Full concept MODIFICATION of S.T.A.L.K.E.R. Call of Pripyat that touches every game aspect including textures, sfx, music, weapons, AI, items, weather, mutants, difficulty and much more!

Review RSS Feed NeoWhiteWolf says
7 NeoWhiteWolf

Jan 26th, 2012 23 people agree 2 people don't

Overall this is a strong mod with vibes of the old S:SOC mods like LURK and Oblivion Lost. But even with the increased difficulty there are some serious inconsistencies. But on the review as a whole.

:GAMEPLAY:

OK, before i go any further i have played the series thru on Master before so the games difficulty is known to me. When the game is installed you choose 1 of 3 classes. As a previous player i prefer the long shot game, So I played the USS Sniper. The starting equipment was lack luster. Others have called out a sniper being sent on a mission w/o a scope is kinda weird, but i give that up to the game using this as a balancing feature. No biggie there. But what gets me is the inconsistency in damage and well overall AI issues. First thing, while the features mentions zombies being tougher, this proves to be wonky and unpredictable. Like early in my game a zombies more than often could shrug a 7.64x54R round like it was nothing. I'm sorry a 185grain FMJ round would take a good 1/3rd of his skull with the bullet as it passes through his skull. But no more than 3 minutes later a 5.45mm x 39mm round kills a zombie in one go. Don't even ask on pistol rounds.

While the hit damage done to enemies is overall OK (Minus Zombies), the damage done to the PC is kinda ridiculous on Normal (First time thru on a mod i wanted to get a feel on the rules at play). An enemy at easily 100m plus peppers me with buckshot and even with Military Armor (Which even IRL the lowest level vest will stop buckshot at close range) i lose maybe 2/3rds of my life and become stunned for a moment. I appreciate the stun effect but that much damage from something my vest should have stop is kinda wonky. Also some enemies seem to be snipers with handguns and get lucky one shots from near max range. And zombies stumbling shooting from the hip seem to get near 1 shots at max range. While somewhat realistic, a lot of these changes seem to be made in the name of artificial difficulty.

jangalomph says
7 jangalomph

Jan 13th, 2012 9 people agree 3 people don't

The mod is graphically amazing. And really gives the zone a good feeling. But the difficulty of the mod is almost degrading of it. You can barely even survive more than 5 minutes in the zone. Just radiation kills you in a matter of seconds and its unbelievably hard to find anything to cure it.

OhNoesBunnies! says
7 OhNoesBunnies!

Aug 6th, 2012 5 people agree 1 person doesn't

After playing through the new release, I feel nothing has really changed. The AI still flips out, the lack of subtitles makes the game far harder than it should be (IE, you're a Russian who can't speak Russian), and sometimes you die without any reason.

It seems the MISERY team still can't fill the gap between realism and fun.

-

Misery 1.0 and 2.0 feel like different mods, with 2.0 being the underdog in all of this... and not in a good way. After playing for nearly 20 hours (I have had nothing else to do today, sue me!) the game is just... well, it's not as fun as the first release.

When trench-coat wearing NPCs can take two buckshots to the head at point-blank range (after pushing me out of the way in their panic with those invisible force-fields I've discovered they have), they can down me in two shots (while wearing full armor) with a low-quality pistol. This is a severe balancing issue, and I highly doubt it's the way anyone would want to play the game. I'd expect this kind of damage resistance on a zombie, but a bandit...?

Second, fix the subtitles. I will continue to aggressively poke you with my lengthy bunny stick (note, an actual stick made of wood, not bunnies) until you do. I'm having a hard time discerning between "RUN FOR YOUR LIFE" and "Take a seat" when traveling with fellow stalkers during a Blow-Out/Monster attack.

Third, do something about the head-wobble (no one walks like that but a cripple, and I used to be crippled, so I know) and jam getting in your eyes every time you're injured. I've got a friend who's served in the military and has been shot twice (chest and neck) with large caliber rounds, and he doesn't recall getting Call-of-Lamers jelly in his eyes when being wounded.

