Republic at War is a total conversion modification for Star Wars Empire at War Forces of Corruption. The mod replaces the Empire with the Galactic Republic and the Rebel Alliance with the Confederacy. Republic at War focuses heavily on the theatrical films but also contains content from the Clone Wars cartoon series as well as the expanded universe. Players can re-enact various Clone War campaigns such as the Outer Rim Sieges. Players will have the choice to fight as either the CIS or the Republic and wage war for control of the galaxy. Realism is key and players will have unprecedented control over how and where they fight. Push forward with an entire clone legion such as the 501st or 212th or overwhelm your opponent with a seemingly endless number of B1 battledroids. The choice is yours. There are also a number of expansions planned that will add new (as well as polish existing) content.

Review RSS Feed [GOTIS]Katze says
8 [GOTIS]Katze

Jun 4th, 2011 12 people agree 1 person doesn't

great graphics, but they diminish when theyre turned down, so ull need a good computer, and much better land combat, though the CIS is prty OP. other than that the only negative thing i 'ave to say is its kinda slow-paced, but ya dats about it, besides it, everything is very well done! much better then i cud do!

Grimjowl says
8 Grimjowl

Jun 6th, 2011 7 people agree 1 person doesn't

Great mod but GC maps need work.

GenoFan3 says
8 GenoFan3

Jun 12th, 2011 6 people agree 2 people don't

This review is for 1.5 RaW. Anyways I will say that version 1.0 was basically an unbalanced mess where all you need was a full platoon of AATs and HMPs to basically rofl stomp the Republic, not even considering the trillion amount of droid fighters basically burying the Republic in enemy fire. This is a great mod and honestly I love difficulty, but not when it's because something is so imbalanced, that it creates artificial difficulty. That said I can safely say that this version has fixed many problems...for the most part anyways.

Would you believe in that the land combat is utterly broken? Because honestly it was. I didn't notice it at first, but when I went down to take Nal Hutta, I was greeted by about 5 squads of At-APs, IFT-Xs, OV-9s, and an AT-TE. This alone would prove challenging and was ready for a long, epic battle. Now I'm not complaining about the reinforcement cap because really you just needed to send in BX-Droids to stealth there way to the landing zone. My issue was that the CIS has no artillery at all. None, nadda, zilch. The HAGs have a shorter range than the OG-8 Spider Droid, not to mention its lolarmor. Not only that but AT-APs still have monstrous range and while their rate of fire and company amount was reduced, they still rape face most CIS units. Outside that, honestly a lot of the combat has really been fixed up and the difficulties in GC and Skirmish reflect their definition more.

This patch really made RaW more fun without sacrificing its initial difficulty. I think the problem people have is that they play like its FoC where you basically amass one fleet and one ground force and basically skip around the galaxy with no worry of any intelligent counter-attack. This mod has a very intelligent AI and honestly this mod is one of, if not the best, EaW mod. Great job on the patch guys and I can hardly wait for 2.0

obiwan_starwars_rule says
8 obiwan_starwars_rule

Jun 4th, 2011 6 people agree 4 people don't

The long wait is over, and judging by the screenshots, well worth it! I can't wait to download it!

dredd-the-coming says
8 dredd-the-coming

Nov 14th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Pretty solid mod, however I believe that space combat seems a bit harder than usual. I had to bump my difficulty down to easy just to survive the onslaught they keep throwing at me. I also wanted to bring up something that I haven't seen in the modding community for FoC...I love how you have your transition story between the clone wars and the imperial period, especially how the units and heroes change as well... I would LOVE for you all to expand on this idea and maybe add some rebellion units into this game mode to coincide with the formation of the rebellion, maybe even add some historical events like the Kaminoan Rebellion. Thanks and keep up the good work! :)

dylanlambert54 says
8 dylanlambert54

Oct 26th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

My main issue lies in the availability of powerful republic units... The acclamators only carry laser cannons, and no turbo lasers. The dreadnaughts have no missiles, yada yada. Now, I'm just going off of the unit descriptions when I bring that up. Obviously there's no need to reinvent the wheel, just update the descriptions. As far as heavy units, really the biggest mass-production capable units at the moment are the Venators and Victory class ships, but the CIS can easily outnumber and overwhelm the available ships at earlier tech levels with their escort carrier. Keep in mind you don't get the Venator until lvl. 4, and the Victory until lvl. 5. Yet, the CIS gets a decently powerful ship with the Techno Union frigate, while the Republic gets the dreadnought. That doesn't seem to stop the fact that at lvl. 3, the CIS seems to be able to produce Lukrehulks and Providence class ships in decent numbers, throwing upwards of six into an engagement over a planet that the AI seems to want as it pushes core-ward. Overall, it's very good, but the sides are slightly off balance, most notably in space.

OdinTheGreat#2 says
8 OdinTheGreat#2

Aug 7th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Lots of AI pathing bugs otherwise its awesome.

forgotten_being says
8 forgotten_being

Aug 6th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

This mod is exactly what I wanted. I wanted a game that had Republic vs. CIS space combat, which the "Sins of a Galactic Empire" mod for "Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion" worked well for that, but I also wanted land combat, which "Republic at War" has. Unfortunately, the AI is way too advanced, and I can't even get started in any games I play. But in general, this is an excellent mod.

Darth_Malefic says
8 Darth_Malefic

Jul 26th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

It is the best but even cooler after order 66 and u get 3 star destroyers keep up the good work ;)

TerranMarine says
8 TerranMarine

Jul 12th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

The AI always attacks my planets in Galactic conquest with large fleets.

Community Rating

Average

9.2

1762 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.