The Stanley Parable is an experimental narrative-driven first person game. It is an exploration of choice, freedom, storytelling and reality, all examined through the lens of what it means to play a video game. You will make a choice that does not matter You will follow a story that has no end You will play a game you cannot win ...it's actually best if you don't know anything about it before you play it :D

Review RSS Feed zck2020 says
8 zck2020

Aug 16th, 2011 3 people agree 0 people don't

Though it is lacking in visuals, the Stanley Parable stands out from the crowd. No gunfights, no enemies to kill, no combat whatsoever. I'm fine with this because this isn't a combat mod. I love the depth and layers that this mod has. The narrator sounds like a professional voice actor and the plot is very enjoyable. For a good story and some nice chuckles along the way, the Stanley Parable is a mod to remember.

jackar says
8 jackar

Aug 7th, 2011 3 people agree 0 people don't

One of the best mods I have ever got to play. Not because of the great level design, devastating action and environment, but because of funny storytelling I have never got to find in any of the commercial games. Here, I was glad to die, while I was eager to hear my death commentary, leaving a good felling in me, even though I had to reload the game and try another way. And, however, you may stop doing so, it will be your very own decision, making you sad of what may have been waiting for you around the corner. That's what all the modders should try to accomplish. That the game isn't about the level, it's about the story.

wunderwafflz says
8 wunderwafflz

Aug 9th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

I really enjoyed playing through this espwcially because of the narrator. i tried all the endings/deaths and they were all entertaining! It was too short though but if they made a longer version it would get 10/10 from me

Admiral_Skeybar says
8 Admiral_Skeybar

Aug 8th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

Brilliant mod, so simple and yet very surprising and entertaining.

diediedie765 says
8 diediedie765

Aug 6th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

I happened to really like this mod. The narrations were top-notch, the humor was definitely there, the execution was nearly at expert levels, and the endings were all either hilarious or fascinating.

That being said, a few things could be done to improve it. More custom textures would have been nice, and more intricate and/or detailed level design would have made it more interesting. Specifically, a different work station for Stanley's office and a more appropriate-looking elevator, as well as different skins for Stanley's and the woman's models in the "Stanley was hallucinating" ending.

While the narrations were nice, I think you should have tied the sounds to the environment. I paused during one of the narrations, and it just kept going, so I missed what it had to say while I was otherwise preoccupied and had to sit where I was (in the game) in sullen silence while I waited for the elevator to come.

Other than that, top-notch mod, my friend. Top-freakin'-notch.

TheUnbeholden says
8 TheUnbeholden

Feb 16th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Interesting from a storyline perspective although its gameplay is kind of underwhelming and although it is of medium length it provides 7 different endings which provides a different perspective on the linear vs non-linear storytelling and the problems that arise. Its not so much a game as it is a thorough look at gaming. This is more of a academic piece than a enjoyable gaming experience.

Dylanmaxson says
8 Dylanmaxson

Feb 18th, 2012 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

pretey cool needs more work

tunakaradeniz3 says
8 tunakaradeniz3

Dec 12th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Good game but i cant rate 10 (im new)

Zunic says
8 Zunic

Oct 23rd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very...disturbing.

trrehater says
8 trrehater

Sep 10th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

amazing voice acting, but felt it was a bit short. played both as the goody goody and the oposition. highly enjoyable either way. definitly recomend.

Community Rating

Average

9.3

1989 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.