Republic at War is a total conversion modification for Star Wars Empire at War Forces of Corruption. The mod replaces the Empire with the Galactic Republic and the Rebel Alliance with the Confederacy. Republic at War focuses heavily on the theatrical films but also contains content from the Clone Wars cartoon series as well as the expanded universe. Players can re-enact various Clone War campaigns such as the Outer Rim Sieges. Players will have the choice to fight as either the CIS or the Republic and wage war for control of the galaxy. Realism is key and players will have unprecedented control over how and where they fight. Push forward with an entire clone legion such as the 501st or 212th or overwhelm your opponent with a seemingly endless number of B1 battledroids. The choice is yours. There are also a number of expansions planned that will add new (as well as polish existing) content.

Review RSS Feed TheTriangulum says
5 TheTriangulum

Oct 16th, 2011 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

Awesome game, best mod i have played so far. Not perfect, which is why I give it a 9, but nothing is huh?
I would give it a 10 if you fixed possible issues and maybe add a few more features, eg more skirmish maps (too many vanilla FoC maps) and possibly a commander for each legion would be nice.
Also maybe the difficulty of the AI could be reduced but not significantly to the point that it is almost incompetant. I like it the way it is, it just needs to be less agressive on GW especially on Easy mode.

gjohnson540 says
5 gjohnson540

Aug 10th, 2011 4 people agree 4 people don't

Actually I really liked this mod, seriously. But the concept is good yet the gameplay really sucks! The galactic conquest mode is what the game is played for yet for all the flare this game needs some serious work. The entire gameplay is completely unbalanced. The CIS is almost impossible to beat taking the FUN out of the game. and thats on easy! I found myself actually sitting down for hours and days trying to figure out strategy and that was just for one planet. The reason the republic wasn't overwelmed was that they had clones. The way this game is unbalanced is much more sad than all the flare. I rate this mod as unplayable. Once again this concept is GREAT but the game needs to be rebalanced to include a fun factor.

morda898 says
5 morda898

Jun 8th, 2011 10 people agree 10 people don't

I like this mod, but there are some notable issues. For one thing, every galactic conquest mode is the same. Every planet is always owned by a particular faction and every planet has the same fleet above it. There's so little variation that the game will soon become stale. Like, there's no "Origin of the Clone Wars" or something of that style where there are only 20 or so planets (NO TIME LIMIT!). Considering also that there's no campaign, the galactic conquests should be better than ever. Only they're not.

The game has balance issues as well. Hard is so fracking hard that it's pointless to play and easy's so god damning easy that it, too, is pointless. On Medium I have yet to be attacked by either the Republic or Confederacy yet when I attack them I get owned by level 3 space stations. One of the promises of this mod was that the AI wouldn't just sit back and do nothing, that they would actually attack you strategically. This is not the case.

The galactic map is so widespread, it's off putting.

Glitches;
- I can't seem to build heavy factories on planets that I'm apparently allowed to. After I build a light factory, there is no option for a heavy (and yes I have a free space).
- Only certain planets that can build capital ships seem to be able to build Venators. For instance, Sullest and Eriadu can't yet they can build everything else.
- On Tatooine, you can't position your troops on the map in the galactic view. It's not a big issue, but if you were wanting to know about any remaning bugs, here you go.
- The most annoying glitch so far, I can't verse the Confederacy on medium setting in skirmish mode. I can do Rep. vs. Rep. , CIS vs. CIS and CIS vs. Rep. but I can't do Rep vs. CIS. Every time I try it starts the game on easy.

I appreciate the work that the creator has put into this. It's amazing when you think about it. I only hope that the promised expansions rectify these problems. Particularly the galactic conquest one.

rodrico says
5 rodrico

Jan 7th, 2014

No review provided

bassi444 says
5 bassi444

Jun 19th, 2011

No review provided

thomas39120 says
5 thomas39120

Jun 6th, 2011

No review provided

KingSpartan says
5 KingSpartan

Jun 6th, 2011

No review provided

Roger-Rabbit says
5 Roger-Rabbit

Jun 5th, 2011

No review provided

08pjjm says
5 08pjjm

Jun 4th, 2011

No review provided

lex33 says
5 lex33

Jun 4th, 2011

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

9.2

1725 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.