You should really consider adding optional files (yes, this is your mod, but you're releasing it to a public audience) that lamers like us can download so we don't barf every ten feet and have to napkins our eye-holes whenever someone throws PBJs at us...

Ranokin says
7 Ranokin

Jan 30th, 2012 9 people agree 5 people don't

The best mod for CoP I've seen so far, it does so much right, and only a couple things wrong. Unfortunately for me, those couple things are very, very irritating. Lets go over the pro's first.

-Fantastic visuals, bleak and depressing.
-Turns STALKER into a survival game, which is how it should be. Forces you to think and plan, and not doing so will result in death.
-Food and sleep requirements are relatively balanced.
-Firefights feel realistic, both the player and the other stalkers will go down from only a few shots with the basic armor.

Now we get into the negatives. There is a significant amount of artificial difficulty in this game and it can really ruin the experience. Having classes and specializations in this mod was a poor decision, mostly due to my next gripe, which is my most glaring problem with the mod. Ammunition is FAR too scarce. NPC's drop little to no ammunition when they die despite spraying bullets everywhere in the fight, and traders charge crazy prices for basic ammo. It's cool to have a small amount of ammo in a survival game, it forces you to make every shot count and think about how to use your resources in every situation; but this is going too far. Let me paint you a picture. In more than half of the firefights I have, I run completely out of ammunition. This forces me to run to nearby corpses and just pick up whatever weapon they might have had, use it for the 7 shots they had left, drop it, and run to the next corpse. This is incredibly frustrating, especially since characters are specialized in only a couple types of weapons. The next problem I have with the mod just makes the first problem worse. Mutants are way too resilient. I dont care how mutated it is, a psudodog should NOT take 5 shots from an assault rifle to kill. A snorker should NOT be able to take 3 rounds of buckshot at point blank range. Every fight with mutants will significantly reduce your ammo and health, and will leave you with nothing to show for it.

Xendrid says
7 Xendrid

Sep 4th, 2013 3 people agree 0 people don't

Excellent sound and visuals. Presentation is top notch. Ambitious amount of new features and overhauls. If this game was optimized and bug free, it would be the most immersive survival game ever conceived.

Unfortunately, it can be a true misery to play. Load times on an SSD are ridiculously long. Very prone to CTDs, which coupled with the long downtime waiting for the game to load, can be a real turn off. Vanilla CoP stutters when moving between cells. With MISERY 2.0 you will experience stuttering that is very immersion breaking. Sometimes pausing for an entire second at a time. The engine just doesn't stream in data smoothly causing the game to hitch. This was annoying yet bearable in vanilla CoP, but with the high quality content packaged in with MISERY it is almost crippling. Though I'm no expert, I'm confident that is what is happening.

The team would have been better off making their own game from scratch. With an engine that can handle this ambitious project to give players a hassle free experience like no other. Here is to the future!

Julianlau says
7 Julianlau

Jan 14th, 2012 15 people agree 12 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

My Review to MISERY:

- Graphics:
No discussion, Graphics are epic and the best so far in the STALKER Series. Really like the Textures... My mark for this: A+

- Sounds:
I really like the sounds. If you sit @ a campfire with your fellow stalkers and listen to the background noises while a thunderstorm is over your head. Sounds awesome... My mark for this: A

- Gameplay:
Well, this was really hard to estimate, but I tried my best. I began a new game and came into the zone as an Sniper and really got ****** up at the beginning. What on earth is my government and the USS thinking, when its giving me 10 Shots of Ammo for my Sniper Rifle (Without Scope). No, seriously, NO GOVERNMENT OR AGENCY OR WHATEVER will EVER EVER EVER send its agents into a zone, that is well-known as dangerous zone, with 10 Shots of Ammo for his 19th century sniper rifle without any Scope. This is a part that is just unrealistic. Second. After walking around for a few minutes, fighting and trying to get more than 10 shots of ammo, I got kinda tired. My professional trained soldier (agent) that is specialised as a sniper (Which can walk, run and stay hidden for days and weeks outside)cant continue walking while carrying 20kg in his backpack... unrealistic, too. There is far to less ammo available for me and I had to kill 40 Stalkers and find 2 stashes to buy myself a small amount of food, an even smaller amount of medic stuff and a useful amount of ammo (90 shots + 30 Pistol shots). The gameplay is way to overharded and not even realistic anymore IMO. My mark for this is: C-

