Full concept MODIFICATION of S.T.A.L.K.E.R. Call of Pripyat that touches every game aspect including textures, sfx, music, weapons, AI, items, weather, mutants, difficulty and much more!

Review RSS Feed Dukedepouille says
3 Dukedepouille

Aug 6th, 2013 48 people agree 11 people don't

Not only MISERY is an elitist project bound to exclude and frustrate most of the masses it’s been teasing for many months. It’s also a version of the game finally very remote from the STALKER spirit. STALKER is my favourite game franchise ever, because i have never found myself so powerfully immersed in a game, or even in any other imaginary world. MISERY looked like it was going to define nothing short of a new standard for this immersion, but it tremendously failed because its obsessive hardcorist component far outweighs all others.

Maybe this should not come as a surprise. This fundamental splitting from the STALKER spirit was actually embedded in the mod’s aesthetics. An all-grey-and-brown world is not what STALKER was about, quite the opposite: the franchise’s artistic balance relies primarily on the alternation between concentrated, filthy grimness, and explosions of greenish bucolism; between moments of intense, horrific warrior tension, and moments of enchanting, warming, poetical relief. This subtle mix is what makes these games so incredibly absorbing, so uniquely rich in terms of atmosphere, so bewitching. While the grim part clearly dominates all STALKER games, its monopoly in MISERY’s looks and feels induces something simple: this is not a STALKER game. This is the game of some guys who liked STALKER, felt like it would be better without any of the relieving and greeny bits, and thus wanted to turn it into something entirely different.

Most of the people who, like me, had the highest hopes in this mod, probably didn’t see this yet because they’re still under the influence of the massive buzz, trying to keep themselves convinced that MISERY is still the spiritual heir of STALKER 2 or something, and that it only needs some polishing. Yet sooner or later they will have to handle this painful truth: MISERY is not STALKER, it never will be, by any standard, and this should have been stated loud and clear repeatedly by the development team.

balci says
3 balci

Jan 14th, 2012 59 people agree 21 people don't

didn't experience a single crash, performance is okay at very best, economy is one of those things that have worsened since the last version as well, don't see any point in paying 47k+ to repair and AK when I can buy a completly new one for half of that.

everything seems to just be really brown and grey though, and then there is the fog damn near all of the time, none of that is pleasing to look at.

most new items seem to do absolutely nothing, or work as rags to repair equipment with, and you don't really want to eat mutant meat.

most guns on the other hand are still completly broken, most of which show no improvement from misery 1.0, some are even somehow worse.

Galil sight picture is clipping. tokarev, PPsh, K98, and a bunch more (nearly all) are all severly misalligned. then there are all the hideous vanilla stalker guns that have gotten a new mediocre texture slapped on top, and thats just the few ones I did see, I think I'd just be in for more disappointment if I kept on.

none of the handguns so seem to have proper animations either, most of them consists of changing an invisible magazine and drawing the slide 2mm back, no locking back on empty magazine, no hammer movement, nothing.

most animations in general are really bad, actually, makes you wonder if anyone at all worked on it.

realy don't know if I want to continue playing this, already really tired of the 2 guns that were actually well implemented, from the last three playthroughs I've done.

exactly what did you spend so much time on? apart from new useless items and mutant hunting, its as if I'm playing a slightly worse 1.2.

major props for options to turn off mask HUD and infinite NPC ammo though, you're also pretty good at photoshop to show off your mod.

vesania668 says
3 vesania668

Oct 22nd, 2013 28 people agree 1 person doesn't

Oh, look at that one alone stalker! I'm going to kill him and steal his stuff.

Bang.

Bang.

Bang.

Bang.

Bang.

Bang.

Bang.

Am I shooting blanks? No? I see blood. How come he's not dyi-

Oh, look he 360 no scope killed me in on shot.

That basically sums up this mod. Every time you get into combat with anything, it turns into you wasting an absurd amount of ammunition on the enemy no matter if it's a human, pig, boar or even dog. The vast majority of the time it feels like your guns are loaded with faulty ammunition or blanks. It becomes pretty frustrating after the fourth, fifth or sixth time once you realize that this game isn't "challenging" by making the combat so skewed in your enemy's favor. For example, I once shot a bandit, in the back, point blank range with a shotgun. You're probably thinking, "Oh, well, that had to have killed him, right?" Nope. He survived, spun around and shot me in the face, killing me instantly.

If you're looking for a mod that makes Stalker: Call of Pripyat more like Dark Souls, in the sense that it's challenging (but ultimately fair) and rewarding, you're looking in the wrong spot. Misery just unbalances everything and calls it, "challenging."

lucidstorm says
3 lucidstorm

Feb 20th, 2013 51 people agree 17 people don't

1) Enemies shooting hundreds of bullets but having just a few in their pockets

2) Stamina decreases too quickly, considering the emission rate that's a frustrating combination

3) vendors not buying unique products if their usage is below 75%. Trust me a vendor would buy a f2000 even if it were below 25%.

