The Red Alert, developed by the mod team of C&C Labs (makes of The Forgotten and C&C All Stars, undertakes one of the most ambitious tasks in C&C modding: to recreate and improve upon an original game. The mod, in development for Red Alert 3, is based off the original Red Alert's art and game play. Not aiming to model realism, it instead endeavors to bring the addictive heart-pounding game play of the classic to a world-class 3D engine, to bring back all of the classic units, including those from Aftermath, and to recreate the very "feel" of its art style. With The Red Alert, epic tank battles, MiG attack runs, and Cruiser strikes will be more than just fond memories — they will all be weapons in your arsenal once again! It was released on September 21, 2011 and was ranked the number one mod on Moddb.

Review RSS Feed Joshh says
8 Joshh

Sep 22nd, 2011 4 people agree 2 people don't

It's really well made and plays nicely, but on the art end I feel that the models could have been made more detailed and the effects could have been a little bit more varied.

All in all superb work though! Congrats on your big release guys!

RA3Unleashed says
8 RA3Unleashed

Sep 24th, 2011 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

Congratulations on releasing this mod. I'm an artist so I won't comment on the balancing and technical side of things:

-Infantry animations are extremely well done.
-I felt the texturing acually needed some fake shadowing, they didn't really blend in well with the maps. I know that the original RA didn't have very good texturing on the art, but I feel this is something that could be an improvement to the original in bringing it into 3d.
-I'm not very keen on the gap generator effect. I understand the princible behind why it was done as it was. I would suggest changing the surrounding circle so it doesn't cast a shadow, or even go as far as removing it completely. It may work better if just the buildings have the effect to show they are effected.
-The camera shake on the demo truck it a bit OTT.
-The models are really well designed and textured (with the exception of the shadowing mentioned earlier) and the animations (especially for the building deployment) are true to the original and very smooth.
-The chrono effect for the chronosphere needs to be scaled to match the size of the selector.

Sleyon says
8 Sleyon

Sep 26th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Excellent models, with perfect details. It literally feels like Red Alert just became a 3D RTS.
The only thing that bothers me is the "stupidity" of the AI's base building. It feels as if they have no idea of what they're doing, placing buildings and base defenses at random locations.
Otherwise a good mod. Will still be playing it, even with the random AI building ;)

Forcer990 says
8 Forcer990

Jul 4th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

This is a must have for any C&C fan. It is so well worked out in this engine. I stopped playing RA3 a long time ago, but with this mod it started to be fun again.

Graphics of the models could be made a little bit nicer, but I understand that it may be a hard thing to do if you want to keep everything as original to the RA(1) version.

A fat plus is the Atomic Bomb, damn that feels good to watch go down :)

[ITM]hammie says
8 [ITM]hammie

Oct 19th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

it does stunnig for a retro no doubt about that, however even though they are trying to keep it as retro as they can i personally still think they could make it a bit more realistic for example some of the animations are still as cheesy as the ones in red alert 3, i belive they could have also improved on the details on the skins of each model and use better sounds, but yetagain this is a difficult task even for proffesionals like these as they are keeping the game retro and bringing back the spirt of the original C&C red alert, which i can happily say they have definatly accomplished as they have brought back the retro music and the classic units from the original game and blended them in to this complex game engine brilliently.
Overall this mod has accomplished its main goal to bring back the retro red alert and is well on its way to geing a very populare mod, however because it is only at 1.0 so far it has room for more possible improvements which could make this mod even better than it already is!
So try it as this mod really brings back Red alert.

Magmafusion says
8 Magmafusion

Jun 11th, 2014

No review provided

SAI2057 says
8 SAI2057

Nov 27th, 2013

No review provided

BigJoe14 says
8 BigJoe14

Sep 5th, 2013

No review provided

Master5025 says
8 Master5025

Jul 19th, 2013

No review provided

saudate says
8 saudate

May 27th, 2013

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

9.1

259 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.