Full concept MODIFICATION of S.T.A.L.K.E.R. Call of Pripyat that touches every game aspect including textures, sfx, music, weapons, A.I., items, weather, mutants, difficulty and much more!

Review RSS Feed Rebel674 says
9 Rebel674

Jan 29th, 2012 40 people agree 21 people don't

EDIT: After going back and replaying ShoC with AMK, I've revised my score of this mod upward from 8 to 9 and altered some of my pros/cons. This really is a fantastic mod and though I'd like to see the problems I listed fixed it is still an amazing mod.

Pros
+ Many of the new textures and weather effects are incredible. I particularly like the heavy fog weather effect.
+ The damage system makes firefights frantic and rewarding.
+ Most of the new weapons are exceptional, and I like the fact that some of the more exotic weapons (for example the M14) are one-of-a-kind (the way it probably would be in the Zone).
+ Ukrainian dialogue with English subs is the way this game was meant to be played.
+ The stamina system, contrary to popular opinion, is well balanced and accurate. Anybody who is criticizing it for being unrealistic needs to go take a jog with 35kg (75 lbs) on their back.

Cons
- Mutants and ambient effects in anomalies (radiation, poison, etc.) have been buffed and are (IMO) too powerful. A dog charging into you knocks out a solid third of your health.
- A lot of the vanilla meshes were not fixed. For example, the AK's ejection port is still on the wrong side. This is a major no-go for me with a realism mod.
- The Sniper class is very underpowered. 7.62 7N1 ammunition is so rare you will almost never have enough of it, so you end up using assault rifles and shotguns anyway until you can get a VSS.

Final Word:
My main problem with this game is really just a host of small design flaws that seem to screw up the overall game experience. There is no trader in Pripyat, but repairs now cost money - meaning that eventually you're going to run out of money in Pripyat and have to head back. Moving between zones - especially to Pripyat - is prohibitively expensive. Additionally artifacts don't seem to spawn properly for me (e.g. not at all) so I am left with few options for making money. Overall this is a great mod but a few of the decisions left me scratching my head.

LukeFerreira says
9 LukeFerreira

Jul 8th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Ok... MISERY is not perfect but all these people complaining about the difficulty of the mod need to realize this was made for a specific part of the STALKER community, if you want it easy play CoD or complete.

Pros:

-Many new weapons and variations of each weapon.

-Great atmosphere and graphics.

-Items are no longer just "good", a military vest is great for gunfights but completely useless for hunting artifacts, each item has it's own use to the player's necessity, bringing unecessary gear from your stash will just get you killed.

-THE BEST modded effects ever, helmets, scopes, eating and even a handheld flashlight that looks like it was alredy there all along before this mod.

-Hunting in this mod is dynamic, rewarding and fun, if you always wanted to make a living out of selling mutant parts, you will probably enjoy buying your first shotgun.

-NPC looting is dynamic, you never know what sort of random trinkets you'll find in a bandit's inventory.

So-so:

-Artifact hunting is more challenging, anomalies are dangerous as they should be, however, artifacts are heavy and not really that compensating, odds are you'll break even by selling artifacts due to insane armor repair costs (that is, if you don't get hit by an anomaly, in that case prepare your wallet).

-The addition of character classes makes the game interesting, however, some people who enjoy having a large variety of tools and weapons at his disposal might be a bit disappointed with class limitations.

-No optional minimap might make things a bit frustrating during gunfigths, since everything is brown you'll have a hard time telling friend from foe, on the other hand it makes being ambushed in the zone much more intense.

Cons:

-As beautiful as the textures are, they overdid it with the depressive atmosphere, good luck finding a single green plant, this "sad brown" filter seems to be present in every single inventory icon as well, which makes it hard to find items in your inventory... NoMoarSpace

J4CKAL05 says
9 J4CKAL05

Jul 6th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Looking at a lot of the reviews, I'm really really surprised how much negativity there is here. However, I think that mostly stems from the fact that people are more likely to go out of their way to complain about something than to praise it. You can see that from the fact that, although most reviews are negative, most of the votes are positive.

