SoGE is a Star Wars Total Conversion for SoaSE: Rebellion with it's roots in the Homeworld 2 mod Star Wars: Warlords which features the two primarily sides of the Galactic Civil War, the Clone Wars, and the Yuuzhan Vong War. The current public version works for Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion 1.80/1.82+ and all DLC.

Review RSS Feed OseronPhaer says
7 OseronPhaer

Feb 17th, 2012 21 people agree 7 people don't

I have to give it a seven. While the mod most certainly looks nice, it's scale, both visually and gameplay-wise, doesn't work well in Sins. All costs have been increased and so has resource collection, but they feel harder to control as a result. As for the appearance, all the systems appear to have been scaled up in size and the ships scaled down. I would have preferred the game to have more of a vanilla Sins feel than it has now because it makes you feel more involved when you can see your ships without having to zoom in nearly all of the way. Also, ships feel too fast, at least from a game play perspective.

It seems like a lot of these elements were made to be more reflective of the scale of the Star Wars universe, but it ends up feeling like the elements of the game were stretched to their limit to get that effect. On the other hand, I still believe it to be a very playable mod and those issues I note are mostly able to be overlooked with a little effort.

WOEaintME says
7 WOEaintME

Dec 17th, 2012 8 people agree 3 people don't

Great mod visually but the scale is a bit off. The gravity wells feel too large for the ships and the ranges of ships doesn't allow the beauty of multiple models to be seen at once which significantly reduces my enjoyment.

Technically well done but as mentioned, personally, enjoyment is lacking which is what gaming is all about.

BobMcBobJr says
7 BobMcBobJr

Jun 21st, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Pros
-Models are well crafted
-Size is canon
-Well balanced
Cons
-large ships are too fast (put them on slow and they are the same speed as the fighters)
-fighters are too slow
-not enough fighters (more could cause sins to crash though)
-size makes ships difficult to see
-asteroid shipyard has 104 logistics slots???
-The excess ability points bugs me
-600 scout frigates crash the game

kucsidave says
7 kucsidave

May 29th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Where to start? Unit sizes are way too small, and the resources are...how to say...Intolerateabble. This complettely ruins the game's amazing features. I like the idea of you can chose wich supercap type you want to use, and absolutely like how the mod works. The only real problem beside unit sizes is the economy... Too easy to loose controll of everithing...
If we would close our eyes over theese, this would be a 10/10 game, but theese are serious issues, what should dealt with.
Do not listen to the 10/10 fanboys and fangirls who give a 10 only cuz it's Star Wars, and the models looks good...

hairysosage says
7 hairysosage

Oct 22nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Whilst the mod is very good and both sounds and visual effects are breath taking and awesome, the game severely lacks in stability after enabling the mod, however when the game does work it is very good and I love playing it very much, it would appear however the game likes to crash and make minidump files and decides not to work, even with reinstall of both the game and the mod.

tyknapp says
7 tyknapp

Sep 24th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

A good mod revamping Star Wars to the next level in Sins of the Solar Empire. It is a great mod but has bugs, but, it is a mod, so they can be "Ironed" out.

garsterj says
7 garsterj

Mar 31st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

cool

alienmaster13 says
7 alienmaster13

Jan 1st, 2013 0 people agree 2 people don't

I give this a rating because it is a good mod but I feel that it still needs work to be done on many things for example: the scale of the ships are too small, the fighters are also look to skinny and fragile and you cannot seem them only when they shoot lasers and bombs which look bigger than the fighters themselves,and the game crashes with no explanation.

longn4 says
7 longn4

Jul 4th, 2014

No review provided

va1141 says
7 va1141

Jun 11th, 2014

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

8.9

394 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.