In a time where the Empire's grip on the galaxy is still tenuous, take command of early Rebel luminaries or the Emperor's closest advisors in an epic struggle to define a galaxy still smoldering from the Clone Wars. Assemble your faction's war machine from dozens of asynchronous lines, then augment it with hundreds of potential upgrades. Transform aspiring heroes into legends to provide intangible leadership to your military and government. Leverage entire planets and civilizations to their greatest potential through base building. Then, when everything is in place, plot your conquest vector. This is a four-decade strategic simulation of warfare across 120,000 light-years.

Review RSS Feed z3r0x says
2 z3r0x

May 20th, 2012 17 people agree 9 people don't

Seems to be a massive code mod more than a actual content mod and feature mod. The lag is terrible and makes the mod almost un-playable. The battle times are way too long. If they were going for realism on battles and a real battle takes 5-6 hours then the team made their goal, as battles take hours. This mod while interesting seems to be designed for a small cadre of niche players that thrive and enjoy all the needless data and items filling this mod. EaW seems to be the wrong engine for such a endeavor.

In summary great mod if you are a die-hard fan and could care less about playability.

Bad mod if you were looking for something quick to jump into.

OseronPhaer says
9 OseronPhaer

Dec 20th, 2011 7 people agree 3 people don't

A solid mod, to put it simply. Instead of aiming for balance, like the vanilla Empire at War did, this mod aims for accuracy according to Star Wars lore. So yes, your Imperial-class Star Destroyer will indeed be stronger than almost any similar cruiser the Rebel Alliance can throw at you. However, that makes it all the more satisfying when that star destroyer is crushed by a more strategically built force.

The mod is far from complete, but the team actively works on it and produces quality news posts as they approach the release of each new version. Additionally, the current version is more than adequate for play. This mod is well worth the time to play.

Slornie says
4 Slornie

Mar 26th, 2012 6 people agree 3 people don't

An exceptionally detailed mod that is unfortunately let down by its over-reliance on statistical perfection at the expense of playability:
- Battles take forever to complete due to the huge mismatch between damage dealt by weapons and defensive hull and shield values (e.g. an Imperial-I Star Destroyer, Venator-I and Dreadnaught-I took over ten minutes on fast forward to destroy a Golan-II Defense Platform - which barely managed to take down the shields on the Venator).
- Tooltips contain vast amounts of data about everything from shield strengths and armament to Garm Bel Iblis's height - but there is nothing to tell me which Shipyard structure will permit me to build which ships.
- The economy is hugely diversified, but so much reliance is placed on an assorted collection of transports and freighters that both the GC and battlefields are littered with near-useless units.
- Too many heroes. 110 named heroes, all with different upgrades and abilities. In addition it is impossible to keep track of them because the hero bar has been removed from the galactic view.

Sorry Phoenix, while Phoenix Rising sounds good on paper (canon ships, stats, heroes, planets, etc) it just doesn't seem to work in practice.

Armchair_Admiral says
9 Armchair_Admiral

May 13th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

My only issue is the lag and I know its being worked on so Great MOD keep up the good work!

moddinman says
7 moddinman

Mar 11th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Revolutionary mod... if you like extreme canonical accuracy, realistic gameplay, and very long battles. Don't forget the one bug in gc where if you spend too much time in gc, the game mechanics go haywire and you can no longer select units and whatnot. As everyone knows, the lag is close to unbearable and can sometimes make gc unplayable but there seems to be less in some gc modes. You will always get that aforementioned bug though. I love the weapon diversity and the "labor of love" dedication to Star Wars consistency. I wish all FOC mods were this accurate to star wars canon. Great work!

Ren_Dhark1984 says
10 Ren_Dhark1984

Jul 16th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Best Mod for FOC

Keep up i waiting for the next version since some years now;)

Khellen1633 says
10 Khellen1633

Jul 4th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

An exceptional mod that is really only hampered by a horrible engine. The mod is the most canon experience out there and is deeply enjoyable for anyone that is looking for such a thing.

Theotian says
10 Theotian

Nov 11th, 2013 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

This is one of the most expansive mods i have ever seen.It is second to only a strange german one.And that is saying alot with hundreds of mods.

AUS_Doug says
4 AUS_Doug

May 23rd, 2013 2 people agree 2 people don't

Straight away this mod appealed to the massive Star Wars geek in me; Canonical ship stats, epic space battles that can last for a VERY long time depending on the make-up of each fleet - both of these are awesome, and the dev's have nailed them both.

In what may seem a paradox, both of these are also the games weak points.
1) The Unit tooltip's contain tons (or tonnes) of info; but some of it is just unnecessary. And this sometimes comes at the expense of potentially useful information. (What structure do I need to build this damn ship - Alt-Tabs to go check the relevant XML file)
2) Space battles can last a very LOOOOOOOOOOOONG time; I see a world defended by a sole space station, I'll jump a couple of Star Destroyers in there, take it out, and run away - except I can't. As much as I love the epic space battles, sometimes you just want it over with.

I suffered from quite a bit of lag, but that fault probably lies with my PC.

I hope my thoughts don't put others off of trying this mod, or even incite people to troll. Because no matter what I or you may think about this mod, there are two things to remember;
1) The Phoenix Rising team have pushed this game to what must be approaching the limit of the Alamo engine.
And more importantly
2) This mod team will have an idea in their collective heads about what their ideal EAW experience is; and they make this mod with the intention of realising it.
It irks me to no end when I see people (non-modders), who won't do the work themselves, criticise the efforts of those who will (modders).

In conclusion because I'm running out of space,
Some very good ideas that will appeal to some, and alienate others.

If I may end with a recommendation:
The ideas in this mod are brilliant, and would wonder if the team have considered doing a version of their mod for Sins Of A Solar Empire?
I think their ideas would benefit massively from the platform that game constitutes.

Rex331 says
10 Rex331

Jan 7th, 2013 0 people agree 2 people don't

This is the best EaW mod that I've ever had the pleasure of playing, hands down. I love the dedication to detail and realism.

Community Rating

Average

8

130 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.