Rise Of The Reds is an expansion mod for Generals: Zero Hour that adds the Russian Federation, European Continental Alliance and is packed with overhauls and changes to the original factions. Whether it's steamrolling Russians, indomitable European defenders, American high-tech, Chinese strength in numbers or the brutal cunning of the GLA - Rise of the Reds has a faction for everyone's tastes - even to take your opponents on land, air and sea!

Review RSS Feed Sgt_6adoel says
9 Sgt_6adoel

Apr 3rd, 2012 27 people agree 3 people don't

The best Mod for Command and Conquer: Generals
Keep up the Good work guys ^^

willychong8921 says
9 willychong8921

Oct 8th, 2012 5 people agree 1 person doesn't

A major improvement by revamping a popular game with the inclusion of one major faction, adding units and balancing them out, create better theme and making units less weird looking and more battle worthy. I anticipate more updates from them, make way to the RISE OF THE REDS!

Deaths-Apprentice says
9 Deaths-Apprentice

Dec 23rd, 2009 6 people agree 2 people don't

I enjoy SWR's work. With such a limited beta however it's difficult to give them the full 10, and the lack of content has nowhere near eclipsed their work on Shockwave. I am a patient man though so I'll wait before I give my full account until they have given theirs. This is a very promising mod and I've yet to be disappointed by SWR.

Talonek says
9 Talonek

May 17th, 2012 4 people agree 1 person doesn't

The amount of work in this mod, and how it fixes and adjust gameplay...It blows me away.

Ehd420 says
9 Ehd420

May 6th, 2013 5 people agree 2 people don't

Another great mod from the makers of Shockwave. Along with Shockwave this is easily one of the best mods out there for ZH (even in its beta state). If Shockwave could be described as an unofficial expansion to Zero Hour, then Rise of the Reds could be described as an unofficial "Generals 2".

Like Shockwave, Rise of the Reds adds 100s of new units and abilities to the game, and adds two entirely new factions (Russia and the European Continental Army) with their own unique arsenals, custom architecture, and voicework; and adds a more detailed backstory featuring a WWIII-type scenario with a corrupt Russian general masterminding an invasion of Europe which leads to all-out World War.

The main 3 factions have also been revamped (particularly the GLA) and feel a bit different than their original zero hour counterparts. While Shockwave more or less kept the core gameplay of ZH and simply built on it, Rise of the Reds changes some of the core gameplay elements a bit more. Overall this is for the better, and still maintains the same feel of Zero Hour, though some the changes may take a little getting used to (ex. Jarmen Kell no longer snipes vehicle crew, and instead has a stinger to shoot down aircraft - USA Humvees no longer have fireports, but can upgrade individually with a much more powerful TOW missile - China loses the Helix but has a brand new attack helicopter, etc).

As of the current release, you get to play as all 5 base factions, however the separate generals and planned future campaigns are not yet available. Nevertheless this mod still plays like a full release and doesn't have a BETA feel at all. Whether this or Shockwave is the best mod for ZH is really a matter of personal preference, but both of of top notch quality and breathe life back into a 13 year old game which otherwise would likely be forgotten.

If there's any real complaint I have with this mod, it's that the online multiplayer matches are very prone to crashing or disconnects. Sadly as good as this game is, I play it mainly for the multiplayer, which is much deeper and more enjoyable than playing against an AI. And the majority of online skirmish games I've played on SWRNet either fail to load or crash halfway through the match - limiting it's potential outside of a LAN match with a set of friends. This however might be more due to the fact that it's built on a very old game, or that you'll be playing against people in foreign countries and with varying internet speeds, than the mod itself. Nevertheless it's disappointing, and as much as I'd like to - I won't be playing it (or any Zero Hour mods) regularly unless a reliable multiplayer becomes available.

BlackHand27 says
9 BlackHand27

Jun 4th, 2012 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

Still needs a bit improvement. But it's nice.

