Triage is a Half-Life 2: Episode Two campaign set in the beginning of the City 17 uprising, during Gordon Freeman's disappearance in Nova Prospekt. You are Matthew, a citizen who lost his family and home during the invasion. After barely escaping with your life when the police raid your apartment, you are recruited into the resistance and must prove yourself on the wartorn streets of City 17.

Review RSS Feed AncientT says
7 AncientT

Jan 12th, 2013 13 people agree 4 people don't

This mod didnt get my attention on the moddb page but hey.

This mod is "overwhelming" like in the first level you start shooting and
blasting everything you see outha nowhere!
wich is fun ;P

though the first two levels couldf used more Detail like the last 2-3 levels!

The city is SO ugly! and flat and empty!
the there's almost "nothing" in the skybox on the second level witch makes me sad :(

Though after you buckled trough that you get to the 3 level.
Witch is lots of fun and stress since you get Pumbled by an "army" of ZOMBIES! The level design there is Lots and lots of better! there's more detail there's buildings and whatnot! i do not understand how that happend! the sudden change of detail.

Now the gameplay is fun! even with the ironsides.
sometimes i forgot that i had an ironside witch made me move into cover alot. hl feeling is still there :)

THE SOUND
"ITS TOO LOUD"
Even if i turn the volume down i can almost not hear the characters say anything! The guns are too LOUD the make my ears bleed! when i found out you guys had silencers i got mad because you didnt put it in at the very beginning of the game. WHEN MY EARS WEREN'T BLEEDING!

so i avoided the ar2 and smg ALOT! only the ak47 was sustainable but loud also.

Turn those Baby's DOWN!

Bugs at second level @-@
can go true some walls and there's a CLEAR hole in the wrecked building. @Radio.

Characters sound boring!
-unemotional!
-Not talking seriously!
(Like they speak like if there was nothing happening! take hl2 characters for example: they are always serious when the rebelion striked! all serious and emotional, talking like if they where serious mad man, not happy at all, tired etc...)

Last levels = "Perfect" 3-4-5
Fun and beautiful!

good job though. could'f gotten more impressed if the beginning of the levels had more trash/detail on them. (Like actual trash cans,dumpsters, old cars etc...oh and wreckish)

~ancient

PS. never ever do that again with the advisor at the end!
YOU BIG MEANIE >:(

NutritiousBagCircles says
7 NutritiousBagCircles

Jan 20th, 2013 3 people agree 0 people don't

constructive critisism:
1.Iron sight for smg error
2.combine literally spawn infront of you
3.not enought in depth storyline
4.magnum feels underpowered

flippedoutkyrii says
7 flippedoutkyrii

Jan 20th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Triage was a mod I pretty much followed from the beginning and seeing it released brought my hopes up.

It wasn't the second coming nor was it the bane of our existence. It was fun and fast paced, but could use a lot of work.

Simply put, some more detail could have been put into the first few levels, the audio could use subtitles over the monotonous LOUD noises on the battlefield and to be honest, the respawn rate for the combine could use some serious reduction.

The mod is trying to emulate the frantic style of the initial COD games, such as the first and second in the series, before it became more of a summer blockbuster in the MW series then an actual game.

And to be honest. it does this very well. Too many times in COD I feel rather insignificant, like I'm a bystander watching a bunch of manly men do manly stuff and blow things up. It's not like that in Triage. I really feel like what I'm doing is amounting to something, and it really captures the chaos and intensity of an all out revolution unlike any other mod I have ever seen before in the HL universe.

And while the regenerating health isn't my cup of tea, it too is well integrated amongst the various fighting throughout the city. The two weapon slots are also surprisingly shrug-worthy instead of being a pain in the *** with most Modern Military shooters, very carefully giving the player the chance to swap weapons for an upcoming battle that deems their current weapons moot.

Amongst the game files are more, unfinished maps which I can't wait to play when they are truly finished, as the combine hospital was marvelously grisly.

in a TL;DR format, Triage is a wonderful, yet flawed treat that came up out of nowhere for some people and is short yet sweet. Give it a try.

Thank you for your hard work, Team Triage, I look forward to your next release :)

TheDarkSecret says
7 TheDarkSecret

May 3rd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Some bugs, here and there. But most likely
there's probably bugs in my mod to. So I should not complain.

