Re-enter the Half Life Universe and revisit City 17 in the time before Freeman, in this fan made single-player mod. The Resistance is threatened by a decisive Combine assault, and as a wanted Resistance member you will need to fight to escape from the Combine's clutch. At the same time, a mysterious force is working towards ends unknown...

Review RSS Feed Dr.Doozer says
7 Dr.Doozer

Mar 29th, 2011 3 people agree 1 person doesn't
This review may contain spoilers

Effectively a good mod. There's nothing really wrong with it. Just there's nothing that really makes it stand out (I don't remember if I noted that in the testing report). Some gameplay fixes from what I remember.

On the bright side, there were some shining moments, such as the train segment which actually was made alive with other trains and whatnot. Then some other parts of the game like the Hunter Charging Stations (even knowing where they were) made it a bit annoying. Still decent enough.

Always could have benefited from more custom content and some gameplay that really set it out from the others and the base game, but good nonetheless.

NikzzX says
7 NikzzX

Nov 25th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

This is a well-made mod, but often times, I found myself constantly running into walls in the dark areas- a flashlight would've really helped.
Another minor glitch- the sniper can "see" you through the shipping containers and his bullets can noclip through them, even when you're behind solid cover.
Besides those minor annoyances, I would've given this mod a rating of "9".

Irespawnoften says
7 Irespawnoften

Mar 30th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

simple story, tried and true game play and excellent mapping make this a mod worth playing. The lack of a flash light was an interesting design choice, especially when you enter the parking garage. Having to fight zombies buy fire light was a tense experience to say the least.
How ever, concerning the hunter fight. I ended up finishing the initial encounter with only 2 health left, throwing combine soldiers at me before I could heal up was not a good idea.

S!C says
7 S!C

Apr 24th, 2011 0 people agree 2 people don't

Precursor starts of with a series of quite familiar and not very entertaining puzzles, but soon becomes increasingly interesting and ends with a very challenging boss fight. The mapping is quite good, but the maps feel all too linear. The Storyline is virtually non existent making precursor a good, but definatley not excellent mod.

LordIheanacho says
7 LordIheanacho

Apr 7th, 2011 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

This mod was very enjoyable, assuming the original HL2 setting took place in Russia, the developer has done a great job at making the player feel as if he/she is really meeting with Russian inhabitants. Something Valve failed to do properly with the setting. If City 17 is in Russia, then the rebels should have a Russian accent rather than the classic American.

Only reason why this mod is off 3 points, Game was a bit hard and confusing. It literally took me a while before i realized how to weaken the hunter mini-boss.

Tanshaydar says
7 Tanshaydar

Mar 31st, 2011 3 people agree 6 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Okay, it's clear that these guys have some talent, and are able to make something fun to play. But for God's Sake, why! I mean, why extending something already good and big, instead of writing your own story?

This mod is something like sum of Half Life 2. There are a lot of mods that nothing more than map packs. This was better than many of them, however, I'm vastly disappointed.

Next time, try to create something original. I know it's hard, harder than it looks and sounds, but I'd rather to play your original creations. Do not waste your talent on Half Life 2 universe.

Oh, and if this is your example, I mean, if it's like "Hey guys, we are gonna make something that will blow your minds, but first play Precursor and tell us what you think", then I'm looking forward to play your next project!

dark1evil2 says
7 dark1evil2

Dec 4th, 2013

No review provided

Lemon(1) says
7 Lemon(1)

Mar 2nd, 2013

No review provided

bulbulator says
7 bulbulator

Dec 2nd, 2012

No review provided

flaimer says
7 flaimer

Oct 1st, 2012

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

9

371 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.