A brooding sanitarium holds an ancient power that is searching for a way to regain its hold over a New England community.

Review RSS Feed DarkShift says
9 DarkShift

Feb 13th, 2012 5 people agree 0 people don't

Cool mod with nice ambiance, it's worth the play.
EDIT : Part 2 is even cooler, this mod is a really nice piece of work, I was really pleased to play this, and can't wait for part 3 :D

Aleks88 says
9 Aleks88

Feb 17th, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

It was a pretty good mod, had its rather scary moments.
I would definitely recommend this mod for Lovecraft fans.

PASA24 says
10 PASA24

Apr 28th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

10/10.

thedeadcamper says
7 thedeadcamper

Aug 27th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

I feel like this mod was good, but it really lacks polish as it is.

I played the 'redux' version (which I think is parts 1 and 2) and the ambiance was great throughout, especially at the beginning. However, I think the thing that works the most against most it is the regular use of text on the screen to convey the player's reactions to things. That and the camera and control being removed from the player almost habitually during part 1 kind of took away from the experience.

Mind you, this is a good mod with a lot of potential with the creepy vibes it puts out at the very beginning. I look forward to seeing part 3 and hope that my concerns are addressed by then.

I hope the modder considers getting proper voice actors, though. Text to speech programs are kind of obvious.

LonelyAmerican says
10 LonelyAmerican

May 4th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

I remember playing this mod back in January, last year. It's been a while, but I can guarantee you that it was definitely worth the ride for me. Inspired by HP Lovecraft, this mod brings you a suspenseful and chilling experience. It practically reminds me of Call of Cthulhu, in terms of level design and certain sounds. I highly recommend that any fans of HP Lovecraft's novels try this out.

Seten10 says
10 Seten10

May 16th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Amazing mod. The storytelling is amazing, the ambiance is really creepy and the game scared the sh** out of my several times. The puzzles aren't too difficult, and it does not drag on for hours.
Definitely reccommend playing it.

wedjeus says
6 wedjeus

May 1st, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Frustrating mod !
Good atmosphere, but boring gameplay...
a few puzzles no challenging at all and for the rest of the game : just walk and walk and walk... nothing else to do but waiting for cutscenes.
too bad ! with more challenge, this mod could be interesting to play.

Cryptdidical says
10 Cryptdidical

Feb 1st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I have always been a fan of HP Lovecraft's works. And although this is not completely connected to his Mythos, the influence and atmosphere is very much present from his stories.
First time I played this, I was hesitant to investigate the mysterious banging sound, a very ominous feeling takes hold that fills be with discomfort, but great satisfaction. And this feeling was persistent throughout the mod and I congratulate you for succeeding in that area!
I enjoyed the fact there was no combat, it emphasized that helpless, powerless feeling that requires quick thinking in the face of danger. It also meant that you had more of a reason to appreciate and soak in the environment and atmosphere of the story!
Going through the files, I found sound labelled with Shoggoths and Whippoorwills, I was very glad to see some links to Lovecraft that were not mentioned in the game :) The use of music and ambience by Allicorn was perfect, as well as the choice of vintage early 20th century music.
For me this mod has great replayability, probably due to my love for Lovecraft's Mythos, but even so it's a mod that I always enjoy and cherish.
Greatly looking forward to part 3, from what I can already see it looks as enjoyable and brilliant as the first ;)
Keep up the good work! I am always eagerly awaiting news!
~Chris

Rikersbeard says
10 Rikersbeard

Sep 8th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

I gave this a ten because this was truly a great work of horror storytelling and even had me scared and, most importantly, no issues to complain about. Ok, I admit to running around like an idiot in the first room because I failed to find the light switch. Moaning about this being a crap stupid mod, noclip’ng around, etc, then feeling foolish after watching the first minutes of a “youtube” walkthrough!
This time I had no stupid issues as I played along with my brain!
Great textures abound and the ever-creepy atmosphere haunts your every move, as does something large and unpleasant! This is a really disturbing asylum, and I’ve been in “Never Lose Hope Hospital” and your treatment is not good. And escaping fares little better!
This is so very weird and horrific and fascinating. Old-fashioned horror, with all the fog and mist, could even have been shot in sepia, but even in full colour it keeps its quaint charm. Still bloody creepy though!J
The lack of customised characters adds to its odd charm and has a lot of bright areas for a horror!
Having no weapons is never good, but Mother is here to help……..

Play this in the dark and shiver.

fortismilites says
7 fortismilites

Sep 4th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Good well played mod. Have only 3 problems with it:

1) When you get the flash light the hud and the subtitles for the player enlarge greatly and become difficult to read.

2) When you try and read the little books at the sanitarium, they automatically try and enlarge to fit the screen, witch is an issue for those of us who have resolutions of 5760 x 1080, It causes it to become completely unreadable

3) Several subtitles don't work, and Im hard of hearing so i couldn't hear what some of the characters where saying without blasting my speakers

Aside from those 3 minor issues its a well done mod and I very much look forward to part 3

Community Rating

Average

8.3

47 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.