The year is now 2037. The Tiberian World now stands with a very uncertain fate. The two most powerful and influential forces on the planet are trapped in a never ending dead lock of war and combat. Whilst the Global Defense Initiative has suffered many blows and military defeats, the faction itself still stands strong and has shown the world its amazing ability to endure harsh punishments and has recovered much lost ground. The Brotherhood of Nod has struggled and triumphed over its enemies, only for its victory to be short lived by the death of Kane the Messiah, causing an ever lasting deterioration through the Brotherhood and leading to defeats and chaos amongst the large faction. With the end of the First Tiberian War comes the dawn and age of a new, second Tiberian War, with new terrifying possibilities and potential. The fate of Earth lies dangerously unknown.

Review RSS Feed TheReviewer says
9 TheReviewer

May 4th, 2012 7 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Twisted Insurrection ****: A New Sun Is Rising.

Probably one of the most ambitious Tiberian Sun Mods to date, Twisted Insurrection seeks to not only breathe new life into Tiberian Sun's skirmish mode, but pick up where Westwood left off, telling a unique story and taking a different spin on the the Tiberian Sun universe. Set after a Nod victory in the First Tiberium War, Nod is fulfilling it's plans to reform the planet's ecosystem. But GDI are not dead yet, and backed by their new Globotech allies, they seek to challenge Nod's dominion over Earth.

Visually TI is gorgeous. Old structures and units have been replaced with brand new, custom artwork that puts Westwood to shame in many ways. New and original units (complete with new sound-files borrowed from other CnC franchises) have been created from scratch and an atmospheric, custom composed soundtrack has been added for the player's enjoyment. The story missions are challenging without being frustrating and the maps are extremely well designed.

The skirmish is however a mixed bag. The maps provided with TI are extremely interesting and like all aspects of TI are well designed, ranging from arena style maps, to free and open ones which allow for much tactical diversity. The AI however even on the easiest difficulty can be extremely unforgiving, rushing the player with tanks and infantry only minutes in. While this inspires quick thinking and micromanagement, a causal gamer will quickly find themselves overwhelmed.

Overall however, TI is a well made and enjoyable mod. The custom units are balanced and inspired and the atmosphere and story leaves little to be desired. There are still many placeholder units and graphics which will hopefully be fixed in future releases but even until then, TI is well worth the download.


Darkkoril says
9 Darkkoril

Dec 20th, 2010 9 people agree 3 people don't

As I saw some members of the community has a tagged Twisted Insurrection. Anyway, I hope that your mod still the greatest in C&C: Tiberian Sun game. I didn't rate it to 10 because it's still in unstable version. So I will update it soon when you released a final version.

dbjs2009 says
9 dbjs2009

Sep 6th, 2010 4 people agree 1 person doesn't

A great mod indeed..

medve says
9 medve

Jul 20th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

fapcontent

Crimsonum says
9 Crimsonum

Nov 24th, 2010 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Twisted Insurrection is how I had envisioned Tiberian Sun. The world is dark, distorted and disturbing like demonstrated by its predecessor. However, TS lacked severely in the entertaining factor of the actual gameplay, computer AI and attractiveness. Twisted Insurrection converts the entirety of TS' dull and limited mapping resources into a vast collection that allows maps to range from wealthy cityscapes to desolate wastelands, not forgetting their wicked combinations!

The Twisted Intelligenceā„¢ (Skirmish AI) is still far from finished, but the computer menace already provides with a real challenge. Comp Stomp is a popular gaming method when playing online with your friends, or you can train your skills by challenging the machinae in skirmish.

Another greatly improved aspect when compared to TS is the visual please and audio. There's now a huge variety of unit voices, each with its own, familiar voice. Various animations, explosions and weather effects make even the most deserted wasteland surprisingly entertaining. Special thanks to Apollo for his significant work with the numerous, beautiful explosion animations!

Last but not least, the music. TI soundtrack was composed by numerous artists, but they all managed to independently follow a similar, EDM-like style. Even if the tracks may sound repetive at times, the soundtrack is still a pleasure for the ear. Intense, rhytmic yet athmosphric emusic is what TS lacked.

I'm going to be fair. I retracted my earlier, childish 10/10 review, as in reality, I wouldn't give full points for anything; that kind of review is unrealistic, fanatic and simply absurd. Nothing is perfect, there will always be bigger or smaller things that don't please someone. Twisted Insurrection is still a mass of fun, I've never enjoyed another mod as much as I have this. TI is great, and it has the potential of becoming something greater.

Needless to say, I'm glad and proud to be in the team. Long live TI, the staff and its hundreds of fans!

Nigel2x4 says
9 Nigel2x4

Jul 20th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Fantastic mod, very professional. 3D Cinematics that Electronic Arts and their C&C3 (and later) can learn something from. Makes it auhentic and feel like a retail game, but for us, it's free :D!

The music also fits the game, no complaints there. It also feels like something I could play outside of the game at an industrial techno music party and it reminded me of the music style of VNV Nation and Feindflug.

I also found that the campaign has an addictive feel of difficulty to it. Some situations you're given, you realy wonder "how the hell am I going to do this?". Makes it all the beter when the mission accomplished sign appears.

I gave the mod a 6 before. This was because of certain aspects of tanks versus infantry balance that bothered me alot. As of PB5.015 this was fixed and thankfully heavier tanks fare alot beter :) .

It's a fantastic mod, and you should definatley play it. The reason that I'm not giving a 10/10 is because there are some bugs still in it, but they're hard at work fixing those, and the mod is still in beta.

fahronif8 says
9 fahronif8

Nov 20th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Gogogogo :3

destroymac says
9 destroymac

Nov 4th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

great game

jpfan1992 says
9 jpfan1992

May 15th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Best TS mod ever! even in the beta its baddass! but being in the beta means there still is a few bugs to work out which in my opinion keep it from being a perfect 10,still one can only dream of the possibilities and things that will eventually come true! and the best part? its FREE! so what are you waiting for play this game now!

Ahrimansiah says
9 Ahrimansiah

Feb 28th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

VERY great GAME not a mod anymore!! its just like Tiberium sun 2! i mean the real deal! the quality is amazing and definitely worth playing!

Community Rating

Average

9.5

274 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.