In Nightmare House 2 you wake up inside an abandoned hospital with no understanding of how you came to be there, only a vague memory of the girl from Nightmare House haunts you. Soon it will be difficult to determine between a dream and reality. How long will it take you to realize that escape is not an option?

Review RSS Feed Gorgoth says
9 Gorgoth

Nov 26th, 2010 20 people agree 2 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Gameplay: 9/10, The gameplay is good and well balanced. It ties in well with the story and the first half of the game is certain pants ******** material. Some bits are repetitive but just when you think thats all you have to offer something new pops up. The placement of weapons makes sense and so do the puzzel sequences. Also the action sequences in the second half of the game really gets your blood pumping. The mod does however lose points for doing the most repeated thing in a horror game which is you get seperated from the swat squad and have to find your way around without them for a level and the further on where you need to go around and unlock a door from the other side by going through a vent but then for the next 3-4 doors they just shoot the lock open with the shotgun! I think i speak for everyone who played this game when I said why couldn't they have shot that door down?

Story: 9.5/10, The story is very well balanced with action and horror and has mostly belevible characters who actually help you! It was indeed a very scary experience and I like how the story changes after the twist, although it does detract from the overall scaryness but it was worth it in my opinion. The mood was set well with audio and lighting and those manicans gave me nightmares for real definatley the most scary component. I do however feel slightly let down by both endings as it doesn't finish the story at all and leaves the player going what next? I also think you could have alaborated more on the manicans mabey having them spawn in that final sequence and have the lights shut on and off with them apearing closer and closer each time and then dissapearing.

Overall: 9/10 obviously taking inspiration from FEAR and other horror games Nightmare house 2 is a scary but sometimes anoying game. For the most part though it was an extreemly enjoyable mod and it is glad to see a hl2 mod get finished as it is a rare sight theses days. All i can say is i recomend this mod and more manicans

saron12345 says
9 saron12345

Jun 7th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

NH2 is a great mod that has good story, frightening enemies and jaw-dropping cut scenes the only problem is that Dr.Romero sounds like an idiot but this is a must play :)

xrabohrok says
9 xrabohrok

Dec 24th, 2010 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This game is essentially "what would happen if we took F.E.A.R. and boiled off all the SWAT nonsense?". Well, Nightmare house 2 is what you get. And lordy, what a competantly put together mod it is!

Explov3r says
9 Explov3r

May 16th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Well nice horror game ! Better than other horror game. I would give it "top 10 mods" place.

Sizzlor says
9 Sizzlor

Jul 26th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

After playing Nightmare House, I was pretty skeptical of this sequel. Because to be frank, the first one was... bad.. But I was pleasantly surprised to find that a silly little map transformed into such a well balanced and terrifying game (It's almost worth it to play the 1st one just to see the improvements). The weapons, levels, and enemies are all unique; So you don't really feel like you're playing a Half-Life mod. It has puzzles, creative cut-scenes, and yes, a story! And all of those things come together as one of the scariest games I've ever experienced. Seriously, looking back at some of the games best moments, I'm surprised I was able to play this alone in my dark room. It's not just "jump scares" too, this game is genuinely creepy and very disturbing. So if you're skiddish you may need to invest in some new underwear after playing this. I can't give this a perfect score though because the ending is abrupt and I found the gameplay to be a little too easy (The hardest part is mustering up the courage to keep moving :D ). But overall, this is a very good game. I'd even be willing to pay $20 for it. It's completely free though, so what are you waiting for!

vanSulli says
9 vanSulli

Jul 18th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

While the game is every bit as scary as it should be, campy voice acting and plot make it something like the journey of goth Gordon Freeman.

darththork99 says
9 darththork99

Jun 20th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

This was an incredible experience! Almost like it was Valve that made it! It lies in the horror genre, however I do not think it lived up to my expectations. This was more of an indepth experience with some horror elements thrown in. Not once did I find myself going "Oh ****!" or "DAMN!!!" The scariest part for me was when you're in this old rustic section and the walls close in on you, then when you look up Emily is there staring at you. Overall. Great experience! Not as scary as NH1, but still fantastic!

ajar says
9 ajar

Mar 25th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

this is a very, very good mod, a game for itself really, providing that you wait until Prologue finishes, when the game actually starts.

wedjeus says
9 wedjeus

Jan 1st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

AMAZING mod !
The most scary fps I ever played. Better than "FEAR" or "DOOM3".
gameplay events are numerous, with great ideas.
A good story ! great monsters models...
The adventure is long enough ! i loved it !

This game nearly deserve 10/10 but the progression is a little linear though.

(sorry for bad english)

Monsterface says
9 Monsterface

Dec 31st, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Too much jumpscares

Community Rating

Average

9.5

1649 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.