- Performance and Crashes:
I had no crashes while playing on Win7 64bit. I reinstalled STALKER COP and then installed MISERY. No performance issues. Always >29 FPS. My mark for this is: A

- Installation and Manual:
Great Manual and easy Installation. My mark for this is: A+

All in all a good Mod, though i had no fun playing stalker anymore after 1 hour (because of the "overharded" gameplay lacks). I give you 7/10 points.

humvee500 says
7 humvee500

Oct 24th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

Very unstable at times...

kitube says
7 kitube

Dec 14th, 2013 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

Overall i think this mod has great potential, but there are some problems with it which cant be overlooked.
1. Iam not sure about all scopes but for some sniper rifle scopes the crosshair is just too thick to make accurate shots and iron sights just dont stand out enough.
2. When shooting at stalkers from a relative long distance and miss (thanks to the, to be honest, horrible scope) they dont notice it.
3. The AI stalkers shouldnt be able to take more damage than you, 2-3 headshots from a high calibre rifle should be fatal, no matter the armor (and this was in the starting area, so low end armor).

Piodrek says
7 Piodrek

Feb 2nd, 2014 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

First off, this review is based on playing the recon class in Black Road modus.

This Mod holds up to it's name and in a good way. I always enjoyed the first hours of every stalker game the most: No money, no gear, everything and everybody is hostile and you DIE. You die and then you die again. Nobody would survive the zone more than a few days if just wandering out alone and stalking the zone with a marakov in a zipper hoody. I had to stick to the random stalker teams for weeks on end to pick up the stuff they wouldn't loot and slowly work myself to a weapon to take on my first bandit, let alone, first quest. Patience and planning is the core of this mod. Many of the reviewers don't seem to understand this. Misery is the concept, it has it right in the name. I understand that many people have a problem with diverting from the supernatural theme of stalker, and the mod has a lot of illogical decisions within it's system, but from the design to mechanics of sleep, hunger, weapon wear there's nothing comparable out there.
Economy needs fixing, there are a lot of substancial points of criticism out there, I won't repeat them here and the team is on it.

This mod made me, for the first time, really stick to day and night cycle, because simply having nightvision just doesn't cut it to go out on a raid alone. It made me think thrice about changing equip, or taking every broken weapon from corpses and then not being able to make it back to the safehouse. It made me rationing my food, and it really felt like I spent a year in the zone before advancing from rookie to novice! This mod will keep me busy for months and years to come!

I give this mod 7 out of ten, because there is still a lot of room to adjust and optimize, but this MOD showed me once again, why gaming on the PC is so beautiful. I haven't bought a new game in years, and only thanks to the never tired modders of the STALKER franchise.

Thanks MDT and every modder and fan of S.T.A.L.K.E.R. worldwide

amisdaman says
7 amisdaman

Aug 7th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

A lot of really impressive work has been put into this mod but as of now, at least for me personally it isn't stable enough for me to play. I've had a good number of game crashes and save corruptions. I've never experienced corrupted saved games in STALKER before this mod. Every once and a while isn't a huge deal at all but it's gotten to the point where both my backup save and quick save both are corrupted and I essentially lost all progress I had made on the game. This is a problem. Other than that the mod is pretty good. Some of the balance might be a bit off though. NPCs are able to use the Kar98 very effectively while I wasn't able to kill a single NPC with it. The anomalies are much stronger than in other games and mods but that's just the style of mod but it doesn't align with my personal preferences. The mod is graphically stunning and isn't that hard on your computer. my two year old rig can run it with a few hiccups on high. It would be nice to be able to open the porn mags.

Community Rating

Average

8.7

1669 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.