SoGE is a Star Wars Total Conversion for SoaSE: Rebellion with it's roots in the Homeworld 2 mod Star Wars: Warlords which features the two primarily sides of the Galactic Civil War, the Clone Wars, and the Yuuzhan Vong War. The current public version works for Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion 1.80/1.82+ and all DLC.

Review RSS Feed gundam_pheonix says
8 gundam_pheonix

Dec 16th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

its good and all, but it definately has some bugs to work out. amazing so far though.

Jude1313 says
8 Jude1313

Jul 2nd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

A great idea and the progress is coming along nicely! However, parts of the game seem unfinished, incomplete, or other wise needing work. If work continues at the pace it has been, I believe this will become one of the best mods for Sins if not the best!!! I will follow it eagerly and await the final, polished product. Despite some small bugs, among other minor problems, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this mod to ANYONE WHO LOVES STAR WARS or ANY AVID SINS PLAYER LOOKING FOR CHANGE!!! When finished completely, I would gladly give this mod a perfect 10/10!!!

Gul-Dukat(tech) says
8 Gul-Dukat(tech)

Jun 25th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very fun mod, enjoyable to play and true to the feeling of the star wars universe. Good graphics and enjoyable battles. I quite liked the choice to go for what seems to be a more cap ship focussed game.

I'm a little bemused by the scaling comments I've seen regarding this mod (unless the scaling was changed prior to my playing it). I find the scaling to be good. I also found the resource rates and the management of such to be relatively easy, thus undermining that complaint too. Yes, the player receives resources somewhat faster, but also the ships are accordingly balanced to cost more. Time remains a constant, meaning that cap ships and buildings can be built at a similar rate to vanilla sins, the only difference is the size of the numbers.

My only gripe, and it's a minor one, is that I felt that the research trees could use a bit of work with some races, and indeed the descriptions could be a little clearer for some research trees (namely more clearly stating what I was improving, or at least what ships). I figured it out with use however. As I said, minor gripe.

When utilising all races at once, after about 2 hours of play I ran into the infamous 2 gig 64* crash, but this could be reduced or eliminated by cherry picking what races to include.

The game might benefit from reducing the engagement ranges of vessels by about half, as it would be more reflective of the short range melee witnessed in the films.

All in all, very fun mod. Good work!

jason864 says
8 jason864

Mar 9th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Its a great mod with the ships well done and defences. It captures the starwars universe perfectly but the game slows down extremly fas in relation to other mods

KhevaKins says
8 KhevaKins

Jan 27th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Nice mod with good custom effects.

Pizzaboy42 says
8 Pizzaboy42

Jan 22nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I gave 8 out of 10 and not 9 because of the capital ships and super cap ability points problem, although it's not really a problem, just their isn't enough ability's or ability ranks to use the points up which kinda bugs me a lot. BUT that is certainly NO REASON someone should not get this mod, it is done very well and i play it a lot. I also wanted to say that i don't give 10 out of 10 because there's always room for improvement, especially with the kind of talent that went into this mod :)

Infinity00 says
8 Infinity00

Jan 6th, 2013 2 people agree 2 people don't

In brief:

The game captures some of the Star Wars flavor, but fails to embrace the epic scale that we've come to love about Star Wars. There are unlikely to be any Battle of Endor moments where the game makes your jaw drop. Ship scale and planet scale are disappointing, and ships lack the detail that made me love the HW2 mod.

Balance is somewhat out of whack, both in resource cost and combat ability. The cost of ships and tech means that the early game is tedious. This also has the ancillary effect of screwing over factions that start with neighboring systems that have high numbers of militia ships; by the time they are overcome, they are too far behind to be a challenge. It also means that the pirate faction is incredibly overpowered, as a typical pirate raid has enough missile ships to one-volley a capital ship off the field.

There are some AI problems as well. It feels like it's difficult to get the AI to engage in a fight, and gravity well generators tend to break the AI; They can't flee, but they don't fight either. Instead they sit at the system's edge and die one-by-one.

Finally, the sense of scale is affected greatly by the Sins-style combat design, where ships trade blows from incredible ranges; this is in complete contradiction of the Star Wars universe where ships trade fire from fairly close range, even intermingling. All in all, the mod presents a functional Star Wars experience, but lacks the essential spirit of the universe that really brings it together: a sense of scale.

waxcourage says
8 waxcourage

Aug 9th, 2014

No review provided

Masonjwright123 says
8 Masonjwright123

Jul 17th, 2014

No review provided

Sgt.Frost says
8 Sgt.Frost

Jul 15th, 2014

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

8.9

394 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.