Full concept MODIFICATION of S.T.A.L.K.E.R. Call of Pripyat that touches every game aspect including textures, sfx, music, weapons, A.I., items, weather, mutants, difficulty and much much more!

Review RSS Feed RinGuy says
4 RinGuy

Jul 31st, 2013 40 people agree 4 people don't

Let me just say this.
I really enjoyed Misery 1.0.
It had the perfect balance of simplicity and challenge. Each step forward felt fun and rewarding, it REALLY did give me more hope that maybe the modding community could hold up the now abandoned series.
Not only that but it was relatively customizable, I personally didn't like the boring bleak textures, so I added Absolute Nature green on top.
Beautiful.

But 2.0?
It has way too many items for it's own good, the limitations to a ton of equipment and weapons are annoying, and trying to manage all of this together makes things an absolute headache. I'm not saying I don't appreciate what you guys are doing, because I do tremendously. It's the final outcome that makes me extremely disappointed, this is multiplied tenfold due to all the hype you guys built up, and the way you lead us on in some ways.
Want to improve more?
Keep.
Things.
Simple.
This DOES NOT mean you should remove features, it means you should explain them to the player in a way that they can grasp, and makes them WANT to keep playing.
Make things easier to access, for instance make cleaning weapons not limited to a certain condition percentage.
Adding limitations IS NOT difficulty, it's tedious. It makes the player frustrated and overwhelmed, especially with the huge amount of features.

I do appreciate what you guys have done, I've been following your work since the beginning, but it just isn't working.
I remember one of you mentioning a while back that you wanted to keep this mod simple and to the point.
I'm not seeing it.

OpposingFarce says
4 OpposingFarce

Aug 2nd, 2013 27 people agree 2 people don't

Sadly this mod suffers from very severe item bloat and new, unintuitive mechanics. For some reason sewing and gun maintenance kits are single use and can only be used on equipment above 80%. I just pay for my stuff to be repaired, but this is also way too often. Degradation is way too quick.

Unfortunately the mod is also horribly unbalanced. Most human enemies will take 3 mosin shots to the chest and 2 to the head, while they can kill you with quite less from a pistol. Dogs can incapacitate you in one-two bites.

Everything this mod does to change the aesthetics, such as diversified weapons and STALKERS, is great. New gameplay features like stashes are also good. However, new eating and weapon maintenance mechanics are poorly implemented. But mostly the awful balance and bug oversight means I cannot recommend this mod. (IE, English subtitles dont work.)

MeanderingBeing says
4 MeanderingBeing

Jan 30th, 2012 20 people agree 3 people don't

Alright, I decided to post a review after testing this mod as thoroughly as I can... And the conclusion I came to is a 4... This is based on patch 1 & 2.

Summary: On the surface, this would seem like a great mod. The things that make this mod great are what makes it stand out from others, but the things that hurt the mod are what kills it for most people. In my opinion, it's those same things that make the mod flop on its face.

Pros:
The sound is awesome. Bloodsuckers, flesh, and tushkanos really stand out in this department. My only complaint is that I wish they had kept the original sounds in addition to the new ones, simply because I thought highly of them as well... but that is merely personal preference.

Visuals are wicked, albeit lacking in color. If you're willing to look past the fact that everything is brown, the high-res, frightening textures really come through. Again, I wish they had kept vanilla textures as well, for variance and nostalgia's sake. I find it odd to see a 100 copies of the same flesh: so variance in the textures would definitely improve my already high opinion of the skin-work.

There is a huuuuge selection of guns in the game. I am very pleased with this.

Cons:
The guns are nowhere near as realistic as people say. Sorry, but that's the truth. This is usually my #1 complaint for games and mods, but let's face it: this is STALKER, not Call of Duty. On this note, however, I may work out a patch of my own to fix damages and ballistics.

Artificial scarcity of ammo and medical supplies is possibly the most frustrating aspect of this mod. This takes place in Ukraine, where 7.62x54Rs, 7.62x39s, and 5.45x39s are a nickel a piece. In the mod, you're lucky if you can find 54Rs at all.

