The Great War is a modification for Company of Heroes meant to bring the war two decades earlier. This mod focuses on the later years of the First World War. Currently the two teams will be the British Expeditionary Force against the German Empire, however with time the team will try and bring some more nations in, such as France and Austria-Hungary. This mod will focus or realism but keep the game balanced enough to make it enjoyable. Things to look for in the mod are the famous artillery strikes and the infamous gas attacks. Trenches will provide vital cover for infantry while tanks will roll over the battlefield and instil fear into the enemy troops.

Review RSS Feed Herr_Sturmf├╝hrer says
9 Herr_Sturmf├╝hrer

Mar 24th, 2013 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

I think going on effort alone, this modification deserves nothing less than a 9. Good job, and good luck with future updates.

Sturm.

koloman1 says
9 koloman1

Apr 24th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Very Realistic Simulation of WW1

semmert says
9 semmert

Feb 13th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

An impressively stable and bug free release of an equally impressive mod that nails most if not everything i sets out to do, from the new thrench system to the gas attacks.

Even the two factions(as of now) seems to be fairly well balance between eachother, allthough the enemys damn Mortar allways seems to outreach mine, this could be completely imaginated from my part of course.

The new tanks are also slow sluggish and deadly, wich is very spot on, oh and the Tank models are also very well done.

The same can also be said about the models for the various infantry and support units on both factions, and the new threnches is also very nice and well suited for me as a defensive player.

Overall a very promising start from a Mod and Mod team i wish all the best.

fallout123 says
9 fallout123

Nov 21st, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

COH has had a few excellent mods and this one takes the cake as the best one of them all. This mod took years of effort and it shows as almost every unit and doctrine show amazing levels of detail. I am a big fan of the grand offensive mode and its ability of creating huge battlefields that take long amounts of time to resolve, giving it a WW1 feel to it. The only problem I have with the mod is the trench system can give problem to my units pathfinding, this has led to my units dying a bunch of time. Besides that little problem, this mod is easily the best one that a COH owner can download.

jonfinlay says
9 jonfinlay

Jul 9th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

I've played a few mp games, one game was amazing, true trench warfare (the other player was a novice like me). However the other games either used too many mortars or just sent too many men in at once. Please, reduce the efficiency of the mortars (either by extending the reload time, the damage, or best, decrease the accuracy). Secondly, please increase the effectiveness of the trenches and increase the damage caused to soldiers out in the open. This I believe would not just make the game more enjoyable, it would also be more historically accurate.

Warhead77777 says
9 Warhead77777

May 31st, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Honestly the enemy spammed Tanks as the Brits and armored cars/canyons as the Germans. My allies were random and completely unhelpful for the most part, I refused to work with them when they behaved foolishly.

Despite all of this, I was impressed during my five hours of solid gameplay. The trenches worked, I wished the other sides used them just once but they worked. Artillery is annoying to face and powerful, so long as you know where the enemy is. Gas is hit or miss, but that's how it's meant to be. Tanks are slow but effective if used right. Squads are large and hard to upgrade.

The Brits are easy to resupply and have better tanks, but the Germans have better supports.

If France was added as it's planned to be and the AI gets smart enough to use actual infantry on both sides, rather then builders with machines; this mod would get a ten. I assume it will get there soon enough

Alma123 says
9 Alma123

Mar 19th, 2014 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

A Masterpiece, great job

Makakka says
9 Makakka

Sep 16th, 2013 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

Fantastic work!

Katumbela says
9 Katumbela

Jun 1st, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Good job !

Galahad77 says
9 Galahad77

May 10th, 2013 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

I've been awaiting this release now for the better part of two years and i'm glad to say that the wait was worth it. The professional feel of the mod, the excellent unit layout and customisation options and the general feel of the battlefield make this a strong contender for the mod of the year 2013.

I may be a bit biased as WWI tactics definitely suit my COH play style: "take ground with assault units" - "build slit trenches and consolidate position" - "hold the ground while you build a mass of assault units and tanks to ovverun the enemy bases" but this doesn;t make it boring for me, quite the opposite and i'm sure players with different play styles will enjoy the challenge of adapting to the battlefield of the First World War.

The only reason this mod gets a 9 from me instead of a 10 is the content. Although i'm sure, and i hope that additional armies and an expanded tech tree will be included in later versions, the simple lack of them now takes it down a notch.

But that's just nitpicking :P it's a great mod, easy to download, easy to install and even easier to get the hang of playing. Top work guys, looking forward to seeing more from you!

Community Rating

Average

9.3

326 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.