The Worry of Newport is a two part Horror/Mystery built upon Crysis 1. It is an interactive narrative and story built upon the first person perspective around immersion, story, and atmosphere.

Review RSS Feed bobsbarricades says
10 bobsbarricades

Jan 15th, 2011 4 people agree 2 people don't

I would say this was a great exploration in narrative. The setting was superb, and it almost felt like playing a book. It was a great experience for me, and I'd love to see this story fleshed out. I was a little confused by what was going on, in a similar way as what happened in the beginning if Penumbra:Overature. A bit too much reading in the first part and a bit too hard to follow in the second but I hope to see more games like this (inspired by Dear Esther?) in the future!

Great work!

medve says
10 medve

Feb 17th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

art

ShadowFaIIs says
10 ShadowFaIIs

Sep 23rd, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Amazing atmosphere and story!

Megalolpronoob says
10 Megalolpronoob

Jun 7th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

The best!

ltegg says
10 ltegg

May 14th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Wow. Just wow. It takes a good few hours (or, it took ME that long), but it's so worth it.

I did find it easy to get lost in the storyline, a journal of sorts, so you can keep track of all the books/dialogues, would be cool.

But otherwise, one of the best games (i've promoted it from 'mod') I've played in a while.

Bravo!

Taraska says
10 Taraska

Sep 24th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Just played part1 and it was so good i cant put it t words. I installed crysis again for just this mod and im really glad i did. Off to play part 2

Dr.Doozer says
10 Dr.Doozer

Sep 2nd, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Great narrative mod. One of the few I can say gripped me on the concept alone. Well-executed mapping, if not a few minor glitches, which are always present in any map, especially in CryEngine2. Voice acting was better than what I could have done for this mod's purpose. I definitely will be downloading Part 2 in due time.

Epecb says
10 Epecb

Aug 6th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Pure awesomeness!

Tanshaydar says
10 Tanshaydar

Jul 18th, 2011 3 people agree 2 people don't

This story... I... Gray...
This is an astonishing emotional Lovecraft story not written by Lovecraft at all. This is what I want to see in games, movies and all. This is art.

I don't really like Crysis nor CryEngine; however this game made me love it. The power and visuals of the engine have never been beautiful like this. Aesthetic feeling of the mod feels like it's not really a CryEngine at all.

First of all, I'm madly in love with Lovecraft stories and Lovecraftian horror. So anything with even a little Lovecraft theme for me is like a flame in the dark for a moth. I should confess, after reading The Shadow Over Innsmouth, I kept looking mirrors for two weeks. I am afraid of deep oceans too.

Worry of Newport is a game that takes you into an alien world we all know: human nature. Alien creatures, twisted thoughts, desire for power, longing...

I'd like to review all aspects of the game one by one, but every aspect of the game is just for one thing: supporting the story. Level designs, ocean and forest views, flashbacks are all good to watch and play, but once you immerse yourself, they're just one more step to your final confrontation. Though, I must say you will not only travel Newport island, but also see African forests and deserts. All of them well designed, partly open to exploring, detailed. There is one church part that looks like an engine advertisement. Really cool. Also color design of the game is so atmospheric and gloomy that people not being immersed should check themselves.

I'd like to mention that protagonist's voice sounds like it is from heaven. Once he starts to talk, you are completely paralyzed.

Finally, my computer is not a hight end one, but optimizations to the engine is astonishing and I managed to play the mod without a flaw. Therefore, if not for the design, storytelling or art of the visuals; this work deserves big praise just for the technical aspects.

My personal nominate for the Mod of the Year.

Starkiller2356 says
10 Starkiller2356

Jun 22nd, 2011 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

I don't care much for the horror genre but this mod made me rethink that! I loved the environment and the well told story. Probably one of the best crysis mods available!

Community Rating

Average

9.2

82 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.