Damages are seriously bass-ackwards. A few other folks claim to not have this problem, but I am having a problem where I can point blank a STALKER or zombie in the head, and it won't die. Even with a .22, a shot to the head is it. Center-mass shots also dont

diroxas says
4 diroxas

Aug 13th, 2013 15 people agree 0 people don't

Probably the best mod of Stalker COP, yet has quite a few bugs and some ridiculous balancing issues. One of the biggest issues, is the burn damage, it appears to be more than four times more damaging, making thermal anomalies not worth checking out.
EDIT
As I played the mod further, I encountered LOADS of imbalances, bugs and just general immersion breakers/absurdities. Far from what was promised/expected. Sadly,so far, Misery 1.0 is much better.

jangowolf says
4 jangowolf

Jan 18th, 2012 18 people agree 3 people don't

I like how it looks and sounds but I don't like how it plays. I don't like how I'm forced to use the russian voice overs.

Right from the start I noticed the HUD was different, I got used to that. I don't like how I only start with one clip of ammo when mutants are so dangrous and hard to hit in a panic.
I tried to gather more resources at the first safe area, Sandonkov, but with only 500 cash I could only buy food and the guy wasn't even selling the ammo I needed. I didn't really think much of any other supplies except ammo so I grabed some quests and ran off.
Came back from some quests filling like a badass, might as well call myself rambo. The traders still were not selling ammo for the weapon I used and any other method of gather ammo is not worth the effort. I would have gone looking for an artifact/anomly because I head those were changed too, but with the high difficulty and low reward and well not being able to even play because I can't find ammo I found it not fun to play with this mod active.

If they gave me more clips from start and more supplies on enemies and higher cost of artifacts I would keep playing. It seems odd that I'm going through all this trouble for something not even worth the experience.

It still looks nice. I enjoyed taking a nap under the stars, in the middle of a fire fight, and in the middle of a large body of shallow water.

Forgot to mention how annoying the head shake is in a firefight. I end up passing through a crate and getting disorented. Also the person yawns and can black out, which is also a pain. Dude just can't get moving when it counts.

KDBW says
4 KDBW

Aug 4th, 2013 14 people agree 1 person doesn't

Congratulations, you have broken the game ...

Seriously, the MOD is absolutely unrealistic and barely playable, a trained special forces soldier that can't walk 100 Meters and needs to eat about a ton of food every hour? Anyway a loaf of bread costs 1000 Rubel?

You die from two dog bites and the enemies (that respawn like crazy) can take about 3 SVD shots in the chest?

The Radiation is also way to severe.

Mutants are generally overpowered. I mean I tried to kill two dwarfes about an hour ago ... I just could't do it ... no way, they give a **** about headshots and kill you instantly, what the hell? The only way to get rid of them was to kite them into some bandits that killed them in an instant ... why are bandits able to do with pistols and broken submachine guns what I can't do with a high power sniper rifle?

Anyway, there are lots of bugs and I had a few crashes too.

It's still a game and should be enjoyable, but this is just annoying as hell, I mean every bandit can kill you almost in one hit? That's no "challenge" that's broken.

Sorry for my bad english, I'm a Kraut.

GKAlaric says
4 GKAlaric

Aug 5th, 2013 13 people agree 1 person doesn't

First off I would like to thank the mod devs for making and releasing this mod. And I'm sorry if I come off as harsh.

This mod, while having some great ideas and fun game-play elements, feels like what I find on everybody in this mod, a broken gun. I like the game-play, though I do have a few issues with some of its functions. Example 1: NPCs just spraying and praying even though I have the "NPC unlimited ammo" turned off. Example 2: It seems that the NPCs never jam even though their gun has like only a bar of durability left. But you know I could get by those issues. While this is annoying, it isn’t game breaking for me.

But you know what game breaking is? How this mod seems to break at any little thing. That could range from me saving to just trying to trade. I reinstalled S.T.A.L.K.E.R. COP for this. So I know it's not something like a mod conflict or something of the like.

And yet it crashes so much that I'm seeing more loading screens than anything else. Not only that but it seems to corrupt my saves after every other crash. I'm not even overwriting any of my saves. I make a new hard save every time. But that doesn't stop this mod from crashing or forcing me to make a new game.

