The Citizen is set parallel to the events of the original Half-Life 2. The player takes the role of an ordinary man, pushed over the edge by the oppressive regime controlling his life. His home trashed, his family dead, The Citizen leaves his apartment for the last time. He seeks new friends, and a way to help the human resistance to smash the iron grip of the Combine. What follows is a winding tale of betrayal, determination and grief. Many obstacles lie in his path which require a sleek combination of agility, stealth, intelligence, and sheer violence to overcome

Review RSS Feed Mariogamer1231 says
7 Mariogamer1231

Jul 2nd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

The storyline and setting do match HL2 and City 17. The things that I didn't really like were the voice acting and some of the maps. Sometimes the voice acting was good, and some were mediocre. such as Larry, who I believe didn't show much emotion in his dialogue. The map design sometimes didn't match the City 17 feel, like the library thing, where you had to go undercover in, and I felt that it barely resembled anything in City 17. But overall, I liked the mod, and I recommend getting it.

markic92 says
7 markic92

Mar 4th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Good mod!

UCeNSHNOW says
7 UCeNSHNOW

Jun 6th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

It was ok, but overall I wouldn't suggest it.
The game starts off with a confusing layout of story, then a "stealth" mission, after that the game started to get better, after getting through all of the battles I get rewarded with an awful ending and a decent/confusing conclusion.
It wasn't bad, it was just dumb in a matter of saying.
But I think this was acceptable with everything else being so good.
My major concern is the HEV suit and why or how it was in its location.

Dr.Doozer says
7 Dr.Doozer

Jun 25th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Overview: Overall, I found the mod to be a rather decent one (unless you count the voice acting, which I found to be nearly D-grade). Much like Half-Life: Precursor [which I know came after this, but so what? I'm doing a later take on this], nothing too earth-shattering, but a decent enough play that it merits the time.

Story: The story is a basic HL2 mod for you: new Citizen hates Combine, joins Resistance, fights Combine with arbitrary goal in mind. Though I couldn't help but wonder about some aspects: why is Breen doing his broadcasts from an office building when he could easily be safe up in the Citadel, where we've never seen him outside of? And what spurred on the betrayal? And why are Combine Advisers, who haven't been awoken yet, there? And why does G-Man suddenly come out of nowhere to help this random Citizen? Oh well.

Gameplay: Basic HL2 fare. HEV Suit somehow ends up on the player, collect the same weapons as you go along, yadda yadda yadda. Nothing I truly need to comment about. Aside from the stealth points, which were interesting. I would have liked to have seen more of that, but it still lost its touch when no matter what you did Combine Cameras and turrets spotted you. And the disguises were nice, but again very lightly implemented. It was a rather nice mechanic, though.

Mapping: Decent enough. Some rather dubious things, though, like the supposed Control Room only having a handful of couches and nothing else around. Some more detailing in the vents became apparent with a small pipe-fall, so that was nice. Though I always felt in some way like I was insanely cramped no matter what. No real breathing room, nothing beyond a direct hallway.

Voice Acting: Downright horrid. No emotion from any characters, particularly the Squad Leader near the end. I could tell he didn't care what he was doing and was reading off a script. If this project needs more voice acting in the future from better people, I'll do it.

In short, decent, but not really varied.

BeMaXXX says
7 BeMaXXX

Jul 4th, 2014

No review provided

Biscuit_BaroN says
7 Biscuit_BaroN

Feb 5th, 2013

No review provided

_Lōw_ says
7 _Lōw_

Jul 8th, 2012

No review provided

TheHappyCog says
7 TheHappyCog

Jan 24th, 2012

No review provided

Rhidgev says
7 Rhidgev

May 23rd, 2011

No review provided

floor-pie says
7 floor-pie

Mar 23rd, 2011

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

8.4

413 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.