The Stanley Parable is an experimental narrative-driven first person game. It is an exploration of choice, freedom, storytelling and reality, all examined through the lens of what it means to play a video game. You will make a choice that does not matter You will follow a story that has no end You will play a game you cannot win ...it's actually best if you don't know anything about it before you play it :D

Review RSS Feed alemanders says
10 alemanders

Aug 4th, 2011 30 people agree 5 people don't

This is an exceptional mod. Beautiful narration.

Wire13 says
10 Wire13

Aug 1st, 2011 29 people agree 6 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Ok so I went through the game the way the narrator said the first time, and got the freedom ending then thought, this is cliche and can't be the real one. So then i went through doing the complete opposite (Going through the beginning of HL2, going through the hole in the map, going to the light and then getting the ending about the journey but im the destination for now.). After that I think that this very small free MOD deserves an award for "Best Gaming Experience Ever"! Now I'm saying that as a core gamer since I was 3, a believer than games can be art as long as that was an intent (like it was here), and as a future level designer finishing a traineeship at a game studio. This is a masterpiece! 10 out of 10 from me!

Jokerme says
10 Jokerme

Aug 4th, 2011 17 people agree 5 people don't

Something refreshing. It's great to see stuff like that.

Hous3r says
10 Hous3r

Aug 4th, 2011 14 people agree 3 people don't

It was simply amazing.

xXMaNiAcXx says
10 xXMaNiAcXx

Nov 30th, 2011 11 people agree 1 person doesn't

This mod is simply amazing. I'm not saying anything else or I would be spoiling it. Just play it, it is really an unique experience, really innovative.

msantorum says
10 msantorum

Oct 4th, 2011 9 people agree 1 person doesn't

Usually games do not intend to make you think, but Stanley will make you forget the textures, the light and maybe something else, except the narrator voice and the words he is saying.

I have forgot the last time that a game make me stand on my chair without breath in front of a black screen, but I'm going to remember this one for a long time.

This is the way that storytelling must play with the player, not using gorgeous graphics and pressing buttons cutscenes to kill small/medium/big bosses.

Thank you for a wonderful story, simple, deep, real...

Mr. Wreden, I hope you continue working on this industry, we need some fresh air and you have a hurricane with this parable...

Stupideye says
10 Stupideye

Aug 1st, 2011 14 people agree 6 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Fantastic mod, while it wasn't the prettiest, it was mind bending.
I played through all of the endings!

zeekthegeek says
10 zeekthegeek

Aug 5th, 2011 10 people agree 3 people don't

A fantastic story with great narration, short yet sweet.

CuervoSp says
10 CuervoSp

Aug 4th, 2011 10 people agree 3 people don't

Great job, I love this mod!

razzbarry says
10 razzbarry

Aug 3rd, 2011 9 people agree 3 people don't

Extremely clever, often hilarious game, that's as entertaining as it is thought provoking. Anyone who's interested in the potential of video games as a storytelling medium owes it to themselves to check this one out.

Community Rating

Average

9.3

1992 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.