I have to give Misery a 9/10. The only reason it doesn't score 10 for me is because of a couple of issues (e.g. a couple of crashes, and some animation problems that haven't been fixed) but even those can be sorted with time. I could go on for hours about what makes Misery good for me, but due to the character limit - and the patience of the majority of viewers - I'm gonna just put it in quick, simple bullet points. Sadly I can't explain them much:

1. Much better visuals and audio design, certainly a big improvement over vanilla S.T.A.L.K.E.R. CoP.

2. MUCH bigger selection of items/weapons/weapon mods, gives the mod more depth and makes it feel more realistic and enjoyable

3. More refined mechanics that feel more realistic, e.g. the way emissions work, artifacts emitting constant radiation if not shielded properly, enemies surrendering, etc.

4. Much more of a challenge in terms of the game's economy and also the game mechanics. Health packs health slowly over time rather than instantly (and they're less effective anyway); weapons do more damage both to enemies and to you; mutants are more dangerous and therefore scarier. This game is not for the faint-hearted.

The bottom line is that Misery does a much better job than the vanilla game in one very important aspect: it makes you feel tense all the time and actually makes you feel like you're trying to survive. The vanilla game provided a great foundation with the S.T.A.L.K.E.R. universe, and Misery has taken it to new, exciting and gritty extents.

S.T.A.L.K.E.R. + Misery = one of, if not my favourite game of all time. Great job guys, keep it up :)

Explov3r says
9 Explov3r

May 30th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Too scary for meh :D JK

adriendu13009 says
9 adriendu13009

May 6th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very good but very hard sometimes

neeeksta says
9 neeeksta

Feb 7th, 2014 0 people agree 8 people don't

Monstrously good, scarily good - without competition!

ml33tn1nja says
9 ml33tn1nja

Nov 25th, 2013 0 people agree 8 people don't

I will be brief. 2.0 is VERY different then 1.0. While AT first I found it TOO hard I remembered the exact thing when I first played MISERY 1.0. The curve is high but once you find you play style or better yet that FIRST great weapon(one in great condition) the game begins to make sense and you adapted and change you tactics just to survive. Never before have I cared about ******* factions off but now, they open fire if they see you. And at night the game changes completely. Sure in the daytime you are being hunted at times but when the sun goes down it feels like a mixed of post Apocalypse and survival horror. Now it is not perfect (I LOVED the Stalker Series but none of them are the most stable games) Frame rate problems and rare crashes DO happen. One attack can be the end of you. With this mod using a few methods from the acronym "S.T.A.L.K.E.R." will no longer work, now you will NEED to use ALL of them just to survive.
Scavengers Trespassers Adventurers Loners Killers Explorers and Robbers Welcome to the New World Stalkers I will give a small prayer for your souls

FP541 says
9 FP541

Nov 1st, 2013 0 people agree 6 people don't

This is overall the best Game/Mod/Idea combination to me, i really really enjoy the way you guys have done all of that, and for free too! I can tell you're passionate about this work and I really appreciate it, the only thing that let me down was the poor performance (stuttering, freezing crashing and all of that) but I managed to solve it with the great help of this community, You guys made an excellent job, please don't stop working like that!

spittle8 says
9 spittle8

Oct 4th, 2013 0 people agree 6 people don't

Very difficult - you can't take chances in this game. The difficulty forces you to think tactically, for you are one of the weaker entities in the game. Every critter becomes a serious threat, and packs are extremely dangerous. You constantly have to worry about sleep and chow, and the environment is dangerous. It is very challenging, but rewarding as well.

The weapons and ballistics modelling is pretty terrible. Very disappointing on this end. I have extensive experience with a wide range of firearms and know a bit about external and terminal ballistics, and this is the great disappointment of the mod, for me.

Yarxov says
9 Yarxov

Aug 25th, 2013 0 people agree 5 people don't

This mod is a must, in fact if you do not have this game, buy it now for this mod (after playing through it once with CoP Complete or Vanilla of course.) it takes a good game and makes it amazing, survival horror and adventure at its finest, the bleak landscape is made even more enthralling and the Zone is much stronger. It, like any game and mod does have its cons as detailed by others, and minor nit pickings are easily forgotten wen you are immersed in the Zone.

Community Rating

Average

8.6

1743 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.