Portal: Prelude, as its name states it, is an unofficial prequel to the game Portal. Its story revolves around the pre-GlaDOS epoch, even before she was plugged in. At this time, test subjects were monitored by real Aperture Science employees, whose work was tedious, lengthy and repetitive. This is why they decided to build a great artificial intelligence that could both replace them in these difficult tasks, and also take responsibility for many other tasks within the complex and compete with Black Mesa's superiority. All employees of the Aperture Science complex are now eagerly awaiting GlaDOS. Maybe even a little too eagerly, as the upcoming events will tell... This game is totally free. It offers a bit more gameplay hours than the original Portal, with 8 chapters, 19 test chambers, 48 challenges, 6 advanced maps, a brand new storyline and more than 400 lines of english speech with dozens of subtitles translations.

Review RSS Feed simtexa says
4 simtexa

Jun 7th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

This is approxevly 9001 times harder than portal. and portal 2. And everything else.

overlordluke says
4 overlordluke

Oct 16th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

I had to cheat so 4/10

mattheadface says
4 mattheadface

Mar 17th, 2011 2 people agree 3 people don't

Microsoft Sam is a poor choice for lead voice actor, the dialogue is stilted, the design uninspired, and Test Chamber Nine had me screaming in frustration. Just not worth it.
Interesting concept, though.

[»Twilight«] says
4 [»Twilight«]

Mar 29th, 2011 1 person agrees 4 people don't

Despite all illogical and generally boring puzzles, all of which I've managed to complete by myself, I feel bad about this mod. It could be some good, if it had no plot and no voice dialogs. Scenario is such an idiocy. Scientists that talk like mentally retarded while killing girls in test chambers? Really? And after Abby survives they are making a party with cake and balloons? If I would be her, I'd killed every single of them with chair or other staff that comes in hand. GlaDOS killed everyone with gravity beams and lasers? Whole place got half-destroyed before Chell's arrival? I feel like devs haven't understood original Portal's plot at all.

Dialogs is another idiocy. And its not that using Microsft Sam voice and other tools is bad, it's text in these dialogs that is horrible. It sounds like a bad parody on Portal. Where in Portal have you single time heard words "****", "****", "crap"? Comment on Abby's ***? Shows decency level of creators. "Jokes", if they can call be that, are flat and too far from sparkling humor level set by the original. All other phrases makes no more sense then maps.
In addition, while some music tracks fit very well in Portal theme, choosing Chemical Brothers for final fight is another retarded idea. "GlaDOS likes it more then cake"... pffft.

Overall, I'm aware it's only a mod, but I'm judging by the goals set by this mod. If it whould be only a map-pack with puzzles, it could be good. But it tries to be something more and fails at that generally.

I agree with Darkurai's review, he explained all flaws better then me.

regularshowman says
4 regularshowman

Jan 7th, 2013

No review provided

Oehr says
4 Oehr

Mar 6th, 2010

No review provided

TEDIUM88 says
4 TEDIUM88

Jan 9th, 2010

No review provided

Dub5279 says
4 Dub5279

Jun 6th, 2009

No review provided

Ulver says
4 Ulver

Oct 11th, 2008

No review provided

Forsete says
4 Forsete

Oct 10th, 2008

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

8.7

680 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.