silent hill 2 and 3.
Give it a try, its free and have an excellent story.

By the way I end up having 7 healths and 13 batteries so the game is not hard at all, and you wont get stuck in the dark by any means, is more like a story, so play it and enjoy it =)

LanetOlsun02 says
9 LanetOlsun02

Dec 8th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

This looks dark and terrifying.

Demeschik says
9 Demeschik

Nov 17th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

The mod was awesome. I've played through it, understood the plot, but the ending and jump scares were meh.

Community Rating

Average

9.1

711 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.