Third Age - Total War is a total conversion for 'Medieval II: Total War - Kingdoms Expansion' that brings you into the world of Middle-earth.

Review RSS Feed C-zom says
8 C-zom

Jan 16th, 2011 5 people agree 1 person doesn't

Extremely rewarding and content rich. The amount of polish is absolutely staggering, and we can FINALLY enjoy enormous battles in the medieval 2 engine, unlike so many other popular mods for it.

I would say the best part of this mod is the sheer level of polish and pacing to the battles and campaign and tech trees, it really is an in depth and immersive experience. The worst, I'm afraid, is the B grade voice acting, among which are a ton of downright bad voice actors, namely for Mordor. But what can you do? Not like they could get christopher lee.

I am by no means a fan of LOTR, but this mod is A grade material. Best mod for a TW game I've played behind Darthmod for Empire.

Kark-Wesker says
8 Kark-Wesker

May 24th, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

Good mod :)

liamedwards says
8 liamedwards

Apr 5th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

It's hard not to give this one a 8.
It has almost everything you'd want from a LOTR mod in M2TW, and much more.
The only criticisms that i could give: As for right now, it lacks some really important plot parts from the earlier Third Age.
But Sub-Campaigns for each faction (or some) could definitely help on this subject.

szemha says
8 szemha

Mar 23rd, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Best of the best:D

BrandstifterFussel says
8 BrandstifterFussel

Dec 25th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Optically a true miracle, well done balancing and great use of the LotR lore; AI benefits in the campaing are unnecessary and annoying;
Orc-style settlements are ugly and almost undefendable due to their weak defences (no towers at all)

Bajelujela99 says
8 Bajelujela99

Dec 21st, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

it is a great mod, beutiful graphics and animation. but as all the other mods, it has its flaws (if its written correctly).
But it is a great game, and i reccomend it for every LoTR fans.

abc101 says
8 abc101

Dec 8th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Great , some bugs still need addressing but all in all an awesome mod :)

Hammershock6 says
8 Hammershock6

Sep 27th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This Mod is probably my 3rd Favorite Mod, Its got Brilliant character models that reflect the movie's to a T and still maintains Its own imagination with units you don't see in the movies, also with the new Custom Settlements in the game it looks and feels spectacular like you were in the movies, and again King Kong who made all of these has gone with his own imagination and created other cities from Tolkien's lore. Not only that the campaign map is as similar as it can be to the books.

If you click on the settlements there will be a little book you can right click which will give you detailed info on the land it is surrounded by, even some of the character's from the overall story have biography's in thier trait's, and now you can even revive the kingdom of Arnor with Aragorn and create your own story.

Sadly the reason this only gets 8/10 is the way the A.I. has been Scripted so That the A.I. almost gets unlimited money, Not only that If you attack the main Settlements the A.I. gets a full stack against you so you never really get the chance to siege unless you want huge losses. Along with that you have a very poor economy even if you build everything up the game forces you to be a conqueror rather than make your own destiny like vanilla Total War games, and it takes the immersion out of the game.

You can change these setting's in the File's if you can find them by searching Google, however there should be something in the read-me to tell you how to change this, or they should just give you a easier version of the game along with the more difficult one.

In the end you should get this mod if you are a hardcore veteran of Total War and a fan of LOTR, these are the only people I can recommend this to atm.

therealbeargrylls says
8 therealbeargrylls

Aug 20th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

i would rate it 10 but the difficult installing decreases that, and makes it an 8

Greadam says
8 Greadam

Mar 4th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

An overall fun mod with beautiful units and maps. The overall visual is impressive and well done. The campaign maps and historical battlegrounds were accurate and fun to play on.

I was, however, disappointed with the campaign gameplay because both the units and buildings were overpriced and the income rates were generally the same as the normal Medieval II campaign. This highly restricts the amount of units you can buy, and almost eliminates constructing new buildings. Each of the three nations I played (Gondor, Rohan, and Isengard)had this problem.

Overall, I enjoyed the mod, but since I'm into the campaigns more than anything else, this was a mod I simply cannot stay hooked on. If your a big lotr fan, I would highly recommend this mod simply for it's quality gameplay, accuracy, and visuals.

Community Rating

Average

9.7

2388 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.