4) cave textures are terrible, some terrain/concrete textures too.

FBtheUndead says
3 FBtheUndead

Jan 14th, 2012 122 people agree 81 people don't

With the intention of being realistic, it ends up feeling like its "overly" realistic, while some aspects make sense, others do not. The idea that a trained military sniper gets too tired to even move after WALKING about 100 yards, only carrying 10 pounds of equipment, seems silly to me. A normal person might get tired, but military personnel are trained to run for miles with much heavier equipment.
The ai could still use work, their detection system is most certainly unrealistic and can be very easily abused. Vendors won't buy weapons that have been worn at all, which all of them are since it is "hard to get good weapons into the zone." It doesn't make sense that all vendors would only buy and sell weapons in perfect condition if this were the case. A smuggler can get better weapons in then the military, who controls what goes in an out? Come on now.
A decent mod, the retextures look like silly grimdarkness, the designer is clearly more interested in his own opinion as opposed to the community's though.
You should probably just stick to vanilla on master difficulty.

Kuzkula says
3 Kuzkula

Aug 1st, 2013 30 people agree 3 people don't

I give it a 3.

That 3 is all the work that actually works in this. The updated pretty much everything is so astonishing, but it's still the main storyline and zone we all know and love.

The glaring 7 points removed come from the mods heavy imbalance issues. Things take way too many bullets to drop, ammunition is worth more than gold, repairing weapons costs more than new weapons, and frankly the x-ray engine can't seem to take this much abuse. If it could handle at least dual-core processing or higher, it might be able to handle what we throw at it, but for now it seems to be broken. It was nice while it worked, but now it's nothing but crash to desktop after crash to desktop.

The developers spent way too much time on this to just ignore these issues. A fix will come soon, i'm sure, and when it is, i will review that as well. Hopefully in better light.

TheBearBlaster says
3 TheBearBlaster

Jan 10th, 2014 20 people agree 0 people don't

An excellent attempt to create a real zone of exclusion, but when you set goals that high expectations are even higher. This is not a difficult mod, this is a PUNISHING mod. Let me explain that difference, Dark Souls is difficult, but everything follows the rules the player does, i.e. the difficulty isn't due to cheap factors designed solely to make life hard for you, it's beacuse you are having to outfight and outwit equals in terms of power and ability. In misery that isn't the case, enemy humans soak up more bullets than you, run farther than you carrying more equipment, suffer no environmental hazards, and apparently think 5% of an items value is a fair price. Even early missions meant as tutorials in the vanilla game are nearly impossible without basically sitting around hoping people die on their own so you can loot them, or that 2 boar won't murder you in the first 30 seconds of the game. All this for the sake of "realism" and there are such gaping holes in items and weapons it's a little insulting that the development team made those mistakes, numerous firearms use incorrect models (FAMAS, AEK 921) or are chambered for the wrong ammunition (Mosin Nagant, STG 44). For this mod to fail not only in delivering a satisfying gameplay experience but in the only possible redeeming factor of the game is unacceptable, uninstalled until some MAJOR improvements are seen.

mentalsyphon says
3 mentalsyphon

Aug 12th, 2013 21 people agree 1 person doesn't

PROS:its the prettiest mod out thare better then complete 2:massive amount of new items from food to weapons theres tons of new stuff CONS: EVERYTHING IS TO DAMN EXPENSIVE 100000 to repair a gun im gonna get rid of in a hour is disgusting 2:healing and repairing weapons is confusing and convoluted and some repair items have the same stats and might as well not exist 3:to much items at times im talking more just healing and repair items i feel like im playing eve with all these stats and again more items do the same thing making it cluttered in your inventory 4:healing takes to much time using a medpack blacks you out for 10 seconds using a bandage makes you stop for about 5 and you die in about 2 shots i understand its supposed be realistic but stalker isnt a game meant for realism you gun down 10 dudes at a time multiple times in this game good luck getting threw those fights without save scumming conclusion play misery 1 it keeps the weapons and the theme and does not have as many probs

Dragonstone says
3 Dragonstone

Sep 3rd, 2013 18 people agree 0 people don't

I am aware of all the excellent features this mod provides but its just impossible for me to enjoy it.

Loading times are extrem long so be prepared to take some time to receive the extra content!

Even pressing F5 or ESC to simply quicksave or go back to the menu laggs the game out/not responds which results in waiting 2 minutes for the action to happen.

I am not occuring any serious errors or crashes except these unbelievable long "loading" times.

I dont have a NASA computer but its pretty good so I dont expect my specs to be the problem.

If this is fixed, or you can enjoy the content even with these problems this mod is just great! Spend some time with it because its not making it easy for you. Realism = Difficulty ^.^

FaceEmbrace says
3 FaceEmbrace

Sep 4th, 2013 17 people agree 0 people don't

If you want to go through Misery this is it. Super tough.

Crashes a lot :\

Community Rating

Average

8.7

1676 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.