You step inside a life of a man who steals for living and is hunted by City guards. And who has lost his light in the darkness. His wife. Rikhard is a thief. He gets certain objects for his clients. But after the murder of his wife by a hitman hired by an angry man who was robbed by Rikhard, he got depressed and started drinking. Lost the house and moved to the miserable hideout in the allies. Not doing big jobs anymore, he's doing his living by picking pockets. But then, he wakes up to a knock on his door. A note left under the door inviting Rikhard to his house for a job.The note was sent by his good friend and a client, Thomas. This custom story is heavily inspired by Thief-game series.

Review RSS Feed biedrik says
5 biedrik

Apr 3rd, 2012 4 people agree 1 person doesn't

The idea behind this mod is interesting, the problem is that the execution just wasn't great. Much of the gameplay is stealth based, with you sneaking around past guards to steal various items. The problem is that the guards are just the suits of armor from Amnesia, with slight modifications. This means that they can't move, and never really act like real people, so I never felt like there was any challenge to the sneaking.

Another problem is that there are invisible walls all over the place in this map, and many times I can't really see why. They just make the mod a little bit more difficult to play, and for the wrong reasons. There's other minor problems, such as a lamp that you cannot use, a complete lack of enemies (even though monsters are not mentioned), and some voice acting that occasionally gets drowned out by the game's music.

Still, in spite of this it does have some very good qualities. As I said, it does have a rather original concept behind it, and the atmosphere during some of the creepier parts is excellent. The problem is that there's just very little challenge to the game, along with some other nagging issues.

TheUnbeholden says
5 TheUnbeholden

Jan 14th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Theres no challenge to the sneaking, its not scary and not particularly funny with the bumbling guards. Its a mod trying to give us a unique experience with inspiration from the Thief games, problem is Amnesia's constraints are evidence here. Theres animations to the NPC's, they are just suits of armor that don't move or act. If you want to have a great thiefing experience then play the thief games and stay away from this ****. Theres other issues like the story not being particularly good, with the so called powerful monster being stopped by a lone thief, invisible walls and uninspiring level design.

Frostedge says
4 Frostedge

Apr 15th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

To be honest, if this is really inspired by the Thief series, it's missing the main point of the entire franchise, player-controlled sneaking.

The voice-acting is subpar, and often drowned out completely by the ambient music. Having subtitles would cure this problem, sadly, it's absent. Practically any text in the game has butchered grammar and bad spelling.

Forcing the player's view to every single group of guards undermines the player's capability to fail or be surprised by anything other than what's meant to be surprising. The entire story is unnecessarily linear with blockboxes harrassing the player at every turn and destroying any freedom the player has over the course of every mission.

All the while when trees are involved, these blockboxes are conspicuously absent. With the path not being very clear, it's easy to glitch into the trees and having to reload a save, or in my case, the entire story. For a second time, the first being when I accidentally crouched when meeting with my first mission-giver. Apparently, the game wrestled control away like it does in any "cut-scene", but there was no voice acting or progress for a minute, and I had to restart.

The guards are indeed, as they should be in any Thief game, blundering idiots who couldn't see in darkness for the life of them. But if that's all you've got going in the Custom Story that is supposed to remind us of Thief, then you'll need to replay the games and re-evaluate your mod.

Enemies don't move. The last time I played a Thief game, guards would chase your squishy thiefy behind through the streets to capture you. Instead, here, they stand still, being 'blundering' in their own non-comical ways.
Why haven't you just used edited Amnesia monsters to have a dynamic enemy, and then have the cutscenes/notes/text contain the humour? This could've been a lot better if the player had active influence, or even give the player multiple approaches to a problem.

This doesn't measure up to Thief in any way.

kittypie136 says
10 kittypie136

Jan 11th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

SUCH AN AWESOME CUSTOM STORY! THIS WAS PERFECT!

Ascadiatiger says
10 Ascadiatiger

Jul 18th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

it doesn't matter if it weren't any scare.it was just to well done!

Humeba says
9 Humeba

Jul 12th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Oh my God! I loved this custom story! Thank you for making it.

I would have given it a 10/10 but there were all those invisible walls that was a pain in the backside and I didn't feel like I needed to sneak. I would like to have an element of fear so to speak. If the guards would chase you if they saw you or something like that.

berries356 says
10 berries356

Apr 8th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

THIS IS SO AWESOME! I love the ending.

Meki says
6 Meki

Sep 25th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

The voices were too silent and that ruined everything. Please talk clearly into the microphone next time.
I finished this CS and it was pretty short to what I was expecting... and I didn't like it that much, it was boring.

Jughead87 says
9 Jughead87

Aug 11th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Never before have I played a custom story that really put you in the character's shoes. Maybe that's because he actually did a lot of talking while taking care of business around town. Having such an elaborate town for the setting made it feel like a day in the life of the thief. The guards everywhere had me clinging to darkness to stay out of sight, and I started to feel like the thief himself. I even started to feel sympathy for the guy, having his wife killed and living a life like that. Using invisible walls to keep players from wandering too far away from the objective was a good idea, but in the forest they were a little too restrictive. Also, at the end, the final monster didn't appear while the scene was playing. I wonder if the mysterious "invisible grunt" file had something to do with it. I applaud the attempt at making live conversation amongst the characters instead of all notes and flashbacks. This was what initially drew me into giving this story a shot. I surely wasn't disappointed.

Dragonogh says
7 Dragonogh

Jul 24th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

That was a good try...but a fail. Poor punctuation (no spaces after periods in notes), bad recording... It just wasn't statisfying.

Community Rating

Average

8.4

57 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.