I've read that this mod hogs a lot of ram. So I did as the FAQ said, and lowered all the settings that could take up more ram. It didn't solve anything. The game runs smooth (To which it does when I have it set to max) but dear god. I better not EVER save. It turns the game into "IRON-MAN RUN". So not only do I have to worry about it just randomly imploding on itself. I have to worry about dying.

I've read that the devs are working on a patch which fixes some CTDs. Which is great news, but that won't change what I've experience. Maybe I'll try again when the patch comes out. But for now, I really can't recommended this to any of my fellow Stalkers.

mccreary says
4 mccreary

Feb 5th, 2014 11 people agree 0 people don't

I've enjoyed all the stalker games through the years, and use various mods (the COMPLETE mods are the only ones I recall using by name) to change things up or make the game more realistic / harder. So naturally, Misery seemed to be what I was looking for. I was wrong.

I'm only going to talk about the negative things that I noticed since I have limited space. I do appreciate lots of the changes and the scope of the mod, though.

The first thing I noticed was the lack of HUD, but that effectively means I just use my PDA more often than I would have before, which is annoying, not hard. If you had just a blank map and a journal with the quest information written down in it, that would be great.

The second thing is that firefights are incredibly frustrating due to how many bullets it takes to kill anything and how few it takes to kill you in return. Personally, I've played enough mods and games like this already. This is the second easiest way to make a game 'harder' the first being 'add more guys.' I think the 'lack of bullets' complaint stems from this problem.

The radiation damage in this game is extremely difficult to judge. I rarely feared the radiation in vanilla CoP, even on the hardest level of difficulty. Because it was so easy to rid yourself of radiation, not knowing exactly how much you had or were taking was fine. In this mod, you need specific information on both the amount you currently have, and the rate you are getting it. Other environmental damage was similarly hard to judge (and very high, I won't say it was too much, but I was surprised at the level), but it doesn't have the lasting effects that radiation does, so it isn't as annoying.

I think there is more to enjoy in this mod than I have experienced, if I could actually do something. Exploring the helicopters is nearly impossible, as were the other 'easy' starting missions. I would love to try this mod again if changes were made. Overall, it felt tedious, rather than challenging.

HangPhyr says
4 HangPhyr

Aug 6th, 2013 11 people agree 2 people don't

I like the additional content and the spirit of the new features, however the mod won't be enjoyable by the majority of Stalker fans due to the completely overboard difficulty at the start of the game.

I felt as if it was a massive accomplishment if I could travel 50m without having to quickload.

Shale_ says
4 Shale_

May 29th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Misery is not fun. It's an endurance match: a punishing, unrewarding, bug-ridden slugfest. Play it until you hate yourself.

Be prepared to spend half your playtime staring at the load screen, because every hazard in the game has been modified to kill you stone dead within a couple of seconds and, thanks to the completely broken economy, any kind of slipup will cost you dearly, assuming it doesn't just obliterate you outright.

Artifact hunting is utterly worthless - expect to come out of every anomaly with a wrecked suit that needs ridiculously expensive repairs and, if you're lucky, a shiny paperweight worth less than a block of chocolate.

Most of your money will be earnt by running around murdering people, very slowly and painfully lugging their broken guns back to civilisation and selling them for a pittance. Mmm, feels just like World of Warcraft.

Marvel at the lack of directionality in Misery's sound effects - gun reports are a thing of the past, and you'll never know where the hell anyone is ever shooting you from. Unaware enemies will moronically wander over and stare at a wall you fire your gun at rather than looking for the source of the gunshot, since apparently they can't hear them either.

Boggle at inexplicable additions like invisible (think bloodsucker) zombies that crash your game if you save/load too close to them.

I just got done slamming my head against a brick wall trying to penetrate the iron forest, only to run out of bullets and get murdered by omniscient bandits and mercenaries every time I attempted to get back to the Skadovsk. Now I'm going to go hang myself with my mouse cord. Thanks, Misery!

Community Rating

Average

8.6

1792 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.