Perfected Doom 3 was started as a simple tweak mod years ago. After realizing that I was still not happy with Doom 3 after making some alterations to weapons and enemy stats I continued to add more to the game. Now Perfected Doom 3 is more then just a tweak mod. It attempts to completely overhaul the entire game with new monsters, rebalanced weapons, rebalanced monster stats, better graphics, new gameplay features and much more. It has been met with great appreciation and acclaim by it's users. This mod will bring many improvements to standard Doom 3.

Review RSS Feed RedRyder says
10 RedRyder

Dec 6th, 2010 4 people agree 0 people don't

This is the best complete overhaul I have seen by far. THanks! Makes playing it again like playing a new game. Love, love, love that you gave options for the DoF, bloom, film grain, etc. How did you do the depth of field, tracers, motion blur? Could you do the same with Quake 4?

Darkarkaine says
9 Darkarkaine

Dec 24th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This is an amazing mod. Incredible work.

The only reason that I didn't give it a 10/10 is because I was really frustrated with the impact that the damage increase has in some parts of the game.

I found myself reloading way too often when I got hit by anything at all unless it was a particularly hard fight, because if I didn't, then the hard parts just felt way too hard. Some monsters I feel do not scale properly with how it works out. For example, I reloaded from imps more than just about any other monster because their jumping attack does 2/3 of your health. This is a really ****** feeling to have when you spot a leaping imp and then one second later you're almost completely dead because you have no time to react.

The biggest thing I don't like is the amount of guaranteed damage that some monsters seem to have. If you don't essentially have precognition as to where a revenant is going to attack from, then the minute he sees you you're almost guaranteed to be dead because of his insta-kill homing rockets. I don't think revenants should feel harder than a boss monster like the mancubus. I like that everything is harder, but I don't think every single monster that isn't a zombie or spider should two shot you, or at least make you want to reload after being hit once.

Velancious says
10 Velancious

Jun 17th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Great improvement for a good game!

brolee says
1 brolee

Jul 19th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Lots of nice features, but perfected Doom far from it. With those silly one or two shot frequent player deaths seriously LMAO. Doom 3 wasn't the best designed FPS with the tendency to kind of get stuck/blocked by the scenery from time to time. So deaths can feel rather extra cheap with this mod.

I would be surprised if any one has beat a level fair and square in this mod without having to resort to lame quicksaving, just saying. There is difficult and then there is just unbalanced and thats Perfected ( cough ) Dooms major problem. Well enjoy this back peddle reload simulator cuz thats all it is really.

Patres87 says
10 Patres87

May 21st, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Thanks to guys like these, they're helping to keep great games last for. Reminds me of remastering a movie or music. I love what has been done with the game. Itdoesn't add only fancy graphic effect but also a bunch of settings that made the game even more playable like secondary fire mode for weapons etc. This exactly why I bought the classic version instead of BFG version - MODS !!!. I recommend to add the HD texture pack. In my case made the game run smoother without tearing and frame rate drops, it takes longer to load but it's well worth it. Although the graphic settings are awesome but altogether the graphics seems funny. Means you have to find your own settings, but it's a work of art to be able to experience it !!!

x00101 says
10 x00101

Apr 23rd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

A solid mod that brings modern sensibilities to a classic. All departments have been polished to a shine. Features include beefier sounds, stunning graphics, and an overhaul of the gameplay mechanics that not only makes for a new experience, but does so in a way that iterates on existing systems instead of awkwardly replacing them. This is a solid mod, and I would wholeheartedly recommend it to both players returning to Doom 3 looking for a fresh take, and new players on the fence who expect more than the vanilla experience provides.

Lippeth says
9 Lippeth

Aug 10th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

My only gripe is that I don't have a computer capable of running it without frame rate issues and the occasional black screen glitch forcing me to ctrl+alt+delete. I can only hope for a Perfected Doom LITE that takes advantage of the gameplay elements (minus the infuriating insta-kills) while leaving out the graphical changes.

st3ph3n6 says
10 st3ph3n6

Mar 11th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Best Doom 3 mod I have ever played ! It makes the game look like a remastered version of Doom 3. Has many new effects,scare tactics,sounds,and textures I could just keep going on about the many enhancements this mod has to offer. If your looking for and awesome new experience with Doom 3 this mod is for you.

BuryZenek2499 says
10 BuryZenek2499

Feb 5th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

That's great, not just it's improving the graphics but also the gameplay, It's perfected Doom 3 indeed :)

TylerGamer84 says
8 TylerGamer84

Jan 11th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Loving it. Looks amazing and it's a lot of fun. Was wondering if it's possible to play with just the texture mods and not the game tweaks. Thanks.

Community Rating

Average

9.3

112 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.