SoGE is a Star Wars Total Conversion for SoaSE: Rebellion with it's roots in the Homeworld 2 mod Star Wars: Warlords which features the two primarily sides of the Galactic Civil War, the Clone Wars, and the Yuuzhan Vong War. The current public version works for Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion 1.80/1.82+ and, with or without, all DLC.

Review RSS Feed biwot says
9 biwot

Oct 10th, 2013 5 people agree 0 people don't

So far, it is the best Star Wars mod for Rebellion to date, and possibly the best mod period. The only reason for me to give it less than a 10 is because of inevitable RAM lag this game suffers. If there is one thing people love is large fleet battles, and unfortunately it is not possible after certain amount of time.

Other than that, this mod is brilliant. Great directions on how to install, looks great, runs smooth (when not overrun with RAM), and sounds just as amazing.

Orion9212 says
9 Orion9212

Jul 25th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Absolutely amazing mod. Been playing it since it was release and loved it every time I played it.

Only one thing that bothered me that made this a 9/10: Other Sins mods, such as Star trek Armada, show ship wreckage during battles which adds to the feel of the gameplay. And I have seen many ship graveyards in my time on those mods :D
If the modders for Galactic could implement this feature into this mod, this would certainly take it to a 10/10 in my books!

-Orion

Jared_Kane says
9 Jared_Kane

Jun 28th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

9/10 Because has some Bugs some Glitches . But it is the Most Insane Star Wars Game i ever saw from RTS view :D One problem i have is withe the Star wars Galactic Map with 553 it doesnt load it but i have 32 GB RAM and the Newest INTEL CPU and ALso GTX 980 may somebody has a solution for this :D But Insane good mod pls keep it up !!! :)

DarkPeliconious says
9 DarkPeliconious

Feb 9th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

Never having played any of the other sins games before and my sole purpose for buying rebellion being for this mod and one other, I'd have to honestly give the game a nine out of ten.

Some reviews talk about the income rates being outlandish and crazy, but to them I raise two arguments. One, if the currency is really that bad, or the mod in general is really bad to them, then they could always not play it and play the base game or swap to a different mod.

But second, (And also one of the few reasons I give it a nine and not a ten) it seems like there's still some cleaning up or refining that could be done, or is in progress. Whether or not it's being looked at, will ever be looked at, or maybe it was even intentional... There's some elements in the game that seem rough. For instance, starting with over nine hundred capital ship crews. Or how most frigates and corvettes are generally pretty bad depending on your faction. (I.E. Empire's only real viable ships are the ISD Command Ships, ISD II's, and Tectors which, If possible, it would be neat to see some slight variations in the models but I can imagine that being pretty hard to pull off.)

Now don't get me wrong, I definitely see this as being a capital ship oriented game and I personally love how it is, but I digress.

More or less, I like to think of Sins of a Galactic Empire as its own game rather than to stack it against the vanilla Sins or other Mods because when that happens, no one's ever happy about the slightest details.

I'm eager to hang around and see how this mod develops and definitely can't wait to see the new factions. So if anything, To the Mod Developers: Keep up the awesome work!

TerrorMango says
9 TerrorMango

Jan 24th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

Really enjoyable mod. Very indepth addon to the base game.
If you like Star Wars, you will like this

9/10

ExtremeTaco says
9 ExtremeTaco

Jan 23rd, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

Really really fun. Each faction is varied, the tech trees do feel a little incomplete and some factions are slightly more powerful than the others. The mod is both very impressive visually and audibly. Highly recommend this mod to any sins player.

Goldielocks says
9 Goldielocks

Dec 2nd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

An utterly fun and fantastic work of art! Expansive and long lasting; loads of units means maximum replay-ability! I cannot thank the creators enough for the hard work and effort that has gone into this game!

LT~Sagan says
9 LT~Sagan

Nov 9th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Awesome mod, I love the ship models and the memories that it brings of Star Wars Rebellion, way better than Empire at War.

There are a few things but nothing can be perfect. It is true that the large number of cap ships is different to any other game, but in the star wars universe there were many Star Destroyers or Venators cruising the star systems so it fits, you just have to change your strategy. It's not realistic to have 6 Venators holding the galaxy in line. In Star Wars Rebellion I could easily make one fleet of 100 star destroyers, I even had 3 Death Stars and it all went well, granted this is not that game but the ship scale mimics it.

I have noticed that frame rate goes down after 4 hours of gameplay. I was playing in a 91 planet map with 6 players and then tested a small map of 2 players. The frame rate mostly goes down due to all the ships because the small map ran smoothly the entire time. I upgraded to more ram and this fixed the problem.

Overall this is a great mod, one that I will continue to play for a long time.

OmnipotentSnail says
9 OmnipotentSnail

Aug 12th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very good Star Wars conversion overall. Well optimized too - I get less lag in the late game than the stock game and most other mods, even with massive fleets of Star Destroyers. Planet sizes have been scaled up significantly, making them feel massive like they should, and ships are faster across the board to compensate. Culture and culture stations are quite important, and the limit on capital ships is removed (though the more advanced ones can be quite expensive to prevent spamming).
Playable factions include those from the movies: the Republic, CIS, Rebel Alliance, Empire, and two from lore: The Yuzaan Vong Empire and the New Republic. All have their own ship lineups, strengths and weaknesses - for example, the Republic capital ships are fast, rather fragile and can field huge numbers of fighters and bombers, while Imperial Star Destroyers are very powerful all around, but expensive and with rather weak fighter support. The AI plays each race well and can be quite a fearsome opponent. Combat is much faster and more decisive than the stock game due to the (almost) removal of shield mitigation.
The only area for improvement I see is in making each faction a little more unique. As it is, there is almost no variation in Military Research trees between factions, and support frigates for the most part are simply reskins from faction to faction.
Overall a very fun, well made and beautiful conversion.
9 / 10 great job guys and I can't wait to see what comes with future updates

G3NUINEchief says
9 G3NUINEchief

Jul 13th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

I really enjoyed crushing the rebellion with the imperials. 9/10

Community Rating

Average

8.8

461 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.