SoGE is a Star Wars Total Conversion for SoaSE: Rebellion with it's roots in the Homeworld 2 mod Star Wars: Warlords which features the two primarily sides of the Galactic Civil War, the Clone Wars, and the Yuuzhan Vong War. The current public version works for Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion 1.80/1.82+ and, with or without, all DLC.

Review RSS Feed gundam_pheonix says
8 gundam_pheonix

Dec 16th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

its good and all, but it definately has some bugs to work out. amazing so far though.

GenGrievous says
8 GenGrievous

Apr 13th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great mod actually and a lot of fun. I found what I had played to be challenging yet not over or under done in most aspects.
However I was rather disappointed with the starbases, rather small and frankly ineffective. most of the time the AI mobbs in with a respectable fleet and even supported the base is no match. lastly the super cap for the voya or whatever...that giant spiral with 116k hull yeah that thing took me a maxed fleet as the CIS to bring down with 2 super caps of my own and 200 bombers lol maybe dial down that monster a bit. Anyways had fun playing thanks for the mod!

SplitImages says
8 SplitImages

Apr 11th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great mod, wonderful ship models, and extremely fun combat.

Bogged down by slightly OP AI.

TheStranger81 says
8 TheStranger81

Mar 19th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very good models, good research tree BUT not nearly enough fleet size for the very large maps.

ShaneMcZane says
8 ShaneMcZane

Mar 1st, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

This mod really is amazing. Hell, a Star Wars game that sports the Yuuzhan Vong? I would have never thought I'd see such an addition to the games; just goes to show you what magic modders can conjure up.

That being said, this mod isn't without it's problems.

The aforementioned issues are unfortunately pretty glaring. After playing a few matches in vanilla Sins the economy is definitely pretty wonky. When you play a match in SoGE and accrue more "metal" than you do "credits"; then you might have a balancing issue. The culture spread is crazy too; though I don't really play around with culture too much even in the base game so I can't speak at length about that so much.

Also, the scale (visually). Maybe it's realistic to the proportions seen in the series, I don't know. It would be soooo great to have a larger ships option though; as is the ships are so small they just kind of lose some of their "oomph". I'd argue that X-wings and TIE-Fighters are more iconic of Star Wars than some of the bigger frigates and cruisers; so why are they microscopic? Also, the increased size would probably help make the ships look a bit less "spazzy"; as is they zip and dart around REALLY fast. I'm sure some of these issues might be more inherent of Sins' engine; but figured it worth mentioning regardless.

The higher capital limit and supply limits are a double edged sword for me. While I enjoy the huge scale in regards to numbers, it also diminishes the importance of the capitals and other ships as a result. My rig is pretty mediocre too, so maybe my occasional lag spikes make me unfairly biased.

This is still an AMAZING mod. I've had quite a good deal of fun with it and this is clearly a labor of love. It's not without it's quirks, but what works, WORKS; and that is perhaps the most important thing.

(Also, READ the "how to build supercaps" text file. If you don't you might have a bad time spending all you have on nothing. Just a word to the wise from a dumb scumbag.)

robohunterx says
8 robohunterx

Sep 5th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great, polished mod...but not without flaws.

To keep it short, it's the AI. I'm not sure why, or how, but it seems to be either night or day with the difficulty. On Easy, it seems like it dosen't even try, but on normal holy christ...a blob of cap ships will be on your front lawn within like 30 mins of a game. Also, the AI per race seems a bit off, as some races are easier on normal, compared to others (CIS is hard as frack, while Rebels are ok)

Other than that the units, graphics, art etc are fantastic. Major thumbs up to the team that worked on this mod, it's fantastic.

Gul-Dukat(tech) says
8 Gul-Dukat(tech)

Jun 25th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very fun mod, enjoyable to play and true to the feeling of the star wars universe. Good graphics and enjoyable battles. I quite liked the choice to go for what seems to be a more cap ship focussed game.

I'm a little bemused by the scaling comments I've seen regarding this mod (unless the scaling was changed prior to my playing it). I find the scaling to be good. I also found the resource rates and the management of such to be relatively easy, thus undermining that complaint too. Yes, the player receives resources somewhat faster, but also the ships are accordingly balanced to cost more. Time remains a constant, meaning that cap ships and buildings can be built at a similar rate to vanilla sins, the only difference is the size of the numbers.

My only gripe, and it's a minor one, is that I felt that the research trees could use a bit of work with some races, and indeed the descriptions could be a little clearer for some research trees (namely more clearly stating what I was improving, or at least what ships). I figured it out with use however. As I said, minor gripe.

When utilising all races at once, after about 2 hours of play I ran into the infamous 2 gig 64* crash, but this could be reduced or eliminated by cherry picking what races to include.

The game might benefit from reducing the engagement ranges of vessels by about half, as it would be more reflective of the short range melee witnessed in the films.

All in all, very fun mod. Good work!

jason864 says
8 jason864

Mar 9th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Its a great mod with the ships well done and defences. It captures the starwars universe perfectly but the game slows down extremly fas in relation to other mods

KhevaKins says
8 KhevaKins

Jan 27th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Nice mod with good custom effects.

Pizzaboy42 says
8 Pizzaboy42

Jan 22nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I gave 8 out of 10 and not 9 because of the capital ships and super cap ability points problem, although it's not really a problem, just their isn't enough ability's or ability ranks to use the points up which kinda bugs me a lot. BUT that is certainly NO REASON someone should not get this mod, it is done very well and i play it a lot. I also wanted to say that i don't give 10 out of 10 because there's always room for improvement, especially with the kind of talent that went into this mod :)

Community Rating

Average

8.8

456 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.