The Citizen is set parallel to the events of the original Half-Life 2. The player takes the role of an ordinary man, pushed over the edge by the oppressive regime controlling his life. His home trashed, his family dead, The Citizen leaves his apartment for the last time. He seeks new friends, and a way to help the human resistance to smash the iron grip of the Combine. What follows is a winding tale of betrayal, determination and grief. Many obstacles lie in his path which require a sleek combination of agility, stealth, intelligence, and sheer violence to overcome

Review RSS Feed DJFingas says
8 DJFingas

Mar 26th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

This mod is amazing, stunning great! fantastic! no words fit this mod. You'll see as the game starts slow to progress into insane awesomeness! This mod blows your mind almost enough to make you think Valve made it themselves, trust me when i say this is worth it because Part II is 30.000 times better!

Phaota says
8 Phaota

Aug 11th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

An enjoyable mod with a couple of hiccups. Story-wise, it moved along smoothly and the locations were nicely done, especially the new areas not seen in HL2 like the theater and ending auditorium building. The voice-acting is okay, but not great. Seems most of the people involved didn't give it their all in the emotions and acting department, especially the squad leader in the end. His monotone, emotionless voice was really bad. I'm not an actor, but I could have done way better than that. I kept wanting to yell out, "Come on, man! Give it some gusto!" Escaping the apartments in the beginning was impossible without turning on "notarget". Even crouched down and moving slowly against the wall, the Combine soldier always spotted me, even though he shouldn't, especially wearing a mask like they do, which would kill all peripheral vision. The only other problem error was getting out of the train station. There is absolutely no way anyone could run through and survive a swarm of Manhacks of that size. I must have lured at least 30 down the stairs into the station loading area to destroy them and there were still countless ones buzzing around up in the area I needed to go through. In the end, I had to turn on "God Mode" to make my run, and even then, it was hard going since they were slamming me from all directions, impeding my forward movement a lot. I also did not understand the need to go up and ring the bell tower in the church in order to move forward in the mission. That would just let the Overwatch know the rebels whereabouts. All in all, it was a fun mod, but those two areas and the lack of enthusiasm in the voice acting brings the score down.

[MC]Pimpão says
8 [MC]Pimpão

Aug 2nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

This mod didn't call my attention at the very beggining, i gotta say there's a lot of quality material that wasn't show in any moment in the preview video or in the screenshots; i guess you guys are taking the risk of making peoples download the mod because of the high rates it get and then surprise themselves while play'n it. The environments on this mod aren't big deal but for a metropolis it absolutely get's the job done; classic urbane scenarios like church, sewers, supermarkets and railroads that contained lots of small details such as working stoves, TVs with custom shows and openable fridges, those features match perfectly with the environments and make you confy at the same time that gives you a realistic feel. storyline is what most caught my attention, there's no ******** like "You're Gordon Freeman" or "You're a nameless rebel", Hell No! You're a ordinary citizen that is taken unwittingly by a serie of happenings to become one of the most detachable resistance fighters, still the best of it all is that the mod doesn't start with a boring text explaining how you got into your actual situation, it makes you live every bit of it. There's a good quality gameplay on the mod that will please both, advanced and inexperient FPS players; the secondary characters that you meet on the way interact a lot (they don't jus't assist on the fights, they interact with the environment) and the mod also counts with a serie of easter eggs to be found and a real vivid voice acting that fits perfectly with it's respective characters. The NPC animations were pretty funny and creative and the G-man appearances were not too exaggerated and i like how he only interfered where he was really usefull. The cons weren't very significative; the church bell was too simplistic, the metro station, the leech pound, the workshop and all the airboat pathway after the gate could use some extra details and i would arrange the supermarket products laterally instead of frontally.
Final Score 8,2

flippedoutkyrii says
8 flippedoutkyrii

Mar 31st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Once again you find yourself in the shoes of some lucky shmuck who found an H.E.V suit ready for the taking.

And by golly is it a fun little adventure.

While there are some bugs to be found and getting the scenes to work can be a bit of a pain, not to mention the voice acting ranges from s'okay and average to grating and 'Oh my god, they didn't even TRY!, what good there is far outweighs the negatives.

I greatly enjoyed the action and scripted events as well as the level design, stealth and infiltration gameplay and the pacing of the mod overall.

It's far from perfect, but it's a great example of what source mods can offer :)

AGREGATo says
8 AGREGATo

Mar 25th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very good mod, with good gameplay and ideas!

Theevina says
8 Theevina

Mar 3rd, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

This is a good mod with decent variety. I just wonder how the citizen survives before getting an HEV suit which still doesn't make sense.

SAZB says
8 SAZB

Feb 8th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

nice

SkaarjZR says
8 SkaarjZR

Feb 1st, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Despite "puzzles", quite interesting to play!

Combie_A says
8 Combie_A

May 2nd, 2009 0 people agree 0 people don't

This is an average, with an okay story that won't drag you in but enough to satisfy your time playing. The gameplay is normal half-life 2, just like any shooter, no complaints. The map layouts are linear but certain maps have me confused. Overall this mod is decent enough for a download.

Jesko96 says
8 Jesko96

Feb 9th, 2014

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

8.4

407 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.