Full concept MODIFICATION of S.T.A.L.K.E.R. Call of Pripyat that touches every game aspect including textures, sfx, music, weapons, AI, items, weather, mutants, difficulty and much more!

Review RSS Feed Serafine666 says
8 Serafine666

May 2nd, 2012 23 people agree 17 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Just to be clear: I really, REALLY enjoy this mod. I like how it's been given a facelift so everything looks smoother and nicer. I like that the designer either borrowed or made the effort to add in cool bits and pieces like a WW2-era assault rifle and the Mosin-Nagant 91/30 rifle. I like that he made the sleeping bag and repair kit work the way they were supposed to and I thought that the amusing little touch of a porn magazine giving you psychic protection was funny. As I see it, though, the mod-maker made so much effort to make the experience grittier, more realistic, and harder that he tipped into the territory of the slightly absurd. A zombie stumbles towards you emptying clip after clip from an assault rifle... but has 1 bullet if you snipe him before he starts shooting. Dressed in a Kevlar-lined vest and steel helmet, a dog bite takes out a big chunk of health. You can empty 7 .45 caliber bullets into a dog and it just makes them limp. You have a situation where every vaguely human person in an area is running around with assault rifles and no one has more than 6 extra bullets on them. The above situation and a shady black marketeer type has enough bullets that you can fire one at a zombie and one into your own head. Merchants won't buy a weapon unless it's brand new in an isolated area roughly analogous to a frontier on the edges of civilization where the only weapons that exist are in less-than-perfect condition. These things read less like "making it harder and more lifelike" and more like "tormenting the poor player for giggles". For me, this sinks a really fun and well-made mod that I like to play (as in, like to play so much that I happily restart the entire game multiple times after it crashes to desktop for unknown reasons) from "awesome" to "average."

RayBan_Stealth says
8 RayBan_Stealth

Apr 11th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Immersive and stunning mod, perfect graphics and gameplay, but stealth doesn't really work and npc's detect me from 200 meters away.

RJTPS says
8 RJTPS

Oct 21st, 2013 0 people agree 9 people don't

Amount of work is sublime.
Graphics, inventory, gameplay, everything is just better than in original game.

But amount of bugs is unbelievable. partly because of the main game, but there are lot of new ones as well. Very latest QF is already playable and enjoyable.
However, I hope a major patch that will solidify the game and eradicate remaining issues will be released in the near future.

hsynhkn says
8 hsynhkn

Oct 18th, 2013 0 people agree 10 people don't

Changed my opinion. It's really a good work, but also, it's kinda unbalanced, artificial and incomplete immersion. Definitely worth playing, but not worthy to wait for months for a new version.

rubberbandiv says
8 rubberbandiv

Sep 19th, 2013 0 people agree 9 people don't

Misery adds to STALKER in more ways than just the challenge. While it is true that, in Misery, you'll be working with fewer resources against more tenacious enemies, the real selling point here is the amount of atmosphere, the amount of flavor added by the mod. The HUD is stripped down to almost nothing - just a few non-obtrusive meters for health, stamina, and ammunition - and it looks gorgeous. The game world is altered heavily from the vanilla game, and appears far darker, more worn down, and more dangerous. The AtmosFear mod handles weather - and it performs admirably. Thunderstorms, heavy fog, and blowouts are amazing, and their intensity makes those moments when the sun finally comes out wonderful. The nights are significantly darker, and the changes to the gear system - you don't start out with a headlamp any more, and most light sources require power! - make this actually matter. A vast quantity of new items makes trading and looting a much more interesting experience.

The challenge added by Misery can be frustrating at times; some of its aspects feel cheap to me. Before you seriously upgrade your gear, enemies can typically kill you in a couple good hits. Mutants are especially troublesome - while they do give you a bit of warning, with a growl or a squeal as they charge you, at the start of the game this is not enough, as you're likely underequipped to take them on, regardless of how much prep time you get.

If you can get past the hairy start and the somewhat inscrutable new mechanics added to the game (repairing items is based around a great idea, but is implemented poorly, with different repair items difficult to distinguish, while food and radiation exposure are given in the realistic-but-not-practically-useful units of kcal and mSv), this is a fantastic experience. I do recommend looking around on the forums for a guide just so you aren't forced to engage in too much trial-and-error while you figure out how to repair that nice new weapon you found.

teddylovetales says
8 teddylovetales

Sep 2nd, 2013 0 people agree 8 people don't

this mod takes COP to a whole new level with more realistic challenge where ammunitions and med kits are scarce and the zone is not to be mess with without proper preparation

LunarHeavens03 says
8 LunarHeavens03

Aug 8th, 2013 0 people agree 7 people don't

I'm not english so I'll do my best to be understandable.

I have take the Assaulter because I prefer Assault riffles, and i'm really disappointed because I can't make 2m without being attacked from everywhere.
From the beginning a LOT of bandits attacked me, and 2 minutes later I have a nuclear issue (not sure of the word) so I died, I tried at least 5 times with my quick save and each time I die because of this nuclear issue, I have nowhere to hide, all buildings are open.
So I got tired and I start a new game and this time a group of exoskeleton bandits rolled me, even if i take cover i can't kill them, even making only headshots.
And finally I have a lot of items that I do not understand what they do, like glue or books of Playboy.

I have already finished the mod Oblivion Lost or the first STALKER but this one ... It's not that hard is it is just impossible, the knife do 0 damage so you can't kill an enemy quietly.

I put this mod 6/10 because I want the developers to improves it to make it more playable

bradley1612 says
8 bradley1612

Aug 7th, 2013 0 people agree 7 people don't

Without a doubt, this is the best mod for Stalker Call of Pripyat, although it is one of the buggiest too. Once all the bugs are fixed, this mod deserves 10/10. Many people say it is 'too' realistic, but i think if it wasn't, the game would be too easy.

Mazhlekov says
8 Mazhlekov

May 11th, 2013 0 people agree 6 people don't

Excellent Mod with deep and realistic atmosphere. I spare two points from the perfect score because the mod still have lot of bugs and crashes.

Sgt_Marlop says
8 Sgt_Marlop

Feb 24th, 2013 0 people agree 5 people don't

Misery 2 came out in an open beta. Very disapointing.

With that said, this patch fixed a lot.

Community Rating

Average

8.6

1740 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.