Perfected Doom 3 was started as a simple tweak mod years ago. After realizing that I was still not happy with Doom 3 after making some alterations to weapons and enemy stats I continued to add more to the game. Now Perfected Doom 3 is more then just a tweak mod. It attempts to completely overhaul the entire game with new monsters, rebalanced weapons, rebalanced monster stats, better graphics, new gameplay features and much more. It has been met with great appreciation and acclaim by it's users. This mod will bring many improvements to standard Doom 3.

RSS feed RedRyder says
10 RedRyder

Dec 6th, 2010 4 people agree 0 people don't

This is the best complete overhaul I have seen by far. THanks! Makes playing it again like playing a new game. Love, love, love that you gave options for the DoF, bloom, film grain, etc. How did you do the depth of field, tracers, motion blur? Could you do the same with Quake 4?

Velancious says
10 Velancious

Jun 17th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Great improvement for a good game!

Menofwarplayer. says
10 Menofwarplayer.

Oct 15th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

What can we say about this mod that has not been said before in other reviews? This mod, dedicated to the game of Doom 3, is perhaps one of the best mods I have come across to. This mod has added so many new features that perhaps its gonna be taking a while to describe them all. I shall point out several things that I came across this mod.

-Story: The same as the original Doom 3, not a big deal right there.

-Gameplay: Now this is the kicker. This mod has focused on a massive gameplay overhaul that has literally changed the way Doom 3 has been played so far. Forget about running and gunning down enemies that were doing negative damage to you, able to tank thousands of bullets, fireballs and other nasty things without breaking a sweat. Here, the enemies are merciless, cruel, and come from the deepest parts of Hell. The Z-Sec Shotgunner will kill you in two shots if you are not careful, but so can you if you aim the shotgun to the head. The Z-Sec Machine Gunner will be always firing at your position in short intervals, laying down supressive fire on you. And most of the enemies will do between Lethal and severe damage if you are not careful with them. The Imp's fireball will kill you in two hits, the Maggot pounce will reduce your health to almost zero. Clearly, the forces of Hell have brought out the worst of the worst just for you. The difficulty itself is massive for the new players of this mod, so be ready to quicksave all the time. The game also allows you to have a shoulder lamp, which is a nerfed Flashlight, you can save up medikits when picking them up, and using them by binding a key to them. And you can also use Adrenaline shots after picking them up. Running and gunning is not possible as the sprinting option lowers your weapon down. So be careful with what you're doing.

-Enemies: Ahhh, this one's one of my favourites. The original enemies of Doom 3 make an appereance, some of them having redesigned textures, like the Imp, having his skin changed to brown instead of the grey skin. What I do love and consider a real challenge is the addition of enemies like the Nightmare Imp, the Spectre, and the addition of the Pain elemental, and the Baron of Hell. Some enemies have been altered, for example, occasionally, the Imp will go to a barrel, and throw it at you, and if it's an explosive barrel, you ****** it up. The Hell Knight can pick up imps and zombies, and throw them in your face too. And the voices of some of the enemies have been replaced with the amazing Trent Reznor soundpack, which adds a heck of a ton of new sounds for the guns and the enemies. It is a truly refreshing experience. Also, we cannot forget THE ADDITION OF SOME OF THE ENEMIES OF QUAKE AS ENEMIES IN DOOM 3! Expect the Shambler, the Vore, and the Fiends to strike you down without mercy.

-Weapons: The Weapons have all suffered a gameplay redesign by the author of the mod. First off, the accuracy of the Pistol and the Machine gun has been reduced, making you use the iron sights of the weapons in order to aim well. Most weapons have a secondary fire mode, like the 20 bullets instant firing mode from the Machine gun, and the pistol unloading a whole clip in a single shot. There's also the addition of some weapons not seen in Doom 3, like the Double Barreled Shotgun. In a short view, the weapons feel now more powerful, more kick-***, and more amazing. A perfect Arsenal to send Hell back.

-Graphics: The Graphics have been improved a lot. The addition of textures on the uniforms of the UAC personnel can be seen with greater detail. The shadows and lighting are amazing, and the fact that the corpses of the demons stay longer and the blood marks stay too!

Perfected Doom 3 is an example of grabbing the original game, and making it 10 times better than the original version. This is what Doom 3 should have been, this kick-*** and terrifying experience. I give this mod personally my 10/10. Now if you excuse me, I have to go to Mars, to kill some demons.

R2Detox says
10 R2Detox

Oct 13th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

Doom³'s godsend. What features the original game had from the beginning have now become enhanced and just as good, if not better than some of today's modern shooters with the addition of the Perfected Doom³ mod and dedication of its creator/s. Without going overboard, this mod aims to critique and enhance Doom³ to perfection and does a damn good job at transforming it into something that feels like an actual upgrade from Id Software. This mod deserves all the praise and recognition it gets. I will be keeping my fingers crossed in hopes of someone someday assisting the creator/s of PD3 by adding the feature/ability to blow off limbs by explosives or other powerful weapons such as the shotgun. This would be "brutal" ;D

Draken147 says
10 Draken147

Aug 23rd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Prettier, scarier, harder. Perfected indeed! That's how Vanilla Should have looked the day it was released.

Patres87 says
10 Patres87

May 21st, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Thanks to guys like these, they're helping to keep great games last for. Reminds me of remastering a movie or music. I love what has been done with the game. Itdoesn't add only fancy graphic effect but also a bunch of settings that made the game even more playable like secondary fire mode for weapons etc. This exactly why I bought the classic version instead of BFG version - MODS !!!. I recommend to add the HD texture pack. In my case made the game run smoother without tearing and frame rate drops, it takes longer to load but it's well worth it. Although the graphic settings are awesome but altogether the graphics seems funny. Means you have to find your own settings, but it's a work of art to be able to experience it !!!

x00101 says
10 x00101

Apr 23rd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

A solid mod that brings modern sensibilities to a classic. All departments have been polished to a shine. Features include beefier sounds, stunning graphics, and an overhaul of the gameplay mechanics that not only makes for a new experience, but does so in a way that iterates on existing systems instead of awkwardly replacing them. This is a solid mod, and I would wholeheartedly recommend it to both players returning to Doom 3 looking for a fresh take, and new players on the fence who expect more than the vanilla experience provides.

st3ph3n6 says
10 st3ph3n6

Mar 11th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Best Doom 3 mod I have ever played ! It makes the game look like a remastered version of Doom 3. Has many new effects,scare tactics,sounds,and textures I could just keep going on about the many enhancements this mod has to offer. If your looking for and awesome new experience with Doom 3 this mod is for you.

BuryZenek2499 says
10 BuryZenek2499

Feb 5th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

That's great, not just it's improving the graphics but also the gameplay, It's perfected Doom 3 indeed :)

Schopenhauer says
10 Schopenhauer

Jan 7th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Doom 3 the way it should have been in the first Place. Harder, overaul better and looking like a game from 2013!


Community Rating



126 votes submitted.

You Say


Ratings closed.