In Nightmare House 2 you wake up inside an abandoned hospital with no understanding of how you came to be there, only a vague memory of the girl from Nightmare House haunts you. Soon it will be difficult to determine between a dream and reality. How long will it take you to realize that escape is not an option?

Review RSS Feed r2d2cm says
8 r2d2cm

Jun 16th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

nice horror game, nice graphics etc... im still scared

Jeison2003 says
8 Jeison2003

Jun 5th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

yeahhh the game is the increible

RockMax says
8 RockMax

Feb 26th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Není to nejlepší mód, ale rozhodně není nejhorší. Je dobré vidět, že se ještě někdo snaží udělat dobrej mód

QDE says
8 QDE

Feb 2nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great game, really did scare the living sh*t out of me. Keep up the good work!

CaptainBMX says
8 CaptainBMX

Jan 10th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I'd have to say the game what qUite well done and is very worth playing. However I felt it to be way to short and some flaws here and there, BUt some of the effects in this game are qUite impressive. The story is decent but not exactilly memorable. Also the ending coUld have been a bit better bUt I still say its one of the best hl2 mods aroUnd.

thedevon says
8 thedevon

Feb 13th, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't
This review may contain spoilers

I dont see why people think this is such a good mod its just repetitive jump scares and killing zombies with sum guns. The thing where the guy helps you over the radio is overdone and not original. I think Underhell was way better.

Fluffles says
8 Fluffles

Aug 7th, 2011 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Mmmmm it was okay, but there were lots of predictable events and I glitched out on one time. Those mannequins are amazing.

sirbackup says
8 sirbackup

Feb 4th, 2011 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

It´s quite full of cheap tricks to scare player like freakin girl appearing out of nowhere right in front of you. It doesnt scare you, it just startles you, surprises you, and thats it. Mod is trying to be "horror horror oh the horror", but it fails, atleast for me, because best it can do is startle you, like those shock videos on youtube where you suddenly and unexpectedly get some zombie face on screen with loud scream.

but still if we compare this mod to other mods, it´s wonderfully and skillfully done, even if it´s horror part isnt that good. I give it 8.

MikeTheS.Soldier says
8 MikeTheS.Soldier

Jan 2nd, 2011 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Nightmare House 2 just got better.

PRO:
+Storyline that chains both NMH 1 and 2.
+Scares get better with the auto-scare system (like a L4D Director).
+Environment is dark and less sanity involved.
+2 Endings

CONS:
-Voice acting is good, but could of been better in some scenes.
-Ghost Girl has backwards voice. ("?tahw)
-Some scares are brought to you by F.E.A.R (and/or other scary games). Thank you Alma, for teaching this girl to stalk me from a glass window. (It's not all bad, but it will be something seen before).
-Head bobbing... it's weird. Period.

Get it if you're in love with scary games/mods or if you love F.E.A.R.

Dragonlord says
8 Dragonlord

Dec 8th, 2010 4 people agree 4 people don't

It's a bit difficult to talk about the mod without any spoilers in it so let's try.

The mod comes along with the premise of a "horror" mod. When it gets down to horror there seem to be two different camps at work. One is the original (or what I consider the real) horror camp which works with tension, the unknown, the surprise, and the suspense of what happens next. You work with the not obvious and trying to play with the viewers mind in a subtle way. This creates the motions one looks for. The other camp seems to be the Doom3 camp where everything is obvious, lots of flickering lits for no reason, split second "ghosts" which only hurt the eyes than having any other effect than being annoying and walking past zombies on the ground knowing exactly they stand up when you try to open a door. This mod falls into the second camp. If you are into true horror you will be disappointed, if Doom3 is your taste then you like it.

Now to the rest of the mod besides the weak horror part. Controls in general are well if there would not be this annoying head-bob which makes you plain sick. Lucky me the straight-running sections are few and far in between so the negative effect stays to a minimum. Good is the change from slower paced over no-light sequence to the group section. The story is solid while having a bunch of flaws like the girl being rather unexplained or you leading the group as they don't know where the exit is but in the end they suddenly lead you saying "i know where the exit is". What? Didn't you just say?... Never mind. Boss fight is done nicely although it took me some time to get the last step (obvious and not obvious at the same time). There's too much ammo but most probably because of the zombie shooting sequence.

All in all a polished mod with a solid story and a decent play time. Minus points for few plot holes, failing at horror and the annoying camera. In general I had a good time playing it. 8.5 if this would be possible.

Community Rating

Average

9.5

1647 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.