Leshiy says
7 Leshiy

Apr 21st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Bad mapping, you need are good level designer.

miller_allset says
7 miller_allset

Jan 16th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

At first it seemed amazing,just because of the fact that the weapons felt really strong and good.But as I walk my way through this mod,having almost no idea where to go and what to do,while most of my "teammates" were being killed...
The mapping was somewhere between average and good,but mostly big and empty which is a bad combination for a mod!
But it also was fun and I enjoyed pretty much of it!Oh and I don't understand if the crouching was intended to be that way,or it was some sort of bug...

Parad0x_33 says
7 Parad0x_33

Jan 13th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Its fun to play, but not that exititing

Androyd says
7 Androyd

Jan 12th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

This mod was okay. There were no subtitles, so I didn't know what to do in the first part, and ended up camping the CP spawn instead of going to the door where the rebel was. It was every hard to understand the people. Also, everyone sounds like fighting rebels and thinking everyone's going to die is an everyday thing, and their voices are flat instead of have emotion. The weapon switch pickup key for me was pausing my game, and the health regeneration, weapon generation, and endless horde of enemies made me feel like I was playing CoD. A lot of areas were dark, and a flashlight would have been helpful. Also, there wasn't really a story, so I had no idea what was going in the game, like why the rebels just decide to follow some random citizen. Also, the buildings and setting didn't really feel like it was set in the HL2 universe, like the AK-47. The game crashed for me later.

This mod is okay, needs a lot of improvments though.

WaffleAndy says
7 WaffleAndy

Jan 12th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

The systems and movements in the mod are very smooth, although here are the cons:

-Voice acting, loudness and backstory + CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT
On some voice actors for characters in-game, you can hear them "chuckling/laughing" in the back of their voice while they speak their dialogue, causing the dialogue to not be serious and lack of emotion(!).
During some scenes, there are times when the sounds of the firefight are so loud that you cannot hear the dialogue.
Speaking of the loudness, the guns are extremely loud and need to be tuned down, while the voices could be tuned up (but you'd need to blend in the voices with the background properly).

The backstory could also use improvements. I couldn't really understand what is happening to the main character throughout this journey so far. All I can tell is that he is a basic citizen who is suddenly threw into firefights and becomes a leader? No idea.
Matt needs more CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT. Why is suddenly thrown into a warzone in the first 5 minutes of the chapter? It's sad. He just awoken up too.

-Buggy
Chapter 2's radio is un-functional.
Some of the following AI's don't find their proper path to make them actually FOLLOW the player.

-Limit to weapons
I don't like the fact that on some levels, they provide multiple weapons (even the 'special ones'), but you're only allowed to carry 1 primary, 1 secondary, and the rest is by default. Many people also don't like the health regeneration system.
Also, the amount of enemies swarming you is ridiculous.

-Lights in certain areas
I absolutely cannot SEE in some areas in the map and that makes me frustrated. There is even no available flashlight function for your primary weapons (you need to add that in).

Despite these reasons currently, I rated it an 7/10 because there is potential in this mod to become greater than it is right now.

FritzOfTheSS says
7 FritzOfTheSS

Jan 12th, 2013 1 person agrees 2 people don't

This mod is rather interesting.

Now, I went in with the wrong mindset. I went in thinking it was going to be like a Half Life 2 episode, but instead was greeted by a more action-oriented game.

Now, I went into the right mindset when remembering that I am just some rebel. I am not Gordon, or Alyx, or Adrian Shephard, or Barney.

Then I begun to enjoy the game a lot more. But, I still found flaws.

I felt like there was way too many enemies at once. That, or I took damage too fast. I think this needs to be fixed.

Another thing is its voice acting. I was happy when there was voice acting, but also extremely disappointed by it. It had no emotion like Half Life 2 does. Plus, the mic quality wasn't exactly amazing, so I had trouble hearing what I was supposed to do. It would've helped to AT LEAST include subtitles. Or better, just redo the voice acting with a better quality mic.

But, I loved its graphics. Sometimes I honestly thought it looked better than Black Mesa.

Overall, I think this mod is amazing. But, I understand there will be a part 2 to it.

So, I think you should fuse Part 1 and 2 together into one bigger experience, redo your voice acting and maybe make it a LITTLE LESS difficult to die. And I only ask a little. I don't want to feel like Rambo. But I also don't want to feel like I can die as easily as I do in Counter-Strike.

Oh, and include subtitles.

Overall, this mod gets a 7 out of 10. I love it, but it needs work.

TL;DR:

PROS:
-Graphical enhancements
-Perspective of a rebel
-New guns
-Aim Down Sight
-Atmosphere feels like a Half-Life game

CONS:
-Mediocre voice acting
-No subtitles
-Too many enemies at once ( Or just you have really low health )

Community Rating

Average

7.3

222 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.