Perfected Doom 3 was started as a simple tweak mod years ago. After realizing that I was still not happy with Doom 3 after making some alterations to weapons and enemy stats I continued to add more to the game. Now Perfected Doom 3 is more then just a tweak mod. It attempts to completely overhaul the entire game with new monsters, rebalanced weapons, rebalanced monster stats, better graphics, new gameplay features and much more. It has been met with great appreciation and acclaim by it's users. This mod will bring many improvements to standard Doom 3.

Review RSS Feed RedRyder says
10 RedRyder

Dec 6th, 2010 4 people agree 0 people don't

This is the best complete overhaul I have seen by far. THanks! Makes playing it again like playing a new game. Love, love, love that you gave options for the DoF, bloom, film grain, etc. How did you do the depth of field, tracers, motion blur? Could you do the same with Quake 4?

brolee says
1 brolee

Jul 19th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Lots of nice features, but perfected Doom far from it. With those silly one or two shot frequent player deaths seriously LMAO. Doom 3 wasn't the best designed FPS with the tendency to kind of get stuck/blocked by the scenery from time to time. So deaths can feel rather extra cheap with this mod.

I would be surprised if any one has beat a level fair and square in this mod without having to resort to lame quicksaving, just saying. There is difficult and then there is just unbalanced and thats Perfected ( cough ) Dooms major problem. Well enjoy this back peddle reload simulator cuz thats all it is really.

The mod is not traditionally hard it is just unbalanced. Sorry but all the nice new content in the world won't make up for poor balancing, hence the low score. Just basing my opinion on comparative experiences due to the scores of systems and thousands of games I have played over the years, just sayin.

Darkarkaine says
9 Darkarkaine

Dec 24th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This is an amazing mod. Incredible work.

The only reason that I didn't give it a 10/10 is because I was really frustrated with the impact that the damage increase has in some parts of the game.

I found myself reloading way too often when I got hit by anything at all unless it was a particularly hard fight, because if I didn't, then the hard parts just felt way too hard. Some monsters I feel do not scale properly with how it works out. For example, I reloaded from imps more than just about any other monster because their jumping attack does 2/3 of your health. This is a really ****** feeling to have when you spot a leaping imp and then one second later you're almost completely dead because you have no time to react.

The biggest thing I don't like is the amount of guaranteed damage that some monsters seem to have. If you don't essentially have precognition as to where a revenant is going to attack from, then the minute he sees you you're almost guaranteed to be dead because of his insta-kill homing rockets. I don't think revenants should feel harder than a boss monster like the mancubus. I like that everything is harder, but I don't think every single monster that isn't a zombie or spider should two shot you, or at least make you want to reload after being hit once.

Velancious says
10 Velancious

Jun 17th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Great improvement for a good game!

Eonfge says
6 Eonfge

Jul 23rd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

The mod has mixed goals. At one hand it tries to improve gameplay with fixes, new options and more variety. Apart of that, it also focuses on graphics and getting the most out of Doom 3.

What does it succeed in? Combined with the More Enemies-addon and few tweaks, you get a very nice Doom 3 experience. You'll have to adjust graphics based on your own mileage but most of the gameplay changes work well and make for a refreshing playthrough.

The healthpack system is smart, the weapon changes are cool and make up for more mastery. It also comes with a shoulder mounted flashlight.

Still, it does not truly succeed in either gameplay or graphics, while making a few missteps:

The balance seems to be strongly focused on the hardcore audience, filling the game with one-hit deaths and scenarios that can only be overcome by knowing them in advance. I changed g_damageScale to 0.5 to make the game more interesting and to have a fighting change.

Graphics on the other hand are mixed back. Most of it relies on brute-forcing higher resolution textures, advanced lighting models and effects. As such, it looks fairly nice but most users won't be able to run on higher settings. Combining this with the texture addon only amplifies the effect.

There also appear to be some render issues. HDR is by default rather poorly calibrated and will likely result in a lot of white or overlit areas.

If you are considering to buy Doom 3 and play it for the first time, consider the BFG addition. No mod support but it will save you a lot of tweaking and it will be far more tolerant to newcomers.

All things considered, it's a oke mod but it will not reinvent Doom 3 without making other issues along the way.

Patres87 says
10 Patres87

May 21st, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Thanks to guys like these, they're helping to keep great games last for. Reminds me of remastering a movie or music. I love what has been done with the game. Itdoesn't add only fancy graphic effect but also a bunch of settings that made the game even more playable like secondary fire mode for weapons etc. This exactly why I bought the classic version instead of BFG version - MODS !!!. I recommend to add the HD texture pack. In my case made the game run smoother without tearing and frame rate drops, it takes longer to load but it's well worth it. Although the graphic settings are awesome but altogether the graphics seems funny. Means you have to find your own settings, but it's a work of art to be able to experience it !!!

x00101 says
10 x00101

Apr 23rd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

A solid mod that brings modern sensibilities to a classic. All departments have been polished to a shine. Features include beefier sounds, stunning graphics, and an overhaul of the gameplay mechanics that not only makes for a new experience, but does so in a way that iterates on existing systems instead of awkwardly replacing them. This is a solid mod, and I would wholeheartedly recommend it to both players returning to Doom 3 looking for a fresh take, and new players on the fence who expect more than the vanilla experience provides.

Lippeth says
9 Lippeth

Aug 10th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

My only gripe is that I don't have a computer capable of running it without frame rate issues and the occasional black screen glitch forcing me to ctrl+alt+delete. I can only hope for a Perfected Doom LITE that takes advantage of the gameplay elements (minus the infuriating insta-kills) while leaving out the graphical changes.

st3ph3n6 says
10 st3ph3n6

Mar 11th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Best Doom 3 mod I have ever played ! It makes the game look like a remastered version of Doom 3. Has many new effects,scare tactics,sounds,and textures I could just keep going on about the many enhancements this mod has to offer. If your looking for and awesome new experience with Doom 3 this mod is for you.

BuryZenek2499 says
10 BuryZenek2499

Feb 5th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

That's great, not just it's improving the graphics but also the gameplay, It's perfected Doom 3 indeed :)

Community Rating

Average

9.3

114 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.