The Great War is a modification for Company of Heroes meant to bring the war two decades earlier. This mod focuses on the later years of the First World War. Currently the two teams will be the British Expeditionary Force against the German Empire, however with time the team will try and bring some more nations in, such as France and Austria-Hungary. This mod will focus or realism but keep the game balanced enough to make it enjoyable. Things to look for in the mod are the famous artillery strikes and the infamous gas attacks. Trenches will provide vital cover for infantry while tanks will roll over the battlefield and instil fear into the enemy troops.

Review RSS Feed audifryan says
8 audifryan

Mar 18th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Nice Mod!

TheEmperorOfMankind says
8 TheEmperorOfMankind

Mar 10th, 2014 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Its a really fun mod, that has much to offer. Its depth even goes as far as nearly being hard to distinguish from a DLC. However it could use a option to deactivate in-game tanks, as they are a huge nuisance to the overall play ability if you want to have a play style that heralds to earlier 1914 as this would allow a more garden variety atmosphere. I endorse the mod overall though it still NEEDS tweaks.

Ruffy7Hokage says
8 Ruffy7Hokage

Jul 10th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

mantab

TheVole says
8 TheVole

Jun 30th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

I'm giving this an 8/10 only because I could not play the first version at all (It crashed after 5 mins, but thankfully it's fixed now). Everything is spot on, though some more environmental objects would be nice.

dee_dan says
8 dee_dan

Jun 14th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Nice mod, i really like the play style and the unit type...

Keep up the good work lads :)

Haratac says
8 Haratac

May 20th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Very well done. Fantastic atmosphere, attention to detail and gameplay. The trench system is very well done and the introduction of gas is a fantastic edition. While it has its flaws - the AI not building enough defences (something I don't think can be fixed) it more than makes up for it.
Eagerly awaiting any future releases!

..BlackMamba.. says
8 ..BlackMamba..

Apr 5th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

This is the best mod I have ever played for coh. There is one problem whenever I start a skirmish match it only lasts for 6 seconds then says I've been defeated But multiplayer works fine. Other then that major issue it's a fantastic mod.

moraman says
8 moraman

Mar 31st, 2013 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

This mod is great. The new feel of the mod, with the change in pace to WW1 standards, is refreshing considering how many WW2 RTS games there are. The trench system is great, as it is easy to design impressive trench systems. The focus on infantry/artillery play is also nice, as the vehicles in this mod are extreme late game. That said, this mod has a black sheep;

At the moment I am writing this review, I noticed it causes problems with my Eastern Front Mod for CoH. Now, some might be saying, it could be random. Well, I tried both my EF mod and my EF ostheer beta mod, and both suffer lag issues and crashes. I have an aleinware, so my computer isn't the problem. I suspect that it is in the mod's coding, altering the base CoH game, thus making the EF mod laggy, but it worked twice before.

Overall, an excellent mod, but due to the possibility of hurting other mods out there, I have to give it an 8/10.

Andy_Whyberd says
8 Andy_Whyberd

Mar 25th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Good mod, really enjoyed playing it. Not so much a fan of the Damage System but then again im a Blitzkreig Mod player.

Few bugs that need to be ironed out but all in all a great mod.

Fry_Shepard says
8 Fry_Shepard

Feb 21st, 2014

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

9.3

270 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.