Titan: XCIX is a first person adventure that takes place aboard the ill fated star ship of the same name. When an accident rips apart a lone ship on a routine mission, the crew find themselves fighting for survival, and each other in a unique Single Player experience, that's been in the making for the past two years. Developed single handedly by Robin "IZaNaGI" Molde (Jailbreak!: Source, Survival Mod II for JK:JA), Players will face many challenges that will test their brains rather than their trigger fingers. Requires Half-Life 2: Episode Two

Review RSS Feed Jokerme says
9 Jokerme

Sep 10th, 2011 4 people agree 0 people don't

Quite interesting and obviously the creator put lots of effort into this. Pretty cool sci-fi fun. Recommended.

Null-Entity says
9 Null-Entity

Sep 11th, 2011 5 people agree 1 person doesn't

Pros'

Great concept/art direction/stable/varied (in and out of the ship sections with some great attention to detai).

Cons'

Voice acting for about half of the characters/Lengh of conversations with nothing to hold your intrest on that NPC as they just stand still blurting it out, a few little sections that should really have been player controled (for example the small fire fight, your waiting to be given control and it all goes on without you).

The one thing I would chance would be to get someone in to add animations for the NPC's to complete the visuals as they stand out against the lovingly crafted maps/textures/sounds.

All in all great stuff, cant wait for number 2!

DuckSauce says
9 DuckSauce

Nov 12th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

An overall pleasing mod, while not my kind of thing, it had me wanting for more when it ended, definitely well made.

Some things that did bug me where the train accident thing, when you start the mod, it basically shows you what happened after, lets you walk around a bit, then rewinds back time. I thought it was strange, even more so because later on you get to that bit again and you have to walk the same route iirc, the purpose of that seemed vague to me, I'd personally have liked it to just start at the start, no flashback stuff.

I also found the train accident somewhat unbelievable, in the sense that, you walk into the tunnel, then the train is pretty much right in front of you, there's no escape. And suddenly you are safe. Personally I'd like to stay in control like: there's a train coming? ****, run back! Jump up the platform! And whew "Safe!".

And if not that, it at least shouldn't look like there's no escape possible anymore, it makes it more dramatic, but I found it unbelievable, like an angel swiped in and saved me, which didn't really fit in the sitting in my opinion.

Other than that, a few minor bugs, like the helmet not attaching properly(usually does after a short while, so no biggie) after loading a game.

I expect good things out of the sequel, keep up the good work Iz!

MeVShock says
9 MeVShock

Aug 2nd, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Titan: XCIX part 1 is an excellent mod. As a Sci-fi lover, the story and the atmosphere are simply very well done throughout the game. As you go, little bits of information, such as magazines laying around, data pads or simply the humour of the XCIX AI, give the mod a nice touch.

Something I particularly like is the absence of direct combat during most of the game. Instead, it revolves around a multitude of puzzles and interactions with the ship, which is something you don't see often.

On the other side, the voice acting is a little bit rusty with some characters. It is great, but it could have used a bit more polishing. Also, some of the conversations with some of the other crewmates are a little dull from time to time.

Other than that, the mod is just simply amazing! I'm really looking forward to part2!

Saeker says
9 Saeker

Mar 1st, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Great !

IchigoPhoenix says
9 IchigoPhoenix

Feb 5th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Pro:
Funny
Very nice "Atmosphere"
Deatiled mapping

Cons:
Still need "something"

Rikez says
9 Rikez

Jan 9th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Though I did not play through the entire mod, I played through about an hour, I can honestly say that what I did experience was really impressing. There were a few things that werent all that perfect but thats nothing a little polishing cant fix. Great mod!

DrOcto says
9 DrOcto

Dec 29th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

A high quality, but short mod. A lot of fun for thinker types.
If you are looking for an action packed game from beginning 'till end you will not find it here.(Despite there being a few action sequences)

Good things:
+ Very fitting maps (Lighting and art style fit well together and the art style is consistent)
+ The mod makes you feel like one of the crewmen, you aren't just a mindless drone that has no more to do but shoot at anything that moves. Plus, they actually treat you like a crew member they've known for a long time (The way they talk to you)
+ It tells it's story in various ways, sometimes with cut-scenes, sometimes with (well done) text files one can find and most of the time you witness things as you play and listen to the other crew members
+ The story, while not original (racism is nothing new, though still a big subject for us) is told really well and is interesting
+ There is a lot to explore and the story, while linear, offers you a lot to ponder and think about
+ There are quite a few other crew members to help you or hinder your progress. They feel fitting and are all different, they don't feel generic. (I have no real complaint about the voice-acting, either)
+ There are some (very) challenging puzzles
+ The ship's AI is funny and interesting, even if the idea is nothing new

Bad things:
- The mod was a bit short and the end was a bit sudden
- It was sometimes a bit difficult to beat some puzzles
- A bit nit-picky: The other crew members should really use some custom animations, the standard Half-Life 2 animations don't always feel that fitting

Rikersbeard says
9 Rikersbeard

Dec 29th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

The spaceship looked a bit naff in the intro, but the interior was well crafted and had a dark foreboding presence! Loved the wet areas and the outside shower! This is an excellent HL2 total conversion, great graphics and sound and interesting gameplay. Been waiting for this since I saw some very promising early in-game shots. Promise fulfilled!
More a puzzling exploration mod, (A+ for that!), than the usual space opera and a lesson in battery care in wet environments!
Part two is coming soon I hope?

PsiSkyCor says
9 PsiSkyCor

Nov 27th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Hopefully, a Part 2 will be coming soon. An overall great mod, good voice acting, and great utilization of the source engine. Wish it was a bit longer, but the trip was short and sweet.

Community Rating

Average

9.1

329 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.