Full concept MODIFICATION of S.T.A.L.K.E.R. Call of Pripyat that touches every game aspect including textures, sfx, music, weapons, A.I., items, weather, mutants, difficulty and much much more!

Review RSS Feed Rebel674 says
9 Rebel674

Jan 29th, 2012 41 people agree 21 people don't

EDIT: After going back and replaying ShoC with AMK, I've revised my score of this mod upward from 8 to 9 and altered some of my pros/cons. This really is a fantastic mod and though I'd like to see the problems I listed fixed it is still an amazing mod.

Pros
+ Many of the new textures and weather effects are incredible. I particularly like the heavy fog weather effect.
+ The damage system makes firefights frantic and rewarding.
+ Most of the new weapons are exceptional, and I like the fact that some of the more exotic weapons (for example the M14) are one-of-a-kind (the way it probably would be in the Zone).
+ Ukrainian dialogue with English subs is the way this game was meant to be played.
+ The stamina system, contrary to popular opinion, is well balanced and accurate. Anybody who is criticizing it for being unrealistic needs to go take a jog with 35kg (75 lbs) on their back.

Cons
- Mutants and ambient effects in anomalies (radiation, poison, etc.) have been buffed and are (IMO) too powerful. A dog charging into you knocks out a solid third of your health.
- A lot of the vanilla meshes were not fixed. For example, the AK's ejection port is still on the wrong side. This is a major no-go for me with a realism mod.
- The Sniper class is very underpowered. 7.62 7N1 ammunition is so rare you will almost never have enough of it, so you end up using assault rifles and shotguns anyway until you can get a VSS.

Final Word:
My main problem with this game is really just a host of small design flaws that seem to screw up the overall game experience. There is no trader in Pripyat, but repairs now cost money - meaning that eventually you're going to run out of money in Pripyat and have to head back. Moving between zones - especially to Pripyat - is prohibitively expensive. Additionally artifacts don't seem to spawn properly for me (e.g. not at all) so I am left with few options for making money. Overall this is a great mod but a few of the decisions left me scratching my head.

LukeFerreira says
9 LukeFerreira

Jul 8th, 2014 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

Ok... MISERY is not perfect but all these people complaining about the difficulty of the mod need to realize this was made for a specific part of the STALKER community, if you want it easy play CoD or complete.

Pros:

-Many new weapons and variations of each weapon.

-Great atmosphere and graphics.

-Items are no longer just "good", a military vest is great for gunfights but completely useless for hunting artifacts, each item has it's own use to the player's necessity, bringing unecessary gear from your stash will just get you killed.

-THE BEST modded effects ever, helmets, scopes, eating and even a handheld flashlight that looks like it was alredy there all along before this mod.

-Hunting in this mod is dynamic, rewarding and fun, if you always wanted to make a living out of selling mutant parts, you will probably enjoy buying your first shotgun.

-NPC looting is dynamic, you never know what sort of random trinkets you'll find in a bandit's inventory.

So-so:

-Artifact hunting is more challenging, anomalies are dangerous as they should be, however, artifacts are heavy and not really that compensating, odds are you'll break even by selling artifacts due to insane armor repair costs (that is, if you don't get hit by an anomaly, in that case prepare your wallet).

-The addition of character classes makes the game interesting, however, some people who enjoy having a large variety of tools and weapons at his disposal might be a bit disappointed with class limitations.

-No optional minimap might make things a bit frustrating during gunfigths, since everything is brown you'll have a hard time telling friend from foe, on the other hand it makes being ambushed in the zone much more intense.

Cons:

-As beautiful as the textures are, they overdid it with the depressive atmosphere, good luck finding a single green plant, this "sad brown" filter seems to be present in every single inventory icon as well, which makes it hard to find items in your inventory... NoMoarSpace

J4CKAL05 says
9 J4CKAL05

Jul 6th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Looking at a lot of the reviews, I'm really really surprised how much negativity there is here. However, I think that mostly stems from the fact that people are more likely to go out of their way to complain about something than to praise it. You can see that from the fact that, although most reviews are negative, most of the votes are positive.

