Rise Of The Reds is an expansion mod for Generals: Zero Hour that adds the Russian Federation, European Continental Alliance and is packed with overhauls and changes to the original factions. Whether it's steamrolling Russians, indomitable European defenders, American high-tech, Chinese strength in numbers or the brutal cunning of the GLA - Rise of the Reds has a faction for everyone's tastes - even to take your opponents on land, air and sea!

Review RSS Feed Sgt_6adoel says
9 Sgt_6adoel

Apr 3rd, 2012 21 people agree 2 people don't

The best Mod for Command and Conquer: Generals
Keep up the Good work guys ^^

willychong8921 says
9 willychong8921

Oct 8th, 2012 4 people agree 0 people don't

A major improvement by revamping a popular game with the inclusion of one major faction, adding units and balancing them out, create better theme and making units less weird looking and more battle worthy. I anticipate more updates from them, make way to the RISE OF THE REDS!

BlackHand27 says
9 BlackHand27

Jun 4th, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

Still needs a bit improvement. But it's nice.

Talonek says
9 Talonek

May 17th, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

The amount of work in this mod, and how it fixes and adjust gameplay...It blows me away.

Blazerunner says
9 Blazerunner

Dec 3rd, 2011 4 people agree 1 person doesn't

So far, so good with Rise of the Reds. However, I'm wondering when we'll see any kind of news at all regarding this mod, as I've not seen anything new in two (2) years now!

Deaths-Apprentice says
9 Deaths-Apprentice

Dec 23rd, 2009 5 people agree 2 people don't

I enjoy SWR's work. With such a limited beta however it's difficult to give them the full 10, and the lack of content has nowhere near eclipsed their work on Shockwave. I am a patient man though so I'll wait before I give my full account until they have given theirs. This is a very promising mod and I've yet to be disappointed by SWR.

Orac| says
9 Orac|

Dec 16th, 2010 6 people agree 3 people don't

Truly a superb mod. Even without the GLA or Europe, the latest release feels whole and complete. The addition of Russia adds such a new dimension to the game, and the well thought out and sometimes ingenious units allow fluid and enjoyable gameplay.

The only downside is that the gallery is filled with beautiful renders of EU units, but we don't get to use any of them. That is the heart breaking thing about this mod, there just isn't as much as I'd like there to be. There never is.As such, only 9 out of 10 for now, because I need to be able to rate this 10 when they release the rest of it. :P

Without a shadow of a doubt, this is the best Gens/ZH mod I've ever played, and I will definitely keep playing it for a long time to come. It performs brilliantly in LAN, making it a continuing favourite between friends.

Lovely mod, play it. Get some friends together and smash the **** out of one another with Obyekts and Sentinels and such, just play it.

Ehd420 says
9 Ehd420

May 6th, 2013 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

Another great mod from the makers of Shockwave. Along with Shockwave this is easily one of the best mods out there for ZH (even in it's beta state). If Shockwave could be described as an unofficial expansion to Zero Hour, then Rise of the Reds could be described as an unofficial "Generals 2".

Like Shockwave, Rise of the Reds adds 100s of new units and abilities to the game, and adds two entirely new factions (Russia and the European Continental Army) with their own unique arsenals, custom architecture, and voicework; and adds a more detailed backstory featuring a WWIII-type scenario with a corrupt Russian general masterminding an invasion of Europe which leads to all-out World War.

The main 3 factions have also been revamped and (particularly the GLA) feel a bit different than their original zero hour counterparts. While Shockwave more or less kept the core gameplay of ZH and simply buit on it, Rise of the Reds changes some of the core gameplay elements a bit more. Overall this is for the better, and still maintains the same feel of Zero Hour, though some the changes may take a little getting used to (ex. Jarmen Kell no longer snipes vehicle crew, and instead has a stinger to shoot down aircraft - USA Humvees no longer have fireports, but can upgrade individually with a much more powerful TOW missile - China loses the Helix but has a brand new attack helicopter, etc).

As of the current release, you get to play as all 5 base factions, however the separate generals and planned future campaigns are not yet available. Nevertheless this mod still plays like a full release and doesn't have a BETA feel at all. Whether this or Shockwave is the best mod for ZH is really a matter of personal preference, but both of of top notch quality and breathe life back into a 13 year old game which otherwise would likely be forgotten.

Kriegsherr_88 says
9 Kriegsherr_88

Apr 27th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Awesome mod. One of the best mods for Zero Hour.USA faction needs more firepower.Some ICBM missile silos and B-2 bombers,A-10s built from airfield would make this mod better.Fire bases need more hit points and longer range.Adding Towed M777 155mm howitzers mortar troops,tank traps,minefields and bunker construction would also make USA better.
This is an excellent mod just needs a few improvements for USA

n-u says
9 n-u

Apr 10th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

awesooooooooooooome

Community Rating

Average

9.5

1686 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.