Portal: Prelude, as its name states it, is an unofficial prequel to the game Portal. Its story revolves around the pre-GlaDOS epoch, even before she was plugged in. At this time, test subjects were monitored by real Aperture Science employees, whose work was tedious, lengthy and repetitive. This is why they decided to build a great artificial intelligence that could both replace them in these difficult tasks, and also take responsibility for many other tasks within the complex and compete with Black Mesa's superiority. All employees of the Aperture Science complex are now eagerly awaiting GlaDOS. Maybe even a little too eagerly, as the upcoming events will tell... This game is totally free. It offers a bit more gameplay hours than the original Portal, with 8 chapters, 19 test chambers, 48 challenges, 6 advanced maps, a brand new storyline and more than 400 lines of english speech with dozens of subtitles translations.

RSS feed MetalDragonOnModDB says
8 MetalDragonOnModDB

Oct 31st, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

This mod has a lot of laughs, but holy **** this is a very hard game!

TheUnbeholden says
8 TheUnbeholden

Feb 4th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

I really can't believe that we actually had a prequel before Portal 2. I didn't even though that Portal 2 was as great as it was (I mistakenly thought it was COOP only which turned out false). This mod did a pretty good job at tiding people over. It was harder than Portal 1 and 2 combined. Particularly tests 15, 17 and 18 that I took me awhile to even solve (15 and 18 had a obscure way to get the energy balls dispensed and 17 was just to boring). Some where a little to finicky, like doing a trick shot while doing a infinite loop on more than one occasion. But it does some important things very well, first off it gets progressively more difficult without feeling like its convoluted (17 was the exception, great in theory ie inventive but boring). Great idea to use the synthetic voices to, eventhough it looks weird on real people towards the end. Its story is pretty good, not great but better than anything I could have come up with. And a nice homage.
I think that it did well with what we had to work with, and remains to me perhaps the best Portal Mod and a nice companion to Portal 2.

wc123 says
8 wc123

Jun 1st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Good gameplay with very challenging test chambers.

Mrccake1337 says
8 Mrccake1337

Mar 3rd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Portal:Prelude is a GREAT mod...The thing that brings it down onw star is what they used as voices. It doesent sound so great when you're using computer voices instead of real people. But the levers are fun and challenging!

Infamous101 says
8 Infamous101

Sep 5th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

you should bring this to valve and get ellen mclain(GlaDOS) and other actors and make it an official game

BinarySpark says
8 BinarySpark

May 11th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Nicely done. The ending is cool as well.

Steven582 says
8 Steven582

Jun 26th, 2011 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

In the first few minutes I had with Portal: Prelude, I was very interested and somewhat curious. The voice acting wasn't that good. It didn't sound like a human, it sounded robotic and it gave me the impression the people who were talking were robots. The sign textures were low quality but the rest were fine. The gameplay was good. The test chambers were a refreshing new set of tests I really enjoyed. It was interesting yet cool that you started with the an orange portal gun and not the blue one. The tests were fun and the story was really cool and interesting. All I can say is that this is a must play mod for anybody who owns Portal.

cambo234 says
8 cambo234

May 24th, 2011 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

It was a good game except why were there manhawcks This isnt HL2

Chilius03 says
8 Chilius03

Mar 26th, 2011 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't
This review may contain spoilers

this mod has 19 hard f*** Maps To Do 00 Go Through A Portal 01 Get The Orange Gun 02 Learn To Use Gun 03 Upgrade Gun 04 Using Infinite Fall 05 Learn How To Use Edges And Time 06 Learning About Dangers
07 blue/yellow Deadly Walls 08 using Yellow Walls And Turrets And The Portal Shoot Through Port And Momentum 09 Learn Side/Foward Fling
10 Using Gravity 11 Energy Ball 12 Copy of 4 And Still Alive 2 13 Complex thinking Time 14 Can't Remember 15 Using Switches And A Swear Word Sh*t 16 Think So Complexity 17 Like 16 But Longer 18 Get Cube Through Random Crap 19 Do A Like 1 Hour Map Ending Unlock Glados

Kinda Bad But I Like It Anyway I Have This Running (8 Now Due To The Wall Glitch Fixed :( )

Loftiestcandy says
8 Loftiestcandy

Mar 9th, 2011 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

Portal Prelude is a great mod, But be warned, it is really hard.

Community Rating



688 votes submitted.

You Say


Ratings closed.