The Stanley Parable is an experimental narrative-driven first person game. It is an exploration of choice, freedom, storytelling and reality, all examined through the lens of what it means to play a video game. You will make a choice that does not matter You will follow a story that has no end You will play a game you cannot win ...it's actually best if you don't know anything about it before you play it :D

Review RSS Feed TrashCan-Man23 says
5 TrashCan-Man23

Aug 9th, 2011 3 people agree 0 people don't

Retract original review.
Not really a game, has no gameplay.

Kyou. says
5 Kyou.

Oct 23rd, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

Can't say I enjoyed this and with all the hype I was expecting something less average.

MasterOfPeace56 says
5 MasterOfPeace56

Jul 1st, 2013 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

Sadly, I did not enjoy this game. I don't understand what is so great about this game! Just going down a straight hall listening to this guys story? In my book, that is boring. There are a few good things about the game tho. The narration is great and the narrator explains everything in a non-annoying way.

Des1243xoxo says
5 Des1243xoxo

Jun 1st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

It's a really great game never played anything like it. It really gave me goose bumps

AyCe says
5 AyCe

Dec 9th, 2011 2 people agree 2 people don't

Nice game to kill some time, but I don't understand the hype... :(

PembrokeWelshCorgi says
5 PembrokeWelshCorgi

Aug 5th, 2011 2 people agree 3 people don't

I wasn't disappointed, but I wasn't satisfied. While the Narration and the Story are excellent, the level design was obviosly lacking. But since this is, what I'm assuming, a one-man project, I can understand why it's lacking. That said, I enjoyed this, but I can't seem to play it without wishing it was so much more. I'd love if this concept was improved upon and made even better. It has so much potential, and it really is a wonderful idea.

rcminor says
5 rcminor

Mar 31st, 2012 1 person agrees 4 people don't

"You will make a choice that does not matter
You will follow a story that has no end
You will play a game you cannot win"

Wow. This sounds just like real life!!!

Downloading now and looking forward to playing, sounds very interesting and cool.

Zuriki says
5 Zuriki

Aug 4th, 2011 6 people agree 9 people don't

The game itself is interesting, the narrative and story is captivating enough for the time it will take to complete the game (for the most part). But it's nothing special, we shouldn't give indie developers slack just because they are indie developers.

An example of what I mean is, the game is ugly. I know the author has mentioned they have 0 experience in mapping. But giving the maps a few more passes, aligning textures properly, aligning geometry properly -- there is even a few issues with pitch-black geometry in parts.

The game is also particularly short, I completed all the endings I could find (around about 10). None of which were particularly difficult to attain and each took about 5 minutes -- most of that is repetition of starting over. I believe it's possible there are a few hidden endings that I have missed and would be happy enough to jump right back into the game to see them, but I am not compelled enough to scour the depths of the game assets to find them like some other individuals.

All-in-all, I believe I gave this game a generous rating. If I were to justify it, I say I would take points off for visual presentation and lack of REAL re-playability once you've discovered the majority of the endings. But a large portion of points for intelligent writing, great narrating and the lovely irony of the "intended" ending.

Killatomate says
5 Killatomate

Apr 30th, 2014

No review provided

haleyrogers says
5 haleyrogers

Oct 5th, 2013

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

9.3

1989 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.