SoGE is a Star Wars Total Conversion for SoaSE: Rebellion with it's roots in the Homeworld 2 mod Star Wars: Warlords which features the two primarily sides of the Galactic Civil War, the Clone Wars, and the Yuuzhan Vong War. The current public version works for Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion 1.80/1.82+ and all DLC.

Review RSS Feed biwot says
9 biwot

Oct 10th, 2013 3 people agree 0 people don't

So far, it is the best Star Wars mod for Rebellion to date, and possibly the best mod period. The only reason for me to give it less than a 10 is because of inevitable RAM lag this game suffers. If there is one thing people love is large fleet battles, and unfortunately it is not possible after certain amount of time.

Other than that, this mod is brilliant. Great directions on how to install, looks great, runs smooth (when not overrun with RAM), and sounds just as amazing.

Orion9212 says
9 Orion9212

Jul 25th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Absolutely amazing mod. Been playing it since it was release and loved it every time I played it.

Only one thing that bothered me that made this a 9/10: Other Sins mods, such as Star trek Armada, show ship wreckage during battles which adds to the feel of the gameplay. And I have seen many ship graveyards in my time on those mods :D
If the modders for Galactic could implement this feature into this mod, this would certainly take it to a 10/10 in my books!

-Orion

OmnipotentSnail says
9 OmnipotentSnail

Aug 12th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very good Star Wars conversion overall. Well optimized too - I get less lag in the late game than the stock game and most other mods, even with massive fleets of Star Destroyers. Planet sizes have been scaled up significantly, making them feel massive like they should, and ships are faster across the board to compensate. Culture and culture stations are quite important, and the limit on capital ships is removed (though the more advanced ones can be quite expensive to prevent spamming).
Playable factions include those from the movies: the Republic, CIS, Rebel Alliance, Empire, and two from lore: The Yuzaan Vong Empire and the New Republic. All have their own ship lineups, strengths and weaknesses - for example, the Republic capital ships are fast, rather fragile and can field huge numbers of fighters and bombers, while Imperial Star Destroyers are very powerful all around, but expensive and with rather weak fighter support. The AI plays each race well and can be quite a fearsome opponent. Combat is much faster and more decisive than the stock game due to the (almost) removal of shield mitigation.
The only area for improvement I see is in making each faction a little more unique. As it is, there is almost no variation in Military Research trees between factions, and support frigates for the most part are simply reskins from faction to faction.
Overall a very fun, well made and beautiful conversion.
9 / 10 great job guys and I can't wait to see what comes with future updates

G3NUINEchief says
9 G3NUINEchief

Jul 13th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

I really enjoyed crushing the rebellion with the imperials. 9/10

VectorX96 says
9 VectorX96

Jul 13th, 2014 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

This here is an awesome mod... 15 minutes in I encountered the CIS playing as the Republic, they immediately tried to destroy me after entering my controlled space, ship after ship came through. Next thing I know I'm in a full scale battle. While trying to hold them back, the pirates decide "Lets go f*** with this guy too", No reaction GiF could capture my face when a fleet of I'd say 35+ ships jumped to my backyard... Resulting battle - EPIC, near death experience, 9/10 good mod.

Some of the other critics/raters/reviewers or whatever they wish to be called are to nick-picky in my opinion to see a good, fun mod. I've been waiting for a legit Star Wars mod for SOASE for a while. I think this is it. What some also don't seem to understand is that its a total conversion mod, meaning near everything is changed. What some also aren't understanding is just how large military fleets were in Star Wars, spread throughout a GALAXY!. Honestly this mod shows what it would have been like if it was say, a Sector war or something instead of Galactic, but with the same resources, something similar to Star Trek conflicts how they just threw unnecessarily large fleets at each other and had like just one huge, major, battle at a time...at least that's what I can recall... need to review my Trek.

Fatman1017 says
9 Fatman1017

Jul 3rd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

this new release for this mod is great, i love star wars and it really gives you the freedom to pick and choose how you want to play, like do you want to be the republic and fight the empire. The scope of this mod also is amazing covering 6 different races and allowing for massive battles.

Razgrizroar says
9 Razgrizroar

May 29th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

All models are done beautifully, an the scaling was well done. The speed on strikecraft and ships is questionable but above all it's a job well done.

Aenarion_(Jasperz0r) says
9 Aenarion_(Jasperz0r)

Jan 14th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Certainly a very entertaining mod! However I can't give it a perfect 10/10 due to some minor stability problems with the highest graphical settings.

Wanner-Panzer says
9 Wanner-Panzer

Jan 3rd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Gread Mod ! Like the re-scaling and the massive BattleFleets. Graphics are nice ( some mini-bugs it seams , but nothing important ). I personaly have problems with runtime-errors and minidumps with this mod , but it seams to be my personel problem. Cant wait for next ( hoppefully for my stable ) version of this Mod , Good work ! Peace out , Ich bin draussen !

GenezisO says
9 GenezisO

Dec 29th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

almost perfect

Community Rating

Average

8.9

401 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.