Hey guys, this is my first serious custom story and I would love it if you try it out and give me feedback and tell me whether or not I should create a chapter two. It took a while to make it work properly (that includes everything looking good, no glitches and so on). It's finally complete that is, I'm busy hanging out with friends and playing other games and whatnot. Anyways, here it is!

Review RSS Feed M3NTALMAN says
6 M3NTALMAN

May 6th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

I decided to play this custom story, since I saw a video of Yamimash and Markiplier playing this.
The story is really "dry". Your friends just abandon you in some house, that they felt that it was haunted, and there's a random monster chasing you trought the whole game? The gameplay is basically just going from a room to another room, finding keys, avoidin monsters, finding keys, going trought doors... Also what is up with the place when you are going to the library? The ceiling especially. Also there are flying naked guy jumpscares. And when I went to the place called "Outside?", bunch of monsters attack me, I die and the game tells me, that I don't have the required items. I stopped playing there.
Sure this CS can be very enjoyable, but I personally didn't like it that much. 6/10

SovietMentality says
6 SovietMentality

Apr 24th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

It was way too short with tiny maps, and you were using nearly the same sound track in most maps.....nothing special

lilman says
10 lilman

Sep 19th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

I oved this mod good amount of jumpscares and some puzzle solving with a dash of monsters diservese 10/10 stars totaly!!!!

Gwweri says
7 Gwweri

Jul 31st, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Good for one play.
Sometimes it was difficult to find keys or find out what to do. I can´t agree with reviews saying "good level design". Yes, the rooms were mostly filled of details but there was too much of light and oil.
And going straight from one room to another was meretricious (and annoying, without storyline). This, in my opinion, destroyed the atmosphere.
The reason why I don´t mark this custom story as an average are jumpscares. Their timing is brilliant.
I more appreciate custom stories with great storyline, hiding and exploring but anyone who likes jumpscares and wants to play cs without much of thinking should try this!

Story 4/10
Gameplay 7/10
Atmosphere 7/10

+1 point to average (It´s not my sort, but others can love it)

Total: 7/10

DoctorKantus says
10 DoctorKantus

Jul 16th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Excellent custom story! Everyone should try this 10/10

robwk says
10 robwk

Jul 6th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

good story

FuturePerfect says
9 FuturePerfect

Jul 2nd, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Really great work. Few, but intense jumpscares and an overall fantastic atmosphere due to a nice little storyline that makes me not able to wait for Chapter Two!!

Lihatiski says
10 Lihatiski

Jun 20th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Super awesome!

davidd01 says
8 davidd01

May 24th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

good, not great. better than most custom stories in terms of gameplay and story. there are jumpscares/teleporting naked guys but its justified because the character is supposed to be losing his mind. the jumpscares are not overdone and im definitely going to play chapter two there was just nothing that makes you say "wow, im going to play that again!"

maddox078 says
9 maddox078

May 10th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

I've been playing a handful of other custom stories lately, but this is the only one to do to me what the original game did the first few times I played it. It still feels good to have to pause the game every once in a while to regain both you and your character's sanity. This developer seems to understand an important concept that divides horror games from movies, and also why the games are so much more nerve wracking. In multiple places throughout the story you are forced to actively use your wits for quick escapes and hiding, half the time a monster may go away, the other half they'll decide to stick around and try and chum it up with you. Those times they stick around are what give it such a frightening edge, as you are stuck sneaking around your enemies, but also you're often times left simply running like hell. This variety keeps out the monotony of actions we know all too well. It also utilizes a handful of jump scares, something that the best stories do without, but it's the timing and well planned jump scares that make them an additive and integral part of the overall experience. The level runs very smoothly as most rooms are separated by portals from every other, leading to frequent but expedited load times. My only complaint lies in the need for a bit more emphasis on the story, though that's likely to be elaborated on as the protagonist ventures further into wherever it is he is exploring/escaping, there still could have been a bit more to entice you and to leave you with cliffhangers to answer in the next installment, but since there is a lack of information, it gets hard to let your imagination come up with worst case scenarios for what might be going on and what might just happen to you.

Community Rating

Average

8.7

38 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.