Hello everyone, this is Rockspirit here, and I just finished my last custom story "Out Of Time". This story is talking about a time traveling machine. The scientific amnesic who discovers the machine learns that it is a time traveling machine. Understanding that this is not his home, he decides to enter the machine and stop the doctor who created it to prevent chaos. Compared to "Trapped In My Mind" or "Pewdiepie's house", I Worked hard on the level design, it's more concrete, more extensive, but it still a short custom story. I hope you'll enjoy it, it's been a while i'm working on it, so please don't be so mean :).

Review RSS Feed HumiliatioN says
7 HumiliatioN

Aug 30th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Reason why I give this seven because it's the first ever using something really different from custom stories, I was impressed how this turns out.

However my rewiew is not all good this story contains flaws too.

First of all I really liked how all begins with time travel machine. There are desert atmosphere, temples, winter seasons and really unique idea "dimension" how everything is so big and you have to always fix machine that's the idea lacking part, I first enjoyed couple puzzles where you have to fix that machine someway, but couple more times it's not enjoyable anymore finding items to fix that.

Monster encounters was okay, couple really unprecitable moments, so yeah that little ruined everything some quiet monsters then those "Jumpy ones" no good and there was many "jumpy scares not bad or good ones" mediocre scares.

Atmosphere and ambient sounds fits together and I was really deeped to the story. Puzzles like that "Find lever room or you drown" Damn I liked that one finally something new to show for the players.

Lightning yeah it was mediocre too, nothing fancy, but gets job done nicely.

What I really liked a lot in this story it's not boring and same thing over and over again. You really put effort on this one and think everything nicely. Like that "time traveling" and those entities flying around you "I was like WWHHAAT how you do that" still learning to do that. *confused* lol. :P

Overall: It has simle story, different gameplay, couple unique locations to explore, lots of gameplay and exciting ending. Good work!

EduBerseker says
9 EduBerseker

Jun 12th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Awesome!

Humeba says
10 Humeba

Jun 8th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

I found the time travel aspect to be different and fun. I like that you had to fix the machine each time, that made it a little more difficult than just hopping back on. I love the unique quality that having such different levels gave you. (i.e. winter, desert and my personal favorite, the one where you are so small.)

The only downside is that you don't get to know the character very well. A few notes, flashbacks or more story would have been great but did not ruin the overall feel of the game.

The scares were just right, not too many, not to few.

I will be tracking so I don't miss more great mods!

gabrielsagon says
1 gabrielsagon

Dec 16th, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

its bugged

☣Kaernk☣ says
9 ☣Kaernk☣

Sep 26th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

What started as great ended great as well! I must admit, some parts were a tiny bit too hard and almost too scary as well for a regular heart to handle xD. But in overall, its unique, its scary, your design is awesome and its simply a great story!

Though, I never really knew that much about the character. I did not feel empathy with the main character. And for me, thats a smal minus.

And it did have quite alot of texture glitches

9/10 - Awesome

ProNairam says
10 ProNairam

Sep 15th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Really amazing custom story i havnt finished it yet but its really fun 10/10 i recommend playing this CS

boredgunner says
7 boredgunner

Sep 12th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Out of Time is quite an interesting mod. The concept of using time travel makes for interesting gameplay, however this mod suffers from some issues with level design which can make it frustrating on the platforming segments. From invisible ladders to platforms that look solid but aren't, and also one game breaking bug exists regarding the explosive puzzle (you can only throw a rock at it, nothing else).

To give you an idea on a frustrating, common scenario, lets say you're on the "Dimension" level, in which you're tiny or all objects are scaled to huge levels. Invisible ladders are placed around the map, and you can't touch the ground since it's deep water and apparently you can't swim. Touching the ground leads to your death. So, one of the invisible ladders doesn't work, you fall down, get seriously injured. Then you jump from platform to platform, though one of the platforms turns out to be not solid. You fall through, die, and sit through the abnormally long 10 second hint message before respawning again.

The developer said this isn't as hard as Amnesia, but that's because he made it. It's more confusing than Amnesia and most custom stories out there by a long shot, but don't let this deter you. There's a lot of potential in this mod. What it has more than anything is potential.

The_Furfather says
7 The_Furfather

Sep 10th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Excellent work on this one. Running through the different environments was a new experience. Though, I would like to address a couple of small issues, as well as a tip to those who may have been stuck during the 'large' world.

First off, bumping into invisible walls during the snow area was a bit frustrating, so I would recommend beefing it up with more foliage, etc. to make it a bit more obvious that I can't progress in a certain direction.

Secondly, cleaning up the mementos as they are fulfilled would be a nice feature.

Third, autosaving during regular intervals

Lastly (this may concern others in regards to making it through the large world), some objects that float in the water of the big world - you cannot land on. The reason I had been stuck: Once I fell through a particular object, I labelled any similar objects as invisible. This, however, was not the case. Trial and error will prove that. The big world was cool, but it's hard to tell where to go, sometimes. You have to feel around for climb events.

mrvideofreak2010 says
10 mrvideofreak2010

Sep 6th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great!

Phlight says
10 Phlight

Sep 3rd, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

So I finished the story and I'm giving it a 10/10. Had a great storyline, very original detail, especially the part where you're small. Frustrating with all the jumping but still fun. Had a lack of jumpscares in the beginning, which made me jump a lot nearing the end of it. Half of them I wasn't even expecting.

Community Rating

Average

8.1

49 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.