Probably the most popular mod for the original Mount & Blade v1.011 - now also for Warband!

Review RSS Feed Lueii says
9 Lueii

Nov 1st, 2011 21 people agree 2 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

This mod is utterly incredible! Everywhere I look I see the four years it took to make this world. From the orcs to the elven armor. The detail is staggering, every scene lovingly crafted, almost every armor textured to perfection. +5
The mod is well balanced and the immersion is total and complete. It immediately reminded me of an Elder-Scrolls Lord of the Rings game. +5
Now sadly there are the bugs. Several quests are broken and some of the enviromental textures (elven bridges and Gondorian stone work) need slightly newer textures or shaders and the solid green in some of the elven scenes need to be fixed. -1
But the experience itself brought me into the heart of Middle-Earth as no Lord of the Rings GAME ever did. 9/10

Also_known_as_Peter says
9 Also_known_as_Peter

Nov 1st, 2011 11 people agree 2 people don't

One of the greatest masterpieces I've ever seen.

Immersion 10/10
All of the areas, armors, weapons, characters, enemies, everything, is perfectly crafted, making the world feel alive. Furthermore, the sheer perfection of fighting against hordes of orcs, trolls, uruks, etc. is one of the greatest ever made.

Polish 8/10
Although the textures and models are perfect, there are still some bugs and crashes. However, I put my faith in the developers to fix all of those.

Magnitude 10/10
All of Middle-Earth, except Eriador, is depicted in this mod and made so in perfection!

0-LSD-0 says
9 0-LSD-0

Apr 11th, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

The fantastic screenshots were enough to make me redownload and reinstall Mount&Blade after, what, 3 years? It's truly fantastic, though because it uses the old M+B engine, the combat isn't very good (a great sub-mod exists for Warband combat animations, though it has some animation bugs and doesn't fix the terrible sword combat while mounted).

I'd give this mod a 10, but twice now i've reached a point in my campaign where the game will just crash at a certain point. The game is kind enough to make backup saves, but using those would still result in a crash once reaching a certain point in time in the game.

The new weapons and armour look fantastic, the new enemies look great and have a nice selection of sounds to go with them (grunts and...stuff), and the great new system of earning rank (and therefore rewards) with different factions is great fun, if a little grind-like and monotonous.

It's definitely worth downloading.

RubyxAllxDay says
9 RubyxAllxDay

Apr 16th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

its an amazing mod but would be the greatest mod ever if it included all of middle earth

bezment78 says
9 bezment78

Feb 28th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

It's one of the greatest mod for the original and the Warband version of Mount and Blade

Kudos to the TLD Team

PaulyG says
9 PaulyG

Feb 20th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This mod is a great experience for all people even if you don't like Lord Of The Rings. The lore is amazingly accurate and the armor looks like i would have imagined it.The only bad thing is that, it only includes the east of Middle-Earth.

revilius says
9 revilius

Feb 12th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

It schuld be 10, but bugs and rgl errors...

DiscreetPenguin says
9 DiscreetPenguin

Feb 8th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

I try my hardest to dislike this mod. Be it what looks to me to be crappy support and rude responses or the fact that I like the movies better (burn the heretic :P), reason after reason falls through as I play. I've logged more than one hundred and fifty hours on this masterwork of a mod, finished six or seven different playthroughs. Its turning coding into an art form has inspired me to begin work on my own mod for M&B. I will be honest, and you can vilify me all you like: from what I've seen, your responses to questions have been snarky, rude and moderately Tolkien-elitist when applicable. But this isn't a customer service review, and I'm not a customer. I have great respect for the work that these people have done out of the kindness of their heart and their own free time, and it truly is magnificent. The only reason that I won't give this a perfect score has already been mentioned, but rest assured that this is and was rightly deserving of the #1 mod slot.

lacey81 says
9 lacey81

Aug 27th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

this mod is awesome the detail is perfect and as is the weapons and others items verity the only thing that holds me back from giving this a 10 is the few minor but very annoying bugs. all in all this is the best mod i have seen for mount and blade

AragornIIElessar says
9 AragornIIElessar

Jul 2nd, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

The best Mount and Blade LOTR based as off today :)

Community Rating

Average

9.5

616 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.