In The Evasion you once again take control of Adrian Shephard set shortly after the nuclear bomb that devastated the Black Mesa Research Facility. The Evasion is a small map pack for Half-Life. Development started in July 2011 and thus far is going slow but surely. Despite some hiatuses I plan on finishing it this year.

Review RSS Feed Urby says
9 Urby

Jan 5th, 2013 8 people agree 0 people don't

Worthy of Gearbox themselves!

This mod is incredibly fun to play. It's challenging, attractive and in some places, humorous. Everything a Half-Life mod should be.

Every inch of this mod has been painstakingly detailed and is a true inspiration to anyone who still maps for GoldSource.

The only reason I'm not giving this a 10 is because of a few issues concerning rotating doors which trapped me a couple of times and caused me to use noclip to free myself.

Other than that, absolutely sublime.

9/10

Joebama says
9 Joebama

Jan 5th, 2013 6 people agree 0 people don't

Excellent level design and awesome, but somewhat easy combat sequences abound in this pint-sized modification for Half-Life. I do have a few complaints however. On almost all of the boxes, they all used the same gib model which is the standard wood gibs, a little variation would have been better. And for some reason, the area where the Pit Drones are and later a teleporting-in Shock Trooper causes my game to crash if I die and reload a save. Though, I suppose this review is still somewhat biased since I was a tester! If you loved Opposing Force, give this a shot! I'm sure you'll like it.

P.S. Make a WON theme plx.

A nine.

poshgaloo says
9 poshgaloo

Jan 5th, 2013 3 people agree 0 people don't

Alright well I finally can play a mod that I have long awaited to play. I certainly loved the doom 3 sound effect in the mod and detailing and mapping were astonishing! I have never seen so much detail like this in an HL1 mod ever in my life. I got green with envy just from looking at all this complicated mapping that totally knocks mine out of the water! Pros and cons.
Pros:
Astonishing mapping
glorious detailing
amazing new music and main menu
out of the ordinary sequencing and enemy placement
nice little storyline with the gman
Cons:
Dodgy door placement
a glitch i found where the fish cannot hurt you (A GOOD GLITCH) but still a problem
And overall I really am not gonna judge the lifespan because every area and room in this mod is so detailed that the compiles must have taken a bit.
Overall, The Evasion is a beautiful gem that every HL1 fan should check out.

TheUnbeholden says
9 TheUnbeholden

Apr 13th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

AH! Refreshing. It continues the epic story of Shepard, we get to go through a environment that is some how reminiscent of opposing force yet whole heartedly unique to the authors style of claustrophobic areas interlaced with variety of enemies, fewer ammunition & minimal use of vent crawling. We get to fight some larger variety of zombies which is a welcome change, honestly I would have preferred a more climactic final fight but I guess with that M60 I was having high expectations. By the end I always do have more ammunition then I need so it would have made sense.

The level design is quite beautiful, with a fair use of 4 way corridoors that lead to different goodies so I usually explore to get the most out of the supplies. I really liked going to the surface after alot of that fighting/crawling and isolation. Good of the creator to do what few mods do and give us the proper ending. Its medium in length so perhaps being longer would be nice.

Its hard to come up with criticisms so I'll just say go and play.

supercapo999 says
9 supercapo999

Apr 27th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Every minute of this mod was filled with detail, really, if someone told me these were some "deleted levels" from opposing force i would believe them, despite the minor glitches it has and well, how short it is, i enjoyed every minute of this mod and i really hope to see a sequel in the future :D

NESfag says
9 NESfag

Aug 13th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Good mod, there is a bit of everything in this one (Xen, office, lab, outdoor,underwater, etc.)

I really like the design of indoor locations. It was detailed but still looked very Half-Lise-ish. My favourite design is the lab-looking enviromnent just before you use the elevator that crashes.

In terms of layout there are a couple of parts in which you can go into several locations in the order you want. Of course there is only one "true" path out of those but it's still good to be given this choice and sense of non-linearility.

There are also 3 (at least I found 3) secrets places to find which always is always a plus in terms of layout. One of them even triggers a cool scripted event.

I played on Hard and difficulty and health ratio was spot on. I was always around 50HP which made me stay on my edge but each time my HP started to get lower I'd find HP and armor to get back to 50. I died a couple of times though in the toughest parts.

There is tons of ammo so you don't need to be conservative.

My only grip is that I encountered a couple of bugs : during the elevator crash I was ******* around in the border of the elevator which killed me during the crash; after that I couldn't keep playing after the next cutscene. Loading the latest autosave would even crash the game, so I had to reload a previous save (which was only a couple of mins before so it wasn't a big deal).
Also in the last level, in the tunnel I got stuck in between the army tuck and the pile of sandbags. Against no big deal because I had just saved as well.

Recommended mod.
There is a bit of everything, design is clean and just detailed enough with interesting layout.
Gameplay is fun with a spot on difficulty.

playerlin says
9 playerlin

Feb 9th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

The only reason I gave 9/10 because it's short. :D

gLItcH004 says
9 gLItcH004

Feb 28th, 2013

No review provided

Qwertyus says
9 Qwertyus

Feb 1st, 2013

No review provided

Mikko_Sandt says
9 Mikko_Sandt

Jan 9th, 2013

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

9

43 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.