The Great War is a modification for Company of Heroes meant to bring the war two decades earlier. This mod focuses on the later years of the First World War. Currently the two teams will be the British Expeditionary Force against the German Empire, however with time the team will try and bring some more nations in, such as France and Austria-Hungary. This mod will focus or realism but keep the game balanced enough to make it enjoyable. Things to look for in the mod are the famous artillery strikes and the infamous gas attacks. Trenches will provide vital cover for infantry while tanks will roll over the battlefield and instil fear into the enemy troops.

Review RSS Feed Heer_Sturmf├╝hrer says
9 Heer_Sturmf├╝hrer

Mar 24th, 2013 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

I think going on effort alone, this modification deserves nothing less than a 9. Good job, and good luck with future updates.

Sturm.

jonfinlay says
9 jonfinlay

Jul 9th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

I've played a few mp games, one game was amazing, true trench warfare (the other player was a novice like me). However the other games either used too many mortars or just sent too many men in at once. Please, reduce the efficiency of the mortars (either by extending the reload time, the damage, or best, decrease the accuracy). Secondly, please increase the effectiveness of the trenches and increase the damage caused to soldiers out in the open. This I believe would not just make the game more enjoyable, it would also be more historically accurate.

Warhead77777 says
9 Warhead77777

May 31st, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Honestly the enemy spammed Tanks as the Brits and armored cars/canyons as the Germans. My allies were random and completely unhelpful for the most part, I refused to work with them when they behaved foolishly.

Despite all of this, I was impressed during my five hours of solid gameplay. The trenches worked, I wished the other sides used them just once but they worked. Artillery is annoying to face and powerful, so long as you know where the enemy is. Gas is hit or miss, but that's how it's meant to be. Tanks are slow but effective if used right. Squads are large and hard to upgrade.

The Brits are easy to resupply and have better tanks, but the Germans have better supports.

If France was added as it's planned to be and the AI gets smart enough to use actual infantry on both sides, rather then builders with machines; this mod would get a ten. I assume it will get there soon enough

koloman1 says
9 koloman1

Apr 24th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very Realistic Simulation of WW1

Alma123 says
9 Alma123

Mar 19th, 2014 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

A Masterpiece, great job

Makakka says
9 Makakka

Sep 16th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Fantastic work!

Katumbela says
9 Katumbela

Jun 1st, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Good job !

Galahad77 says
9 Galahad77

May 10th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

I've been awaiting this release now for the better part of two years and i'm glad to say that the wait was worth it. The professional feel of the mod, the excellent unit layout and customisation options and the general feel of the battlefield make this a strong contender for the mod of the year 2013.

I may be a bit biased as WWI tactics definitely suit my COH play style: "take ground with assault units" - "build slit trenches and consolidate position" - "hold the ground while you build a mass of assault units and tanks to ovverun the enemy bases" but this doesn;t make it boring for me, quite the opposite and i'm sure players with different play styles will enjoy the challenge of adapting to the battlefield of the First World War.

The only reason this mod gets a 9 from me instead of a 10 is the content. Although i'm sure, and i hope that additional armies and an expanded tech tree will be included in later versions, the simple lack of them now takes it down a notch.

But that's just nitpicking :P it's a great mod, easy to download, easy to install and even easier to get the hang of playing. Top work guys, looking forward to seeing more from you!

Medico says
9 Medico

Mar 28th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Ultimately, whether you decide this mod is a 9/10, or a 10/10 really falls to one reason. Whether or not you're expecting things to be trench-warfare heavy.

I went in expecting a combat system that is parallel to your typical Company of Heroes gameplay, but hoping for a brutal war in which my opponent and I would establish lines, and basically sit in a stalemate until the heavier weapons come out.

What I found was that the mod gave a nice mix of the two. It is possible to entrench yourself deeply, and try to repel invaders - machine guns and flanking taking a far more critical role than in the original CoH, but it's not exactly encouraged. Trenchlines take a long while to set up, and as CoH is played, your opponent is constantly pushes on your points while you're trying to establish defenses, making it far harder to bunker it down into trench v trench with NML in between.

It's still fun, though. The units are nicely balanced, and each nation's doctrines are taken into consideration. It's just not what I was hoping for.

owain1122 says
9 owain1122

Mar 25th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

A very solid modification, I've been waiting for a WW1 RTS and this delivered, would have hoped for a little more trench warfare but COH is probably incredibly hard to accommodate that so I'm happy! A few bugs but that is more than understandable! Great work!

Community Rating

Average

9.3

290 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.