I have to give Misery a 9/10. The only reason it doesn't score 10 for me is because of a couple of issues (e.g. a couple of crashes, and some animation problems that haven't been fixed) but even those can be sorted with time. I could go on for hours about what makes Misery good for me, but due to the character limit - and the patience of the majority of viewers - I'm gonna just put it in quick, simple bullet points. Sadly I can't explain them much:

1. Much better visuals and audio design, certainly a big improvement over vanilla S.T.A.L.K.E.R. CoP.

2. MUCH bigger selection of items/weapons/weapon mods, gives the mod more depth and makes it feel more realistic and enjoyable

3. More refined mechanics that feel more realistic, e.g. the way emissions work, artifacts emitting constant radiation if not shielded properly, enemies surrendering, etc.

4. Much more of a challenge in terms of the game's economy and also the game mechanics. Health packs health slowly over time rather than instantly (and they're less effective anyway); weapons do more damage both to enemies and to you; mutants are more dangerous and therefore scarier. This game is not for the faint-hearted.

The bottom line is that Misery does a much better job than the vanilla game in one very important aspect: it makes you feel tense all the time and actually makes you feel like you're trying to survive. The vanilla game provided a great foundation with the S.T.A.L.K.E.R. universe, and Misery has taken it to new, exciting and gritty extents.

S.T.A.L.K.E.R. + Misery = one of, if not my favourite game of all time. Great job guys, keep it up :)

Info_Phil says
9 Info_Phil

Dec 9th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Hard and dirty, a grim style and dark execution.
In times of happy hand holding and fluffy tutorials in pseudo-realistic titles,
an actual challenge with thought-through mechanics fulfills
the wishes held back for such a long time.

MISERY takes the place of a classic with its timeless gameplay,
the possibilities for preparations from lovingly polishing your rifle with oil to keep it in shape
to the cooking of radiated meat, hunted with the last buckshot, pack a few cigarettes into the bag,
count your bullets, take a deep breath through the dusty filters of your gas mask and greet the
most dangerous place you chose to call your new home.

Welcome to the Zone, Stalker.

andrejchudoba says
9 andrejchudoba

Dec 3rd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

version 2.1.1
For me, there are some things that Misery does truly *perfectly*
- everything related to cooking/eating, from hunting animals (mostly fleshes for bacon:), through obtaining meat chops, to cooking interface and eating itself is just brilliant and so immersive. Radiation poisoning from the cooked meat can be easily nulified with just a bit of water, so even together with the expenses for the stove and fuel it's still a lot more cost efficient than buying ordinary healthy food (besides you can't buy a bacon so..). Some people complain about not being able to walk while eating. Well, I WILL NOT EAT MY CRISPY BACON WHILE WALKING THROUGH THE SWAMP. I want to sit down, forget about everything and enjoy this temporal moment of peace and happiness. No matter if you're home, at school, at work, or in the Zone. ALWAYS ENJOY YOUR BACON. (I'm dead serious)
- second, the casual everyday items. This sh*t really got to me. I was at Skadovsk, sorting out the stuff I got from the last trip, during which I let a pack of dogs kill a fellow stalker just so that I could have his gear. So I was going through his items and I came over a "picture of a beautiful woman", while 'Turn the page' was creeping on me from downstairs. And I felt like a bad person, and never did that since (but I always shoot the bandits, always). But with that I was sold to this mod. It's just these little things that add up to already strong immersion of this game. THIS is STALKER.
- third, graphics - I really like mutants retexturing, blowouts, weather, helmet huds, and the overall gloomy mood

Those features are basically the reason for my high votes. Ofc, there are still some things that could use some tweaks
- like combat balance - you know, I don't mind going down fast, but I would also expect them to go down fast, especially after I slammed them to the chest with my TOZ34 from like five steps, and also the AI is stuttering or glitching from time to time,
- also on the stamina system, sometimes it's even unclear to me how it works or why does it drop so fast:D, or what is this "ergonomics" attribute in vest upgrades, but maybe I'm just dumb.

