Welcome to the shield-wall. Hold firm your spear and your shield, the time for blood-letting is here. Whether you fight for the Allfather, OĆ°inn or for the Christ Almighty - now is your time, let forth the ravens of war! Vikingr strives to recreate the dark ages of Northern Europe. Choose to fight for the Viking, Englisc Saxons, Normans or the Eastern Rus amongst the cold beauty of new, unforgiving landscapes.

Review RSS Feed Shoep says
10 Shoep

Mar 1st, 2011 24 people agree 4 people don't

Being a longstanding MM player, pretty much since when they started the mod, i must admit i'm a bit dissapointed by Vincenzo and Lord_Olafson's reactions on this page.

I renember MM's less glorious times, the ones i cherish the most, where Lcatt, Dante, Atkivir, Dale and a few other players still played the mod while it had all but died down, on some evenings where there were more then 20 players online it really was -ALOT- for us and we were all happy.

Then came MM Waterloo, and all of the sudden my lovely stable MM mod suddenly became very popular, and started getting more and more updates to the point it got so crashy for me that i couldn't play anymore.

I think its easy for Vincenzo and Olafson to forget their roots, while MM themselves just used the Age of Gunpowder mod for alot of OSP material from the start :)

That said, i bought Warband to play MM, i used a pirated version before but i just -had- to play MM multiplayer. Im sentimental about the mod, and i love it, still do. Just think its ashame now that the Devs of MM grew a wee cocky to go critizise other mods.

Now, for Vikingr.

What is there to say? I came to the mod as a old MM-player seeking something new, and i was immediantly overwhelmed by the beautifully done maps and landscapes. Even if the devs didnt make it, i think they ARE the first devs to actually use it in Multiplayer.

I went archer, as i usually was in Native, and immediantly got chopped up to pieces by a angry vikingr! I loved it!

from that moment on i've been hooked to Vikingr, i have no lag at all, only crashed 3 times on a specific map ( which they fixed now! ). And only encountered a few small glitches.

I'm hooked to this mod, and will be for a very long time! Archery made interesting, instant deaths from most attacks <3. I love this mod, enough said.

BattleOfValmy says
10 BattleOfValmy

Feb 28th, 2011 15 people agree 3 people don't

Exceptional mod. The amount of detail in all the new custom models, the excellent coding, and the truly remarkable capturing of a real Dark Ages atmosphere propels this mod higher than any other I've played for M&B Warband.

The Vikingr team definitely put a lot of hard work into this, and they should be commended.

TehJock says
10 TehJock

Mar 31st, 2011 10 people agree 0 people don't

One of my favorite mods of Warband, right after MM.

Just love the Dark atmosphere of the Viking-era, the sounds of the shields and the war cries of the bloodthirsty Vikings.
The swords and axes bashing against shields, heads being chopped off by fierce warriors and people ran over by cavalry of the Norman and Rus elite.

The mod itself runs fine, even though the graphics seem to be better than in Native. Each weapon has it's own pros and cons, no overpowered things. Spears are actually dangerous, you must actually be careful when facing an opponent armed with a spear. The combat is a lot more realistic, no more super-armor knights who are nearly invincible.

Vikingr is for sure one of my favorite mods.

captain_of_lust says
10 captain_of_lust

Mar 3rd, 2011 10 people agree 2 people don't

This is, by far, the best Warband multiplayer mod out there.

There's no need for me to list all the great features and additons. Simply, this is incredibly fun to play. The mod shifts the dynamics of multiplayer combat, without trying to do something inappropriate for the Mount&Blade engine.

The player base is very solid and the main server seems to get around 50-60 players most nights. The development team are very active and responsive to community input, which has helped the process of balancing the classes and factions hugely. On top of this, there is a campaign planned and there have already been some enjoyable events.

The new "raid" game mode is a welcome addition and the quality of the maps is very high, making for interesting and varied gameplay.

Vikingr mod is a must-try.

Pymous says
10 Pymous

Apr 29th, 2011 4 people agree 0 people don't

Great atmosphere, great combats, great respect of history, awsome mod.

Leofwine says
10 Leofwine

Apr 6th, 2011 4 people agree 0 people don't

Vikingr effectively takes Warbands Native multiplayer and rips it apart, putting it back together in the mod teams vision and adding in a few bits on the way. In short Vikingr is well balanced, beautiful and very well put together. In long...see below;

I came to the mod jaded with Native's MP, getting tired of the spamathon that existed of archers & cavalry, the constant two-handed weapon 'swing-spam' performed by one-and-all. Vikingr was a last ditch attempt to have a go at multiplayer. After just a few matches it refired my lust to play Warband again, so much so that I now lead a Vikingr Clan and eagerly play the mod at least three times a week for as many hours as I can cram in.

The dedication of the mod team, their eagerness for feedback, to explain changes in patches and desire to bring a high-quality mod to people is outstanding. Not to be forgotten by far are the brilliant models & textures made for the mod, from the beauty of the langsaex to the glorious Rus mail armour. The maps, made with Polished Landscapes, are outstanding and with the new fog effect the atmosphere is superb.

On top of this the Community are a friendly group, eager to support the mod in any way they can, whether its historical research, texturing or mapping.

Best way to find out more is to play the mod itself! It's quite different to Native and might take a little while to get used to but it's worth playing.

Killed_By says
10 Killed_By

Feb 27th, 2011 4 people agree 0 people don't

Oi, Temuzu here!

And I must say, Vikingr is one fine mod. I cant really point out individual parts, but I cant point out any bad parts either, which is a good thing. :)

Good job Vikingr team!

zhuliks says
10 zhuliks

Mar 1st, 2011 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

Well Im playing this mod since it officially came out (0.70) being an alpha (so there are bugs and other issues still) and I dont have top tier pc myself, but I had no crashes now when its 0.72 and still alpha. Mod has great spectacular look on max settings (which I can still try, its just only less playable).

Mod is more balanced than native, classlimit is great feature which native lacks, it has lots of features native lacks and thats what I like the most (starting drowning after some time your head was underwater or instadeath if u fall too deep, taunts, nice little features like beheading, raid mode which native should have had from a start, etc). Archery is harder but more rewarding, horses are more deadly but easier to kill, overall it needs more skill to play and is lot more fun.

And then there is community, not only it is fun to play with these people, you can pop up on forums and have a help or just share your thoughts. And being still alpha mod it give you a nice opportunity to suggest new great features and if its really useful and fun be no doubt modders will add it (new fun features come an go if they appear imbalanced, new models are made etc).

To conclude I might just say whole purpose of a review is to decide if you should try a mod or not, no review can replace personal experience and a try is what this mod definitely deserves. I will just add that I spent many spare hours playing native before, now I use every chance to play this mod only.

-Smiley

Zah says
10 Zah

Mar 2nd, 2011 4 people agree 2 people don't

The best mod out there for Warband, Absolutely fun to play. If anyone says otherwise, then they obviously have a mod of their own with a pet dog that follows them everywhere on the internetz :).

The chainmail could be more shiny, thats about it.



And add a Bythonic faction......

Cozur says
10 Cozur

May 7th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

I'll admit to being biased, due to my love of the viking age, but this is a great project.

Very well done, graphics wise.

The scenes are awesome, balance equaly so.

Not much of a multiplayer person myself, so I'd wish it had singleplayer, but I knew that going in.

10/10

Community Rating

Average

8.8

142 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.