Republic at War is a total conversion modification for Star Wars Empire at War Forces of Corruption. The mod replaces the Empire with the Galactic Republic and the Rebel Alliance with the Confederacy. Republic at War focuses heavily on the theatrical films but also contains content from the Clone Wars cartoon series as well as the expanded universe. Players can re-enact various Clone War campaigns such as the Outer Rim Sieges. Players will have the choice to fight as either the CIS or the Republic and wage war for control of the galaxy. Realism is key and players will have unprecedented control over how and where they fight. Push forward with an entire clone legion such as the 501st or 212th or overwhelm your opponent with a seemingly endless number of B1 battledroids. The choice is yours. There are also a number of expansions planned that will add new (as well as polish existing) content.

Review RSS Feed NinjaKid45 says
7 NinjaKid45

Jun 12th, 2011 3 people agree 2 people don't

While the mod adds a lot to the original game and improves on it it many ways, it still suffers from balancing issues and (Possibly due to my computer) incredibly low FPS on the Galactic Conquest screen.

Senanthes says
7 Senanthes

Oct 13th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

While I'm impressed with the depth and effort in this mod, I really can't give it high marks for playability. As others have pointed out, it's balance is incredibly lopsided in favor of the CIS, and after playing both skirmish and GC, I have to wonder... Where does the AI get the credits for the capship spam it likes to do in the first few minutes? It's not from the mines in skirmish, or it's holdings in GC, so where is it getting these monster fleets from?

Until these issues are addressed, I feel that I'm better off removing the mod and playing EaW: FoC as is. At least it doesn't feel broken that way. However, I will be revisiting this mod once 1.2 comes out, with high hopes. Individually, I think the units, mapsm and scenery are well done. Very well done indeed, with great attention to the canon abilities of ships, soldiers, etc. in most instances.

Some tweaking required, but it's enough as is to have me interested.

Major-Maxhuni says
7 Major-Maxhuni

Oct 5th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

The aI for the cis wont attack me even on hard they just sit there and the republic just attacks not that often

Gorkon says
7 Gorkon

Aug 30th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

I am giving this mod a 7 due to a few of the glaring issues it has, most notably the AI and some other bugs. I do think this mod has some good sound design and voiceovers used from other games really add to it. Some of the ship models like the Venator and Lucrehulk don't look quite right. The Venators coloring is not very accurate to the films at all. The space side of the game is why most people play Empire at War still, and is where the game shines. However this mod needs more polishing and a few more units for each faction. The fighters/bombers look great, so do alot of the ships aside from the before mentioned ones.

The Republic side uses some ships that were never seen in the films, while they aren't bad they could look a bit more republic in colorations etc. I am a sucker for the art side of games. The supposed AI fix released doesn't truly fix the AI issues. Other mods like ORAW or the Legacy era one don't mess with the AI functionality and they play better than this mod.

Why the modders felt the need to meddle with a new AI setup I don't know, but clearly its only resulted in the mod being semi broken.

BarfingOgres says
7 BarfingOgres

May 14th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

This is a very polished mod and definitely the best one I've played featuring the Clone Wars as its era of choice.

Pros: A very beautiful mod with fantastic models, textures, skyboxes, etc... Planets are now aligned with how they canonically should be, and overall, Galactic Conquest is very intense and will really make you think with the brutally efficient AI.

Cons: Even on easy, the AI has no trouble killing me, something that only Thrawn's Revenge and ORAW can also attest to. As much as they have tried to balance the game, I feel that more could be done with skirmish. Adding in Victory's and maybe an Imperator could balance the lack of powerful tier 5 warships, as at the moment the Venator is available too late and lower level units don't have the firepower.

Overall, a very well executed mod that will rip open your bunghole if you let it. Congrats guys!

thexjacob says
7 thexjacob

Apr 14th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

this is a solid mod except a few issues. mainly that enemy ships can get to planets without a direct path to it, meaning the core worlds are invades, even when I control every planet in it and with a direct line to it.

moddinman says
7 moddinman

Mar 1st, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

I downloaded your mod and for the record it is very well done. Impressive work on the unit models and maps. I like the ambient sound effects(genius idea). Gameplay is sorta annoying. Seems unbalanced and in the CIS's favor. Im also confused whether or not the vulture droid should have buzz droids. I read that its the droid tri-fighter that carries the buzz-droid\discord missiles. Its a big issue for me because the V-19s suck against vultures with their buzz-droids. But to each his own. Good work.

Church101 says
7 Church101

Jul 16th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I have to say I'm pleased on seeing this mod released after so many years. However, it didn't meet my expectations. This is most likely since I was an Imperial Assault 2 follower and didn't quite like how RaW and IA2 merged. However, I digress. I played though the mod and overall view it as quite well done, however there are issues that really hamper gameplay. For example, the CIS are so overpowered that it's super easy to conquer the republic even on hard. I can see that the CIS have superior armor, abilities, etc. Also, lag is occasionally an issue.

This mod has promise, but so far I remain skeptical.

Nightwingnew52 says
7 Nightwingnew52

Jun 21st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

This mod is great its real cool but you really need to improve the clone trooper models but anyways good job on mod!

GottMitUns205 says
7 GottMitUns205

Jun 12th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Its a well made mod for the most part, but it needs balancing more than new units to be added. The Republic is hardly playable and the CiS ships are way too strong and too numerous and are practically invincible with this combo.

I think once this is addressed and dealt with, this mod will deserve nothing short than 10/10.

Community Rating

Average

9.2

1744 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.