These are but a small imperfections that are not really dealbreaking, it's just that they could still use some work, that's all. I kind of miss some simple custom quests like hunting for moneyz, or features like a manual magazine feeding, but that's only a matter of preference I guess. Overall a great mod, so far I'm enjoying it quite a bit. FOR BACON!

zax1150 says
9 zax1150

Sep 14th, 2014 0 people agree 1 person doesn't
This review may contain spoilers

totally love the difficulty of dark mode dark road......its what stalker should have been from the start.......

I do have the original movie of "the zone" & this is more what its like

jp_b36 says
9 jp_b36

Sep 13th, 2014 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Misery... I've been watching the mod for a long time but never got miself to download it but one day, after looking at all the images and the features and reading a lot (really a lot) of awful reviews i decided to give it a try and i must say i was not dissapointed.

I could say a lot of things about this, i could talk about the graphics, the survival element of the mod, the repair features, etc. But i have a story that resumes what Misery is really about:

I had just started my game as a Recon. After a complete failure in the bloodsucker nest quest and Grouse being ripped apart by the mutants just after starting the quest i was desperate for money. So i accepted Owl's quest to the Waste Processing Station.

I prepared myself this time, i had learned the rules of the game and understood how things worked in Misery. I got a couple of anty-personal mines and a silencer for my pistol and then i watched and waited. For days (in-game) i planned the attack. Did some simple quests and hunted some mutants during those days but everyday i went close to the Processing Station and watched. I watched the mercenaries and after some days of planning and waiting i learned everything about them, i knew how many men they had, i knew their guns, and how many exosqueletons they had i also knew their patrols and their rutines. Finally, after i got a simple night vision devise i was ready... and i waited some more.

It was a pitch black night and it was raining heavily "the perfect moment" i thought while leaving Skadovsk wearing only a trench coat and a gasmask and armed only with a TOZ-66, an old (and in really bad condition) SVD with only 3 bullets and 2 anti-personal mines i went to Preobrazhensky Bridge. From there i saw the flashlights in some mercenarie's heads i aimed carefully, i couln't afford to miss. One shot, one kill and the flashlights dissapear one by one. Soon the three bullets are gone and so i am. I dropped the rifle so i could run faster and i sprinted across the swa

ABJECT_SELF says
9 ABJECT_SELF

Aug 2nd, 2014 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

It's tough to narrow my thoughts on Misery 2.1 down to just 2000 characters when I've already spent over 20 hours playing it. Simply put, this is one of the most dramatic, comprehensible, and memorable mods I've ever seen for any game in any genre. The changes made to STALKER: Call of Pripyat aren't necessarily improvements aside from the graphics and AI upgrades. Rather, it's a complete re-interpretation of the base game, having more in common with Arma III than Call of Pripyat itself.

It actually took me a while to get into this mod. When I first launched it, I thought I had made a mistake. All of a sudden the tricks and tactics I had gained through my first playthrough of CoP were useless, and it seemed like I would never wrap my head around the daunting weapon and armor maintenance system or make sense of the new economy. Misery flips the table on STALKER veterans so quickly that we feel like we're just opening our eyes in Sidorovich's bunker again.

But oh, how patience is rewarded! Little by little Misery's new mechanics begin to make sense. Early deaths quickly teach you what you can't do while robust and surprisingly scientific in-game descriptions tell you what does what. You stop thinking about your overall mission and start prioritizing your survival by finding shelter, sustainable food, and income. Each piece of equipment you obtain opens up the zone for you a little more, creating a constant sense of progress with each little accomplishment. Before you know it, you're using a PDA backpack to set up your own private base in the wilderness, cooking your own meals and cleaning your handgun obsessively.

Misery's sense of progress and depth invites so much exploration that STALKER becomes an addictive experience. You play at night, the AM hours creeping closer and your eyes getting sore, yet you feel the impulse to go out for one more hike and see what you find. Then you come across a new gun, mutant or stash and just like that, entire weekends disappear.

Explov3r says
9 Explov3r

May 30th, 2014 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Too scary for meh :D JK

adriendu13009 says
9 adriendu13009

May 6th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very good but very hard sometimes

Community Rating

Average

8.6

1796 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.