Blazerunner says
9 Blazerunner

Dec 3rd, 2011 4 people agree 2 people don't

So far, so good with Rise of the Reds. However, I'm wondering when we'll see any kind of news at all regarding this mod, as I've not seen anything new in two (2) years now!

Orac| says
9 Orac|

Dec 16th, 2010 6 people agree 4 people don't

Truly a superb mod. Even without the GLA or Europe, the latest release feels whole and complete. The addition of Russia adds such a new dimension to the game, and the well thought out and sometimes ingenious units allow fluid and enjoyable gameplay.

The only downside is that the gallery is filled with beautiful renders of EU units, but we don't get to use any of them. That is the heart breaking thing about this mod, there just isn't as much as I'd like there to be. There never is.As such, only 9 out of 10 for now, because I need to be able to rate this 10 when they release the rest of it. :P

Without a shadow of a doubt, this is the best Gens/ZH mod I've ever played, and I will definitely keep playing it for a long time to come. It performs brilliantly in LAN, making it a continuing favourite between friends.

Lovely mod, play it. Get some friends together and smash the **** out of one another with Obyekts and Sentinels and such, just play it.

paradig124 says
9 paradig124

Nov 8th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Great factions
Great Gameplay
Great Effects
Truly unrivalled gaming experience for Generals
Also there's still more to come
Play alot of ECA, Russia and USA
Also love what they've done with China
and the GLA, just wow, reat overhaul, really emphasises the core elements of Hit and Run
Great mod all round

Ayeba says
9 Ayeba

Oct 12th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

This is from a casual point of view. I have played around with four different variants of Zero Hour: 1.06, Shockwave 1.1, Contra 008 Final and Rise of the Reds 1.85. About 3-5 hours each, testing the differences vs AI. No PvP yet. Once I manage to decide which one I'll introduce to my RL friends, I'll hopefully get some PvP done.

Rise of the Reds is great fun. The reason why I don't give it a 10 is simply that I reserve 10s for "Completely blew me away, I will never (at least not in a few hundred hours of gameplay) play anything ever again", which has yet to happen to me.

Rather than having 12 fractions with a lot of similarities, there are now five radically different fractions. Unlike ZH, there are no one-trick ponies among them. All have some basic cornerstones in their army, but they all feel like unique variants. Ex: All have APCs (BMP, Lynx, Humvee, Troop Crawler, Technical), MBTs (Kodiak, Leopard, Crusader, Battlemaster, Scorpion), Tier 1 AA, Tier 2 AA, and at least two types of artillery.

In addition to the basic cornerstones, each of the fractions adds a lot of specialized units and buildings fitting their theme. For example, Russia have the MTP Recovery Vehicle which can recover destroyed allied vehicles. GLA, on the other hand, has the Recycler which can use destroyed *enemy* vehicles to upgrade itself and its allies, with two unique upgrades for each fraction they salvage from. ECU can build a solar plant supplying 1 000 000 units of energy, but can never have more than one.

All the unique differences really make the fractions feel radically different. This breathes a of fresh air into a pretty old game, and gives the potentially a lot of longevity.

Stealth is also re-hauled; very few units/defenses can detect stealth. This is a good change, in my book.

Do I have any complains so far? Not really. I have not played long enough to detect any problems yet. I miss the unique sub-fractions, but a variant of that feature will be added in 2.0. The game also has a pretty good wiki and an active community, not to mention it is in active development.

So, the only remaining issue I have is "What do you want from a mod?" Rise of the Reds lies somewhere between between a full conversion mod and an "extension" mod. Shockwave, for example, is closer to the original design philosophy, both for good and bad. Contra is further away from the original design philosophy, but closer than Rise of the Reds. All three are excellent mods, I just need to figure out what I personally want. Or just play all three to death. Except for the fact that the amount of time I can dedicate to gaming is less than a tenth of what I had when I originally played Zero Hour around ten years ago.

Community Rating



1843 votes submitted.

You Say


Ratings closed.