Perfected Doom 3 was started as a simple tweak mod years ago. After realizing that I was still not happy with Doom 3 after making some alterations to weapons and enemy stats I continued to add more to the game. Now Perfected Doom 3 is more then just a tweak mod. It attempts to completely overhaul the entire game with new monsters, rebalanced weapons, rebalanced monster stats, better graphics, new gameplay features and much more. It has been met with great appreciation and acclaim by it's users. This mod will bring many improvements to standard Doom 3.

Review RSS Feed RedRyder says
10 RedRyder

Dec 6th, 2010 4 people agree 0 people don't

This is the best complete overhaul I have seen by far. THanks! Makes playing it again like playing a new game. Love, love, love that you gave options for the DoF, bloom, film grain, etc. How did you do the depth of field, tracers, motion blur? Could you do the same with Quake 4?

Opinionator says
9 Opinionator

Jul 19th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Recently contacted by the developer for a new beta and looking forward to testing this new version.

On reflection and recent playstyle with games that intentionally put my back up against the wall. Like Dark Souls, Stalker Clear Sky, EYE Cybermancy (love those games)etc. Also focusing recently on games with punishing damage and permadeath with rogue like natures. I just really think I was being too butthurt crybaby and salty about the previous version of perfected Doom giving it a silly score of one.

In my case I do believe it was simple pilot error and lack of appreciation of the hardcore nature of the project. It kicks my butt and that is not a good enough reason to hate on this mod with all the other great features available. So apology to the devs and looking forward to getting my butt kicked again in the new version lol.

Darkarkaine says
9 Darkarkaine

Dec 24th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This is an amazing mod. Incredible work.

The only reason that I didn't give it a 10/10 is because I was really frustrated with the impact that the damage increase has in some parts of the game.

I found myself reloading way too often when I got hit by anything at all unless it was a particularly hard fight, because if I didn't, then the hard parts just felt way too hard. Some monsters I feel do not scale properly with how it works out. For example, I reloaded from imps more than just about any other monster because their jumping attack does 2/3 of your health. This is a really ****** feeling to have when you spot a leaping imp and then one second later you're almost completely dead because you have no time to react.

The biggest thing I don't like is the amount of guaranteed damage that some monsters seem to have. If you don't essentially have precognition as to where a revenant is going to attack from, then the minute he sees you you're almost guaranteed to be dead because of his insta-kill homing rockets. I don't think revenants should feel harder than a boss monster like the mancubus. I like that everything is harder, but I don't think every single monster that isn't a zombie or spider should two shot you, or at least make you want to reload after being hit once.

Velancious says
10 Velancious

Jun 17th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Great improvement for a good game!

dalekKharn says
9 dalekKharn

Jul 9th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

This is a very good mod, adds a lot of cool features to make Doom 3 more awesome, would of been a 10 apart from a few AI pathing issues that seem to have appeared in this mod that i have never seen in Vanilla Doom 3, ie NPC's would get stuck going through doors, or would just walk in circles on the spot. Also noticed Sentry bots going the wrong way and making some area's un-accessible without cheats due to doors not being triggered by the sentry bots. Other wise this is a very good mod.

Draken147 says
10 Draken147

Aug 23rd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Prettier, scarier, harder. Perfected indeed! That's how Vanilla Should have looked the day it was released.

Eonfge says
6 Eonfge

Jul 23rd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

The mod has mixed goals. At one hand it tries to improve gameplay with fixes, new options and more variety. Apart of that, it also focuses on graphics and getting the most out of Doom 3.

What does it succeed in? Combined with the More Enemies-addon and few tweaks, you get a very nice Doom 3 experience. You'll have to adjust graphics based on your own mileage but most of the gameplay changes work well and make for a refreshing playthrough.

The healthpack system is smart, the weapon changes are cool and make up for more mastery. It also comes with a shoulder mounted flashlight.

Still, it does not truly succeed in either gameplay or graphics, while making a few missteps:

The balance seems to be strongly focused on the hardcore audience, filling the game with one-hit deaths and scenarios that can only be overcome by knowing them in advance. I changed g_damageScale to 0.5 to make the game more interesting and to have a fighting change.

Graphics on the other hand are mixed back. Most of it relies on brute-forcing higher resolution textures, advanced lighting models and effects. As such, it looks fairly nice but most users won't be able to run on higher settings. Combining this with the texture addon only amplifies the effect.

There also appear to be some render issues. HDR is by default rather poorly calibrated and will likely result in a lot of white or overlit areas.

If you are considering to buy Doom 3 and play it for the first time, consider the BFG addition. No mod support but it will save you a lot of tweaking and it will be far more tolerant to newcomers.

All things considered, it's a oke mod but it will not reinvent Doom 3 without making other issues along the way.

Patres87 says
10 Patres87

May 21st, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Thanks to guys like these, they're helping to keep great games last for. Reminds me of remastering a movie or music. I love what has been done with the game. Itdoesn't add only fancy graphic effect but also a bunch of settings that made the game even more playable like secondary fire mode for weapons etc. This exactly why I bought the classic version instead of BFG version - MODS !!!. I recommend to add the HD texture pack. In my case made the game run smoother without tearing and frame rate drops, it takes longer to load but it's well worth it. Although the graphic settings are awesome but altogether the graphics seems funny. Means you have to find your own settings, but it's a work of art to be able to experience it !!!

x00101 says
10 x00101

Apr 23rd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

A solid mod that brings modern sensibilities to a classic. All departments have been polished to a shine. Features include beefier sounds, stunning graphics, and an overhaul of the gameplay mechanics that not only makes for a new experience, but does so in a way that iterates on existing systems instead of awkwardly replacing them. This is a solid mod, and I would wholeheartedly recommend it to both players returning to Doom 3 looking for a fresh take, and new players on the fence who expect more than the vanilla experience provides.

Lippeth says
9 Lippeth

Aug 10th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

My only gripe is that I don't have a computer capable of running it without frame rate issues and the occasional black screen glitch forcing me to ctrl+alt+delete. I can only hope for a Perfected Doom LITE that takes advantage of the gameplay elements (minus the infuriating insta-kills) while leaving out the graphical changes.

Community Rating



124 votes submitted.

You Say


Ratings closed.