Deus Ex is one of the best PC games in history, but even it isn't without its faults and shortcomings. Shifter addresses these and then some. Unused game content, buggy scripted events, several completely useless items, and certain design choices that can only be described as "annoying", all fixed (or at least "improved") by this little mod. I started Shifter in 2002 to fix just one of the latter -- the fact that weapons equipped with a laser sight won't turn it on automatically -- and the project has expanded exponentially since then. A few new weapons, some additional uses for existing items, new augmentations, and several fixes for existing Deus Ex bugs all exist in Shifter, along with a new multiplayer component. The mod is so popular it's been featured in Game Informer's July 2007 edition of Mod World; how many Deus Ex mods can say that? (only 3, to be specific) Shifter: "Removing the suck from Deus Ex" since 2002.

Review RSS Feed Daemonjax says
10 Daemonjax

Mar 2nd, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

Awesome. Thanks for your hard work.

phillon says
10 phillon

May 30th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Brilliant mod, the tweaks to the game make sense and add a great deal without ruining the core experience.

2Hitman3 says
10 2Hitman3

Dec 16th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Awesome modification for DE. Dozens of news make this game so nice and much more user friendly.

SDX_LV says
10 SDX_LV

Oct 23rd, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great fix for Deus Ex!

Just finished playthrough on realistic and there are several features from Shifter which I was very happy about:
- Power Recirculator: automatic on-off is the cooles feature of the Shifter mod. I always thought that managing augmentation power drain sucks.
- Stealth Pistol: Increased the rate of fire and damage by a slight amount (made me actually use Silenced pistol, because in original it just has too low damage).
- Laser Sight Mod (much better than original)

And also nice things:

- Weapon Accuracy,
- Scope fix
- PS20 improvement
- Assault Rifle: Increased the amount of 7.62 ammo you pick up from
corpses. (8-12 rounds, up from 1-4)
- NPC Inventory
- skill points for small things
- Augmentation Cannisters

thanks for great work!

modhat says
10 modhat

Aug 9th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

I'm really loving Shifter's additions to Deus EX. I played a while without Shifter than started a new game with this mod installed and the difference has been extremely rewarding. Shifter is a fantastic option for anyone thinking about a Deus Ex play through.

aristhoteles says
10 aristhoteles

Jul 14th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Excellent game ! running it with HDTP and Shifter now. Going smooth and that on my 8 year old notebook LOL !

bluewario says
10 bluewario

Jun 29th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Amazing work being done here.

Renmazuo says
10 Renmazuo

Jun 12th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Shifter is the cat's pajamas.

TheUnbeholden says
10 TheUnbeholden

May 23rd, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Removes some of the issues I've had with Deus Ex, so in other words its for a master piece of a game to have a few blemishes removed. Thats always a good thing.

Sgt.Kelly says
10 Sgt.Kelly

Feb 24th, 2008 0 people agree 0 people don't

Just what the doctor ordered. Excellent work Yukichigai!

Community Rating

Average

9.5

97 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.