Homeworld 2 meets Star Trek: Armada 2. Set in over all four Star Trek eras you will find three superbly balanced factions to face off against one another, the Alpha Quadrant superpowers! The versatile United Federation of Planets, the formidable Klingon Defence Force and the enigmatic Romulan Star Empire.

Review RSS Feed SwissKnight says
9 SwissKnight

Aug 20th, 2011 8 people agree 2 people don't

Fantastic mod, really does an excellent job of bringing Star Trek to Homeworld 2. Ships and weapon effects all look great and there’s a lot of little details that really make it come alive. Revamped hyperspace is a great addition as it makes combat and resource gathering much more painless.

Only downside is that most maps don’t have a colored skybox, making ships sometimes difficult to see against a mostly black background. Shipyard research also seems a little long, slowing down your midgame. Research is basic enough, which seemed like a plus to me, but if you like messing around tech trees you may be slightly disappointed.

Overall; well worth the download installation is easy enough, so there’s nothing preventing you from playing this right the hell now.

Aliah says
9 Aliah

Sep 13th, 2011 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

Very interesting mod that probes new areas in Homeworld 2 modding, and seems to faithfully recreate Star Trek battles(not a huge Star Trek fan, and even I liked the mod).
Highly recommended, if only to complete the sci fi collection.
Only downsides are the slowdowns caused by many heavy FX crossing the screen at once, mostly explosions.
Worth a download!

mmlee91 says
9 mmlee91

Aug 20th, 2011 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

Absolutely excellent mod - very impressive work! Well worth all the anticipation this week!

Absolutely love the effects of all the weapons and the ship rendering is extremely well done. I love the way ships manoeuvre around each other, phaser arcs and torpedoes are some of my favourite parts, simply stunning! Another excellent thing is the fact that warping around the map is actually a viable option, opening up the tactics a bit more than vanilla homeworld.

There are a few things that I would like to see changed, things which I assume will be addressed in future releases - Firstly, cloak effects are quite haphazard at the moment, though i gather from a previous comment that this is being looked into for the next version. Also I wonder if the shipyard mechanisms can be tweaked slightly so that ships don't simply appear out of nowhere. I also felt that the time in which it takes to build the shipyards should be shortened (at least for the first level shipyard) as it tends to slow down the game somewhat in the middle. My last little gripe is that the custom maps lack lighting, which i dont think does the ships justice. Certainly, its realistic for space, but I'd love to see my ships a bit more.

Overall, an absolutely brilliant piece of modding from a great team, breathing new life (and new frontiers) into an old game. I can't wait to see where this goes from here!

TrekkieStu says
9 TrekkieStu

Aug 20th, 2011 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

I think this is a very good start to a fantastic mod.

iopser says
9 iopser

Oct 12th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

a really good mod of star trek... really fun

MTGraves says
9 MTGraves

Aug 3rd, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

This mod is great, everything about this mod so far has been awesome and I can't wait to see more updates and a final version. Yet I gave the mod a nine for only 1 reason.

That I personally wish that you could build all the ships as the Federation. I know that I read somewhere that there will be Eras, but even during the Dominion War Miranda and Excelsior class ships were used.

So other than wishing I could build every class of ship, this mod is great.

As a side note, I hope they add the Centaur, Stargazer, Cheyenne, and Prometheus class ships. Oh and the Galaxy Refit Dreadnought from All Good Things.... Yeah....

mal98 says
9 mal98

Jun 19th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

This MOD clearly demonstrates what people with amazing talents can do if given plenty of time, determination, and knowledge of the 'Star Trek Universe'!

LT~Sagan says
9 LT~Sagan

Mar 18th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Overall a well done mod, the graphics are phenomenal. The warp effect is also well done, as is the cost of going to warp, just 10 RU's. I always hated the fact that ships had a pesky cost to go to hyperspace, but in this mod its a low 10 for any ship, even a capital ship.

Something which can be bothersome is that the maps can sometimes be dark, making the ships hard to see, as well as any stations and it can be hectic when the fighting breaks out.

Can't wait for the next version of this mod, hope they put the Borg as a playable race. They appear in a game mode called invasion which is basically survive waves of enemy ships. Keep up the good work!

EvilTurtle says
9 EvilTurtle

Mar 6th, 2012 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

really nice mod!

The sounds and new fx are really wel executed, i especially like the fact thay they have succesfully replaced the hw2 hyperspace fx with a really nice looking warp effect!

Fenix26 says
9 Fenix26

Dec 17th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

this is an incredible mod and im looking forward to the completed project.

Community Rating

Average

9.6

131 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.