In The Evasion you once again take control of Adrian Shephard set shortly after the nuclear bomb that devastated the Black Mesa Research Facility. The Evasion is a small map pack for Half-Life. Development started in July 2011 and thus far is going slow but surely. Despite some hiatuses I plan on finishing it this year.

Review RSS Feed 2muchvideogames says
8 2muchvideogames

Jan 5th, 2013 5 people agree 1 person doesn't

Here's my playthru
Youtube.com

Highlights:
+ A nice Xen section in the beginning that ties in very nicely with the Opposing Force story. I think most people don't like Xen platformers very much, but I don't mind it, despite falling off the first time :(
- Notice how I had to manually restart on the elevator? I really think you shouldn't put the ladders in the shaft. Realistic as they are, it distracts me into thinking there's some secret outside the elevator (is there?) and I didn't find anything. The button in the elevator appears to be messed up. I pressed it and the elevator stopped and pressing it again does nothing...
+ The lobby area (around 11:00) is REALLY GOOD! The outside area there is also decent. And I'm glad this is by no means the only good-looking area in the mod!
+ The mod caught me off guard several times with ambushing enemies! Nice challenge and keeps me alert at all times.
+ Lots of side areas to explore and small hidden bonuses (especially batteries.)

A really good mod! And the fact that you included all the OP4 content comes with both good and bad sides.
Good: People dont need OP4 to play this mod
Bad: A bit slow to download due to amount of files

But I suppose it's better to have everyone be able to try your mod, so I think this was a good idea.

phipe says
8 phipe

Jan 7th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This is a short map pack/mod that has just been released, and it will most likely remain one of the best mods for Half-life 2013. But not just because it´s one of the first mods to come out this year!

The maps are very well-designed, detailed and varied. While it does not utilize new textures, the mod uses the weapons and enemies from Opposing Force, making it stand out among most other HL-mods that usualy resort to the stock arsenal. The extra weapons made it more fun than it might had been otherwise. For someone who has played over 30+ mods(And only bothered to review much less than that) the new sounds that popped up managed to genuinly suprise me.

I find only two flaws with the mod. The first one, is that the mod would crash if i tried to load a save in a certain area, and the second is the ending. The mod is short as the creator told us on forehand, and it ends just when it appears to escalate plot-wise. What you get out of this mod is a half-hour of fun.

There´s still life in HL1, and I hope the maker enjoys mapping enough to create more in the future. He has proven to be good at this, and for his success, I am tracking him.

Elitesse says
8 Elitesse

Aug 9th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

A good mod! In this mod you play as Adrian Shepard again, trying to escape from Black Mesa. The mapping is incredible, it's very detailed in every part of the rooms but gives a few little framerate problems. It uses a few Opposing Force weapons and has mainly some easy but enjoyable combat sequences. It has some survival horror elements, after going underground some monsters start making strange sounds and a creepy music plays. You don't encounter any survivor underground, only Race X Aliens! There are no Marines, only corpses, but a few survivors could have been nice! The ending is very good, unfortunately it's non-canonical.

A-Fake-Identity says
8 A-Fake-Identity

Mar 23rd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great mod, it actually feels like I'm playing something done by Valve or Gearbox. Only thing different though, was the cutscene at the begining. I've never seen a Half-life game with a cutscene. I would give this a 9/10, but it was too short for a 9/10. But... I'll give you a 10/10 on the level design. Great work!

PrinceEclipse says
8 PrinceEclipse

Feb 21st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

First off, the mapping in this mod is exquisite. Looks kind of like something Valve could make, and that's good.

The gameplay is good, although I came across some glitches during my playtime of the mod.

Not really else much to say (because I am sleepy as I am writing this review)

But yeah, I recommend this mod, and you should give it a try.

8/10

KrAbWaLk says
8 KrAbWaLk

Jan 8th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Although this mod was very short and I found 2 glitches while playing through it, I still really like it. The idea of the mod itself is neat, and the mapping is very well done (Everything is very detailed and it didn't feel very linear to me at all.).

One other thing that no one seemed to mention was the ambient music. 2spooky4me.

Anyway, this is definitely worth checking out if you don't mind that it's short.

WeZet says
8 WeZet

Aug 24th, 2014

No review provided

Xylemon says
8 Xylemon

Sep 6th, 2013

No review provided

Sephira-III says
8 Sephira-III

May 24th, 2013

No review provided

ivaka141 says
8 ivaka141

May 23rd, 2013

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

9

43 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.