Titan: XCIX is a first person adventure that takes place aboard the ill fated star ship of the same name. When an accident rips apart a lone ship on a routine mission, the crew find themselves fighting for survival, and each other in a unique Single Player experience, that's been in the making for the past two years. Developed single handedly by Robin "IZaNaGI" Molde (Jailbreak!: Source, Survival Mod II for JK:JA), Players will face many challenges that will test their brains rather than their trigger fingers. Requires Half-Life 2: Episode Two

Review RSS Feed jjawinte says
8 jjawinte

Sep 12th, 2011 8 people agree 0 people don't

Quite an interesting piece of work here. Titan: XCIX has a well written classic Sci-Fy genre story-line, well constructed and visually artistic ( nice work on the text also btw ). A refreshing change of pace HL2 mod.

"...Players will face many challenges that will test their brains rather than their trigger fingers..."

That being said; I'm a big Sci-Fi fan ( hell, I'm playing Deus Ex again right now ), so I can appreciate the mod more in the sense of it's entertainment strength being more in the story to be experienced than in a steady series of combat challenges. I can see why the classic HL2 mod player would be disappointed. Very well done IZaNaGi. I'd like to see more work from you in the future !

NeptuneUK says
8 NeptuneUK

Sep 13th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Excellently designed mod, something different, almost perfect. My main gripe is that there is severe a lack of ambient sound or music throughout a lot of the game (unless I'm experiencing issues) this would add a lot of extra atmosphere to a great story/game.
Excellent visuals, voices, level/character design, plot, setting and atmosphere. Needs MORE MUSIC and ambience to make it feel complete.
A highly recommended experience.

Abaddon151 says
8 Abaddon151

Oct 15th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

I just finished, and I really enjoyed playing through, and it being more story and puzzle driven was a nice change of pace. (I've been playing A LOT of SMOD) However, is there a second part in development? I'm suddenly really hoping that there is more combat, and a little revision to the movements, like being able to sprint. Something that did peeve me a little, was that the movement speed while crouched was so slow that I moved reminiscently of a snail. Fix that, man. But, criticisms aside, it was an excellent game, and I look forward to part two.

Zen_ says
8 Zen_

Mar 11th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Pro's:
- Story is pretty damn good
- Mechanics work as intended
- I didn't find any bugs
- Tons of new textures and models not in hl2
- Doesn't just rush into mindless killing like most mods
- You get a feeling for your surroundings and the situation
- Mini-meteorites
- Smooth Animations and Visuals
- The Universe that the game takes place in is thoroughly explored (through notes) and well thought out.
- Vent Easter Egg

Con's
- Not rushing is good, but it went a little too slow
- Most of the voice acting was pretty bad (excluding that first engineer you meet and the ai dude)
- Small weapon viewmodels
- Recycled Half-Life 2 facial and body models
- Puzzles weren't very challenging
- Cliffhanger

Overall a solid 8/10

It didn't quite blow my socks of with the gameplay but the universe is pretty believeable and the story is awesome. I also think the way everything was presented was really good. (Clicking O_o to learn things/Animation and Visuals) If you don't like sci-fi games this won't brake you into the genre but if you like the concept you should play it. It took me a little under 2 hours to complete, checking every nook and cranny so its shory but sweet.

nijbu says
8 nijbu

Jan 14th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

As far as sci fi goodness goes, you guys get an 8, some problems were, simplicity of puzzles/quests annnd some of the voice acting wasn't perfect ( but still really good)

HLWATCHER says
8 HLWATCHER

Oct 24th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great work, telling the story, therefore we have a very interactive mod, more in the movie-like line, more combat will come perfect in the future, and i certainly loved to be me shooting against those soilders in the last scene, but is ok, episodic is maybe fine for the amount of work on this one but i'd loved just to be a one big piece of mod instead of those episodic awating.

Metalspy says
8 Metalspy

Oct 21st, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

While the gameplay itself isn't very innovative, interesting or challenging, the story and atmosphere make up for that. There are some nice 'easter eggs' as well as voice acting. The quality of the voice acting is.. variable. Some voices are done very well, others are less convincing. It still beats text-only though.

I could talk some more about it, but I think I'd have to include spoilers then, which I dislike. This mod isn't your average shooter, you should just give it a try and experience it yourself if you have the chance. Overall it feels like a polished, pretty high-quality mod. I'm looking forward to a/the sequel!

MiniDude says
8 MiniDude

Oct 20th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

I have an Lets Play series on this Mod.
Youtube.com

CuervoSp says
8 CuervoSp

Oct 19th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Good and interesting work in the mod.

Mrksmt9 says
8 Mrksmt9

Sep 11th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Excellent, although annouying in parts and much of the same colour and feel, this was pure genuis and worth every second of the play. Looking forward to part two.

Community Rating

Average

9.1

325 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.