Underhell is a Source Engine game developed by the Underhell Team in collaboration with We Create Stuff. Underhell Chapter 1 requires ONLY Source SDK Base 2007 installed. No Source game is required.

Review RSS Feed ildamos says
8 ildamos

Apr 26th, 2011 4 people agree 0 people don't

I gave this game an 8.25 but the slider doesn't have that fine a scale. My full review can be found at: Imbacore.blogspot.com

lodcax says
8 lodcax

Mar 13th, 2011 6 people agree 2 people don't

awesome mod

Tron619 says
8 Tron619

Apr 23rd, 2011 4 people agree 1 person doesn't

i love the story as much as the gameplay

Comr4de says
8 Comr4de

Dec 31st, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

I only give this an 8 due to the content given thus far, I may change it once the complete product is given. Now as far as what was played thus far, it's quite incredible. There were times I had forgotten it was a mod and the quality of a lot of the environments were nicely created as well. The mood, feel, game play of a lot of aspects always put me on edge, given there were clear inspiration and iterations of several games out there. It's fully voiced and the acting, while not completely spot on all the time, it was still quality, especially with the sheer amount of the good bits. The prologue was not nearly as good as Chapter One level design wise, open areas don't exactly look right and the house, while understandably seemed the right proportions, doesn't feel right with the assets given to it. However, overall it was a great experience and I look forward to the next release. Keep up the good work gents!

Berlot7 says
8 Berlot7

Jan 25th, 2012 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

Enjoyed it a lot. I was confused on occasion on what I was supposed to do next or where to go. Especially in chapter 1. For instance, finding the building across from the hospital entrance or where to go in the parking deck after reaching the top. Reminded me a lot of F.E.A.R.

thulfiqaar says
8 thulfiqaar

Jun 25th, 2011 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

I am surprised at how good the game is and yet quite different from Half Life 2, gameplay wise. I thorougly enjoyed it and am looking forward to the next chapter. A lot of intense action and the story telling is very impressive as well.

Supernath97 says
8 Supernath97

May 1st, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Its a really great and detailed mod, i played the whole game and love every bit of it.

Sjalen says
8 Sjalen

Jan 6th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

I have played Underhell and it is one of the best half life mods i have ever played. I do think the mod needs some more things like enemies and some better AI. However when I played Underhell I enjoyed every little bit of it. I loved the story of Underhell and can't wait for more.

Defcon6 says
8 Defcon6

Dec 5th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

This mod feels like someone took Nightmare House 2 and took away some of the puzzle and scripted horror elements(which were really, really good) and put in enjoyable combat. Which is made quite obvious in the house and tutorial with the great easter eggs.

The combat quickly got repetitive as do head-shots, pull back, do head-shots seemed to work 90% of the time. That's not a massive deal though as the zombies moved faster, making responsive accuracy more important, not to mention that you got to see their head explode, maybe they'd drop a helmet, having to aim-down sights because of whatever you call the dynamic hip-fire mechanic thing was also pretty important, etc etc etc. There's a bunch of stuff that made the repetitive combat acceptable. That's just a note rather than a big point of critique, though.

A cool mechanic to add to the saferoom could've been some of the guards that weren't necessary for side/main quests randomly were off scouting for supplies when you'd come back, which would also make it more rewarding if you could save the dude that didn't get hurt in the escape. Maybe also adding a few lone guards with a low chance of spawning that you could rescue that could also eventually go scouting for resources, etc. Not necessary, just a couple of ideas as I found the saferoom to seem rather static, despite the supply section that would spawn loot every now and again.

As much as I hate critiquing voice-actors I feel like for example some of the rescued voice-actors could use some re-records and retries. Stuff like overacting and not sounding natural at all could actually make me cringe in that section of the game. Not really a huge fan of the Japanese dialogue in the story either, but since it was such a short dialogue and it can be rationally explained it didn't ruin that cut-scene too much for me.

Looking forward to seeing what you come up with for chapter two, and I wish I could write a longer review to show the appreciation as well as the critique.

Metalman005 says
8 Metalman005

Nov 30th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I created an account just to rate this

Community Rating

Average

9.5

1626 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.